Why is there such a hysteria about crime in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

CorkMan wrote: »
    If you ask me they should bring in capital punishment.

If a scummer steals something he should get 15 floggings. If he attacks someone 30 floggings. If he commits 20/30 offences in total he should be put before a firing squad. None of that tripe where there are 5 gunsmen and only one gun has a real bullet. Get 5 gunsmen who have been in hell that is called war.

I'm beginning to warm to the idea that Cork should be a completely seperate country not in any way associated with Ireland.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

If a scummer steals something he should get 15 floggings. If he attacks someone 30 floggings. If he commits 20/30 offences in total he should be put before a firing squad. None of that tripe where there are 5 gunsmen and only one gun has a real bullet. Get 5 gunsmen who have been in hell that is called war.

:D Fair play to ya cork man that would sure solve everything :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

None of that tripe where there are 5 gunsmen and only one gun has a real bullet. Get 5 gunsmen who have been in hell that is called war.

Other way around for a firing squad. All have real bullets except one.
    An experienced soldier/officer could tell the difference though after it's fired

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Post of the day IMO . . . except small scale natural disasters is a bit of an overstatement, a few inches of snow on the runway in Dublin Airport and the whole country panicked.
    Ah now, you know perfectly well the snow was very severe and problematic, and unusual for Ireland so we weren't prepared for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Of course crime is a problem in Ireland, But so is selling newspapers and the what better way to increase sales than print hysteria stories to be bought by a more hysteria getting people.We are still by international standards a safe & welcoming country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Fair bows to ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

in a word or two sky news :mad:
    and then the normal stations copying them and so went the snowball :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Saila wrote: »
    in a word or two sky news :mad:
    and then the normal stations copying them and so went the snowball :rolleyes:

Also Joe Duffy, remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

SOURCE: Seventh United Nations Survey of Crime Trends and Operations of Criminal Justice Systems, covering the period 1998 - 2000 (United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, Centre for International Crime Prevention)
    These statistics are just a tad out of date maybe?

Veles wrote: »
    Perhaps it would be better to draw comparisons with countries with a similar population as Ireland ?

No 2 on that list, New Zealand does have a similar population to Ireland. Also, it's per capita.

IN case, I think you'll probably find that Ireland has a pretty average record in terms of crime when compared to most of the Western world. It's all the perception of it and the media that drags things out of perception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    No 2 on that list, New Zealand does have a similar population to Ireland. Also, it's per capita.

IN case, I think you'll probably find that Ireland has a pretty average record in terms of crime when compared to most of the Western world. It's all the perception of it and the media that drags things out of perception.

The media definitely.

Look at the panic over Jon Venables and people rushing to view his picture.
    The guy is in prison. I seen threads on this and other sites and people pm'ing posters to get the picture.

The guys in prison and lives in England anyway, yet a fair section of Irish society seems obsessed to get a picture. When asked why? Eh, he might stop to talk to my child or my daughter might marry him in 20 years time.

I suppose a 20 year old picture might come in handy!

Yep, the media exploits it but people lap it up and it isn't just for safety reasons.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

people go on about crime in ireland simply because crime rates have exploded since the 1960s, in 1966 there were 4 murders in ireland and 300 prisoners in irish jails............compare that with today and you realise why the hysteria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

People become more punitive in times of recession than times of prosperity, they defer to how they feel rather than what is actually going on. People are silly things.
    rossie1977 wrote: »
    people go on about crime in ireland simply because crime rates have exploded since the 1960s, in 1966 there were 4 murders in ireland and 300 prisoners in irish jails............compare that with today and you realise why the hysteria

4 murder convictions ≠ 4 murders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Sunday Rag Papers
    Joe (God Bless) Duffy
    TVfcuking3

If it bleeds it leads (the newspapers and TV reports)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    If we had more garda ,there would be an increase in those figures.

please do explain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

even in Ireland our scumbags are fairly tame

they just shout abuse and drink cans maybe throw a few digs every now and again.

at least they dont go around producing rap music and shooting each other

please do explain

If there were more gardai, people would report more crime.
    The statistics from the OP are for detected and reported crime, there is a whole lot more out there.

Sure there are fights outside chippers on Saturday nights in every town in Ireland, gardai nowhere to be seen and nobody reports it. Constant vandalism in some estates and due to poor response from the Gardai, people stop reporting it.

If people were confident that something would be done and the Gardai had more numbers and resources, reports would go up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

If there were more gardai, people would report more crime.
    The statistics from the OP are for detected and reported crime, there is a whole lot more out there.

Sure there are fights outside chippers on Saturday nights in every town in Ireland, gardai nowhere to be seen and nobody reports it. Constant vandalism in some estates and due to poor response from the Gardai, people stop reporting it.

If people were confident that something would be done and the Gardai had more numbers and resources, reports would go up

But if more gardai are employed that would mean more garda on the beat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Fair enough. But I don't see how Ireland and the US are comparable as you can't walk into spar and buy Milk, teabags a shotgun with 50% off if you buy 10 boxes of shells.

Thick Americans.. "protect the constitution blah blah".. When the constitution was written it took 2 minutes to load gun powder into a single shot rifle with a range of about 20 meters.

Right to bear arms, my arse.

But if more gardai are employed that would mean more garda on the beat

This is true.
    But the thread was about statistics and reported and detected crime.

The fight outside Supermacs at 2am will now be recorded as there are more gardai on the beat and they'll witness it. Before, they were nowhere to be seen

The more gardai you hire, the more crime is detected and reported. Some will be prevented of course by a garda presence but overall, the figures will go up
    At the same time, more gets solved as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Your right with regards to some people. I grew up in the Westdide area of Galway and honestly some posts describing it in the Galway forum make it sound like Crompton:eek:

Overactive imagination some people have:)

People only make out Westside to be that bad, because Galway doesn't have any really bad areas. I live in Westside at the moment and its grand, bit rougher than other areas of the city maybe, but nothing major.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

kkdela6 wrote: »
    at least they dont go around producing rap music and shooting each other
    I'll just leave this here...