After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Would you like me to pretend I care what you think?

See that's the problem right there. I've spent a lifetime listening to so called republicans telling people what they should and shouldn't be thinking. They simply don't care what other people think, only what they (the minority) want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

The fact you question why anyone would want to carry their own national flag is laughable.

but serioulsy, why would someone want to wlak around carrying their national flag? Unless going to a match or similar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Why not? A flag is a politically charged symbol that can cause trouble on a sensitive day like today. If Union flags are being confiscated republican flags should be no different.

Its not a 'republican' flag, its the flag of this country. Same as the union flag being used by racists and fasicts, Irish people own that flag, not just one faction of Irish people. Ordinary people need to take ownership of their flags.
    If I want to carry my national flag around dublin I should bloody well be allowed to and not have the Gardaí imitating the RUC in confiscating tricolors.

Agreeing with Wolfe Tone, this may become a habit:eek:
    a flag is a piece of cloth that is only embued with meaning if someone does something like confiscate it.

Definitely.

Carrolls is going to be in trouble, another business going to the wall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

Perhaps the confiscation of the flag was because of the flag pole? (assuming there was one)

Flag Pole = Weapon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

studiorat wrote: »
    See that's the problem right there. I've spent a lifetime listening to so called republicans telling people what they should and shouldn't be thinking. They simply don't care what other people think, only what they (the minority) want.
    Why should I care about what he thinks of me? Why should you care about what I think of you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

I would enjoy mowing down the Eirigi scum with a 4 wheeler. People like them need to be just ****ed off a cliff for the betterment of society.
    mod:poster banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So we should ban people having national flags then?
    Why would you do that? The existing law is just fine whereby anyone found in contravention of the Public Order Act can be arrested and have whatever items confiscated from them in order to prevent them from further contravening the Act or disrupting the Gardai in exercising the powers.

Carry a flag down the road all you like. Just don't act like a twat while doing so. Treat the flag with respect, not as a banner under which to scream racist and xenophobic slurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Wheelie King

but serioulsy, why would someone want to wlak around carrying their national flag? Unless going to a match or similar?
    It's called freedom and why i'm proud of my country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

So if i don't agree with the Americans going into Iraq, i shouldn't watch the NFL, or any Hollywood movies, or any US tv shows, or but american products?? If i don't agree with the Irish government letting the US planes land in Shannon, should i not use any shops here??

People laughed at how the same people causing hassle today are the same people that support English football (some even wearing jerseys while doing it) You came back saying that the clubs were owned by people in other countries. I replied to that. None of what you post above relates in any way to what I meant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

I've been saying all week the only trouble you'll get this week is from school drop out knackers in celtic jerseys talking about "troubles" that they half learned in history class before dropping out of school.

If I want to carry my national flag around dublin I should bloody well be allowed to and not have the Gardaí imitating the RUC in confiscating tricolors.

Not my National Flag you won't.

You'll treat it in the correct manner and not carry it around like a bleedin' football scarf.

Why should I care about what he thinks of me? Why should you care about what I think of you?

Missing the point completely. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This thread has become awfully bitter since I last posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I dont know anywhere else people would do that apart from right wing headers in the southern US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

The RUC wouldn't have confiscated union flags and for all you know that woman could have been trying to incite violence with the flag. Besides people are free to walk around with a flag in Dublin any day but today.
    a flag is a piece of cloth that is only embued with meaning if someone does something like confiscate it.
    No it isn't, a flag is way more then a piece of cloth and carries meaning for many people regardless of whether a guard confiscates it or not.

studiorat wrote: »
    Not my National Flag you won't.

You'll treat it in the correct manner and not carry it around like a bleedin' football scarf.
    You dont have a monopoly on it no more than the IRA did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I'm surprised to see Eirigi members walking around waving the flag of the "Free State". I'd expect they'd be trying to burn that alongside the Union Jack, because they hate us more than they hate the British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Zombienosh wrote: »
    I've been saying all week the only trouble you'll get this week is from school drop out knackers in celtic jerseys talking about "troubles" that they half learned in history class before dropping out of school.

And you can't get much more British than being a "mad scone"

hondasam never got me my tae :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

So we should ban people having national flags then?

No. We should ban people from abusing them or claiming that they're a "republican" symbol or from writing things across them in an effort to give their message some unwarranted extra credence.

hmmm wrote: »
    I'm surprised to see Eirigi members walking around waving the flag of the "Free State". I'd expect they'd be trying to burn that alongside the Union Jack, because they hate us more than they hate the British.
    ugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

ISDW wrote: »

Definitely.

Carrolls is going to be in trouble, another business going to the wall?

good! i feckin hate carrols. they showcase the worst plastic crap imaginable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

The fact you question why anyone would want to carry their own national flag is laughable.

Explain to me why it's laughable?

Do you carry around a tricolour on your back every day, or is it just when a British head of state arrives?

Oh I get it now, you're being helpful, just in case said head of state forget's what country their in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

seamus wrote: »
    Why would you do that? The existing law is just fine whereby anyone found in contravention of the Public Order Act can be arrested and have whatever items confiscated from them in order to prevent them from further contravening the Act or disrupting the Gardai in exercising the powers.

Carry a flag down the road all you like. Just don't act like a twat while doing so. Treat the flag with respect, not as a banner under which to scream racist and xenophobic slurs.
    I do completely agree that if it were to be used for incitement to aggression or some other form of hatred then yes, remove it. But..

This woman apparently wasn't in contravention of the act as laid out earlier. She apparently just had it in her bag and was passing through a checkpoint. It's not really fair to remove the flag until she starts acting the muppet, it isn't against the law to have a flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ayeboy

Until the people of Northern Ireland agree democratically to be governed by the Republic the North will remain part of the UK. End of story. The vast vast majority of Irish people want this visit to pass without any trouble. We need it more than ever to help boost the economy.

And those thugs burning the Union Jack....none of them would have a clue about Irish history even if you battered them over the head with a junior cert history book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Aye. They're about to do Jedward in next.

Jedward_I_895096t.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ah lads calm down, its a sad day.Shaun dunphy died today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Why did you leave man :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

hondasam never got me my tae :(

I wasn't just referring to you WT :)

This whole thing about protesting against the protesters is ridiculous and doesn't go towards 'getting over' anything. I'd much rather see people openly show their lack of support for the visit than remain underground or subversive. Doesn't mean I agree with their views but they have a right to air them once it's harming nobody..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

best tweet yet

Sean Bushell tweets: Irish to get revenge on the Queen for years of torture, by making her sit through a Westlife concert tomorrow night.