Were you smacked around by your teachers as a kid, what to do about it

• 12-05-2011 11:35AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭

I went to primary school here in the mid 70's up to 84, I had 3 or 4 teachers who were total fu6kin psycho's.

I had forgotten about most of the sh1t we all went through back then, mental nuns, touchy priests, insane brothers as well as sh1t teachers.

One of my mates has a kid ending primary school this year and he said the teacher lost it with 2 of the 12 year olds in his class, he started shouting at them and went to hit one but held back.

It turns out that this teacher is the same psycho that taught me in 82, who use to batter kids, he had a metre stick and would smash it into your hands and knuckles, (you would stand arms outstretched), if you flinched you got it on the palms.

If you flinched again you usually ended up going backwards from a full force punch to the shoulder, (he never hit to the face), followed by the teacher helping you back up again by lifting you up by your locks.

What should be done about this.
    He is still teaching in a primary school now. Does someone need to call into him or should we report to the head, or should we just deal with this with violence.

I had forgotten all about him, and now I am annoyed, my 12 year old self remembers the fear and embarassment of getting beaten by a teacher, I really want to take the law into my own hands and pay him a visit.

Do you think the gardai would proscequete me for slapping him around a bit, if his past was known?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

One teacher choked me when I was kid and lied to the head and my folks and said that I was making it up. Seen him last year in Malahide and was going to go up to him but didn't in the end. Not sure why, if I see him again I think I will. No idea if he is still teaching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

kick him in the face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Teachers. Always stuck in the 'Do as I say, not as I do' mentality. They seem to have some sort of insane superiority complex. Are they brainwashed or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

you cant let what happened in the past cloud your actions - if you or your mate feels the teacher should be reported for shouting/raising their arm/hand to a child ....report it to the principle and report it to the gardai.

no actual assault took place - but the threat of assault and investigation could result in the teacher loosing their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Can of lynx and a lighter, singe the cnuts eyebrows off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I started school just after most of that stopped in my area in the early 90's though there were the odd lunatics still about. To lash out they'd trash the classroom by flipping tables or flinging chairs at doors.

Had one guy who'd chuck chalk and erasers at you like a baseball, he'd then stand like a statue and point at you with his cold, dead eyes.

At least I missed one of those Brothers teaching there by a year or two who abused a load of students. Animal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Sounds to me like you were the retard kid in the class and needed the slaps.

Did you eat a lot of lead paint or live near high power cables maybe?

Give Oprah of Joe a shout about these repressed feelings you have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Do you think the gardai would proscequete me for slapping him around a bit, if his past was known?
    I'm no expert of law but I'm pretty sure you're allowed to assault someone as long as you claim they hit you back in 1982. Go for it:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Best forgotten. I wouldn't trust myself not to kill the cnut. I read a story in the paper a while back a similar story in which the 30 year old went and found the teacher from hell. He ended up killing him by accident and he's now spending the next decade or two in jail.

He'll get what's coming. What goes around comes around. Just let it happen somehow else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Oh god yeah, the principle of the primary school took a special interest in me. I was kept in at lunch breaks most days, beat the crap out of me from day 1 in school till I left there.

There where a few teachers that where drunks and would have short tempers because of that but the principle just enjoyed beating children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

I used to get a crack of the metre stick across the arse from time to time when I was in primary school.

I fu*kin' deserved it though. 7 year old me was a demon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Rawhead wrote: »
    Sounds to me like you were the retard kid in the class and needed the slaps.

Did you eat a lot of lead paint or live near high power cables maybe?

Give Oprah of Joe a shout about these repressed feelings you have.

...so, what made you decide to become a teacher?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I went to primary school here in the mid 70's up to 84, I had 3 or 4 teachers who were total fu6kin psycho's.

I had forgotten about most of the sh1t we all went through back then, mental nuns, touchy priests, insane brothers as well as sh1t teachers.

One of my mates has a kid ending primary school this year and he said the teacher lost it with 2 of the 12 year olds in his class, he started shouting at them and went to hit one but held back.

It turns out that this teacher is the same psycho that taught me in 82, who use to batter kids, he had a metre stick and would smash it into your hands and knuckles, (you would stand arms outstretched), if you flinched you got it on the palms.

If you flinched again you usually ended up going backwards from a full force punch to the shoulder, (he never hit to the face), followed by the teacher helping you back up again by lifting you up by your locks.

What should be done about this.
    He is still teaching in a primary school now. Does someone need to call into him or should we report to the head, or should we just deal with this with violence.

I had forgotten all about him, and now I am annoyed, my 12 year old self remembers the fear and embarassment of getting beaten by a teacher, I really want to take the law into my own hands and pay him a visit.

yes.

Actually, now that I think on it you'll be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Worst i ever got was a teacher in first class in primary school who used to whack us across the knuckles with a ruler. Hard.

And this was in the early 90s. She was old-school though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

Any of the teachers/brothers that hit me in the 70's or early 80's are pretty much all dead now..... good luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

CarMuppet wrote: »
    Any of the teachers/brothers that hit me in the 70's or early 80's are pretty much all dead now..... good luck to them.
    Sounds like you had an enjoyable killing spree then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It must have been a rare old treat in the good old days, when you got half beaten to death by some fuckwit psycho teacher for being sh1t at sums, and then got another good kicking from your parents when you got home, after they found out that you'd been in trouble at school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Bullied and strapped by one teacher in primary school on a regular basis for about a year purely because I had an English accent back then. Was too young (11) to stand up to him.

