After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Various people who plan to protest, not that complicated!

It was, to be honest - most people only use the phrase "the lads" when referring to people they know personally.......

......kinda makes me wonder how few of "the lads" are actually there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Yay Enda's back! Hope he washed his hands.

He's looking shifty, hope he didn't stink the place up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Who are "the lads" ?

British subcultural archetype. Follows English football teams; likes lager and often a violence fetishist.

Sound familiar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Who is the wannabe Mrs Bucket on RTE now chatting to Dobbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

brimal wrote: »
    Love the fact that not one person so far has courtesy'd. Very symbolic

British subjects are the only people expected to curtsey to the queen. It is not the done thing for citizens of other nations to curtsey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Hope the lads in town stand up and voice their opposition to this visit.

Why not go join them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

all the vips walking away look like a group leaving a wedding mass early to get a quick pint and smoke in before the bride and groom leave the church

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Scuffles on O Connell street according to the news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I'd welcome the Queen like any other human being into Ireland! Nice that she has come for a visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Stop watching sky. bbc etc.

Tune into our own RTE commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

Jeez, what does Mary Kenny look like with that getup! Looks like Fortycoats had a sex-change!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Great indication on RTE news there now which shows how managed and bull**** this excercise in optics is.

'Later the Queen will make a poignant visit to The Garden of Remembrance. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Maybe when they are talking about Irelands royal past they could touch on the extensive negative aspects?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Also great job from the DF. Looked very professional. The commentator on Sky even said he thought they were perfect.

Now - for the first time in the thread - this is a little "inferiority complex" for me.......of course they "looked professional" because - well - that is their job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Prince Philip has his eye on our President the dirty old bugger:D

He probably wants to take her up the aras :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

hondasam wrote: »
    Stop watching sky. bbc etc.

Tune into our own RTE commentary.

TV3 has better commentary, not so boring!

df1985 wrote: »
    Couldnt be risking any suprise erections.

Surely with trousers a size too big the aforementioned erection would be more prominent and noticeable? A size too small and the chance of phantom erection is suppressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

Jaysus, she really does look like me granny.

Also.

I didn't know we did pomp and ceremony like that. And artillery. And I'm sure what the queen thought were grand old propeller driven planes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Why not go join them?
    I was going to, weighed it up in my head, stay at home and study for my exams this week, or head in and maybe get caught up in trouble?

Might head in later.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

This is a great history lesson on RTE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Maybe when they are talking about Irelands royal past they could touch on the extensive negative aspects?

what like the blindings so people were inelligible for kingship under brehon law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Just got a text from a mate in Burger King on O'Connell St and he said that the Queen just bottled a junkie near the jacks after finishing a Whopper meal! Mad cow!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Computer Sci

Saw that guy on O Connell Street Dublin with an IRA Tshirt. He was only about 15

It’s ironic really, the child probably doesn’t even know why he is wearing it. To be honest it’s also ironic that many of the loudest barkers when it comes to the Queen’s visit are probably the same people who (a) wear Man U/ Liverpool jersey’s, (b) sneer at Irish speakers, (c) only think about their country when a football match comes up. Again, nothing wrong with football as I follow it occasionaly myself – but I think it’s worth pointing out the childish hypocrisy of some.

Ironically, many people interested in native culture and language – as a yin to the yang of US/ UK culture, which again is interesting for the most part – neither carry on like this, nor wish to have their identity stolen for the worst purposes. Not to mention that people like this make people who have a genuine interest in the Irish language, culture and history look bad.

Prince Philip has his eye on our President the dirty old bugger:D

In fairness, with having to ride the British Queen anyone, even Mary, would be a major step-up.

Slightly off-topic, but how is he able to stick his mickey in her??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

listermint wrote: »
    As above,

Educate yourself, before getting upset over nothing.

Wtf are you on about "getting upset"? I was asking a simple question. I don't remember watching this type of ceremony before, and was just asking if this was normal for every head of a country that visits, or is it only when royalty [from any country] visits?
    Like will it be the same when Obama visits?
    So bloody presumptuous to assume "I'm getting upset" over something I simply asked a question about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Nice high viz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

nearly everything grand built in Dublin was built by the British she must
    feel proud :) I knew she'd wear a green outfit

wonder what slagging Prince Philip will give us I think hes funny

Why don't you re-post this in Irish, and add Irish language translations on all future posts?

So by your reasoning, to be a proud Irish republican, a person must be able to speak Irish? You really don't have a clue, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

lol

Guy talking on BBC was trying to say the Aras was today a sign of Irish Independence, but said inde-peasant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Computer Sci

I was going to, weighed it up in my head, stay at home and study for my exams this week, or head in and maybe get caught up in trouble?

Might head in later.

You have not posted any of your posts in Irish yet, nor have you provided at least an interpretation. Why is this?