Do you talk to yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Yep, I talk to myself and inanimate objects and the dog was forever being talked to when he was around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

all the time, also i give out to people who arent there but that i have met in real life :eek: this is mostly down to spending stupid amounts of time drawing in a room on my own from 10am to 5am with no outside contact, i dont even know if boards.ie is real or in my imagination :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

First person plural. In this case, designating we as a society, or to be more specific, those among us who insist on confusing the utterly different psychiatric conditions of schizophrenia and MPD.
    It does sufferers of either no good to continue to perpetrate these outdated, inaccurate and offensive stereotypes.
    I find it strange how society can be so hypersensitive on the one hand on behalf of communities such as ethnic or sexual minorities, who are perfectly able to be vocal and defend their own interests, while on the other hand tolerating and perpetuating offense and misunderstanding of people who are seriously ill.

We are sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I don't talk to mysefl, that's weird.

I do frequently break the fouth wall though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

First person plural. In this case, designating we as a society, or to be more specific, those among us who insist on confusing the utterly different psychiatric conditions of schizophrenia and MPD.
    It does sufferers of either no good to continue to perpetrate these outdated, inaccurate and offensive stereotypes.
    I find it strange how society can be so hypersensitive on the one hand on behalf of communities such as ethnic or sexual minorities, who are perfectly able to be vocal and defend their own interests, while on the other hand tolerating and perpetuating offense and misunderstanding of people who are seriously ill.

Might be more of a discussion for Psychology or Long Term Illness thread .OP was being humorous on the subject of talking to oneself , not as a put down or serious comment on somebody suffering from Schizophrenia / MPD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

i never stop talking to myself, so much so that i dont feel like to talking to other real people then (not saying im not real of course)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I even troll myself sometimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I even troll myself sometimes

tosser!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Alwayson

I sing to myself when I'm out and about. They're my own songs so nobody else is going to sing them. People often overhear me and I get some funny looks but some people comment on it and it gets a conversation going.

I have a sock puppet which never stops talking and she try's to convince me that it's me throwing my voice but I'm not buying it .

Some of those female sock puppets are just like the real thing .....they never Shurrup :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I sometimes think of evil plans and laugh maniacally when no one is around. *looks over shoulder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

I could have a full blown dialog going on whether or not to go to cinema and what film to watch. Could be 3 or 4 in there. :D

Can be fun, until a decision actually has to be made!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Latchy wrote: »
    Might be more of a discussion for Psychology or Long Term Illness thread .OP was being humorous on the subject of talking to oneself , not as a put down or serious comment on somebody suffering from Schizophrenia / MPD

I wasn't addressing the OP with my comment, but the lad who cracked a poor taste 'joke' about schizophrenia.
    I appreciate the tone of the thread is lighthearted, but you wouldn't tolerate someone coming along spouting about 'n!ggers' in it, so I don't see why offensive and inaccurate comments about the mentally ill, even if meant in jest, should be tolerated either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

ye the odd bit, it's when you get used to being alone that it creeps in and you catch yourself saying things out loud in the presence of others, gotta watch that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I'm the worst for it when driving,im either giving out or laughing at how bad people drive.If anybody looks at me I just pretend im talking on a hands free phone.

I wasn't addressing the OP with my comment, but the lad who cracked a poor taste 'joke' about schizophrenia.
    I appreciate the tone of the thread is lighthearted, but you wouldn't tolerate someone coming along spouting about 'n!ggers' in it, so I don't see why offensive and inaccurate comments about the mentally ill, even if meant in jest, should be tolerated either.

You have to remember that the term '' you're never alone with a schizophrenic '' has being used long before schizophrenia / MPD was more understood now as it is and was a quote used many times including if I remember ,in a movie back in the 70s .But not as mentioned , a put down or serious comment of somebody suffering from such .

