After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

investment wrote: »
    wait now for 5 min, cold, gone move up an hear, more army now, dont want seen

someone is watching to much tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭EDudder

I'll be shocked if there isn't a bomb this week.

And if there is...i'm pointing the blame directly at Kenny.

Anyone with an ounce of common sense would know there would be an attempt.

The risk of this trip far outways the reward (of which I can't see any, apart from a symbolic photo op.).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Some amount of sh!te on twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    They aint gonna shoot you ffs, but they may get pissed if the see some figure sneaking up through bushes.

They may well shoot if he's spotted sneaking up on them and he doesn't respond or comply with them! Darkness + high tension atmosphere + some eejit sneaking up on armed personnel = a recipe for disaster :pac: GO ON INVESTMENT YA GOOD THING

And I should be alright it's just very distressing what I'm hearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

The Gardai are panic-strickenly tossing it to each-other like in the Cartoons, before one of them decides to toss it in the canal before the big explosion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

In an unrelated report the armed forces have obsevered a strange man swimming naked in a nearby canal :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Some amount of sh!te on twitter

A lot of ****e alright but theres 2 guys that have been tweeting from the estate beside where its going on all night. have been following them since I heard the sirens just before 11 earlier.

Xivilai wrote: »
    The Gardai are panick-strickenly tossing it to eachother like in the Cartoons, before one of them decides to toss it in the canal before the big explosion...

Uh oh GET OUT OF THE CANAL INVESTMENT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Cionád

Pic of the army officers at the scene outside the glenroyal

http://twitpic.com/4yn4z6/full

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

Investment, sink to the bottom and run to safety!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

df1985 wrote: »
    A lot of ****e alright but theres 2 guys that have been tweeting from the estate beside where its going on all night. have been following them since I heard the sirens just before 11 earlier.

Same. Twitter really comes into it's own with stuff like this, but you have to wade through a bit of crap first.

kildare9 wrote: »
    Just back from Maynooth now. Its true alright, army and all there now. Most of the students studying in NUIM library are out watching it now...its a good distraction :)

Library closed hours ago!?! and the students wont really be out at night with the exams on right now

Aldebaran wrote: »
    Same. Twitter really comes into it's own with stuff like this, but you have to wade through a bit of crap first.

Investments literally wading through crap so we dont have to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Seriously lads twitter is really unreliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

In all seriousness why would there be a bomb scare in Maynooth?

The queen is not going near there

I hope the people responsible for this are caught they are putting innocent lives at risk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭Hedman

wait now for 5 min, cold, gone move up an hear, more army now, dont want seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭investment

ok mates back, they hear it a bus not lorry, there seem to be action at bridge more shout get close now, loud hammering , need move back, hard write in phone on darkk sorry, do best

BluesBerry wrote: »

I hope the people responsible for this are caught they are putting innocent lives at risk
    Im telling you someone probably left a bag or something on the bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Leave it on the bus and detonate it in the city tomorrow perhaps?

I think I'll walk to work tomorrow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

In a perverse way this is all quite exciting

It really is porn for you.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

So, yeah, I have to get the bus to Maynooth in the morning, hope the bus stop is re-opened!

Everyone CALM DOWN and look at the facts.

If it is a bomb(I would be surprised)

Its on a bus. This rules it out it being a large bomb.
    That also pretty much rules out any complex detonator, ie timer, remote detonation etc.
    Which means its probably a pipe bomb.
    Which are generally light a fuse or short timer jobs.

Now, why would they bomb a bus?
    To get the queen? Would have to be a spectacular to have any chance. As I already said this is not the case, if it is a bomb it is small.
    Now why would they want to kill people on a bus?

Simple answer, they wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I know. A disgruntled seminarian (sp?) perhaps?

K-9 wrote: »
    It really is porn for you.
    No, its like watching a car crash, or something like that. Not nice but you cant really look away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭investment

look like a robot, lot dog to, move back have look , boat near bridge, to dangour go close

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Everyone CALM DOWN and look at the facts.

If it is a bomb(I would be surprised)

Its on a bus. This rules it out it being a large bomb.
    That also pretty much rules out any complex detonator, ie timer, remote detonation etc.
    Which means its probably a pipe bomb.
    Which are generally light a fuse or short timer jobs.

Now, why would they bomb a bus?
    To get the queen? Would have to be a spectacular to have any chance. As I already said this is not the case, if it is a bomb it is small.
    Now why would they want to kill people on a bus?

Simple answer, they wouldn't.

Could perhaps be part of a ploy to get the bus network to shut down tomorrow. Say public transport is pulled because of threats, that in addition to road closures would probably bring the economic activity of the city tomorrow to a halt. An old republican tactic was to attack the economic interests of those it opposed

look like a robot, lot dog to, move back have look , boat near bridge, to dangour go close

I actually laughed out loud at this one.