What Cars Have You Owned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭YipYipU

I didn't realise so many people bought older cars than their last. A lot of ye have say a 2004 Ford XXX then switch to a 1998 VW XXX . . .

For me it all depends on the mood and financial situation at the time of purchase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 mightymurt

1991 vw Jetta 1.6 diesel solid as a rock
    1991 vw Jetta 1.6 diesel. same colour as above but no power steering so little bit faster.
    1998 vw Passat 1.9 tdi 110 comfortline chipped to 140. best car ever had
    2001 vw Golf 1.9 gttdi very uncomfortable but very fast and cornered like it was on rails!!
    2004 vw polo 1.4 tdi wifes car and fantastic little car 70mpg minimum
    2005 vw caddy 1.9 tdi broke my heart in every way possible
    2003 skoda octavia 1.9tdi fantastic car with 135 mile on clock and going like new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭kerten

1996 Fiat Tipo SLX - first car. clocked, abused before I bought. spent a fortune
    2000 Nissan Primera 1.6 - Comfortable bulletproof cheap car. still using at home country
    1999 Nissan Almera 1.4 - uber reliable but not comfortable
    2000 BMW 320i - comfortable, nice 6 pot engine but bog spec. lesson learnt. will go for auto msport next time
    2001 Nissan Primera 2.0 CVT - bought for my learner driver wife. very cheap for extras and reliability except gearbox failures. Mine was rebuilt by previous owner. good fuel consumption too. boring after bmw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

1987 1.3L Toyota Starlet - What a car, so many memories, was still going until about 3 years ago when it got rear ended only minor damage but relative to the value of the car wasn't worth repairing

1999 Ford Puma 1.4L - Loved it, would have preferred the 1.6L but had no no claims at the time so was trying to keep the cost down, handled like a go Kart.

2000 BMW 318Ci - Loved it but found it lacking in power

2000 BMW 328Ci - What a car, loaded, very quick, beautiful noise, very understated, got nicked unfortunately.

2002 BMW 320Ci - MSport Convertible - My least favourite car, rattled over every bump, despite the 170Bhp straight 6 was slow off the make due to the additional weight, and probably cos I was used to the 328Ci.

2002 BMW M3 - Kept this for 5 years, my absolute dream car, loaded to the gills, reluctantly parted with it recently due to spousal pressure to get a family car, still miss it, still drool over them when they pass by!

2005 BMW 530i - In fairness to the 530i is a fabulous car, smooth, effortlessly fast, very very comfortable (it's the SE version), lots of toys, happy to keep it for the forseeable future.

Next - Would like to think an M5, but a 535d might be a more sensible compromise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭blackbird98

from the start:

1967 Triumph Herald 1260
    1977 Leyland Princess 1800
    1982 Talbot Sunbeam 1.3
    1987 Renault 11gtl 1.4
    1989 Citroen BX17td 1.7
    1991 Nissan Primera 1.6
    1992 Ford Sierre 1.8td (crashed it)
    1992 Ford Sierra 1.8td
    1993 Ford Mondeo 1.8td
    1996 Landy Disco 2.5
    1999 Volvo S80 2.5td
    2003 Landy Disco 2.5 td5 - still have it & love it

Add a few bikes as well:
    Honda CB400 Super Dream
    Yamaha XJ650 Maxim
    Honda VT1100 Shadow
    Honda CBR1000f
    Honda CBR1100 Blackbird - still have it and won't sell it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

1995 nissan micra. great little car. 16v twin cam put 45000miles on it in one year!!
    1998 toyota avensis 2.0TD. very comfortable car but very light on the back going over bumps. felt fast after the micra but it wasn't!
    2003 seat leon 1.4. lovely car. some great memorys in it..
    2002 vw bora 1.9 tdi 130bhp.. very nice car to drive. was in rough condition when i got it. plus colour was rank. bought on a budget..
    2005 seat leon fr+ loving it still after almost 2 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,198 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Had the usual run of the mill cars, Lots of Suzuki's including Jimnys, Grand Vitaras and currently and ignis sport. Also had a wonderful Hyundai Coupe but the best where

Volvo 480 Turbo 87 reg, what a car and years ahead of its self, indeed i see a new Volvo model that has a rear that is very similar to the 480. Unfortunately very expensive to run and was a heavy car

My all time favorite Car (and i can already hear the laughs) was a 1987 Fiat XI9. Honestly it was the best car i ever drove, it hugged the road and was very economical. Also a fun car in the summer with the removal roof off. Only problem was starting in the winter and rust. still, loved it and would by one tomorrow if a good version became available.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Shakeandbake!

Victor_M wrote: »
    1987 1.3L Toyota Starlet - What a car, so many memories, was still going until about 3 years ago when it got rear ended only minor damage but relative to the value of the car wasn't worth repairing

1999 Ford Puma 1.4L - Loved it, would have preferred the 1.6L but had no no claims at the time so was trying to keep the cost down, handled like a go Kart.

