After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Just out of bed, has everyone been overwhelmed with a sense of inferiority in the face of a Brit monarch yet?

What a joke, all this sh!te for an unelected head of state.

How many people are on the dole again? How many are behind in mortgage payments? How many are homeless? On hospital trolly's?

And we spend 30 million on this? Our priorities are fcuked up, would rather play happy families than look after our own citizens.

Me that reminds me i must go collect... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Why does she have to inspect the guard of honor, and why does he have to ask her permission to dismiss the guard of honor? Is this just normal for any head that visits Ireland?

As above,

Educate yourself, before getting upset over nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Kevin Myers etc

No, he's got a superiority complex, and counts himself above all mortal beings, and probably some immortal ones as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Prince Philip has his eye on our President the dirty old bugger:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

I don't know but for the week that was in it I'd say as an elderly British lady, she would've been quite nervous around that bloke with a sword:eek:

She has a fine crowd with her!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Computer Sci

Jayzus lad you dont need permission, Irish soldiers subservient to the Queen.

Why don't you re-post this in Irish, and add Irish language translations on all future posts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Jacksquat

I'd love to hear what Philip is chatting about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Yay Enda's back! Hope he washed his hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

And Enda is back!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Sky News very impressed by the military reception

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Hope the lads in town stand up and voice their opposition to this visit.

Who are "the lads" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Hope the lads in town stand up and voice their opposition to this visit.

They'll have to find their way out of their caves first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Prince Philip has his eye on our President the dirty old bugger:D

jays, he's not that desperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Saw that guy on O Connell Street Dublin with an IRA Tshirt. He was only about 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

All of the Gardai appear to be wearing trousers a few sizes too big for them.

its usually the female gardai wear trousers a few sizes too small for them.

for just a minute there i thought your man with the sword was going to take a swipe at her:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Jayzus lad you dont need permission, Irish soldiers subservient to the Queen.

Kevin Barry would be proud.

Wtf are you on about? She's not taking command of them. Every other visiting head of state gets the same treatment.Mary McAleese would receive a similiar welcome from the British Army when she goes over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,665 ✭✭✭baldbear

Jacksquat wrote: »
    I'd love to hear what Philip is chatting about!

Clunge i'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Who are "the lads" ?
    Various people who plan to protest, not that complicated!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Is that a flat screen in the hallway?

Funny place to put it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I originally thanked your post, but then noticed that you used PM instead of Taoiseach.....ya West Brit!:pac:

I was aware of ,it was just quicker to use PM instead of Taoiseach while viewing this marvelous spectacle ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

in all fairness, she stood unopposed in 2004

In fairness, he's referring to the British Queen, who is unelected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Great, BBC end their coverage and RTE player isn't working for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Want me to send ya down a BK?

I'll lunge wildly at the Queen when down there.

Bacon double cheese burger please :D

Times eight, none of us want to leave now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

My heart skipped a beat when that dude came at her with the sword.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Various people who plan to protest, not that complicated!

The ones that managed to get out of bed in time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

sky news are loving it, it has to be said. just called our flag "the great irish tricolour"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

come on wolf ...... we all know your in your union jack y fronts rubbing yer nips , out of interest are you watching rte bbc or sky news ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭vtec_vixen

Larianne wrote: »
    I think Farmleigh..
    Meneval green sure LOL:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Also great job from the DF. Looked very professional. The commentator on Sky even said he thought they were perfect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

stovelid wrote: »
    The ones that managed to get out of bed in time?

The rest of them will be out of the pub in a bit.