Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving to Cavan

• 27-04-2011 6:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭

Contemplating a move to Cavan from Dublin. I'm looking at Virginia but I'm hoping to get feedback from other members that have maybe moved from a city to the country and loved or regretted it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Moved down from Dublin would never go back.

Looking for advice on something specific?

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

Looking for advice on something specific?

Dealing with the quietness. Does boredom ever set in. I work from home and will need to journey back to dublin just once a week. For me I'm not too worried but I'd be wary that my wife could go stir crazy.

We've kids to keep us busy but she like to head out to shopping centre and the like when it takes her fancy. Is there enough in Cavan to keep her occupied.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,052 ✭✭✭gazzer

Marsden wrote: »
    Dealing with the quietness. Does boredom ever set in. I work from home and will need to journey back to dublin just once a week. For me I'm not too worried but I'd be wary that my wife could go stir crazy.

We've kids to keep us busy but she like to head out to shopping centre and the like when it takes her fancy. Is there enough in Cavan to keep her occupied.

Well the Blanch SC is only a 50 minute drive from Virginia if you use the M3. Also Navan has a fair few shops. I moved to Cavan 3 years ago and never looked back. I will be honest though that it can get boring at night? I have tried to find things to do so that I can meet the locals so to speak but so far no joy. Virginia may be different though as I live nearer Ballyjamesduff.

However having said that I dont tend to go out during the week and a couple of times a month I head out in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Leelaa22

I recently moved to Virginia too. Be sure you want the quiet life before coming down.

I travel to Dublin most days for college, but even spending the evenings and weekends here can be hard.

It is a nice place but a huge adjustment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Lots of folks have moved down from the big smoke in the last 5 years... Some love it and have thrown themselves into local life and will probably never leave..
    Some however have lost seriously on their investments and hate the rural life, they are however stuck in the country as they cannot release the capital they tied up in houses...

My advice is to rent, rent for a year and see how it goes.

There is lots to do in most towns, might not have the variety or public transport you are used to but there is a good life to be lived..

I'm presuming you will be working in Dublin as the employment opportunities in Cavan have always been poor, more so now with the downturn..

bbam wrote: »
    Lots of folks have moved down from the big smoke in the last 5 years... Some love it and have thrown themselves into local life and will probably never leave..
    Some however have lost seriously on their investments and hate the rural life, they are however stuck in the country as they cannot release the capital they tied up in houses...

My advice is to rent, rent for a year and see how it goes.

There is lots to do in most towns, might not have the variety or public transport you are used to but there is a good life to be lived..

I'm presuming you will be working in Dublin as the employment opportunities in Cavan have always been poor, more so now with the downturn..

Yes I wouldn't be searching for a job in Cavan. The move isn't really for myself but rather thinking of a better place to raise children than Dublin.

I was planning to rent for a year first before making any kind of commitment but I dont really want to be moving from place to place with the kids either. We're still mulling it over for the moment and theres no pressure for us to move. I'm just unsure if its a good decision but I suppose I'll only find out if I go.

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭TYJ

Quick question, why would you want to live in Cavan

TYJ wrote: »
    Quick question, why would you want to live in Cavan

Country living but still close enough to Dublin, also not far from Dundalk where I have family. Why?

Plenty of choice when It comes to renting. 3 beds in Cavan for as little as €450p/m.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,679 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It depends what you want out of it and what your circumstances are...

I'm living in Virginia myself and moved down from Dublin 3 and a half years ago. At the time I was working in Meath so it was handy and I had a few friends down here already, and although there is a pretty good theatre (if that's your thing) and a few good pubs in the town, I'm past the "out every weekend on the lash" phase (joys of being in our sensible 30s eh?) so for me it was great.

Of course now thanks to the recession I'm forced to commute every day to Dublin which - while it's only 45 mins to the M50 using the M3 - is costing me an absolute fortune in diesel and tolls every month (€500 and rising as fuel goes up) as well as increased wear and tear on the car and a 200km daily round trip :(

It's still a nice place to live though, and as I'm renting I'm not affected by the property crash - for example the house I'm now in which was €320-360k at launch 3 years ago, wouldn't be worth more than €150k today and you can take your pick of the empty/half-finished/not started ones - but I've a friend whose sister bought one and really lost out on it :(

You WILL need a car though (maybe 2 if one of you is away during the day) as although the Supervalu in the town isn't bad and there's a large (I think overpriced?) Tesco about 20 mins up the road in Bailleboro, you'll still need to go to Navan or Cavan (or Blanch) for a lot of things.

I also worry about the growing "gang" of teenagers I see sitting around the garage as there's nothing for them to do and in a few years I can imagine all sorts of trouble with only a part-time Garda station and again the nearest one being 20+ mins away :( (or maybe I'm just getting old? :p)

If you make peace with the fact that you will need to drive for almost everything (shopping, entertainment etc) then it's a nice quiet town with good transport links to Dublin (and Enniskillen is only an hour away too), but like I say it really depends on your circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

yet another dub movin to cavan... not sure whats worse the dubs or the foriegners... for f*cks sake.. ballyduff is now called bally"dub""!!!

only jiking, but seriously, an unmerciful amount of dubs have moved to county cavan (during the boom), if yer planning on moving to virginia,ballyduff then dont be expecting any cavan accents!! its all "howya bud"!! but anyway yer welcome... even if ye are about 6 years too late!! lol!

i ask "kaiser2000" about this growing gang of worrying youths? does "kaiser2000" reckon they are local cavan youths or would there be an element of dublin incomers to this phenonemon?

flanum wrote: »
    i ask "kaiser2000" about this growing gang of worrying youths? does "kaiser2000" reckon they are local cavan youths or would there be an element of dublin incomers to this phenonemon?

