After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Jaysus, one bomb in Maynooth, on a public bus FFS! Now another one found in Dublin.

This could turn out to be a day of shame.

Once I get to my exam and no-one is hurt I don't care. In that order btw. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

lugha wrote: »
    To what extent should we be dictated to by fascist thugs threatening violence? I don't think there is a particularly good argument against this visit, save bar the cost and the inconvenience, but to suggest that we should be influenced by those who threaten violence is most certainly not one. And a pretty dangerous road to be going down.

And spending 30 million to protect her along empty streets isn't dictating to anyone? And the cost and inconvenience alone are grounds enough to oppose an empty symbolic gesture. If this was the queen of Denmark visiting I bet more people would be vocal in their opposition of the visit costing that much during a time of economic hardship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Wheelie King

Jaysus, one bomb in Maynooth, on a public bus FFS! Now another one found in Dublin.

Was always gonna be that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Patser

Could perhaps be part of a ploy to get the bus network to shut down tomorrow. Say public transport is pulled because of threats, that in addition to road closures would probably bring the economic activity of the city tomorrow to a halt. An old republican tactic was to attack the economic interests of those it opposed

I'd say thta's the tactic alright. The Red Line Luas was down this morning for a large section due to another device/hoax.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0517/device.html

I'd say they're also going to try and annoy the hell out of the travelling public, who already have to face a lot of road closures, by choking up public transport. Ironically the more devices and call outs made, the more logical the large Garda presence is made to look. If the whole visit had been completely ignored, then the huge Garda operation would have looked more like a waste of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Patser wrote: »
    I'd say thta's the tactic alright. The Red Line Luas was down this morning for a large section due to another device/hoax.

If i sat down and tried to think of the best way to alienate the Irish people and harden their distaste of "dissident" republican ideology, i couldnt think of a better way than to disrupt their daily commute to work.

Jaysus, its hard enough on people trying to get to work and pay the bills without some Celtic jersey wearing Neanderthal putting bombs on the buses and trains.

Way to go you genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭PCros

I hope the Queen of England has a great time while she's here and I'm sure she will.

Still some sad cases have to try and ruin it for people - leaving bombs on the streets of the country they are supposedly fighting for.

Anyway best of luck to her and her husband!

On a funny note - it will be gas if she tries a pint of Guinness, what an iconic photo that would be!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Is the Queen going to be making any ''public'' appearances at all? Or is the plan to keep her away from people at all costs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Her itenerary includes royal engagments in Dublin, Kildare, Tipperary and Cork.

WTF's in Tipperary of any interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

And spending 30 million to protect her along empty streets isn't dictating to anyone?
    No. That decision was made by people who we democratically elected to represent us. And the only polls I have seen so far suggest the majority are supportive of this visit.
    If this was the queen of Denmark visiting I bet more people would be vocal in their opposition of the visit costing that much during a time of economic hardship.
    And I would take that bet and I do believe I would win! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭PCros

Is the Queen going to be making any ''public'' appearances at all? Or is the plan to keep her away from people at all costs?

I guess sort of, she will be in view of people at some of the engagements but they will be 40ft away.

No handshaking if thats what you meant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Plazaman wrote: »
    Her itenerary includes royal engagments in Dublin, Kildare, Tipperary and Cork.

WTF's in Tipperary of any interest?

The Rock of Cashel, one of Irelands biggest tourist attractions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

And spending 30 million to protect her along empty streets isn't dictating to anyone? And the cost and inconvenience alone are grounds enough to oppose an empty symbolic gesture. If this was the queen of Denmark visiting I bet more people would be vocal in their opposition of the visit costing that much during a time of economic hardship.

If this was the Queen of Denmark visiting then obviously there wouldn't need to be as much security and it wouldn't cost as much:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Breaking News...

Independant.ie's breaking news was last updated at 17:05.11

Wtf is the point in having "breaking news" if you dont update it??

LMAO!

That's today's date :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

how retarded are these clowns ??? on a public bus with innocent irish citizens on it ?? they have little or no support as it is - so what do they think attempting to kill innocents in the republic is going to do for them ??
    to any of you stupid ****s reading this - why dont you rent a bus for you and your ilk and blown the **** out it - you would be doing the world a huge favour by ****ing off this planet

im no royalist - consider myself a republican - just not a knob end republican

no more targeting the innocents you bunch of ****wits - not in our name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

They've no closed O Connell Street to all traffic....

http://img.ly/4ayM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭S.R.F.C.

