After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

realies wrote: »
    Ah lads calm down, its a sad day.Shaun dunphy died today.

Sorry to hear that ? Was he related to you ?

And what time's the funeral ?

And what does an obituary have to do with the Queen of England's visit ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

It's called freedom and why i'm proud of my country.

Surely there are more ways to demonstrate pride in your country than marching around every where you go with the flag?

In general, though, this is about more than just flags. But once again they've reduced a potentially significant event to nothing more than a petty squabble.
    The Queen will be visiting the Garden of Rememberance, and paying tribute to the men who sacrificed their lives for Irish freedom. Gestures such as that should surely be taking precedence over flags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Hendrixfan

Rubbish event, waste of 30 million and the rest. The only welcome the Queen of England is getting apart from those hand picked few comes from people who are employed to do so, Army, Gardai and Members of state. Mean while the 81% of Irish people the media portray as the welcoming party are slim on the ground.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Its no wonder the Brits had the run of this country for 800 years.

If gobshítes like that guy in the video can't even set fire to a little flag, how could they ever be expected to fight for their country ?

Sums up those éirigí morons perfectly.

Shower of wasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I wasn't just referring to you WT :)

This whole thing about protesting against the protesters is ridiculous and doesn't go towards 'getting over' anything. I'd much rather see people openly show their lack of support for the visit than remain underground or subversive. Doesn't mean I agree with their views but they have a right to air them once it's harming nobody..

Protesters shouldn't be removed, but they should be forced to do it peacefully. Better than them organising riots at the next visit because the first one didn't allow protesting :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,291 ✭✭✭jos28

realies wrote: »
    Ah lads calm down, its a sad day.Shaun dunphy died today.
    Sean Dunphy as in the singer ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

best tweet yet

Sean Bushell tweets: Irish to get revenge on the Queen for years of torture, by making her sit through a Westlife concert tomorrow night.

Ahh now, come on. No one deserves that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

jos28 wrote: »
    Yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

ISDW wrote: »
    Its not a 'republican' flag, its the flag of this country. Same as the union flag being used by racists and fasicts, Irish people own that flag, not just one faction of Irish people. Ordinary people need to take ownership of their flags.
    Not all Irish people. The flag does not represent all of the people of Northern Ireland so it's dishonest to say it is the flag of Ireland. Better to call it the republican flag.

Unless of course you ment Ireland as in the official name of this state in which case you're right but you should make that clear to advoid confusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Not all Irish people. The flag does not represent all of the people of Northern Ireland so it's dishonest to say it is the flag of Ireland. Better to call it the republican flag.

Unless of course you ment Ireland as in the official name of this state in which case you're right but you should make that clear to advoid confusion.
    Lets go pedantic... Whats the official name of the 26 county state? Its the flag of ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Coverage back on RTE1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,291 ✭✭✭jos28

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Yeah
    Ah sorry to hear that. Saw him a few times recently and he looked as if the world had not been too kind to him of late. RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

or Barry. We could call it Barry the flag :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I spotted Bertie & Cowen just there.. 2 symbols of what's great about Ireland

great as in large i presume you mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

No, as you know, I meant that it is not the property of the political movement known as republicanism, hence 'republican'. I think I said this country, and as this forum is boards.ie I thought it was pretty clear where I was talking about. I didn't say Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭investment

Everyone down here is going to go mental when she lays the reed on the grave, very tension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Was I the only one that got angry for the first time today in seeing Cowen and that fúcker Ahern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Lets go pedantic... Whats the official name of the 26 county state? Its the flag of ireland.
    You didn't read my second paragraph. Here it is again:

"Unless of course you ment Ireland as in the official name of this state in which case you're right but you should make that clear to advoid confusion."

It's certainly not the "republican" flag, since republicans are out to undermine this state and don't even call it by its name.

The Republic of Ireland - fair enough. But given the colloquial use of "Ireland" your use of the word "republican" was far more confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Bertie, Cowen and Albert Reynolds.

Pepper spray used up at Dorset/North Frederick street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

ayeboy wrote: »
    Until the people of Northern Ireland agree democratically to be governed by the Republic the North will remain part of the UK. End of story. The vast vast majority of Irish people want this visit to pass without any trouble. We need it more than ever to help boost the economy.

And those thugs burning the Union Jack....none of them would have a clue about Irish history even if you battered them over the head with a junior cert history book.
    I'd say that there are lots of people in Northern Ireland that would have had a change of heart about being riuled by Dublin, given our economic woes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Make a point or argument if you want, but quit with the rubbish posts and lame attempts at discrediting anything I said by associating me with other posts.

you're using "us" a lot so presumably you're associating yourself with other posts/posters..
    Liam Byrne wrote: »
    And yet you somehow want us to care what a tiny minority think in terms of Northern Ireland and Britain's Queen ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

investment wrote: »
    Everyone down here is going to go mental when she lays the reed on the grave, very tension

Why is she laying a reed? Is this a protest against Trap's treatment of our midfield general? Good on her.

A reed ? FFS you can get those on any riverside! Is she not going to lay something more substantial ?

Aside from that, and overlooking the fact that "very tension" doesn't make sense, please define "everyone", "down here" and "mental".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ayeboy

Best thing to come out of the whole visit....david davan power got his hair cut. nice and tidy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

jos28 wrote: »

Yes, Jos28, you're correct.

http://picklerecordsdublin.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/sean-dunphy-eurovision-legend-dies/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

you should start proof reading your posts before you post

and its not a grave - its a memorial
    she will lay a wreath not a reed
    and very tension ?

but keep it up you could get lead reporter job with sky news an day soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Hendrixfan wrote: »
    Rubbish event, waste of 30 million and the rest. The only welcome the Queen of England is getting apart from those hand picked few comes from people who are employed to do so, Army, Gardai and Members of state. Mean while the 81% of Irish people the media portray as the welcoming party are slim on the ground.
    Oh ffs, of course they are thin on the ground, you do know why dont you? hen again obvioulsy not.:rolleyes:

ISDW wrote: »
    Why is she laying a reed? Is this a protest against Trap's treatment of our midfield general? Good on her.

dont be silly. shes an uilleann piper so laying the reed means shes belting out a few reels!