400 ft Erection is Up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Actually How many people here liked The Flusy in the Jacuse???

764,231 people did...

no, seriously?...

It was quite nice actually, when the water was flowing and it wasn't full of shit...

As for the spire...

Ooh! Nice pointy thing!

Look at it, live, here, here and here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by Elmo

What a pile of Crap.
    I think its pretty cool, as a piece of architecture/art, and as an engineering structure too. Beats having a statue of Dev or some other gob****e..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

I think it's pretty cool aswell, kinda out of the ordinary but it's still nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by jd
    I think its pretty cool, as a piece of architecture/art, and as an engineering structure too. Beats having a statue of Dev or some other gob****e..

I mean De Valera, :)

[Just as well m8! I've got my eye on you :) - DeV]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by Scruff
    As part of that they have bought that old cinema at the top or o'connel st.
    (dunno the name cause i a bog trotter who now lives on the South side:p )

The "old cinema at the top of O'Connell Street" is the Ambassador and no, nobody's bought that.

The city council have bought The Carlton cinema in the middle of O'Connell Street under compulsory purchase. It's reported that the owners didn't want to sell but weren't given a choice. Apparently, it is to be redeveloped as a shopping and entertainment complex as part of the new 'hip' O'Connell Street.
    Originally posted by jd:

I mean De Valera :)

Yes, of course, we all thought you were talking about a 400 foot statue of DeVore ... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Originally posted by Elmo
    Seriously I think it was a waste of money it means nothing what so ever to Ireland (Or dublin for that matter), Its not much of a monument when it means nothing. Other then the fact that they didn't even invest in Irish Art but went to England for the design.
    Anyone could enter. A British design won. It's that simple. Do you not think that the Spire's design leaves enough to the imagination for the people of Dublin and Ireland to imprint the Spire with our own meaning rather than having it foisted on us by a hubristic Irish traditionalist? I sure do and I think it's the most responsible, open, democratic, organic thing to do. I don't hate Irish history, I wish we could connect with it more and, contrary to what I take your opinion to be, I think it'll prompt closer connection with our culture, not further dislocation from it.
    Originally posted by Tolo Tomasi
    Ah I love/hate to see posts which claim they know what is wrong with Ireland and most importantly have the ability to some up in a one line post.

To be honest the only reasonable reply to such an argument is my simple yet very effective 2 word reply.

The abilty to think for ones self vs. one poster conceited and condecending view that they know what is wrong with Ireland. Please dont patronise me.

In my free,independent and informed opinion and ,which will not be altered by the passing of 3 months ,(intesting time frame by the way) the Spire is ill advised.
    Your reply was hardly constructive, was it? It was hardly imaginative.

What I said isn't even my opinion, I'll admit that right now. It's the opinion of a host of political and social researchers, scholars and theorists I've read and one book in particular. My statement was based on evidence.

So if you want to argue this point, I'm happy to so long as you have solid reasons to back it up. You are, absolutely entitled to your opinion. But don't insult yourself by replying so moronically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Rolo Tomasi

Who are you the thought police?? Please post your sources or at the very least the name of this book, I would love to read it.
    Their underdeveloped imagination, that's so symptomatic of everything wrong with Ireland, will eventually catch up with the reality
    so is this an example of imaginative and constructive post, which you admit is not own? Maybe your correct when you post about people's under-developed sense of imagination, the power of an original thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭pugwall

I really like it.....its quite impressive IMO. It looks really well from Henry St. Hopefully it will bring some vibrancy to our main street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Originally posted by Rolo Tomasi
    ...ones self vs. one poster's conceited and condescending view...

...my free,independent and informed opinion...

Nice example of hypocrisy there. Personally I can't find anything wrong with having an architect from another country designing a public monument for our city. I guess I'm not xenophobic enough to think just because they're not Irish they couldn't do the job any justice. As to the Spire itself I haven't seen it in real life yet so I can't really comment on the design. But in UL we have two huge flag poles at the main entrance which could be described as similar and I must say they're an impressive sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Rolo Tomasi

You are taking each point in isolation. The general theme of the post is not one of hipocrisy, which you appear to have missed.

The first part of the post refers to DadaKopf statement that the Irish imagination is inherently limited and that I will change my mind with the passsing of time.

