Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you were transported back in time to 1611...

• 27-04-2011 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭

.....would you be able to speed up the progress of scientific advancement from what you've experienced living in the present day?

In other words would you be able to explain in basic terms a lot of the things we take for granted so that the greatest minds of 400 years ago could get a head start on developing them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

.....would you be able to speed up the progress of scientific advancement from what you've experienced living in the present day?

In other words would you be able to explain in basic terms a lot of the things we take for granted so that the greatest minds of 400 years ago could get a head start on developing them?

You must be ****ing joking, pillage and plunder ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

they'd probably burn me as a witch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I'd rob a rake of gold coins, I mean half a ton or so and bury it deep, deep in the back field.

Meanwhile back in the present. Lolz!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I reckon I'd be able to point some people in the right direction, if they believed me... I'd just have to put on a posh accent I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I'd call all the beknighted peasant folk together and announce that there is no God, that their faith imprisons them, and that they should rise up against the tyranny of the system. Then I'd build up a few faggots around a stake, and burn myself alive to save them the bother of doing so!!

EDIT: Has censorship here really gotten to the point where the word for a bunch of sticks is now deemed inapproriate?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

OP how do you know someone has not already done this ????:eek:

Einhard wrote: »
    I'd call all the beknighted peasant folks together and annoucne that there is not God, that their faith imprisons them, and that they should rise up against the tyranny of the system. Then I'd build up a few faggots around a stake, and burn myself alive to save them the bother of doing so!!

EDIT: Has censorship here really gotten to the point where the word for a bunch of sticks is now deemed inapproriate?!

Only if you are referring to one bunch of sticks ****ing another bunch of sticks up the ass.

Facists!!

OP how do you know someone has not already done this ????:eek:

Maybe boards.ie was dominion registered in 1611.

yeoldeboaryds.ayeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'd invent chippers. The basic stuff is there, they just need some help getting it all together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭DrHLecter

gather ye 'round for mine great knowledge from future days.

whenst finished with wenchlings on thine pc let thee click tools, internet options, history and delete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Einhard wrote: »
    I thought you were talking about using a few bundles of herbs, tied up in leaves tbh...at least there's be a decent smell that way:pac:

1611 was at the end of the Dark Ages iirc...so I would be barely/not understood in language, dressed in strange clothing, and probably be burned at the stake for being some type of heretic/warlock.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I'd show them a proper rock tune on the guitar. Would love to go back to present day and see the ****e that they would be playing now

You could teach them all U2's licks on the lyre and ruin Bono's career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

You've been watching Bill & Ted again haven't you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I`d be pissed off as i would still have an hour left in work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'd round up those heathens over in Atheism forum and have them burned

They're easy to find, constantly angry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I doubt I could, really.
    I suppose I could learn how to (explain how to) make plastic, should the necessity ever arise..

Sinfonia wrote: »
    I doubt I could, really.
    I suppose I could learn how to (explain how to) make plastic, should the necessity ever arise..

Plastic has ****ed the planet and will continue to do so. If you go back and show Dark Agers how to make plastic I will go back and burn your sorry ass at the stake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Plastic has ****ed the planet and will continue to do so. If you go back and show Dark Agers how to make plastic I will go back and burn your sorry ass at the stake.

hahaha, the stake will probably be made of plastic, burning fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Mankyspuds

I would draw a map of the world from my extensive geography knowledge and trade it for all of Australia, and call it Mankyland. I would of course have my trusty AK47 and 50k rounds of ammunition if they decided to Fúck me over.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Strongly suggest everyone print this. Fold it up and keep it in your wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

What was so special about eleven minutes past 4?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Links234 wrote: »
    they'd probably burn me as a wbitch

FYP

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd be aiming for Rome around the second century. Bring gunpowder and movable type and the clock. Kick off the industrial revolution by the 3rd.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

Reckon all of this was already achieved by the fella Leonardo that went back to be born in 1452 to give us an advance in science and art!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I'd probably just be eaten by a dinosaur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

I'd just bring a yo-yo a lighter and a Paul Daniels magic set. I'd amaze them all with my magic ways and, according to the Tudors and other shows set in and around that time, all everybody did at night is ride all around them so i'd get in on that.

Id also 'predict' loads of stuff so when it came to pass i'd be remebered as the world's most famous..eh..predicter?

And lastly i'd say all the famous quotes we have today but didnt back then and they would all be attributed to me.

