Just got back from Belfast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheDukeOfEarl

Belfast is just like any other city on this island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭cancercowboy

1) I've the biggest culchie head on me, no Dubliner has ever sneered at my accent.

2) I've never met an Irishman that called this country Éire.

3) You're right, Cork is a ****hole.

4) How did you mistake Belfast for Disneyland? In reality they're very different.

Point number on is direct conflict with point number three. I called it Éire to draw a distinction from Northern Ireland. I could have called it "The Republic" but I thought that was bit too Star Wars. Éire is the name of our country after all, if you've never hear another Irishman say it you have now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Go yourself to Belfast city centre and tell me you aren't impressed. Tell me Dublin City center is cleaner. Tell me is better planned. Please prove me wrong.

I think youre overstating it somewhat. Belfast isn't all that much better than Dublin or Cork

Belfast is just like any other city on this island.

No, no it's not. Chatting with several mates who have been there we are all of the same opinion that the city centre is much cleaner, better planned out, and far less vagrants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

You make alot of good points OP.

Belfast clean, dublin dirty... peoples fault and councils fault

Roaming gangs in dublin none in belfast... why is that happening?

Shop fronts all occupied and decent signage in belfast because they didnt have a crazy boom and bust like us.... badly run economy here.

NI Staff in shops in belfast unlike in dublin.... irish people too good to do them jobs:rolleyes:

I think we have just never demanded high standards here and we never really voted in decent well meaning people. Too much cute hoorism. Its hard to put your finger on but we don't run our affairs all that great here yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

rossie1977 wrote: »
    you can get dinner and a pint for £5 in wetherspoons

If you're the kind of nutbag that would be caught dead in the place, aye.

P.S I lived in Belfast for years and don't agree with the OP. Dublin is three times the size of Belfast and no less architecturally distinguished than Belfast, being similar cities of origin. Plus the troubles ensured that Belfast was never going to have the amount of visible street crime that Dublin does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Don't orange ladies clean it up every 12th with litter pickers.. Let us clean up Dublin for yous :D:D

orourkeda wrote: »
    Dublin and Cork City centres are not as bad as you make them out to be

Go to Belfast and tell me that. I though they weren't that bad myself until i saw how clean they could be.

You know what, **** this. The lot of you are exactly what I am talking about, wrong minded and stubborn about it. Our city's are a ****ing tip, if you disagree you're blind or just an argumentative muppet.

One thing is for certain with attitudes like this nothing will ever change fot he better because the lot of you are content to live in your own filth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Don't orange ladies clean it up every 12th with litter pickers.. Let us clean up Dublin for yous :D:D

Your probably not even from Northern Ireland,cut it out boy.

Go to Belfast and tell me that. I though they weren't that bad myself until i saw how clean they could be.

You know what, **** this. The lot of you are exactly what I am talking about, wrong minded and stubborn about it. Our city's are a ****ing tip, if you disagree you're blind or just an argumentative muppet.

One thing is for certain with attitudes like this nothing will ever change fot he better because the lot of you are content to live in your own filth.

Your only using Dublin and Cork as a comparison,what other cities in Ireland have you been to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I was in belfast about 2 years ago....meh, its alright. Beautiful? nah no way i would describe it as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭I dont know

In my 8th year living in Belfast now and I have to say I'm loving the place. The city centre has had a hell of alot of development in recent years and thats why everything looks so nice and clean.
    Belfast still has all the problems you find in any other Irish city plus some more on top

Why are you throwing a strop?

I just happen to think Cork and Dublin are not that bad as cities.

Your probably not even from Northern Ireland,cut it out boy.
    I am from N.I. Not belfast though. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,541 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

stovelid wrote: »
    If you're the kind of nutbag that would be caught dead in the place, aye.

whats wrong with it?? seems like any normal 'spoons i have been to in the uk

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I am from N.I. Not belfast though. :pac:

Whats the AFC in your username mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

A.Fecking.Catholic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Translation = agree with me or you're a muppet. Possibly one of the most retarded posts ive seen ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

it's strange,only when you leave N.I back to the republic the sense of safety leaves you and you get greeted by a black cloud of worry and smugness.

whats wrong with it??

It's akin to judging the cultural life of Dublin in Burger King.

Translation = agree with me or you're a muppet. Possibly one of the most retarded posts ive seen ever.

Sums up my view on that post too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

i disagree man i was in belfast yesterday and this scummer stuck it in my arse while i was stumbling around in litter

jive wrote: »
    i disagree man i was in belfast yesterday and this scummer stuck it in my arse while i was stumbling around in litter

Any use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

got to agree with op, belfast at least the city centre is much nicer to look at compared to dublin, no homeless, no beggars, no junkies hanging around, really nice modern highrise towers going up along the river (ideas like that wouldnt get off the drawing board in dublin f**king NIMBYS), clean streets, clean buildings, cheap pubs, you can get dinner and a pint for £5 in wetherspoons

didnt these try and move into Ireland a few years ago and the publicans(politicians) put a hold on it or something? think i remember reading about it because i was just back from london and had been in a few for cheap pints and burgers and thought these would do a great trade with people after work in the likes of dublin! they seemed to be full of people in after work and tourists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

orourkeda wrote: »
    Any use?

I dunno I think some other nackbag spiked me diet coke at mcdonalds, what an awful city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

The Arsenal - Arsenal Football Club imo, assume I am correct Keith?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

flas wrote: »
    didnt these try and move into Ireland a few years ago and the publicans(politicians) put a hold on it or something? think i remember reading about it because i was just back from london and had been in a few for cheap pints and burgers and thought these would do a great trade with people after work in the likes of dublin! they seemed to be full of people in after work and tourists!

probably so,they used to do all you can drink for 2 hours for £10 in sheffield,good times

Arsenal I assume.

He should be a Linfield, Glens or Portadown man but they don't play in the champions league I guess.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    The Arsenal - Arsenal Football Club imo, assume I am correct Keith?
    :) Yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheDukeOfEarl

Ards FC ?