What Food & Drink remind you of your childhood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Can someone please help me remember a type of lollipop?
    They were orange lollipops in this simple design : http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR6kKgZyokqd8149JFdiRwnvpJNrKt3oxaNEFWumK6tkWekBIkOGg&t=1
    except that they were a darker orange, not see through, and very fizzy/tangy and had a picture on their clear outer wrapping.
    Possibly a pic of a sun wearing sunglasses?

Weren't they just called fizzy lollies? A taste-bud explosion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

£1 Burger Special in the Beefy King :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 lupalele

Ma Reilly crisps & Calypso's, loved them! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Smak!

They were tins of minerals in the tuck shop, made in the North, a long, thin can rather than the normal ones. Cola and orange and Lemonade.

Maine bottled minerals, loads of different flavours, delivered by van and you returned the glass bottles. They've started doing the deliveries again and they do an amazing range of flavours, about 15 I'd say.

Arctic Roll.
    Chewits.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

mud wrote: »
    Weren't they just called fizzy lollies? A taste-bud explosion.

Thanks Mud, you are more than likely right, I just can't remember for sure. I just know that they looked [from my memory] something like this with red and black writing, and that they were yummy! :pac:

This a picture of the outside wrapper, just leaving the actual lolly colorless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

I remember slicing eclairs in half to see if the heart was inside like the ad, so sad!!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I did the exact same! :)

Soda Stream, fish fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Angel Delight, Creamola foam and semolina.

Birds trifle
    kojak lollies
    golly bars
    big times
    spangles
    pacers
    black jacks
    whistle pops
    texan bars
    flying saucers
    caramac
    foam shrimps
    candy lipsticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,799 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

curly wurlys - still taste as good today as they did back then.
    .....half the fat so you can eat twice as much!

macaroons and snowballs taste more artifical than before, and wibbly wobbly wonders taste better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Does anyone remember when you would hear the chime of the ice cream van and you would run as fast as you could to your house and wreck your parents head for money!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭TFK

Does anyone remember when you would hear the chime of the ice cream van and you would run as fast as you could to your house and wreck your parents head for money!!:D:D

My kids do that now! Now I understand how my mam felt LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Anyone remember when TK fizzy drinks were in glass bottles? and you'd get a few pence back if you returned the bottles to the shop :)

Mashed spuds with onions through it
    Home made burgers (lol, "meal maker" was essential)
    Rhubarb
    He-Man jelly mould things, dunno the proper name but think I'm the only person in the world that remembers them!
    Fizz bombs / Fizzy Fruits
    Jawbreakers
    Fruit salad / Blackjack sweets
    Dib dabs + Sherbet fountains
    Fishfingers (lol, I suspect everyone under the age of 20 has never eaten them, snooty feckers :))

TK cream soda
    Cool pops, and if you were loaded you could get the giant ones for 50p
    Supercans
    Slurpies from 7-11, guaranteed brain freeze!
    Slush puppies, do these still exist? reminds me of going to clara lara hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Those sausages that oozed cheese when you bit into them.
    Afaik they had to be taken off the market as unsafe.

^^^^

I remember the He-man Jelly things!

My kids eat fish fingers, I showed them how to eat them properly, on bread with a slice of cheese and red sauce.......YUM

TFK wrote: »
    ^^^^

I remember the He-man Jelly things!

My kids eat fish fingers, I showed them how to eat them properly, on bread with a slice of cheese and red sauce.......YUM

Hahaha, good on ye! I thought I was imagining the jellies, I think they made bravestar ones after a while, but could be wrong.

Ah yeah, good aul fishfingers, bang em on a bita bread with some red sauce and away ya go, this upcoming generation will learn a lot about the wonders of red sauce :D

Hahaha, good on ye! I thought I was imagining the jellies, I think they made bravestar ones after a while, but could be wrong.

Ah yeah, good aul fishfingers, bang em on a bita bread with some red sauce and away ya go, this upcoming generation will learn a lot about the wonders of red sauce :D

Not sure about the bravestar ones but there were deffo He-man ones! You had to peel the backing off them.

Oh that reminds me, tattoo chewing gums! The gum was rotten but the tattoos were the business.

Anyone remember when TK fizzy drinks were in glass bottles? and you'd get a few pence back if you returned the bottles to the shop :)

Mashed spuds with onions through it
    Home made burgers (lol, "meal maker" was essential)
    Rhubarb
    He-Man jelly mould things, dunno the proper name but think I'm the only person in the world that remembers them!
    Fizz bombs / Fizzy Fruits
    Jawbreakers
    Fruit salad / Blackjack sweets
    Dib dabs + Sherbet fountains
    Fishfingers (lol, I suspect everyone under the age of 20 has never eaten them, snooty feckers :))

TK cream soda
    Cool pops, and if you were loaded you could get the giant ones for 50p
    Supercans
    Slurpies from 7-11, guaranteed brain freeze!
    Slush puppies, do these still exist? reminds me of going to clara lara hahaha

I loved slush puppys no trip to Dublin would be complete without visiting the ILac center for one

TFK wrote: »
    Not sure about the bravestar ones but there were deffo He-man ones! You had to peel the backing off them.

Oh that reminds me, tattoo chewing gums! The gum was rotten but the tattoos were the business.

Jaysus yeah, I'd forgotten about those! had to run them under a tap I think to get them to stick :)

Anyone remember the american football things where you got a miniature helmet and chewing gum, lol me and me 2 brothers ended up following 3 different teams over them, the competition was nearly as bad as trying to fill up the pannini sticker album for world cup 1990 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Food: quesadillas, carne asada, chile relleno, chorizo, tortillas, empanadas, huevos rancheros, guacamole, mole poblano, chiclets de motitas, rancheritos.

Drinks: horchata, champurrado, jarritos, tejuino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Care Bear Bars
    Woppas
    Pear Sparklers

If any food company would like to bring those back I'd be eternally grateful. Thanks :)

Were there icepops called porky pigs? pineapply flavour

Anyone remember the american football things where you got a miniature helmet and chewing gum, lol me and me 2 brothers ended up following 3 different teams over them, the competition was nearly as bad as trying to fill up the pannini sticker album for world cup 1990 :D

Oh yeah I remember them, collected them all meself, ah the memories

Chocolate mice and there was chewing gum in the shape of a record sleeve, and it had the song words on the pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

gin, vodka and pretzels.

good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 gesty

Roy the Rovers & Hubba Bubba

Poppets loved the mint ones do they still sell them?

yes, saw them recently in centra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,188 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

egan2020 wrote: »
    Soda Stream drinks.

How did I forget to mention these?
    They sell them again. Used to love messing about with different mixes of stuff.
    And someone always overfizzed and had the mix all over the kitchen.