Relax there jarvis, while I agree with your sentiment, these 'devices' seem to clearly be put there just to feck around with the guards and security, from the RTE report;

"They say they believe the device and the subsequent hoax calls were designed to disrupt, not to injure."

Hope she has a jolly old time, anyone know where your best bet would be to get a glimpse of her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

S.R.F.C. wrote: »
    Hope she has a jolly old time, anyone know where your best bet would be to get a glimpse of her?

im onto you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

ISDW wrote: »
    If this was the Queen of Denmark visiting then obviously there wouldn't need to be as much security and it wouldn't cost as much:rolleyes:

Really? No way? When you're done rolling your eyes look up the word hypothetical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

Really? No way? When you're done rolling your eyes look up the word hypothetical.

OK, sorry. Hypothetically, if the Queen of Denmark was visiting, there wouldn't need to be as much security, so hypothetically it wouldn't cost as much.

Now, I haven't actually looked up the word as I know what it means, do I still need to go and look it up, or was that a hypothetical suggestion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Just noticed on the TV listings,
    at 12:00 The Queen in Ireland is on BBC2 Wales, Scotland and England, and on BBC2 NI it is The Queen in The Republic, that made me smile.

S.R.F.C. wrote: »
    Relax there jarvis, while I agree with your sentiment, these 'devices' seem to clearly be put there just to feck around with the guards and security, from the RTE report;

"They say they believe the device and the subsequent hoax calls were designed to disrupt, not to injure."

the one one the bus was a viable device - you dont put anything on a bus with people on it - FFS a firework could injure
    i was not getting over excited or jumping on my moral high horse - just sick of these gob****es - and even if it was a hoax the people on the bus did not know when car loads of garda stopped the bus and evacuated them - i bet they **** themselves

what is getting to me more is , where are the main stream republicans and why are they not standing up to these clowns - they would get universal support if they even released a statement condemning the numbnuts planting " devices " - come on sinn fein show your true colors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I think it's time - as obvious as it seems - to dispense with the fiction that the cost and inconvenience of the security operation should be blamed on an octogenarian old biddy - no matter how despicable the concept of monarchy is.

The reason for all this hassle is a small minority of nutcases who treat - and have always treated - the wishes of the majority of Irish citizens with contempt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭mehfesto

Sky News reported that 'god save the queen' will be played at The Garden of Rememberance today. Kinda seems disrespectful.

Any idea why it's been done, or do they play it everywhere she goes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

Realistically there will be no trouble. No bombs etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭afatbollix

hope to fook that stays true... Loads of people asking about the bombs over here in London all ready... If they do have a pop at her expect a war. They love there queen they do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

mehfesto wrote: »
    Sky News reported that 'god save the queen' will be played at The Garden of Rememberance today. Kinda seems disrespectful.

Disrespectful is what our west brit establishment do very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

mehfesto wrote: »

It's the British National Anthem. She gets to hear it a lot I'd wager.

There was no hassle when they played it in Croke Park for the rugby a few years back. And I seem to remember there was a spot o'trouble with the British up there some years ago.

Hopefully not. Although that one in Maynooth isn't a good sign. And you can be guaranteed there will be at least a few more threats.

just read the following on the bbc news web site :

Hardline dissident republicans held placards, waved flags and voiced their hostility towards the British crown. They vowed to make sure that the Queen's first trip to Dublin would be her last.
    The demonstration on Sunday afternoon in the city centre was heavily publicised in advance. It was billed as a chance for Dubliners to let the world see the depth of Irish opposition to the high-profile British visitor.
    How many people turned up? About 50.
    Just up the road, five times that number gathered at Dublin airport to see Irish pop duo Jedward return from Germany after competing in the Eurovision song contest.
    By all accounts, controlling the screaming teenage girls at the airport was more difficult for the Irish police than restraining the republicans at the protest rally.

haw haw :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

stovelid wrote: »
    The reason for all this hassle is a small minority of nutcases who treat - and have always treated - the wishes of the majority of Irish citizens with contempt.

I dont' think our president and govt are nutcases, but otherwise correcto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The martyrs of 1798 and 1916 died to make this day possible - a day when Britain's monarch visits here as a tourist, not a ruler. Today is a victory for republicanism.

However the fact that I cant use my Dublin bike is an unmitigated disgrace.