Or else just bring some kind of sporting almanac with me and look for a bookies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Unlikely, most people haven't a ****ing clue how a lot of stuff actually works. Besides, you'd still be one person going up against assorted doctrines which impeded the development of the various sciences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

non AH answer:they spoke a different type of english so we would probably be considered "medievil ghetto" with our crazy slang.

AH answer:id blast em with piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I dont understand how vinyl works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

talla10 wrote: »
    according to the Tudors and other shows set in and around that time, all everybody did at night is ride all around them so i'd get in on that.

Don't forget to take something back for the syphilis, because even Paul Daniel's wondrous magic can't shift that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

actually id hop on a boat to america and claim as much land as possible where all the gold is and name it tallaght:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd introduce a carbon tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I'd pretty much have the craic and use anything I might know to get ahead. Simple answer I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭unfortunately

Okay, assuming there is only one timeline and no parallel universes, I would deduce that since I don’t recall there ever being a genius with the same name as me residing in 1611 that any attempt that I make to use my future knowledge to my advantage would necessarily fail. Hence I would probably go to the nearest gin house and get blathered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

I'd probably just be eaten by a dinosaur.

That probably only happens to born again christians and mormons, sure isn't the earth on 6000 years old?... :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

Even technologically minded people could not make anything - there is too much specialisation in making a plane to do it, in an age without mass production.

Washing your hands, though, before eating and medical interventions; you could get away with explaining why that might work, if you could find a water supply clean enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I'd invent the post-it note. Not entirely related to the OP's question I know, but the way they phrased it was a little highbrow for me in AH mode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I'd have a bash at a very basic hydroelectric lighting system. Maybe try for an electric motor. Write down the plans for logic gates, and hope computing kicks off a bit sooner. Describe binary. Penicillin from mould could be doable, or I'd at least try and get the idea around. Maybe try my hand at building a camera, but that might be stretching it a bit.

TPD wrote: »
    I'd have a bash at a very basic hydroelectric lighting system. Maybe try for an electric motor. Write down the plans for logic gates, and hope computing kicks off a bit sooner. Describe binary. Penicillin from mould could be doable, or I'd at least try and get the idea around. Maybe try my hand at building a camera, but that might be stretching it a bit.

Assuming you could build a motor without a manual - what about the components?

its possible, 1611 was not the dark ages. But, very hard.....

Here is the first ever motor ( 1827)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

I would start off with basic steam power , pumps and the like, and try and kick off the industrial revolution early. Ironbridge Gorge and suchlike.

Also, would try and improve agriculture output and 'discover' aseptic childbirth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Yahew wrote: »
    Assuming you could build a motor without a manual - what about the components?

its possible, 1611 was not the dark ages. But, very hard.....

Here is the first ever motor ( 1827)

A very very basic motor. Iron core inside a coiled copper wire with current running through the wire. Watch it wobble a bit and pass the idea onto smarter folk, while retaining the credit. Current coming from a magnet attached to a waterwheel with copper coiled around it.
    Finding the metals would be tough, and I'd probably be hanged as a witch for sounding unusual. It wouldn't be easy anyway. I'd etch plans for the ideas in loads of old stone buildings which I've seen still standing today, should help.

TPD wrote: »
    A very very basic motor. Iron core inside a coiled copper wire with current running through the wire. Watch it wobble a bit and pass the idea onto smarter folk, while retaining the credit. Current coming from a magnet attached to a waterwheel with copper coiled around it.
    Finding the metals would be tough, and I'd probably be hanged as a witch for sounding unusual. It wouldn't be easy anyway. I'd etch plans for the ideas in loads of old stone buildings which I've seen still standing today, should help.

Fair play. I'd send you back, for sure.

Yeah, sure. I could explain stuff that would get a headstart on scientific development. I wouldn't though, as I've been taught better than that by Doc Brown from Back to the Future. You might remember him from such films as Back to the Future Part II and Back to the Future Part III.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Well assuming i'm transported back in time in 2 years and i have my Mech engineering degree, i'll spend my time designing war machines and become (in)famous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I'd burn all research on valves/computers
    think how much more interesting boards woulkd be if we all had a carrier pigeon which had to fly to town and where each post was read over the radio..good times :D

Yeah, sure. I could explain stuff that would get a headstart on scientific development. I wouldn't though, as I've been taught better than that by Doc Brown from Back to the Future. You might remember him from such films as Back to the Future Part II and Back to the Future Part III.

He was good in those movies, but they should never have released Back to the Future IV. right enough

#rookietimetravellermistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I'd start doing the robot...and probably get shot.