If you were transported back in time to 1611...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

non AH answer:they spoke a different type of english so we would probably be considered "medievil ghetto" with our crazy slang.

AH answer:id blast em with piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I dont understand how vinyl works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

talla10 wrote: »
    according to the Tudors and other shows set in and around that time, all everybody did at night is ride all around them so i'd get in on that.

Don't forget to take something back for the syphilis, because even Paul Daniel's wondrous magic can't shift that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

actually id hop on a boat to america and claim as much land as possible where all the gold is and name it tallaght:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd introduce a carbon tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I'd pretty much have the craic and use anything I might know to get ahead. Simple answer I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭unfortunately

Okay, assuming there is only one timeline and no parallel universes, I would deduce that since I don’t recall there ever being a genius with the same name as me residing in 1611 that any attempt that I make to use my future knowledge to my advantage would necessarily fail. Hence I would probably go to the nearest gin house and get blathered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

I'd probably just be eaten by a dinosaur.

That probably only happens to born again christians and mormons, sure isn't the earth on 6000 years old?... :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭Yahew

Even technologically minded people could not make anything - there is too much specialisation in making a plane to do it, in an age without mass production.

Washing your hands, though, before eating and medical interventions; you could get away with explaining why that might work, if you could find a water supply clean enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I'd invent the post-it note. Not entirely related to the OP's question I know, but the way they phrased it was a little highbrow for me in AH mode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

I'd have a bash at a very basic hydroelectric lighting system. Maybe try for an electric motor. Write down the plans for logic gates, and hope computing kicks off a bit sooner. Describe binary. Penicillin from mould could be doable, or I'd at least try and get the idea around. Maybe try my hand at building a camera, but that might be stretching it a bit.

TPD wrote: »
    I'd have a bash at a very basic hydroelectric lighting system. Maybe try for an electric motor. Write down the plans for logic gates, and hope computing kicks off a bit sooner. Describe binary. Penicillin from mould could be doable, or I'd at least try and get the idea around. Maybe try my hand at building a camera, but that might be stretching it a bit.

Assuming you could build a motor without a manual - what about the components?

its possible, 1611 was not the dark ages. But, very hard.....

Here is the first ever motor ( 1827)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

I would start off with basic steam power , pumps and the like, and try and kick off the industrial revolution early. Ironbridge Gorge and suchlike.

Also, would try and improve agriculture output and 'discover' aseptic childbirth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

Yahew wrote: »
    Assuming you could build a motor without a manual - what about the components?

its possible, 1611 was not the dark ages. But, very hard.....

Here is the first ever motor ( 1827)

A very very basic motor. Iron core inside a coiled copper wire with current running through the wire. Watch it wobble a bit and pass the idea onto smarter folk, while retaining the credit. Current coming from a magnet attached to a waterwheel with copper coiled around it.
    Finding the metals would be tough, and I'd probably be hanged as a witch for sounding unusual. It wouldn't be easy anyway. I'd etch plans for the ideas in loads of old stone buildings which I've seen still standing today, should help.

TPD wrote: »
    A very very basic motor. Iron core inside a coiled copper wire with current running through the wire. Watch it wobble a bit and pass the idea onto smarter folk, while retaining the credit. Current coming from a magnet attached to a waterwheel with copper coiled around it.
    Finding the metals would be tough, and I'd probably be hanged as a witch for sounding unusual. It wouldn't be easy anyway. I'd etch plans for the ideas in loads of old stone buildings which I've seen still standing today, should help.

Fair play. I'd send you back, for sure.

Yeah, sure. I could explain stuff that would get a headstart on scientific development. I wouldn't though, as I've been taught better than that by Doc Brown from Back to the Future. You might remember him from such films as Back to the Future Part II and Back to the Future Part III.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Well assuming i'm transported back in time in 2 years and i have my Mech engineering degree, i'll spend my time designing war machines and become (in)famous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I'd burn all research on valves/computers
    think how much more interesting boards woulkd be if we all had a carrier pigeon which had to fly to town and where each post was read over the radio..good times :D

Yeah, sure. I could explain stuff that would get a headstart on scientific development. I wouldn't though, as I've been taught better than that by Doc Brown from Back to the Future. You might remember him from such films as Back to the Future Part II and Back to the Future Part III.

He was good in those movies, but they should never have released Back to the Future IV. right enough

#rookietimetravellermistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I'd start doing the robot...and probably get shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

He was good in those movies, but they should never have released Back to the Future IV. right enough

#rookietimetravellermistake

In the future, is all communication via twitter?

I am not from the future, but maybe.

Of course you're not spaceman.

Just pass the damn suicide pills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

A lute, a keen ear and The Beatles is all you need to speed up progress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Id probably be resisting the Ulster Plantation if I was transported back in time.

Of course you're not spaceman.

Just pass the damn suicide pills.

What I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Shakespeare? He's the fellow who invented the ball point pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Spook80

could i bring my ipad?

What I do?

Just surprised at the sucicide pills thing, unless that was a quote.

Anyway, back on topic.

The steam engine - Newcomen's engine - was about 1 century away, so the technology was probably there. however I wouldn't be the man to build one. We'll send TPD and if he cant build it himself or he can whisper in young Newcomen's ear - well after a few decades.