RTE not showing Easter Rising ceremony??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

dlofnep wrote: »
    Believe me - When Palestine is internationally recognised as a state, they will celebrate that moment with the dignity and respect it deserves.

Ever hear of the 4th of July? No, those Americans don't celebrate their independence at all. We mark the Easter Rising as the pivotal moment in Irish history which lead to our independence.

if irish independence was the primary motivator there would be marches and broohahahs on the day the republic actually came about, not the day a group of fanatical murderers took it upon themselves to launch a suicide attack on the british establishment and murder as many people as they could in the process.

Oh bollocks off - It has nothing to do with flag-waving. It's to do with celebrating sacrifice that people gave to pursue our freedom. They gave their lives.. Yes, their lives. And all you can do is scorn and thanks-whore on boards for it.

I think you'll find quite a few hamas and other nutter islamic group members gave their lives.. Yes, their lives in the pursuit of palestinian "freedom".
    The men of the easter rising were either fanatical or easily duped into losing their lives, but they were certainly not heroes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Honestly who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

if irish independence was the primary motivator there would be marches and broohahahs on the day the republic actually came about, not the day a group of fanatical murderers took it upon themselves to launch a suicide attack on the british establishment and murder as many people as they could in the process.

The Black & Tans launched an attack against the British Establishment? Not sure what history books you're reading.

No one mentioned the B&Ts.

"A group of fanatical murderers" Fits their M.O just perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

if irish independence was the primary motivator there would be marches and brouhahas on the day the republic actually came about,

There are many many marches and what ever that word is going on throughout the Island of Ireland including the Government & president presiding over the one in Dublin,This is about our national broadcaster not showing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,587 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I'm lost for words at this.

Honestly who cares?

Quite alot of people it would seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

;) I take it he/she was being sarcastic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Collie D wrote: »
    It's par for the course. Show any kind of interest in your country, be it history, language or sport and you're instantly dismissed as a rabid Republican who wants to blow up the Brits.

Interest is fine.

Forcing it on others is not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

*slow clap*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I'm lost for words at this.

Wish I was.

Won't post 'em though as ban on Easter Sunday would spoil my enjoyment of the after dinner chocolate feast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Always found it a bit bizarre that it's the Easter Rising rather than our actually achieving independence that is commemorated each year. Afterall the Easter Rising was just a failure of a military operation that was not supported by the majority of the population of the time and basically destroyed this city.

Anyway I digress, if I had my way we'd commemorate our achieving independence rather than the Easter Rising each year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I don't know where to start! :pac:

Mark200 wrote: »
    Interest is fine.

Nobody is forcing it on anybody to be fair.

*slow clap*

Save your hand stamina. I'm sure you'll need it for some trolling and thanks-whoring in some other thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

What does the ceremony entail, does the President etc turn up? Seems strange, if its an official event the national broadcaster doesn't cover it, you would have thought they would pay lip service to it at least and stick on a highlights programme late or whatever. Not irish so no idea whats in the ceremony.

Slightly off topic, but are RTE really showing the fecking wedding of the inbreds? Telly will be off all day then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

I wouldn't be appropriate to show the event.

What's the point in hailing what they did for independence in 1916 when we haven't got our independence in 2011? :o

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Relax everyone. They'll probably show it on the news.

dooferoaks wrote: »
    ...are RTE really showing the fecking wedding of the inbreds? Telly will be off all day then.

Apparently so they are showing a foreign Royal wedding. Fair enough but to neglect something of our own, of such historical importance (and if those don't get the importance, they are uneducated idiots!), RTE top heads should all be sacked from their positions!

pithater1 wrote: »
    Always found it a bit bizarre that it's the Easter Rising rather than our actually achieving independence that is commemorated each year. Afterall the Easter Rising was just a failure of a military operation that was not supported by the majority of the population of the time and basically destroyed this city.

Anyway I digress, if I had my way we'd commemorate our achieving independence rather than the Easter Rising each year.

It's seen as a turning point in the road to independence, much the same way as the Boston Tea Party was in the US War of Independence. I do see your point though.
    What does the ceremony entail, does the President etc turn up?

Various Cabinet members including Taoiseach and President and members of the armed forces. A naval commander is re-enacting the reading of the Proclamation followed by a fly-over by the Air Corps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mark200 wrote: »
    Interest is fine.

Would the fact that RTE show the ceremony mean that they are 'forcing' people to watch it? I take it you view the showing of the royal wedding in the same light?

The ignorance in this thread is astounding but completely unsurprising.

It's seen as a turning point in the road to independence, much the same way as the Boston Tea Party was in the US War of Independence. I do see your point though.

Various Cabinet members including Taoiseach and President and members of the armed forces. A naval commander is re-enacting the reading of the Proclamation followed by a fly-over by the Air Corps.
    A waste of public money tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭petroltimer

Quite alot of people it would seem.

not me, don't waste licence fee by covering a commemoration for a bunch of terrorists. Where will it end, they caused the destruction of Dublin city and caused the deaths of hundreds of people, all the while real Irish men where fighting in the trenches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭omg a kitty

What does the ceremony entail, does the President etc turn up? Seems strange, if its an official event the national broadcaster doesn't cover it, you would have thought they would pay lip service to it at least and stick on a highlights programme late or whatever. Not irish so no idea whats in the ceremony.

Slightly off topic, but are RTE really showing the fecking wedding of the inbreds? Telly will be off all day then.

Its a commemoration of the 1916 Rising, The President, The Taoiseach and The Minister of Defence, Justice and Equality attends it along with 300 members of the Defence Forces, relatives of people who fought (and died) in the Rising. I think it also features a fly by by the Air Corps PC-9s?

Much bigger squandering of public money around but I won't wander off topic. I really don't see the problem with a remembrance ceremony for one of the most important occasions in our history.

Sometimes its not about money, its about pride, honour and respecting those that paid an ultimate sacrifice so that you can god-damn have an Irish nation and the idea that one could be created by those that gave an ultimate sacrifice!

We waste a hell of a lot more money for less deserved occasions and reasons!
    Sometimes the right occasion does actually justify the money!

Have we become such an ungrateful fcukin nation and a shower of **** that we can't pay homage to those that took great steps to see we are free from foreign rule?
    If so, I am ashamed to be on the same island with such people!

not me, don't waste licence fee by covering a commemoration for a bunch of terrorists. Where will it end, they caused the destruction of Dublin city and caused the deaths of hundreds of people, all the while real Irish men where fighting in the trenches.

It lead to our independence. I suppose no damage was done during the American revolution, or the French revolution? Terrorists my hole. Patriots of Ireland they were, and no less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Very odd decision then, couldn't imagine the BBC not showing Rememberance Day without the Daily Mail/Daily Express etc kicking up a right stink.