Punched once in the face by a teacher in secondary school though admittedly was being quite cheeky to the teacher in front of the class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Got a couple of dusters thrown to the side of the head.

Do they still have blackboards in schools these days, or is it all projectors, interactive whiteboards and laptops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭solerina

I never once saw anyone slapped/punched/hit in anyway in school...yeah we got shouted at but that was about all....thought all that stuff stopped back in the 60s.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The school I attended in the late 70s early 80s had plenty of teachers who got off on the punishment rap.

Biffers, board dusters, wooden pointers, rulers.

We had one nutjob who used to beat us across the hands with 6 rulers for the slightest infringement. Spelling mistakes, maths mistakes, breathing too loudly.

My mate used to puke every morning before attending those classes. I don't blame him.

His list of abuses is endless but he tore one pupil's hair out, another pupil was made drop his trousers and receive a beating to the backside.

The "teacher" would calm down on a Friday and have a cigarette in class but he was still an utterly scary man.

Several years later, myself and another ex pupil caught up with him as he was leaving one Friday. I wanted to tell him what a deeply unpleasant man he was (using harsher words, natch) but in the end, I saw a pathetic little old man and just ended up saying hello. He barely recognised us.

I wonder how many hundreds of kids he tormented over the years?

Anyways, he's long dead now. Good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Amalgam

South Dublin.

Chalk sticks pelted at someone in the class to .. 'refocus your attention'. Chalk dusters for someone getting lippy, hurled full force, upper body.

Some exceptions when one of our teachers was having a 'turn'. EU milk bricks, little square feckers. Used for a group usually. Unholy mess and smell..

Ear lobe pinching, full open hand smacks, face and head. Cane in office from a (looking back at it now..) rather flush faced and excited headmaster, hmm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Skatedude

the yard stick accross the knuckles and hands was very common in our school in the 70's and 80's.
    A number of kids ended up with broken fingers etc, but of course nothing was ever done to stop it.
    And getting smacked in the head with a thrown wooden duster was an everyday thing .
    one teacher shoved a kid so hard that he smashed through the window, luckily it was a ground floor window, but they made the parents pay for it once the kid got out of hospital.

Again nothing happened as people wouldnt go against the church and it was a christian brothers school.
    Pretty much common stuff then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

some people dont believe this but it's true...

i once saw our primary school principle - a notoriously bad b'astard who was kicked out in the end - lift a guy up by both ears, bang his head off the ceiling a few times while all the while shouting abuse about his mother.

my older brother witnessed the same cnut drag a lad out of class - it tranpires he hung the lad up by his duffel coat in the staff room and the guy proceeded to beat the s'hit out of him. the teacher who came in to cover the class while this was happening did what any upstanding teacher would do; start the entire class singing the national anthem to drown the fella's screams.

i've another couple of stories, but thats prob enough for now...this was circa 1986-7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Amalgam

That sort of continued adrenalised behaviour cripples a teacher's body, catches up with them big time. Two teachers that I had to suffer under, died from massive heart attacks either near the school, or just after a work day.

One of them, you could sort of pre-empt a loony turn, veins on the forehead would pop, fecker would be deep crimson by the time he was in full swing.

Class sizes were just under forty pupils, typically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭snugglebear

Worst i ever got was a teacher in first class in primary school who used to whack us across the knuckles with a ruler. Hard.

And this was in the early 90s. She was old-school though

same thing happened in my school, was a crazy nun, now retired but nobody did anything about it when the parents complained, it was one of those yellow wooden rulers- sore :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

OMG, some of these stories are horrific. When I think about what we endured in those days, and our parents willingly sent us there knowing what we were getting! My father would joke "did you get any slaps today?" with a smirk on his face and would just say "Aw never mind" if we said we did.

It wasn't even discipline these teachers enforced, if we didn't know the answer to a question we would have our cheeks pulled or slapped - as if that would help us remember! Sure, my aunt even joked that the children from that teacher's classroom would grow up with perfect skin having been pulled into shape! Same teacher used to send one of us out to the trees every morning to find her a stick, or two in case she would break one slapping us!

Thank God things are different now. When my children were starting school, I was so nervous for them - however, if I knew they would endure any of this abuse I would have ended up in an institution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

My principal would shake us something unreal if he caught you doing something you shouldn't have been doing. He'd grab you by the arm and throw you around the place. He's a feeble old man now and fcuk him as far as I'm concerned.

A friend of mine left on a scarf one day in class as it was cold. A nun came up behind her and dragged her off the chair via the scarf because it wasn't part of the uniform. The friends father went into the school and attacked the nun (not physically) and told her that if she ever laid a hand on one of his children again he'd kill her. Nice :D

And a kinda sad story.... one of my girlfriends uncle was late for school one day so a teacher beat him for it. His father went to the school and bate seven shades of sh!t out of the teacher. From then on all the children from that family were ignored by the teachers and not taught. The youngest child in the family was ignored from the day he walked into school til the day he left and to this day he cannot read or write.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

kelle wrote: »
    My father would joke "did you get any slaps today?" with a smirk on his face and would just say "Aw never mind" if we said we did.

One of the brothers (a bully) slapped the wrong kid (from a serious crime family as I heard years later) in my primary school and the father came up the next say and bundled him out into the corridor and kicked the shit out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

This September: "R for Renvenge!"

His teacher beat him, the principal beat him, his parents beat him, now he's back to teach them a lesson.

"looks like schools out for you old man!" [chainsaw fires up]

Coming to a cinema near you!
    rated 'R'