The second refers to my own opinion on the topic at hand. I am merely pointing out that my opinion, is my own, not a naive reponse to the construction of the spire. Not a limited response as one would like to believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭theciscokid

i think they should stick an irish broadband mast up there, it would cover most of the city center :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

i didn't like it on paper, but now that it's up, I think that it's pretty good.

quite inspirational, if you will. certianly worth the money.

(+/- any "misc expns" that will probably show up in the bill :))

- re putting up a broadband omni - that'd be really good - its a nice high point. the only trouble would be what to do when the aerial breaks/ shuts down :(

Originally posted by Xterminator
    Yeh, then you could complain about all the money they spent on the vote. Then when less than 5% of the citizens bother there arse to vote, you could claim it wasnt valid, due to low turn out .. etc etc etc.

If it helps to bring tourists into Dublin, and improves the character of O'Connell st, it will more than pay for itself.

X

i agree anything to improve tourism is good,

an online vote maybe :o

Originally posted by DadaKopf
    I don't see you giving out about the Porguguese architect who designed the new bridge down past the Four Courts. Or the Pole who designed the UCD Arts Block and Smithfield Tower. And maybe having a Brit design Dublin's new symbol isn't such a bad thing either.

Good architecture is good architecture. It doesn't matter where it comes from necessarily.

First you say "what a waste of money" and follow on by giving out about the fact that an Irish entry wasn't chosen. Would it have been a 'splendid show of Irish wealth', then, if an Irish entrant were chosen? No. You'd still be berating it, as would so many other people.

I can see the future: in 3 months, everyone will love it. Their underdeveloped imagination, that's so symptomatic of everything wrong with Ireland, will eventually catch up with the reality.

Just read what Ian Richie (www.ianritchiearchitects.co.uk) has said about his concept about the Spire and tell me why you think it's a bad design concept and waste of money.

maybe because i like all the other projects designs that you mentioned, i do not however like the spike,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Monkey

Personally, I don't like it. I think it's ugly and as a piece of art conceptually weak.

The notion that the way the top will sway in the wind reflects the culture and people of Dublin is ****ing stupid. I have a feeling that was an afterthought hadd when the architecht needed to explain the sculpture.

I'm not outraged at the money spent on it. But maybe if they want to make Dublin a better city they should do a better job of tackling the basic problems like our bad public transport, the amount of drug abuse, our dirty streets and our filthy, smelly river.

it just occured to me , with all the bad news the spike's getting,

does anyone remember the one million pounds spent on that millennium clock in the liffey,..

dumb ppl didn't take into account the algae, no one could fcuking see it a few weeks later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭daveJAM

Originally posted by Monkey
    The notion that the way the top will sway in the wind reflects the culture and people of Dublin is ****ing stupid. I have a feeling that was an afterthought hadd when the architecht needed to explain the sculpture.

Yeah thats total bull. Its far easier to build a "soft structure" that will sway with the wind than one thats rigid.

He's just bull****ing to make himself look good. Not that there's anything wrong with that.

Maybe he just thinks the swaying will alarm some people and is just covering his ass.

Don't get me wrong, I think the spire is great. I'm studying Arch Tech and I really appreciate this kind of thing and how it's definately not a waste of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

I was watching six o c news and my least favourite type of Irishman came on.
    Four an a half million pounds it cost, that shoulda been put into a hospital...the health care in this country is...blah blah feckin BLAH

The same dolts came out when the national stadium was on the off. What about this what about that, theres no money. Shíte to that. We would have nothing interesting around us to see or do if these old (in mind not always body) gits had any say. None have the vision to see that you cant save your way out of recession. They cant fathom the jobs created directly and indirectly connected to these type of proects. By these types of projects i mean ones that may have no essential need to exist unlike hospitals and busses.

This money dropped into a hospital would have twirled away with no obvious sign it was ever ther except for the fatter wallet in a consultants pocket. In the spire it will last for a whole lot longer and imo will inspire people in their own small way. Personally i love the pure engineering skill of its design and simplicity. More interesting than any classic painting i had to study in my leaving thats for sure. I wish we did more things like this, built more than bleeding houses, did more research or discovery, fired some fúckin rockets off into space or something. Just look at the crowd! Irish people arent devoid of inspiration, its just been drummed out of us by those dirty dog collared bástards. Long live Ireland and the spire!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭festivala

It's very impressive in real life.

