rear brake pads

• 05-05-2011 12:30PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭

hi, my wife got a quote of 250 euros to get rear brake pads done on her 04 520i bmw, is this right? sounds excessive to me, any thoughts greatly wecome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Harcrid

If it's just for the pads then it sounds excessive. Close enough though to a dealer price for pads AND discs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭robtri

Are they doing the little shoe yokes for the handbrake too do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭the immortals

thanks celtxx, yeah i asked her did price include discs when she told me but she said no,

ta for replies lads, i'll get her to ring garage and see what the quote is for exactly and let ye know what they say

Ring two other local garages for a quote too once you have the exact detail of what they have quoted for :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Extremely expensive IMO, although they will generally be more expensive then most cars due to the fact that the on board computer has to be set correctly after the new pads are fitted, this required BMW spec diagnostics to do but unless you are getting pads and disks for that money then go elsewere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

hi, my wife got a quote of 250 euros to get rear brake pads done on her 04 520i bmw, is this right? sounds excessive to me, any thoughts greatly wecome!

For a Dealer its about right.

You could get the parts for around 130 euros and labour would be around an hour for both sides. Maybe around 170-180 at an indy ?

Extremely expensive IMO, although they will generally be more expensive then most cars due to the fact that the on board computer has to be set correctly after the new pads are fitted, this required BMW spec diagnostics to do but unless you are getting pads and disks for that money then go elsewere.
    yeah she said they would reset computer,

so the quote she got was for pads and discs so i think thats ok, thanks for all the replies lads, its great to know you can come on here and get people who know what there on about