2000 BMW 318Ci - Loved it but found it lacking in power

2000 BMW 328Ci - What a car, loaded, very quick, beautiful noise, very understated, got nicked unfortunately.

2002 BMW 320Ci - MSport Convertible - My least favourite car, rattled over every bump, despite the 170Bhp straight 6 was slow off the make due to the additional weight, and probably cos I was used to the 328Ci.

2002 BMW M3 - Kept this for 5 years, my absolute dream car, loaded to the gills, reluctantly parted with it recently due to spousal pressure to get a family car, still miss it, still drool over them when they pass by!

2005 BMW 530i - In fairness to the 530i is a fabulous car, smooth, effortlessly fast, very very comfortable (it's the SE version), lots of toys, happy to keep it for the forseeable future.

Next - Would like to think an M5, but a 535d might be a more sensible compromise.

Without a doubt the Puma is probably one of the most underrated cars of the last 20yrs, one of the best fwd handlers about. ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Without a doubt the Puma is probably one of the most underrated cars of the last 20yrs, one of the best fwd handlers about. ;):D

Don't let af_thefragile hear you say that >.>

:pac::P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

'00 Peugeot 206 - you shut yer mouths :P

Bet its paid for too!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Cunning Alias

89 Peugeot 205 Junior Model (AKA "The Beast")
    99 Peugeot 206 1.1Lx (AKA "The Beast Mk2!")
    99 Honda HRV 1.6 4wd
    02 Toyota Celica

Love them all. Really missing my hrv at the mo. I gave it to my mum and she is having no worries with the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭YipYipU

In order of appearance;

1998 Opel Astra 1.4
    2000 Toyota Corolla 1.4 vvti
    1997 Bmw 316i
    2004 Ford Focus Collection 1.6 Zetec
    1998 Mazda Xedos 6 2.0 V6
    1999 Mazda 323 1.8GT
    1997 Toyota Celica 2.0 ST202
    1995 Ford Probe 2.0
    2001 Alpha 156 2.0 T-Spark
    1998 Mitsubishi Galant 2.0
    1995 Mitsubishi FTO 2.0 V6
    1998 VW Passat 2.0T
    2000 Honda Prelude 2.0
    2001 Saab 9-3 SE 2.0T
    2004 Mazda 6 2.0 TS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 dwsl280

1993 Fiat cinquecento
    1993 Ford Sierra Azura
    1999 Ford Mondeo
    1999 Ford Focus 1.4
    2006 VW Passat 2.0 FSI Diesel
    1994 Mercedes SL280
    2002 BMW 530d M Sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I've owned too many, but the ones I actually drove on a daily basis

'99 Polo
    '99 Golf
    '90 316i E30 Coupe (Should of kept it :()
    '95 Mercedes E200
    Saab 9-3 Aero Coupe (Admittely I only had it for two weeks before it blew up)

Currently on the search for the next car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

Rover 216s (80 something)
    Suzuki RGV 250 (motorbike)
    Vaukhall Cavalier
    Toyota MR2 GTS (turbo)
    Saab 93 Convertible (2000)
    Volvo s60 (2001)
    Audi A6 S-Line (2005)
    Porsche 911 carrera s (2007) (current)

2001 (1998 peugeot 106 Look2) sold but loved it and if could buy it would again
    2003 (2000 bmw 316iSE) sold
    2005 (2002 bmw 318iSE) still have
    2008 (2005 bmw M3) still have
    2009 (1990 bmw 320i Mtech) still have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Driven (Family/company/owned with BH)

1986 Escort 1.1 (learner)
    1995 Golf (boring)
    1999 Polo (very slow)
    1998 Fiesta (loved it, fun)
    1998 Corsa (brief)
    1998/99/00/01 Astra vans/hatch/saloon & Opel Vectra petrol & Diesel - tough but evil handling all company cars, no choice, 6 in total.
    2006 Passat. (Recovering opel driver (see above) Like turned to loath, made it wife's car. She hated it too)
    2004 Megane (Crap, but fun)
    2006 Mazda 6

Driven with better half: 1997 Ka (brown bag needed) 01 S40 (Brown cords needed) 2003 A3 (oakleys needed) 2001 TT (oakleys, hair gel and frosted tips needed), 2005 Volvo S40 (BH car)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 tezzy_v2

Honda 70
    Field bike chopped with a top mounted Yamaha petrol tank and brush painted blue. I was 10 years old and loved it. It used as much oil as petrol :D but never let me down

1988 Suzuki SJ413
    Offroader / trials vehicle bought it crashed aged 12 with the proceeds of the Honda 70 sale (big money :cool:) and spent many a weekend with my dad getting it ready for trials - cage, MT tyres, bucket seats, suspension lift etc. Campaigned it for 4 or 5 years in the Irish 4x4 Off-Road Championship. It's still in the shed and running 10 years later

1999 - Honda Civic 1.4 Hatch
    First road car after i finished college. Little belter of a car thats still on the road despite being through the hands of a few boy racers since

1998 Toyota Altezza RS200
    Brought it in from the UK and had it for 2 years. LOVED that car even more than the next one below. Pic attached. I will own a supercharged version some day.

