If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Imagine launch Midband Ripwave Replacement - WiMAX

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

OVERTONE69 wrote: »
    Edit: oh and theres no ****in way they said they capped you. They can slow your speed; cap your usage. everywhere does it
    Excuse me?
    Were you on the phone or was I when they said what they said? Are you calling me a liar?
    Don't try to tell me what I did or didn't hear!
    You weren't listening again to their fcukin' bullschite for the 48th phone call time!
    Get the fcuk! Who the hell do you think you are to make me out to be a liar!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,461 ✭✭✭✭watty

UPC and Eircom offer a cap about x8 the "unlimited" of WiMax Mobile.

Digiweb Metro Fixed Wireless (a real 6Mbps to 8Mbps) has a Cap x2 the "Imagine WiMax" unlimited. They don't pretend it's unlimited or a "FUP". They call it what it is, clearly and up front. Wireless (Fixed or Nomadic/Mobile) has to have a Cap. "Imagine WiMax" and "3", Meteor/eMobile, O2 and Vodafone should all have 5G to 10G caps to limit congestion as they have no real fixed known contention.

Only Magnet has anything approaching "unlimited" (It's certainly effectively unlimited for almost everyone on their LLU or Fibre. I'd guess if you could eat 1T Byte to 2T byte a month, every month they might inquire what you are at. Like if you using one connection for an entire apartment block or hotel they probably would rightly want more money).

For those with Imagine or considering it, read here: http://ratemyisp.ie/ratings/imagine/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Obecny

7MB connection in Tralee

screenshot20110404at211.png

Obecny wrote: »
    7MB connection in Tralee

screenshot20110404at211.png
    Sweek jesus thats brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Bugg

Just got Wimax installed at home today in Tralee, thats the speed I was getting around that time earlier. Now I'm getting nothing, laptop connects to the router with a full signal, as soon as I try connect to a website the yellow symbol appears and tells me I have no internet access.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭OVERTONE69

Biggins wrote: »
    For those with Imagine or considering it, read here: http://ratemyisp.ie/ratings/imagine/

I think those reviews have serious problems. some are almost illegible. Youve got ones who say they have had a good experience. others which are just juvenille, like burning imagine down.

really? burn a place down because they gave you bad broadband?

Ill pick wimax over dsl anyday but i realy wish there was a better review site. or even if people who were happy with the service would post more. Wimax took off faster than any others which is more than likely why they went here.

lame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I think it was Fergal Quinn who said a happy customer will tell four people their experience an unhappy customer will tell ten.

To be honest to say people are being juvenile and trying to burn Imagine down as if on a whim is a little unfair especially if your service is good and you haven't had to deal with their infuriatingly inept customer care. I can certainly sympathise with a lot of the reports on the site in question. Unreturned calls, no evidence of previous calls on the system when you call back so it's like you have to start all over again each time with a different person. In fact they leave people with no choice but resort to third party sites to vent their frustration.

As for the BB itself in all fairness these guys tagline is something like 'finally decent BB in Ireland' and it's nowhere near such for a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Bugg

Their customer care is a joke. Ordered their broadband a few weeks ago and after using it for a while I decided it was not for me (it went from to 6m speed when first switched on to .5m speed an hour later to finally just switching off) I was within my cooling off period(had less than a day left) so I decided I'd rather be safe than sorry.

I rang them up to cancel and they kept me on the phone for 2 hours trying to get me to change my mind. The lady on the phone told me i could have my coolling off period extended by 5 days if I wished, I agreed and she said she would send an email right away to confirm this. After an hour or so and not receiving the email I rang them back. This time I was put through to a different person who informed me that they were in fact not allowed to extend the cooling off period and didn't know why I was told they could by the previous person.

The lady I was talking to first made a blatant attempt to try trick me into entering the contract so i would have to pay the 100 euro cancellation fee.

