After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Lunatics for doing a peaceful protest?

Hardly.

problem is that it wont stay peaceful , then it gives the cops reason to kick crap out of them

no prob with peaceful protest - should be allowed , but
    if they kick off , baton the numbnuts into the soil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Were they protesting when the British gave us €8 billion last December? I don't think so :mad:
    Really? They gave us 8 billion? We dont have to give it back do we? Or pay interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

I bet Mary Kennys hair is stuck to the inside of that hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

and nowt so far on the radio or TV about the disturbances on o connel street.

now THERES spin for ya !

time like this im glad of the internet as all RTE seem to want to do is fap off to the 85 year old.

dobbo himself looks very flush at the whole affair.

must remember to by shares in kleenex.

It was on the 2FM news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

now THERES spin for ya !

Why should a handful of fringe lunatics and malcontents be given the oxygen of publicity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

BBC talked about the Maynooth bomb :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Why give troublemakers and attention-seekers the exposure ?

At matches they stopped showing crowd trouble and streakers because it encouraged such activity.

The headlines across the world that focus on the bomb scares and threats are bad enough without showing rent-a-mob on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    The phrase "scuffles" was mentioned, and the clearing of spectators came after that.

Peaceful and "scuffles" don't go hand in hand.

1307 Scuffles have broken out on O'Connell Street as gardaí try to remove protesters from near The Spire.
    1300 There are security alerts at Phoenix Park Station and Drogheda Station, according to Iarnród Éireann.
    Trains are not going into Drogheda Station and Northern Commuter Services and the Enterprise services are also affected. However, trains are running through Phoenix Park Station.
    Maynooth line trains are running but will not stop at the station.
    1257 Over 60 supporters of the Republican Éirígí Party are holding a sit down protest in O'Connell Street.
    A large force of gardaí have begun moving protestors off the street.

From the Rte tracker, looks like the gardaí decided a sit-down protest wasn't allowed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

brimal wrote: »
    Love the fact that not one person so far has courtesy'd. Very symbolic

One woman did, which peed me off, but then it turned out she's the British Ambassador's missus, so I guess she has to.:)

I grew up in the UK in the 70s/80s which obviously wasn't always easy and I found the playing of the two national anthems in front of their head of state and ours, on Irish soil a bit emotional. No forelock tugging, our President standing next to their Queen as equals, in our country.

I don't care if anyone thinks I'm a West Brit (very west, as I live in Sligo) but they were Irish servicemen and women there, in Irish uniforms. I am totally anti-royalist, but she is their head of state, and today she is visiting a foreign country which is simply affording the respect due to such a figurehead.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Were they protesting when the British gave us €8 billion last December? I don't think so :mad:

THAT WAS PAYMENT FER THE FAMMIN :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Really? They gave us 8 billion? We dont have to give it back do we? Or pay interest?
    Lets face it we don't have too many prepared to give us credit at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They could have told us to fcuk off and given us nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

RoryMac wrote: »
    From the Rte tracker, looks like the gardaí decided a sit-down protest wasn't allowed

A sit-down protest by less extreme group may have been, but TBH I wouldn't be comfortable with a protest by Eirigí myself.....too easy for them to stand up.

They could have told us to fcuk off and given us nothing
    No they couldn't have or else we would have fecked them up, they werent "lending a hand"they were looking after their own interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

This is all very well, but where's Brian May?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Jesus this thread is moving fast!

Has anything remotely interesting happened?

The Queen arrived in Ireland and Wolfe Tone got out of bed to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Why should a handful of fringe lunatics and malcontents be given the oxygen of publicity?

Media should report on events of national interest without bias.
    If there is a group protesting on the main street in the country it would surely be newsworthy?
    Your agreement/disagreement with the protest or your view of the protesters has no bearing on its newsworthiness.

Baton charges and everything now

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    A sit-down protest by less extreme group may have been, but TBH I wouldn't be comfortable with a protest by Eirigí myself.....too easy for them to stand up.

Only if there was a translator around for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

No they couldn't have or else we would have fecked them up, they werent "lending a hand"they were looking after their own interests.

The point is that they gave it regardless of the true motives.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

mod: Anybody advocating / calling for violence against any parties will be removed from here on out.
    Fair warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

does anyone think her outfit resembles that of an aer lingus trolley dolly? :)

Lapin wrote: »
    The Queen arrived in Ireland and Wolfe Tone got out of bed to watch it.
    I have to admit that made me laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

Baton charges and everything now

where are ya getting this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

It is fun to see the armchair republicans on here throwing their toys out of the pram over the visit. :D That will be my fondest memory of the visit.

Annoying how the BBC guy says the Queen is visiting Britain's closest neighbour for the first time..

Shes been to the North before! I assume he means the U.K's closest neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Misticles wrote: »
    does anyone think her outfit resembles that of an aer lingus trolley dolly? :)

Exactly what I thought when she got off the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Misticles wrote: »
    where are ya getting this?

From his Borg link with the other Republicans ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Xivilai wrote: »
    THAT WAS PAYMENT FER THE FAMMIN :mad:

Get over it.

Shower of friggin' peasants, rather whinge about the past than do anything positive.

So Xivilai, who do you know who died in the famine? Any family members? Any family members killed in the troubles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Zamboni wrote: »
    Media should report on events of national interest without bias.
    If there is a group protesting on the main street in the country it would surely be newsworthy?
    Your agreement/disagreement with the protest or your view of the protesters has no bearing on its newsworthiness.

Only if it's a significant and 50 people sitting down isn't significant. There's protests of that magnitude (and bigger) every weekend in Dublin, with the Socialist Workers Party and People Before Profit having marches and gatherings for all manner of things.