Pity about the surrounding street though.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Chowmein

Think its quite nice actuly, better then nothing :)

Oh and on another point i quite liked the "The Flusy in the Jacuse"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Typedef

Is it supposed to be graffitti proof, come to mention it urine and vomit proof?

For the same reasons the floosie was taken away (vandalism) I predict 'via Typedefs tarrot card reading' that the spire will be hated by Dubliners, loved by foriegners (as it's supposed to be) and will be regularly urinated against.

At least, the same scumbags who littered the former monument "the floosie" can't actually dump the rubbish 'in' the monument, so instead will have to settle for around and oozing down the sides of the monument.

I predict 'via Typedefs tarrot card reading' that the first picece of Irish gang art to appear on the monument will be either

rasher woz ere

pigs are skum

or

tracy
    michelle
    jacinta

mates

And on that note of levity, I'd like to give a shout out to all my home girls out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Originally posted by Kali
    Ahh see thats whats wrong with Ireland.. a complete lack of constructive and well-thought arguments and the ability to think for ones self.

What like calling the 'Spire of Dublin' stupid names like 'The Spike' or 'Bertie's Erection' or 'The Stilletto in the Ghetto'.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 2,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭LoGiE

Originally posted by Scruff
    Well it is in fact part of a €400 million redevelopment plan for O'connell St. and the City Center..

Well it might have been an idea to tidy/modernise the faces of all the buildings and clean up the street itself BEFORE putting a lump of modern "Art" up no? That way the thing might not look so out of place on the filthy dirty infested skank hole O'Connell St actually is. As for the folks who were taking photographs...These are probably the same folks who dumped thery're photos of the hoar in the sewer this morning. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

i go this in my mail today:
    Spire cleaning squad to ward off vandals
    The Sunday Times

Graffiti will be cleaned off the Spire of Dublin up to three times a day, according to the city council. Planners expect the monument, due to be completed this week, will be a target for vandalism as Dubliners try to autograph the world’s largest sculpture. But a specialist company is to be employed to keep the base of the stainless-steel spire clean.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2091-547484,00.html

can't follow this link though (premium content). does anyone know more about these attempts ?

on ballooba's post - i think that it's natural and not necessarily derogatory to make up a nickname for a thing like the spire.

"The Stilletto in the area of urban renewal" not having the same ring to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Typedef

Graffiti will be cleaned off the Spire of Dublin up to three times a day, according to the city council.

God, that's a national embarressment.

For some reason I can't see the Canadians doing something like that and even if they did, I'd bet the graffiti would be 'urban art', proper graffiti pieces instead of just mindless stuff, like

"tonto loves robin" or some such

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

It's a shame that people are such scumbags that they'll ruin the Spire just because they can, but this happens in every European city. We're just going to have to bear the brunt of the cost. If they do it covertly enough, it's possible that vandals will just get bored defacing the Spire once they realise there's no point, since it gets cleaned every day.

What won't stop, unfortunately, are drunken f***s pissing on the thing, thinking it's a great laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by theciscokid
    i think they should stick an irish broadband mast up there, it would cover most of the city center :D

THAT, is a great idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

when i first heard of the spire, i though "what a waste of money", but then i realised the money would just have been wasted on something else (like a bertie bowl or lawyer's tribunal money), at least we can actually see the result of the spending, it looks fine: modern metallic structure, impressively tall, so what im trying to say is, its better than nothing and im sure people will like it eventually

and DadaKopf, that will be my BRIAN written in 3 foot tall letters :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Originally posted by yossarin
    on ballooba's post - i think that it's natural and not necessarily derogatory to make up a nickname for a thing like the spire.

"The Stilletto in the area of urban renewal" not having the same ring to it.

Thats exactly my point. Why do we have to think of some stupid rhyming name for everything in this country? Why can't people just call it what it is i.e. 'Spire of Dublin' or if you really wan't to shorten it call it the 'Spire'.

I do think that people make these names up to be derogatory. The same as the 'floozie in the jacuzzi' was made up because Auld Dubs didn't like those feicers the Smurfits plonking their rubbish in the middle of their main street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Originally posted by Typedef
    tracy
    michelle
    jacinta

mates

Heh Typedef, I'd say whatever company got the contract to clean the spire will have their work cut out for them. That's a good point about the money probably being wasted on some other goverment lark, at least this way we'll have a nice piece of art that might add to the city.