They also told me they had sent in a transfer request to eircom so that my contract with eircom will be terminated. They advised me to ring eircom and cancel this, so I rang eircom but I was told they hadn't received any request.

After all this they agreed to cancel and I requested that they send me an email confirming this, so that if they try pull any other tricks I would at least have something to back myself up.

Got my 100euro equipment fee back from them and had them remove that horrible looking antenna from the front of my house.

I would advise anyone even thinking of switching to steer clear of them. You may actually get a decent connection (if your lucky), but if anything goes wrong, your going to have to deal with the joke that is their customer care.

Bugg wrote: »
    I would advise anyone even thinking of switching to steer clear of them. You may actually get a decent connection (if your lucky), but if anything goes wrong, your going to have to deal with the joke that is their customer care.
    That's them in a nutshell. Delay tactic after delay tactic. After four weeks trying to leave we even had some guy tell us that according to his information we were considering staying. They blocked us from porting back to Eircom for credit reasons even though they told us we were all clear on our bill and then billed us for the following month. They failed to contact Athlone regarding our DSFA which we chased them down for but still no joy.

Two months of unreturned calls, lies and kurt responses when we called them.

They sent us a final bill even though we told them all further contact must be through our solicitor. They're not even capable of following simple instructions.

In MY opinion and experience (I'm not saying it's across the board) they're bullies, liers and con artists. No wonder they can give away so many I-pads on Facebook what with all the money they're conning out of people.

OVERTONE69 wrote: »
    I think those reviews have serious problems. some are almost illegible. Youve got ones who say they have had a good experience. others which are just juvenille, like burning imagine down.
    I deeply suspect (and the owner of the site has caught a few at it through their same posting I.P. address and traced it - see his blog) that any good reviews if Imagine Wimax, are being posted by staff themselves!

http://ratemyisp.ie/ratings/imagine/

As the above said, they the biggest bunch of organised liars I've come across in Ireland in all my years - and I am no spring chicken.

You can read about my hassles with them here: http://unitedpeople.ie/buyer.html
    ...Even yesterday, they were giving me hassle yet again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭MrVestek

I have to ask lads, what did you expect from a company that was originally forced out of the market for reselling Eircell minutes cheaper than Eircell at the time, thus breaking the law.

In my personal opinion that Sean Bolger fella is a con artist all by himself.
    You can read about the Eircell / Imagine / Cellular 3 debacle here:
    http://www.independent.ie/business/cellular-3-boss-bolger-set-to-sue-for-pound150m-347629.html

Looks like history is repeating itself too considering that Imagine are now suing Motorola:
    http://www.siliconrepublic.com/comms/item/20648-imagine-sues-motorola-for

Achilles wrote: »
    I have to ask lads, what did you expect from a company that was originally forced out of the market for reselling Eircell minutes cheaper than Eircell at the time, thus breaking the law.

http://www.independent.ie/business/cellular-3-boss-bolger-set-to-sue-for-pound150m-347629.html

Looks like history is repeating itself too considering that Imagine are now suing Motorola:

They or he should be not allowed operate or be granted a licence to run as a business if there was breaking of the law!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,243 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Achilles wrote: »

Wait a second, are you saying that this man broke the law by availing of a volume discount as an MVNO?? Speaking of legality, what does tort law have to say on calling someone a con artist on a public forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭misterdarkness

I got wimax yesterday and for first 4 or 5 hours i was impressedi was pulling in what an 8 meg line should and was updating few games on steam happy as a pig in shiiiite lol that is until i turned on bit torrent and man it was crap maybe 30 kb a sec. Tried switching ports but still no good. My one meg line (best i can get on dsl) was maxed out when i swithed to that so i know was not the torrents with was wimax blocking connections obvious as hell. I called them they said they dont support bittorrent.

Lets call a spade a spade they said i could download say 60gb per month no problem but in fairness without torrent applications they know the average joe would never come next to near that.