As for the term '****' that has also being used many ,many times in both a humorous way and serious way in movies , music and sometimes by black actors and comedians themselves , which doesn't make it right or wrong , it's just part of a culture out there which is not exceptable to many parts of society ,including internet forums .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Bigtoe107

Yeah i talk to myself to organize what i'm doing or should be doing bit weird really

You have to remember that the term '' you're never alone with a schizophrenic '' has being used long before schizophrenia / MPD was more understood now as it is and was a quote used many times including if I remember ,in a movie back in the 70s .But not as mentioned , a put down or serious comment of somebody suffering from such .

As for the term '****' that has also being used many ,many times in both a humorous way and serious way in movies , music and sometimes by black actors and comedians themselves , which doesn't make it right or wrong , it's just part of a culture out there which is not exceptable to many parts of society ,including internet forums .

I think what YOU have to remember is past usage is not a reasonable excuse for current usage, especially when what you're doing is mocking the mentally unwell with such jibes.
    There is a lot of controversy even within the black community about using the n-word, even in ill-founded attempts to rehabilitate it or reduce its potency. It remains widely vilified as the abuse term it is.
    Similarly, sufferers from schizophrenia in particular loathe their marginalisation from society which is largely built on inaccurate prejudices that they are psychotic, dangerous to others and suffer from multiple and warring personalities.
    Actual MPD is incredibly rare, while schizophrenia is actually more common than you might think. Sufferers from schizophrenia are generally not psychotic, a danger only to themselves (via suicide), and do not have multiple personalities.
    To depict them as otherwise is a cruel maligning of a cohort of people who are suffering from an illness.

Cavehil Red , I dont think anybody is disputing your facts and observations on the subject and I'm not back seat modding here , but it might be best to take it to more suitable thread .

As I wrote earlier, it wouldn't matter what thread someone cracked a joke about 'n!ggers' in, it wouldn't be tolerated.
    Nor should this be tolerated here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

As I wrote earlier, it wouldn't matter what thread someone cracked a joke about 'n!ggers' in, it wouldn't be tolerated.

Are you losing the run of yourself here, or have you been sat in front of the computer just waiting for an excuse to be offended?

Back on topic, full-blown conversations with people who aren't actually there. Done it all my life, and don't see a reason to stop now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Always do also. Sure it's grand aul Craic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I certainly give out to myself a lot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

Biggins wrote: »
    I certainly give out to myself a lot!

Rightly so. You deserve it.

JohnathanM wrote: »
    Are you losing the run of yourself here, or have you been sat in front of the computer just waiting for an excuse to be offended?

Back on topic, full-blown conversations with people who aren't actually there. Done it all my life, and don't see a reason to stop now.

There's no 'excuse' required. It's offensive full stop. There's no place for it here, and I'm gobsmacked that people would seek to defend the right to mock those who are seriously ill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

I sometimes run a "conversation I need to have with somebody" in my head and get so wrapped up in it I'll involuntarily do the hand gestures that accompany my dialogue.

Outside of that I just curse to mysef when I do something stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I talk to myself a lot. Mostly when shopping, as in, "lets go down here now for a few tins of beans", accompanied by racing car noises, as I boot along with the trolley.
    Also talk to inanimate objects eg the wedges just fell out of the freezer as i opened it so it was " that's it ye little f**kers, fall out, why don't ye:mad:"
    Its a way of life with me, I don't even feel it's strange:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

smokedeels wrote: »
    I sometimes run a "conversation I need to have with somebody" in my head and get so wrapped up in it I'll involuntarily do the hand gestures that accompany my dialogue.

Outside of that I just curse to mysef when I do something stupid.

Ha ha, my OH does that, then looks puzzled when I ask what's he giving out about. It does look freaky though:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Seeing as you are the self appointed authority on what is acceptable,could you tell me what we can joke about?Seriously...

Bloody over-sensitive types.:mad:

Get off your high horse and stop hijacking the thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

JohnathanM wrote: »
    Rightly so. You deserve it.
    You could be right! :pac: