Do you talk to yourself?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I think what YOU have to remember is past usage is not a reasonable excuse for current usage, especially when what you're doing is mocking the mentally unwell with such jibes.
    There is a lot of controversy even within the black community about using the n-word, even in ill-founded attempts to rehabilitate it or reduce its potency. It remains widely vilified as the abuse term it is.
    Similarly, sufferers from schizophrenia in particular loathe their marginalisation from society which is largely built on inaccurate prejudices that they are psychotic, dangerous to others and suffer from multiple and warring personalities.
    Actual MPD is incredibly rare, while schizophrenia is actually more common than you might think. Sufferers from schizophrenia are generally not psychotic, a danger only to themselves (via suicide), and do not have multiple personalities.
    To depict them as otherwise is a cruel maligning of a cohort of people who are suffering from an illness.

Is the "joke" not a reference to schizophenics suffering audio hallucinations? and therefore never being alone. I don't see where MPD comes into it.

That said I don't think it was an acceptable joke for this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

There's no 'excuse' required. It's offensive full stop. There's no place for it here, and I'm gobsmacked that people would seek to defend the right to mock those who are seriously ill.

I personally am gobsmacked that some people will read so much into so little, and actually concentrate effort on an issue that didn't exist before they made it one. The man can say what he wants as far as I am concerned, he just needs to live with the consequences. On that point, I doubt a ban will arrive unless it is for use of such an old joke. It certainly does not warrant comparison with use of the word "n/i/gger". Pick your battles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭dominiquecruz

Sometimes, when I'm hungover, I sit on my couch and pretend I'm being interviewed by Parkinson. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

No better man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

JohnathanM wrote: »
    I personally am gobsmacked that some people will read so much into so little, and actually concentrate effort on an issue that didn't exist before they made it one.
    Indeed that's the point and like a Titanic looking for an iceberg , they went and made an issue but in keeping with thread topic not once mentioned if he talks to himself .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

JohnathanM wrote: »
    I personally am gobsmacked that some people will read so much into so little, and actually concentrate effort on an issue that didn't exist before they made it one. The man can say what he wants as far as I am concerned, he just needs to live with the consequences. On that point, I doubt a ban will arrive unless it is for use of such an old joke. It certainly does not warrant comparison with use of the word "n/i/gger". Pick your battles.

Of course it doesn't warrant comparison. One is a term of abuse aimed at many millions of able and vocal people who can defend themselves, while the other is a term of abuse aimed at those suffering from serious illness who cannot.
    Your attempts to depict me as hypersensitive are badly misplaced. Few people have less time for political correctness than me. However, I draw the line when people seek to derive amusement from mocking the unwell. You ought to (but probably won't) be ashamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

This thread is all just the same person posting via multiple accounts. Fact.

^ Nobody's going to argue with that .....especially if your talking to yourself

Incidentally, way back in 1979 , former Mott the Hoople singer Ian Hunter brought an album out with with this Title

http://www.amazon.com/Youre-Never-Alone-Schizophrenic-Hunter/dp/B000002Z7K

re-released on cd :cool:

and just to clear things up for some un-knowledgeable people in this thread , it's not a joke it's a term of reference ... ie , '' the history of the film , book , album is very schipzophrenic in it's content ''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

leggo wrote: »
    This thread is all just the same person posting via multiple accounts. Fact.

What? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I only talk to myself when I'm ****:

"Rrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaacccccccciiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnggggggggg"
    "Go on ya good thing"
    "Take that Kojak in your polo neck!"
    "Where's that finger going?"

etc etc :pac:

kfallon wrote: »
    I only talk to myself when I'm ****:

"Rrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaacccccccciiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnggggggggg"
    "Go on ya good thing"
    "Take that Kojak in your polo neck!"
    "Where's that finger going?"

etc etc :pac:

Are you ok Fallon?,i think your talking to pacman too much :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭boomtown84

Of course it doesn't warrant comparison. One is a term of abuse aimed at many millions of able and vocal people who can defend themselves, while the other is a term of abuse aimed at those suffering from serious illness who cannot.

This is just plain wrong...they'll defend every person that lives inside them!

Now GTFO buzz killington!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭boomtown84

by the way...yes i do it all the time and this thread is fookin gas!
    if i'm in the gaff on my own and my housemate has left a mess(which is everyday) i'll curse him and do a little impression of him which i always find
    hilarious so i'll laugh my head off which gets rid of the anger.....
    but then i always look around to see if anyone saw me....the term paranoid scitzophrenic comes to mind! ah well...works for me.
    sing and slag other drivers in my car too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

normally when i arrive home for lunch, I get into a rampage of coursing and swearing at how s.hit my day normally is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

It's a thread about talking to oneself. I'll just leave ya to yourself a moment to figure it out...

I kinda figured it was a thread about talking to oneself,seen as this oneself was the starter :)

well....are yis ? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Yes. All the time. Sometimes in public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Cathaoirleach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

all the time, In fact met my wife because she was laughing at me talking to myself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Guilty!! I do it all the time. More make little sounds to amuse myself, but I have been known to ask myself if I want a cup of tea, if I should go to bed, comment on tv shows etc....i'm a bit mad really...