Anyway gonna cancell today still in my trial period. No point at all of 8 meg line for me unless i can use it HOW I WANT TO USE IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭DHFrame

until i turned on bit torrent and man it was crap maybe 30 kb a sec. Tried switching ports but still no good. My one meg line (best i can get on dsl) was maxed out when i swithed to that so i know was not the torrents with was wimax blocking connections obvious as hell. I called them they said they dont support bittorrent.

Anyway gonna cancell today still in my trial period. No point at all of 8 meg line for me unless i can use it HOW I WANT TO USE IT

I always check the companies Traffic Shaping Policies before committing. I have Digiweb 60Gb a month and its fine for everything. The dont squeeze anything.

There are 2 forms of downloaders. Addicted and Casual. Anyone who needs unlimited downloads are downloading 100s of movies and not even watching them. Kind of a status thing. ''Look at all my movies. ooooooh''

DHFrame wrote: »
    I always check the companies Traffic Shaping Policies before committing. I have Digiweb 60Gb a month and its fine for everything. The dont squeeze anything.

There are 2 forms of downloaders. Addicted and Casual. Anyone who needs unlimited downloads are downloading 100s of movies and not even watching them. Kind of a status thing. ''Look at all my movies. ooooooh''

Lol I know a few of these people :) but I would only really go for tv shows but when I do I like to get the 720 copies hence why I'd use up my limit. Still it's crap to restrict the Internet who would want that. Anyway I know a way now around the torrent block but that does not matter because all night last night and today I was only getting .1 of a meg. I mean what a crap service lol if it was done right then wimax would be great. I was getting pings of 42 to 90 ms to google and was getting the full whack of an 8 meg line for few hours so wimax is able to rival dsl if it was run right by another company. I've no problem in cancelling I'm sure I get my 100 euro back. If not I'll just reverse the credit card charge and then let them try to take me to court I'm have them for breakfast lol. Either way I'm not worried but I'm stunned that they can get away with fraud.

Sing with me people :)))))

Wimax A-comin across the nation wimax the new defecation, wimax last generation, slower, crapper, Weaker just try and see for more crap contact Imagion.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Works okay in my area but its due to it being mobile wimax I think that causes half the problems.

Coupled with the problem that mobile wimax range is so poor, you have to get a fixed implementation of it anyway in most cases.

I get almost full speeds, almost all the time but I'd prefer UPC if it was available in my area but might be moving house soon anyway so not too worried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Google Gold

I had read somewhere here before there is a bypass to the torrent block. misterdarkness how did you get on?

It involves a browser application and basically download them through you ie window or firefox. But rather than get my ass banned I'll leave it at that :) I've cancelled wimax and now back on my 1 meg line. Ain't so bad I guess as I just backup a list of torrents and leave it off for a day. If I could even get an 8 meg line I'd cancel sky, I'd watch an hour a day is all on my tv.

Off topic but interesting to see in 10 years will the Internet start to really hit companies like sky

It involves a browser application and basically download them through you ie window or firefox. But rather than get my ass banned I'll leave it at that :) I've cancelled wimax and now back on my 1 meg line. Ain't so bad I guess as I just backup a list of torrents and leave it off for a day. If I could even get an 8 meg line I'd cancel sky, I'd watch an hour a day is all on my tv.

Off topic but interesting to see in 10 years will the Internet start to really hit companies like sky

Torrents can be used for distribution of free and perfectly legit stuff as well so dont be afraid to suggest things....we all dont use torrents for illegal copyrighted content. torrent is a cool mechanism for sharing freeware and software mods that are open licience based :) i doubt the mods would react to that knowing that :) but that is my opinion on it

Thats also why they shouldnt be throtteling peer to peer networks - doesnt steam work off a similar system and older games for windows live games as well?

Its up to the people who then use it to use it for good or not so good :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Google Gold

I have one day left to cancel & am not sure yet if they block torrents 24hrs or just during daytime hours & im kinda sure you can bypass the block but only kinda any help anybody please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭-=al=-

I may know a guy who used some torrents yesterday to download 2 applications and apparently it worked fine throughout the day/evening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 marrossko

I also have WiMAX CPE but I try the password motorola and it doesn't work. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Avoid Wimax. IT's a horrible service. A joke of customer service.

Yeah I just saw the ad with yer man playing the guitar and what was once a source of amusement is now a cause for abject RAGE!!! Stay away from them. They must recruit their CC from the looney bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭DryCleanOnly

MyKeyG wrote: »
    Completely agree. They sent me an email warning that they were going to cap my download limit. They gave me some crap about ensuring 'that all customers benefit from the very best that WiMax has to offer by ensuring fair usage of data across the WiMax Network.' The salesman said 'no limits'. It's disgusting that government legislation allows such a statement BUT they can enforce a fair usage policy. Streaming movies for $1 instead of paying €6 to Xtra-vision is the way of the future and Imagine are not on board just because their poxy network can't handle the customer base.

I also got the no limits speil, got one of their fare use warnings yesterday.
    Went on the net today and got another one

wimax.png

That along with their disastrous ping time makes me wish i never got it
    1520299116.png

I need to set up routing from that bull-s***t called WiMAX CPE on my roof to my router. Because they protect it with their password (I don't why????) I need to contact their support. Instead of seting the NAT their technician ask for my router's MAC to set up DMZ! Day before some girl told me way to get into CPE is address 192.168.15.1:2000...this doesn't even works!!! So I wonder, do they have even slice idea how to provide technical support???
    BTW: I do download as well quiet large amount of data but If I remember well THEY state it that this is "unlimited download" service. So I think any obstruction from their side on my connection I would consider as braching the contract and cancel the service and do not pay the bill!!! let them bring it to the Court!

This I found in motorola manual:

If you forget your password, you can reset it back to the default (motorola)
    password.
    To reset the password, press and hold the reset button on the back of your CPE for
    5 or more seconds. Before resetting the CPE, ensure that the power is ON.

Now I wander If this will reset all settings or just the password (to reset into factory setting on most of the routers you need to aply 30/30/30. This one say only 5s to reset the password)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

HAD Wimax here for 9 months, and most of the time, it's done what it's supposed to. I was on ADSL with Imagine before, and this was a cheaper option with no downgrades.

Speed is meant to be 8 down and 512 up, and it's not far off that, as long as I use wired connect, the Motorola is not good at WiFi access, I've found it easier to put another WiFi device on to my router and use that, the speeds then on WiFi are a LOT better for some reason.

There are a couple of issues with the phone lines, I have an interesting irritation with the phone ringing 2 rings but no call there, and we've eventually tracked it down to being a strange router issue, as we can now repeat the problem by switching pages in the router. It's still under investigation, as I'm not using a standard PSTN phone, for historic reasons, there's a small PABX hanging off the Wimax line, so the port on the switch may well be more sensitive to changes that a PSTN phone is not going to see.

Wimax support have been very good in looking at this, and have spent the time to try and get to the bottom of a couple of strange issues that have been causing drop outs recently. We're still working on it, and I'd be the first to accept that it's going to take a bit of time to finally nail down, as the network and configuration here is not standard, due to things like the switch, and a network that has printers that won't work with DHCP, so are fixed IP, and that meant changing the Wimax defaults so that the printers would work.

It took a while to get to the right level in Imagine's support, but they do have people at the right level, I've been working with computers for over 40 years, so I've learnt and forgotten more than a few things, the one thing that I do know is when the person at the other end knows what they're doing, and with these problems, they have been up to speed, done all the right things, and while it's not sorted, I know from my own experiences that the way it's being handled is right, and we will get it sorted by the time we've finished.

Oh yeah, while I think of it, my speeds, using an internal router are not bad, took this a few minutes ago, and this is pretty much the norm, even with bad weather about.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