Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The French

• 29-04-2011 07:33AM

I just checked an amazing house... rooftop terrace, games room, class living room and kitchen, massive bedrooms and all for a good price.
    But my housemates would have been 3 french people and I just couldn't do it.. Give me any and I mean any other nationality in the world and I would have taken it ina heartbeat. But with French people? No way.

Anyone else feel like this? Am I racist? Or is it built up anger at having to study their camp language for 6 years so I could goto college? Or is it just the fact that almost all the French I've met have been loud and crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Lived with a french lad years ago. He was from paris too to make things worse.Complete tosser to begin with. Once you get used to them and their waysit can be rewarding or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

The only French person I know is a cousins hubby. Introduced me to whiskey at a wedding as a teenager. Sound fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I don't suppose I'd care too much, only thing with living with 3 people of the same nationality is that they will proceed to make you paranoid talking about the weather cos you're gonna be 100% sure they are b1tching about ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I only know two french people personally.
    One,great to work with lovely girl...could not live with her-constantly bitches about Ireland which irritates the hell out of me

The other-hates French people which I think is hilarious, cant stand to be lumped in with French people stereotypes especially because she comes from just outside of Paris so people tend to make assumptions about her. Would live with with her in a heartbeat and have stayed with her in her hometown a fair few times.

I wouldnt live with anybody I dont know though if I could help it-French, Polish, Japanese, Irish... doesnt matter. Theres some assholes and some lovely ones of each and knowing me Id get the dregs of the lucky dip!

Azureus wrote: »
    I wouldnt live with anybody I dont know though if I could help it-French, Polish, Japanese, Irish... doesnt matter. Theres some assholes and some lovely ones of each and knowing me Id get the dregs of the lucky dip!
    Don't like living with people I know.. From experience, people have more respect for strangers than for friends. And it's good for meeting people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Don't like living with people I know.. From experience, people have more respect for strangers than for friends. And it's good for meeting people.

I've never done a house share with strangers so you could be right there-but Id just be afraid of nutters, my brother ended up with a guy who just sat around in his boxers playing a banjo in the sitting room all day and barely talked! The room constantly smelled of sex even though he was the only one in there most of the time. :o

Give me my mates any day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I like their films.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

You're pretty much just racist, but not in a way that affects anyone else so not really a problem. Are you going to stay on for a long time in the 'Nam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭AllYourBass

Ooof, the g/f's French so I have to stick my oar in here. Firstly, it sounds like you just have experience with Parisennes, who the rest of the French also despise for their holier than thou delusions. Secondly, you're racist. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭jomc

France would be a lovely country if it wasn't for all the french

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Dane Bramage

Married to a French woman myself and know a few French people who live in Ireland. Also visit France quite frequently. Have no problems with them, if you like the place go for it OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭Hootanany

I just checked an amazing house... rooftop terrace, games room, class living room and kitchen, massive bedrooms and all for a good price.
    But my housemates would have been 3 french people and I just couldn't do it.. Give me any and I mean any other nationality in the world and I would have taken it ina heartbeat. But with French people? No way.

Anyone else feel like this? Am I racist? Or is it built up anger at having to study their camp language for 6 years so I could goto college? Or is it just the fact that almost all the French I've met have been loud and crap?

Where the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Many of my mates in China are French. Nicest bunch of people you could ever meet. I suspect you're just a bit racist OP (there are plenty of stuck up Irish twats too, as I'm sure you know).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I had to deal with the French last year and when I heard that I was delighted thought it would be nice , after about a week I hated them I found them all to be arrogant and ignorant .this year I refused to have anything to do with them now the Spanish they are a nice crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

The French?

FAIL!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Or is it just the fact that almost all the French I've met have been loud and crap?

Just confront them about being loud and they'll surrender straight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Lived with one that was a proper cunt but he was the exception to be honest.

Wear a fake Poirot moustache, beret and hooped jersey to break the ice when you move in.

Don't put a string of onions around your neck though as that would just be corny and stereotypical.

stovelid wrote: »
    Lived with one that was a proper cunt but he was the exception to be honest.

Wear a fake Poirot moustache, beret and hooped jersey to break the ice when you move in.

Don't put a string of onions around your neck though as that would just be corny and stereotypical.

Its Garlic:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭cbmonstra

The French

A great bunch of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭kieran26

Was Poirot not Belgian?

Hootanany wrote: »

Gee.

And you quoted me so I can't sneakily edit it you bollix. :)

I'm 99% sure the Stereotype is onions :cool:

kieran26 wrote: »
    Was Poirot not Belgian?

All the same innit.
    I'm 99% sure the Stereotype is onions :cool:

I'm getting confused now.

Which post do I delete to save face? :)

/I know, all of them.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Les fourneaux avec de pisse.

All the same innit.

I'm getting confused now.

Which post do I delete to save face? :)

/I know, all of them.. :)

here you go

http://www.flickr.com/photos/supercharz/2081944716/#/

Can anyone say cut the grass in French

marylebone onion seller!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭delonglad

Lived with a few French people throughout college. 3 in total.

1. Chap from Marseilles, absolutely loaded with money. Poor chap wrecked my head. Didn't know how to cook, clean or even use the washing machine. His maid did it for him in France. He also didn't like to ix with the Irish too much and was as tight as a ducks arse when ever he joined us to the pub. He thought rounds were us buying him beer for free.

2. French girl, one of my best friends to date. She was born in France and her parents Moroccan. She is intelligent, friendly, polite and she comes to visit still. She loved it here and didn't want to leave.

3. Another rich boy, totally ignorant hated anyone who wasn't French except the Irish of course (because he was talking to me). Biggest racist I've met in my life, no respect for other cultures and especially the Algerians/Moroccans which he referred to as monkeys. Complete twat!

In all French people are grand some smoking hot woman and some hairy ones too. Some loud cocky fellas and some sound. Alot of them claim to despise the French and their government but sure thats like most of us these days. "Fecking Ireland, Fecking govt w@nkers" etc

Go for it I say, they will only wreck your head if you let them. If your a strong open minded person you'll fly it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Just confront them about being loud and they'll surrender straight away.
    Can the OP afford to feed three prisoners ? Although at least one should turn collaborator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Can anyone say cut the grass in French

"Cut le grass"