I'm sure it's probably both.. I do know that a man living up near the firestation was tortured with the sort of low level crap the Gardai have no interest in but which can make life miserable for the person enduring it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 p_j_whelan

Am half thinking of looking for a place in Virginia, recently obtained a job in Meath and was looking at someplace like Maynooth originally to live (as heard Navan has a bad rep) but am thinking now that its a bit of a spin away and may mean a lot of money down the drain in terms of petrol etc. every day. Would Virginia be worth a shot?

Is it safe etc. as have never been up that side of the country. Wonder is there much for a mid twentysomething fella to do up there aswell?

p_j_whelan wrote: »
    Am half thinking of looking for a place in Virginia, recently obtained a job in Meath and was looking at someplace like Maynooth originally to live (as heard Navan has a bad rep) but am thinking now that its a bit of a spin away and may mean a lot of money down the drain in terms of petrol etc. every day. Would Virginia be worth a shot?

Is it safe etc. as have never been up that side of the country. Wonder is there much for a mid twentysomething fella to do up there aswell?

Bump........

Read back to my comments above - it WILL cost you in fuel/tolls to commute and depending on what you're looking for it may be a bit quieter than you're used to - but if you can live with both of these then it's a lovely town

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Well there is two nightclubs, the manor aint the greatest but I've heard the new club V is a quality spot.

Never heard of too much trouble up round there tbh but I dont live right there.

Bump........

Well what do you like doing? Hobbies?

Thanks for the replies. Well I will be working in Kells so it wont be that far from where I work. Into cycling a bit and hoping to get into a habit of going to the gym over the winter. Ill study aswell so no harm if its a bit quiet in order to get some work done!!

Just wondered if it was a safe spot e.g. no knackers where I have to worry about my car every single night I park it up, walk to the shops hassle free etc. not like some other towns in Ireland.

I can put up with the quiteness during the week alright. Will prob be off to meet friends in Dublin most weekends anyway!

i think youve just answered your own question.. move so!!! and ye cud maybe get up extra early some mornings and cycle to work!! good luck with all if you do wish to move here... cead mile failte!

The wife just took up cycling. There is tons of clubs in Cavan much to my surprise. There's another tread about cycling in Cavan etc.

As for gyms, there is one in Virginia, ballyjamesduff, 3 in Cavan town etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Elia80

Hello,

I wanted to ask about opinions about The Gallops, in Cavan. It looks like a nice estate to me, not too close to town but with easy access. Does anyone know the place?

Thanks a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 JKSSS

Marsden wrote: »
    Contemplating a move to Cavan from Dublin. I'm looking at Virginia but I'm hoping to get feedback from other members that have maybe moved from a city to the country and loved or regretted it.

Hi
    I know you posted this awhile ago but I am in the same position now. We are thinking of moving to Cavan. just wondering if you made the move and how it worked out for you
    J

• Registered Users Posts: 15 curiousmart

Any updates to this.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Any updates to this.

Updates to what exactly?

Ginger83 wrote: »
    Updates to what exactly?

Clearly the post subject is moving to Cavan but content is a few yrs old...
    Any updates to content but with 2018 mindset.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,008 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

I moved from Dublin last year to up near Arvagh. I have to say I love it here, have met plenty of friendly people and have settled in well.
    The peace & quiet, beautiful scenery and easier pace of life are great. There's a huge variety of things to get involved in socially, far much more than I experienced in Dublin - people make more of an effort to socialise here it seems. You've got to do likewise and make a really effort to get involved locally to help you settle in.
    Many pubs will make arrangements to get you home if you want to drink & live out of the way.
    On the down side, no broadband or even hope of broadband in a lot of areas, recycling facilities are awful, bin collection is difficult if you live on a back lane and the nearest fully operating garda station is back in Cavan town, not ideal. Also the commute to Dublin is a bit tedious and hugely expensive, thankfully only a few more years of that for me!
    You (and any other adults in the family) absolutely must be able and willing to drive when you live in the country - otherwise you are totally isolated and wont be happy.

So far so good for me anyway, the positives are outweighing the negatives.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Clearly the post subject is moving to Cavan but content is a few yrs old...
    Any updates to content but with 2018 mindset.

Are you thinking of moving?

If so if i knew what part of Cavan i might be able to advise. Have lived in Ballyjamesduff, currently live near Virginia but have friends in Bailieborough, Mullagh and Cavan town.

[Thanks so much v useful and insightful. quote="Gaspode;107879038"]I moved from Dublin last year to up near Arvagh. I have to say I love it here, have met plenty of friendly people and have settled in well.
    The peace & quiet, beautiful scenery and easier pace of life are great. There's a huge variety of things to get involved in socially, far much more than I experienced in Dublin - people make more of an effort to socialise here it seems. You've got to do likewise and make a really effort to get involved locally to help you settle in.
    Many pubs will make arrangements to get you home if you want to drink & live out of the way.
    On the down side, no broadband or even hope of broadband in a lot of areas, recycling facilities are awful, bin collection is difficult if you live on a back lane and the nearest fully operating garda station is back in Cavan town, not ideal. Also the commute to Dublin is a bit tedious and hugely expensive, thankfully only a few more years of that for me!
    You (and any other adults in the family) absolutely must be able and willing to drive when you live in the country - otherwise you are totally isolated and wont be happy.

So far so good for me anyway, the positives are outweighing the negatives.[/quote]

Near Cavan town and keeping an open mind. quote="Ginger83;107880208"]Are you thinking of moving?

If so if i knew what part of Cavan i might be able to advise. Have lived in Ballyjamesduff, currently live near Virginia but have friends in Bailieborough, Mullagh and Cavan town.[/quote]