Do you read/believe in your horoscope and star sign traits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

SparkyTech wrote: »
    But Susan Miller tells me....:eek:

''You will be moving toward the solar eclipse of June 1. Once you get to June, life will start to stir wildly. We will have three eclipses in a row, each two weeks apart, for they always coincide with a new moon and full moon. The June 1 eclipse will be a solar eclipse in Gemini, the easiest one of the pack. After that, we have the full moon lunar eclipse in Sagittarius on June 15, and after that, the solar eclipse of July 1 in Cancer. Without going into detail, the Gemini-Sagittarius eclipse will accent travel, ideas and attitudes, and interaction with your sister or brother.''

I dont have a sister, cant travel and there aint no full moon. Lies, lies, lies? :O
    http://www.astrologyzone.com/forecasts/monthly/libra_full.php
    Uranus has just moved into my partnership zone and promises to bring lots of excitement..and will stay there for eight years. :cool:

thats actually kinda good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Two words: Forer Effect.

Also known as 'Barnum Statements'.

Wow! it's like he's after reading my diary. He can he know so much about me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

All hail the almighty Fergus Gibson! \o/ /o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

zxy wrote: »
    http://www.astrologyzone.com/forecasts/monthly/libra_full.php
    Uranus has just moved into my partnership zone and promises to bring lots of excretion..and will stay there for eight years. :cool:

thats actually kinda good

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

wrong about one thing, wrong about everything. makes sense...:rolleyes:

The poster had a point. Belief in horoscopes is a sure sign of simple-mindedness. If someone believes in them, I would listen to them up to the point of sports conversation or celeb gossip but in my experience, people who are into horoscopes seem to have difficulties keeping up with anything more high-brow than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

no... it's ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Just look at how many fights you see on a full moon

I read or watched somewhere that the increased activity on a full moon was the result of people actually being out on the full moon because they could see. pre street lights times. so the wives tale stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

its a load of cock for weak minded plebs that hope fortune will find them rather than themselves finding their fortune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I was born a Capricorn. quite like the description actually! Hard working and smart and organanised.

Don't believe in those daily horoscopes cause they're way too general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead is a Cancerian. We are well known for our scepticism. So no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

TheBunk1 wrote: »
    Hahaha, how insightful...Travel? In JUNE??? madness

Ideas, attitudes and interaction? Maybe these things are not an everyday occurence for the morons that read this rubbish. Not attacking you OP, just some people actually believe this sh**e and pay €2 a minute to talk to some charlatan scratching her hole on the other end of the phone

Do you remember they had the guy who owns the psychics lines getting interviewed on the the radio, and he said it was for entertainment purposes only.

Paul McCartney and Yoko Ono lost the rights to the beatles music because Ono's astrologer advised her not to. They could have bought them for 50 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Unfortunately I am a believer of horoscopes and star sign traits! They didn't match much to me when I were younger but as I've got older I'm amazed at that a couple of different horoscopes for each day could get it right or almost right for me which can be a bit weird and freaky sometimes there are other days my horoscope does not make sense maybe. I'm more of a follower of it rather than be reading it everyday. If I'm bored or if I read a magazine or paper or just happen to see it online I would have a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

Do you remember they had the guy who owns the psychics lines getting interviewed on the the radio, and he said it was for entertainment purposes only.

Paul McCartney and Yoko Ono lost the rights to the beatles music because Ono's astrologer advised her not to. They could have bought them for 50 million.

That was the time Pat Kenny tore into him I think. Ah shur they have to say that to cover their own ass for potential litigation.

He was the guy that wanted to be Ireland's first "Space Tourist" too wasn't he? Shows ya how much he's making. I wish I thought of setting it up first ;)

doovdela wrote: »
    Unfortunately I am a believer of horoscopes and star sign traits! They didn't match much to me when I were younger but as I've got older I'm amazed at that a couple of different horoscopes for each day could get it right or almost right for me which can be a bit weird and freaky sometimes there are other days my horoscope does not make sense maybe. I'm more of a follower of it rather than be reading it everyday. If I'm bored or if I read a magazine or paper or just happen to see it online I would have a look.

How do you think the astrologer does it, out of interest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I wouldn't wipe my arse with the stuff they print in papers, I don't believe in horoscopes. But a family member is big into astrology (wouldn't go near that shite in the papers either) and delved further deep into the personality aspect of the whole thing. Apparently a lot of other factors have to be accounted for, such as your exact time of birth - and they tracked down hospital records for the family to find out our exact birth times to see if it would mean a more accurate description of our personalities and lives, I suppose.

