Orange Order to attend Dublin visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

of course the irish should just roll over and take it. like O.M.G. what is their problem
    Roll over and take what? And you think rioting and looting and acting the yob was a dignified way of addressing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

The OO are the ultimate trolls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

johngalway wrote: »
    Due to the subtle trolling by the Orangies in the first instance...

Had to make a lol post at that one.......LOL

steddyeddy wrote: »
    You dont know of any people who were killed because they were catholic in the north? I hope thats a joke.
    What the fucking fuk? :confused:
    Yes he did and is that not wrong?
    Go back and read my post again about Bloody Sunday - seriously...
    steddyeddy wrote: »
    Go on can you elaborate how its silly?
    Because people in the republic of Ireland versus the orange order, and black people in America versus the KKK are not comparable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

There is a Grand Orange order lodge in Dublin. I heard a documentary on it recently - very interesting. I think there is about five lodges in the Republic. Maybe its them who are meeting the British Queen. BTW I dont see why people are getting so strung up about the subject as there was no such outcry when the last royal visit was here --Prince Albert of Monaco. Shes just another head of state. Nothing more or less.

BTW I hate when people call her the Queen as there are plenty of Queens. She is the British Queen. She is nothing special.

A lot more actually.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orange_Order#Republic_of_Ireland

There are lodges in 9 counties, and can be a number in each county. Monaghan and Cavan has around 5, IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

dvpower wrote: »
    Roll over and take what. Some idiots going on a silly march?
    Well, we couldn't possibly that that, could we? We simply must go out and tear apart our city centre.

Do you think if i went marching in england wearing an ireland jersey waving a tri colour singing the national anthem i wouldnt get seven types of ****e knocked out of me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

well lets see a group of bigoted murderers want to go to the place where they where responsible for the biggest massacre in this state and raise their middle finger to the irish people. i am not sure what the correct response to that would be but i think the one which occured was the inevitable one and the one which the love the protestant ulster group wanted. what a weak goverment and police force we have to let this march take place. and the same people who are apoligising to our unionists friends for this will be the same ones apolligising to the brits after the queens visit. we owe thes people nothing but contempt after all thats all they have ever shown us .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

They're a Protestant fraternity with members in this country. She's the head of one of the main Protestant churches so I don't see the issue.

Disgraceful they have invited UDA leaders though. Have lost all respect for McAleese over that
    Its Jackie McDonald. He has been working with McAleese in relationships for a few years now with the Loyalist people and the Irish republicans in the south.

Dudess wrote: »
    What the fucking fuk? :confused:

Go back and read my post again about Bloody Sunday - seriously...

Because people in the republic of Ireland versus the orange order, and black people in America versus the KKK are not comparable?

well i should point out that originally the kkk targeted irish imigrants coming into america... needless to say that didnt last long as the kkk usually lost the fight:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Wait UDA etc. are coming down? Aren't they banned terrorist organisations in this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's a free country they can do what they like. I'd be more surprised to hear unionists didn't go to see their queen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Its Jackie McDonald. He has been working with McAleese in relationships for a few years now with the Loyalist people and the Irish republicans in the south.

They've invited 5 members, not just one. It's disrespectful in any case on the anniversary of the most tragic event of the troubles.

darragh16 wrote: »
    Wait UDA etc. are coming down? Aren't they banned terrorist organisations in this country?
    Ex UDA. The UDA is disbanded. Its not going anymore. The war is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

twinytwo wrote: »
    Dude seriously... with all the history between ireland and england, catholic and prodestant etc there is no need whatsoever for the orange crowd to march in catholic areas of NI not to mind in the Republic. Let them go to the UK if it means so much to them. They do it for the sole purpose of rubbing people noses in it and to cause trouble.

I didn't welcome the love ulster march. It was probably designed to be provocitive.

I welcome, even less, scumbags running amok in Dublin city centre, attacking the Gardai and generally wrecking the place and causing havoc.

That some people felt provoked is absolutely no excuse for what went on that day. They had a right to peacefully protest the march and no more.

dlofnep wrote: »
    They've invited 5 members, not just one. It's disrespectful in any case on the anniversary of the most tragic event of the troubles.
    Yeah well. I would discuss it more but i would like a notice from a mod if we can go into discussing it. I thought this sort of talk was banned from AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

No Queens visit - no assassination. She knows that by coming here someone might try and kill her and anyone else who happens to get in the way. So, if anything goes down, its entirely her responsibility.

Here - have another rolleyes.:rolleyes:

No i dont agree with that at all.I actually did not really mind the Queen visting.
    She was not passing within a 100 miles of me i did not care.But that shower coming,different ball park.It seems to me the authority's are trying there hardest to create trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

A lot more actually.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orange_Order#Republic_of_Ireland

There are lodges in 9 counties, and can be a number in each county. Monaghan and Cavan has around 5, IIRC.

I thought there were a lot more OO lodges than that in the three Ulster counties in the Republic, particularly in Cavan and South Monaghan although maybe they are disused and only taking into account active lodges.

sinn fein are the oldest political party in ireland and where never terrorists they where the political wing of an army who where fighting to free ireland from an accuping oppressor
    Makes me want to vomit.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_bomb#First_proxy_bomb
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warrington_bomb_attacks

I didn't welcome the love ulster march. It was probably designed to be provocitive.

