The Gambling Forum Chat Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I went on to set up a BetPack account before and it was the worst laid out site I ever saw. I couldn't even find the racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Will Frankel do it?

I'm gonna say yes. Not a betting race. Excited,about to go. Saamid each way for me if I had to choose outsiders.

Love to see Pathfork or Cassamento to do it though.

ASTONISHING. I literally sat here with my mouth wide open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

actually loling at how quick Frankel was away. Jesus christ

Unreal. Watching and seeing him so much on the bridal and Cassamento getting pushed along so much was amazing.

I thought it was funny that half way through the race the other horses were already out of shot lmao

Didn't Slim Shadey run a big race. 4th at 200/1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Anyone read the pokerface pullout in todays racing post, there was a guy who is a pro poker player from ireland named john o shea saying how much he gambles and has got into spread betting and lots 25k last weekend, okay he may be good at poker but jaysus he is gambling way beyond his means, what was his bankroll for this 25k loss because im sure it was no where near 2.5% of his bank which is the most any pro gambler should gamble with, totally hash of a article talking crap, stick to the poker lad and don't insult us by writing about professional sports betting because you havent a clue and are only trying to impress people when in fact i doubt you ever lost 25k last weekend spread betting.

25k??? Christ I thought my 230 was bad yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Fowler87

What were the odds on the dubs today lads? Serious win, fair play to them.. That last 6/7 mins was some of the best hurling Ive seen in a while.. ****ing rampaged all over the cats!

I'd love a fry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,986 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

EA Sports Cup draw at 7pm tonight, please Christ draw Shels away to Pats!

What round Gavin,first?

UrbanSea wrote: »
    What round Gavin,first?

Haven't a notion, it's not the 1st Round anyway as we knocked Bohs out last Monday so it's at least the 2nd round, as long as we get Pats away I don't care what round it is!:D

Hmmm should be good. I'm getting pizza.

you're too fat to be a model
    fatty

Shels get Sligo at home in the League Cup.:mad: Would have preferred it away, will be the only League of Ireland stadium I've never been after Saturday.

It's alright Gavin. Good craic down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,799 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Anyone read the pokerface pullout in todays racing post, there was a guy who is a pro poker player from ireland named john o shea saying how much he gambles and has got into spread betting and lots 25k last weekend, okay he may be good at poker but jaysus he is gambling way beyond his means, what was his bankroll for this 25k loss because im sure it was no where near 2.5% of his bank which is the most any pro gambler should gamble with, totally hash of a article talking crap, stick to the poker lad and don't insult us by writing about professional sports betting because you havent a clue and are only trying to impress people when in fact i doubt you ever lost 25k last weekend spread betting.
    Do you play poker, thought you did. Have you never heard of him before. Pretty well known palyer.
    I'd check up on a person before I made posts about their bankroll/means etc. I really doubt he would say he lost it if he didn't.
    No offense, but this post really makes you come accross kinda of an ass. I don't think you meant to sound like that, just the way it comes accross imo.

How do you have any idea what he's means is?
    I'd say that 25k (a good chunk to drop obv) is well within his means, given the level he plays at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Mellor wrote: »
    Guessing you don't play much poker (thought you did for some reason).
    No offense, but this post really makes you look a bit of an eejet.
    I really doubt he would say he lost it if he didn't. Calling him out on it is silly.
    I'm guessing you never heard of him before, which is fine of course. But i'd check up on a person before I made posts about their bankroll/means etc

How do you have any idea what he's means is?
    I can safely say that 25k is well within his means, given the level he plays at.

Given than he has only ever entered one Poker competition for over 10k, a game where he makes a comfortable living, I wouldn't exactly believe he would gamble 25k on spread betting.

On the other point, he has earned less than 850k over his career, so 25k would be 2.9ish%.

I honestly couldn't imagine him risking more on SB than he would on Poker, where he is very profitable.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Given than he has only ever entered one Poker competition for over 10k, a game where he makes a comfortable living, I wouldn't exactly believe he would gamble 25k on spread betting.
    lol What the hell is tourney entries over 10k supposed to show?
    How many tourneys over 10k do you think there are. Not many.
    On the other point, he has earned less than 850k over his career, so 25k would be 2.9ish%.

I honestly couldn't imagine him risking more on SB than he would on Poker, where he is very profitable.
    That's live tourney poker only (the hendonmob I'm guessing).
    You know he is an online pro?. More importantly, are you are aware he is a cash player right. He plays 5000nl PLO. So 25k would be a regualr enough pot at those stakes. He might have played higher, not sure. He did a pretty good well on the poker forum a while ago, might be in that. Interesting read if you play poker.

So on top of that 850k you got his live cash, online cash, and online tourney. I wouldn't like to put a figure on it, but online results are easy enough to find. If you still doubt why not ask him rather than speculate here (he doesn't post on boards much anymore) http://www.boylepokerblog.com/ - sponsored by boyles, keeps a regular blog there

If Leinster win I'm in for a 30k pay and only have a 20k down side if they lose it.

'ONLY' 20k down side. Sounds like he's ballin' if what he says it to be believed! Fair play to him if he is betting that much, he obviously has a decent bank if he's using that kinda money :pac:

Heading down to Punchestown tomorrow and just looking for the best public transport down, I see Marathon Travel are doing buses from Dawson St for a score, any other ways to get out to it?

I think it as Leinster were favs, so his stake was reletively small compared to his protential profit.
    He was pretty open about his money in the well he did. Been involved in a few single hands of poker in the 50-75k region

Anyway, its pretty well know hat poker players have little respect for money when it comes to gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

How often is the poker supplement in the racing post?

25k would not be the end of the world to john. Spread betting can be dodgy stuff.

anything else worth a mention in the supplement?

I think there was another boards poster featured before, I think it was also on the website. As I never buy it, and remember the article

edit: maybe somebody scanned and uploaded it though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Hangover central here:(