I was verrrry critical about the whole thing to begin with, but what came back was something that made me laugh the whole way through - even the bad stuff, if I'm honest is true.

As a Cancerian, the generalized, loose description would be that we are family and home based, emotional, fragile, sensible savers, and insightful amongst other things. Which most of it is a load of bollox. Family-wise, Im close to my parents and siblings - it's my siblings off-spring that I find it difficult to form attachments with because I'm just not maternal in any way, and quite frankly kids are fucking annoying. Home-based yes, because I like to get the hell away from everyone when I feel like it and lock up shop. Emotional and fragile, definitely not - I have a lot of fight in me, and would be the last woman standing in any argument, and I find it almost impossible to cry. I can be very dissociative when it comes to cutting things or people out of my life. And as for insightful?? I'm afraid those super-powers only work on other people, because if I could do the same for myself I mightn't have all the problems I have.

The description given back to me pretty much high-lighted these flaws, and I laughed about them - because they are actually are true. The more in depth description of my personality made some sense, which reversed all of the sentiments of cancerians being home-making super hens, and basically pointed out there was a quirky humoured person that people come to for advice, and a competitive natured, sex obsessed arse-hole that makes a lot of bad choices for herself. Now we're talking.

You still wouldn't catch me reading the bullshit tabloid horoscopes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

While I find it absurdly fascinating that there are actually people in the world who think a twelfth of the global population share the same day/week/life events, I don't put any stock in them, no - I imagine if you throw out enough generalised personality traits per star sign that there are bound to be a few that people can identify with...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Here's some star sign traits in excellent musical form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

I class them and people who belive in them in the same catagory as religion and religious nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

18AD wrote: »
    For some reason people find coincidence meaningful.
    Some people eat toilet paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 burt_bondy

i spend an hour each morning working on my charts, and it's probably the most productive hour of my day. you can't overestimate the amount of influence the solar system has on our lives.

burt_bondy wrote: »
    i spend an hour each morning working on my charts, and it's probably the most productive hour of my day. you can't overestimate the amount of influence the solar system has on our lives.
    Um...you can.

Let's see what we have here:

1. No proof that it works
    2. No idea of a mechanism by which it could work

So...the evidence would suggest that it's a bit like fairies down the bottom of your garden - impossible to disprove, and the type of thing that some people like to believe, but that any thinking person knows is horsesh!te.

Um...you can.

Let's see what we have here:

1. No proof that it works
    2. No idea of a mechanism by which it could work

So...the evidence would suggest that it's a bit like fairies down the bottom of your garden - impossible to disprove, and the type of thing that some people like to believe, but that any thinking person knows is horsesh!te.

1. how do you explain my successful life choices to date?
    2. um, solar flares? the energy from them flows through earth's atmosphere into our brains. and not just solar flares from our yellow sun either.

1. how do you explain my successful life choices to date?
    2. um, solar flares?
    Ok, you got me :)

I hate it when I don't immediately spot wind-up merchants.

Ok, you got me :)

I hate it when I don't immediately spot wind-up merchants.

yeah, it's quite patently complete rubbish. i don't think there are many believers left though.

at best it's just a bit of fun.

there are a number of otherwise educated people (all female) i know of who buy into 'white witches' and that sort of thing who tell your fortune. it's often better to let them off rather than go into full 'rolleyes' mode though, people can be weirdly sensitive about this sort of thing.

Are there any sensible theories out there regarding the gender divide when it comes to interest in astrology? Anecdotally, horoscopes seem to be a female phenomenon and the contrast between lads mags and women's mags would seem to agree.

people can be weirdly sensitive about this sort of thing.
    I think they are sensitive because at a rational level, they know it's a bunch of indefensible cock, but they still have an irrational attraction to the idea, or belief in it.

I guess we all do stuff that we know we shouldn't, or doesn't make 100% sense, but some things are a bit more obvious than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

doovdela wrote: »
    Unfortunately I am a believer of horoscopes and star sign traits! They didn't match much to me when I were younger but as I've got older I'm amazed at that a couple of different horoscopes for each day could get it right or almost right for me which can be a bit weird and freaky sometimes there are other days my horoscope does not make sense maybe.

I'm sure the balance is on the side of the inaccurate, so why believe it the odd time its right?

Giselle wrote: »
    I'm sure the balance is on the side of the inaccurate, so why believe it the odd time its right?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confirmation_bias

Some people want to believe in fairy tales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Horoscopes are a pile of sh**e, wouldn't waste my time reading them. However I must say, coincidentally, I do have a lot of the traits associated with my star sign. But that's all it is, coincidence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Joonaspp

Horoscopes are cool.