I welcome, even less, scumbags running amok in Dublin city centre, attacking the Gardai and generally wrecking the place and causing havoc.

That some people felt provoked is absolutely no excuse for what went on that day. They had a right to peacefully protest the march and no more.

The march should never have taken place in the first place.

we have a right to a decent government.
    we have a right to tell france they are never getting our corporation tax
    we have a right to peace

That dosent mean it is going to happen. As we all know peacefull protest achieves nothing in this country. Never has and never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

We live in a country which has elected a load of Sinn Fein members of Parliament. Who for years were the political wing of a terrorist group. At some stage its not time to forget but to move on or you will be trapped in a Palestine - Israel situation.

If those UDA members got elected to parliament I'd accept it. You don't see Sinn Fein members getting invited to royal events. Which is entirely proper.

By inviting UDA brigadiers to a ceremony in memory of Irish people who fought for the British army they are implying the UDA were a noble organisation on a par with those regiments. Though the timing makes it all the worse. A day after the anniversary of the Dublin Monaghan bombings where British security assisted loyalists in targeting civillians in Dublin. A bombing who's victims never got justice.

It is happening because McAleese and her husband are friends with some of the UDA leadership. They met through the peace process. That's fine they're entitled to choose their friends. I just think its a massive slap in the face to families of Dub/Mon bombing victims.
    Dude seriously... with all the history between ireland and england, catholic and prodestant etc there is no need whatsoever for the orange crowd to march in catholic areas of NI not to mind in the Republic. Let them go to the UK if it means so much to them. They do it for the sole purpose of rubbing people noses in it and to cause trouble.

They generally don't. There's some areas which are mixed and they have no other option. The Ardoyne situation is a farce for example. The papers give the impression they march through a catholic estate but all that happens is theres one estate facing a major route which serves many different estates.

The knowledge of most southerners about the orange order and loyalist marching bands is so lacking its cringeworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 zoiborg

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

You should read Irish history,you would probaly soil yourself too.If that makes you want to vomit

You know, i don't see the problem with this in general with the visit of the Queen and Mary McAleese inviting 5 ex members of the Ulster Defence Assosciation. Mary McAleese has been for a number of years now inviting Loyalist people down to the republic and to get on better terms with the loyalist people. She recognises this needs to be done and she acknowledges their is a different culture and people on the island.

Its only a good thing she is trying to improve the relations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

well i should point out that originally the kkk targeted irish imigrants coming into america... needless to say that didnt last long as the kkk usually lost the fight:D

they where promoting white anglo saxon protestants

I bet the peeps on boards that bash Sinn Fein at every chance are the same ones now saying that we should '' move on '' '' the past is the past ''
    I bash Sinn Féin - and I also bash loyalist paramilitaries, the security forces' conduct up to not so long ago, the orange order, the apprentice boys... I find a panoramic view makes life easier than wallowing in hate/clinging for dear life to one "side"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Yeah well.

Yeah well, what? It's disrespectful and you know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

No Queens visit - no assassination. She knows that by coming here someone might try and kill her and anyone else who happens to get in the way. So, if anything goes down, its entirely her responsibility.

Here - have another rolleyes.:rolleyes:

Suitable post for AH :D

Yeah, uhm, no. No one is going to kill her. The people who want to don't have the ability - at the moment, and won't have the opportunity.

Bomb/mortar, too likely to cause deaths of civilians in this country. Watch the reports into the Gardai after something like that about John Joe down the road and some funny goings on in his shed, might be nothing in it lads, but check it out all the same.

Sniper won't have the opportunity, they'll be denied vantage points by Irish and British security.

It won't affect my life in the slightest when she comes. I don't particularly object to her doing so either.

Getting herself and O'bama here for €30m is a tourism coup for this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

You know, i don't see the problem with this in general with the visit of the Queen and Mary McAleese inviting 5 ex members of the Ulster Defence Assosciation. Mary McAleese has been for a number of years now inviting Loyalist people down to the republic and to get on better terms with the loyalist people. She recognises this needs to be done and she acknowledges their is a different culture and people on the island.

Its only a good thing she is trying to improve the relations.

The UDA are not representative of that culture. They don't have a single member elected to Stormont or Westminister which speaks volumes to me.

No i dont agree with that at all.I actually did not really mind the Queen visting.
    She was not passing within a 100 miles of me i did not care.But that shower coming,different ball park.It seems to me the authority's are trying there hardest to create trouble.

So, is violence now justified during the Queen's visit, because there is going to be some UDA representation?

Was the attacking of members of AGS justified by the Love Ulster parade going ahead?

Should anyone be excempted from the violence? If someone you know get a random brick in the face, are you cool with that?

You should read Irish history,you would probaly soil yourself too.
    How do you know they haven't? And to say, as that other poster did, that the IRA weren't terrorists despite atrocities like Warrington, Enniskillen, Birmingham, Guildford, and for you to view the likes of them as trivial and justified (because oh yes, a young English kid had to die due to what the British did a hundred years ago) is absolutely fucking sick.