If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Can Gardai ask you where you're going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Just say you're going home or some bullshìt.

Answer back to them with "I know my rights, etc" will only make the Garda go "Ah, so we have a master of dee law here, do we!?!" and they'll just make things worse for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Who ever said I had an attitude? I've no problem answering them, I just think it's an invasion of my privacy is all.

Joke sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

OP Just turn around and run away for the laugh... They love the chase...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

And this is by law? (not arguing what you're saying, just asking)

Yes, under the public order act if you are within the cordon or trying to enter the cordoned area you have to have a valid reason to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭neilboard

Just tell them 'my mammy told me not to talk to strangers'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

One quick question here:

If I'm stopped by the Gardai and they ask me where I'm going, do I have to, by law, tell them?

It seems like such an invasion of privacy. I'm aware The Queen is coming and they want to take extra precautionary measures but in all seriousness, if you're going to have a go at her life, you're not going to tell the Gardai.

With a username like that, I think it's best the gardai keep tabs on you

[realises irony considering my own username]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Start by identifying yourself using your boards username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i dont see what the big deal is just tell them, its not like they are going to put it on their blog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Whatever you do don't say you are just on your way out for coffee or else they'll be on the walkie talkies straight away asking if the rest of the 'boyos' want a latte and you'll have some whopper of an order!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Captain Commie

dont know if there is a legal requirement to answer, but do you really want to go 12 rounds with them over a simple question like that.

just answer it, if as you say you have nothing to hide then there shouldnt be an issue here, the issue arises when you have something to hide from them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Off to see your Ma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Korvanica wrote: »
    OP Just turn around and run away for the laugh... They love the chase...

I have a bad habit of trying to make myself seem suspicious whenever I see the Gardai.

Always good for a laugh.

Disclaimer:
    Do not try this on British or American cops.

just answer it, if as you say you have nothing to hide then there shouldnt be an issue here, the issue arises when you have something to hide from them
    This argument drives me up the fcuking wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Tell them that you're off to take a huge dump and that they are delaying the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

...if you're going to have a go at her...
    With a username like that, I think it's best the gardai keep tabs on you
    prinz wrote: »
    Start by identifying yourself using your boards username.

I didn't mean it in that sense :pac:

bluewolf wrote: »

Garda: Where you driving to tonight?

bluewolf: Up the fcuking wall..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Why?

Common sense dictates that arguing with a person of the law only ensures you waste more of your time than theirs.

kippy wrote: »
    Why?

Common sense dictates that arguing with a person of the law only ensures you waste more of your time than theirs.
    Of course - I am not advocating argument here - it's the "nothing to hide" business that drives me mad.
    Whether the action is reasonable or not has nothing to do with whether you have something to hide or not.

Of course - it's the "nothing to hide" business that drives me mad.Whether the action is reasonable or not has nothing to do with whether you have something to hide or not.

.. but it's perfectly reasonable.. and tbh I can't see any reasonable grounds for objection unless you do have something to hide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

ask them why they are in dublin working as gards and not on the farm like the rest of their bretheran,

.. but it's perfectly reasonable.. and tbh I can't see any reasonable grounds for objection unless you do have something to hide.
    Asking his business is just about reasonable, yes. I didn't say it wasn't. OP already stated they would answer with no problems - the question is just how much of a right they have to ask.
    The response implying it doesn't matter if they have a right or not as long as you're not breaking the law is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Hookah

Legally you don't have to answer the question.

In practical terms your refusal will probably lead to you being taken from the car, searched and questioned.

The response implying it doesn't matter if they have a right or not as long as you're not breaking the law is ridiculous.

..of course they have a right to ask. The implication that they don't is ridicidonkulous if you ask me. Just like you have a right not to answer.

..of course they have a right to ask.
    That's all that was being asked in the first place.
    The implication that they don't is ridicidonkulous if you ask me.
    I don't think anybody said that they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭apoeiguq3094y

Wait 2 days (or 2 minutes) and there will be a thread complaining that the gardai never catch any criminals etc etc.... if they do their job people moan, if they don't people moan.

Is it really an invasion of privacy? Its not like he/she was going to tell anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Time to unsubscribe from this train wreck of a thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

I remember me and some mates were heading to a friends house and we got stopped by the same two gardai asking us where we were heading, and they nearly pulled the car in again but swiftly moved on because they realised it was us again.

It was pretty funny the second time when they stopped the car, got out and walked over towards us smugly asking "so were are you heading tonight lads?"

cue one of my friends " jaysus are yiz looking for an invitation or what?"

followed by two embarrassed gards as they slowly realised they had stopped and questioned us about 3 and half minutes earlier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Hookah wrote: »
    Legally you don't have to answer the question.

In practical terms your refusal will probably lead to you being taken from the car, searched and questioned.

If you are within the cordoned area then legally you do. Section 22 of the public order act applies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Hookah

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    If you are within the cordoned area then legally you do. Section 22 of the public order act applies.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1994/en/act/pub/0002/sec0022.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Irish Fire wrote: »
    Why?

Better ask them not me, i had done nothing wrong.