1999 Toyota Supra RZ Twin Turbo
    My last bachelor toy before i got married and moved to the big smoke. Bought it in England and sold it to a guy in Sweden a year later.

2006 Yamaha YBR 125
    First motorbike to get through Dublin rush hour traffic. 120mpg and €70 road tax, and 5 times faster than a twin Turbo Supra in Dublin

2000 Honda VTR250
    My current steed. A rare machine, only a half dozen in Ireland and it's a fantastic urban commuter, v-twin torque, still miserly on juice but plenty of go even to keep up to motorway traffic. I have taken a deposit on this but will have it for another month before I head off to Oz with the missus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

chequered history over 25 yrs, jetta, 2 480es, 316i,325i,freelander, 300se,728i,320SLX2,CL420,GOLFTDI 150,RR V8 X2, 993 C4S,S500, DEFENDER TD5 + a V8, cls320cdi, 530d, 645ci, 993 tip, S320Cdi .....currently broke now....blew it but it was good fun with it lasted....have'nt got a pot to p!ss in now....current steed an electric bike! lookin at a cheap wrx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭jimbling

I'm going to be dogged and post in this one instead of the new one. Just to confuse everyone :cool:

I'm 32. I have owned only three cars to date.

92 Audi 80 2.0l
    2003 - 2005
    Bought it for €1200. Great car, but had many a problem. Nothing major... many small things. Arriving in work with feet drenched due to pools of water sloshing about the car on a very wet day...... ah, brings back memories :D
    Somehow, even with all it's intricacies, I managed to trade it in for €800 against my next car.

01 Skoda Octavia vRS 1.8T
    2005 - 2008
    Fantastic car. Gave me great pleasure and very little trouble (other than the electronic poltergeist, who I named Steve, having a say every now and again :pac:). It was plenty quick enough for me at the time.

04 BMW M3 3.2l
    2008 - Present
    em, what can I say....... a glorious car. I love everything about it (except for the running costs of course), and it will likely be one of the nicest cars I'll ever have owned.

So, been pretty lucky over all. Never had much trouble with any of them

I suppose, while here, I should mention other vehicles owned. I drove bikes all through college and for a long time after.

Honda Rebel 125 - Ha, first bike. Loved it.... what a chicken chaser, but I thought I looked cool as fck :cool:
    Suzuki Marauder 125 - Didn't like this bike at all. Lots of trouble and was never happy when driving it.
    Yamaha Virago 500 - Decent bike. I remember to this day the journey back home after picking it up. Never before had I driven something over a 125. Ha, nearly crashed about 5 times in the one sitting.
    Suzuki Intruder 800 - Fantastic bike. Honestly, probably got more enjoyment out of this one than any of the others. Quality bike and quite quick too.
    Harley Davidson V-Rod - Obviously a beast of a bike. Awesome speed (for a harley, 0-60 in 3 seconds is pretty damn impressive), and it looks and sounds unreal. Just a pity I didnt get more use out of it while I had it. But the M3 was bought and took over pride and place for majority of journeys.

Only sold the Harley a few months ago.... so sad to see it go, but I hadn't driven it in over a year. I fear that that will be the end of my biking days. At least until I have a large garage and plenty money to lavish on one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭gearoidol

Car History

1989 Toyota Corolla Van (electric windows from gti ,manual sunroom ,rcl)
    1997 Fiat Bravo 1.4
    1999 fiat Bravo 1.2
    2002 Ford Focus Collection 1.6 (new)
    2004 Audi A3 2.0 tdi 140 bhp (new)
    2004 Ford Focus Van (new) For work
    2004 Bmw 316 Msport (new) kinda went mad that year
    2005 Bmw 120d (new)
    2006 Maxda Rx8 240 bhp exclusive (new)
    2006 Focus Van (new)
    2008 Audi TT Stronic 2.0t (new)

Mortgage (Fun Over)

2009 Focus Van (New)
    2011 Audi A5 Sline 2.0 tdi 170 bhp (new)
    2011 Ford Kuga Commercial (new)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Mazda 626 coupe 89" 2.0 my first car. Slow as hell, but still loved it.

Nissas sunny 94" 1.4 ( needed car asap in Ireland, bought for 500 eu, drank petrol like skyline 1:1 )

Opel calibra red top 92" 2.0 red top ( if it would not be ltu reg I would still have it... I loved that yoke )

Pug 406 00" 1.8 ( first proper Irish car, moust reliable thing I owned, still see it now and then as I sold it to a friend, I wish I could get it back :( )

Merc clk200 00" 2.0 ( I was 22 when I bought it, it was mistake. I was too young and car was too refined for my young stupid/wild age, if misses would not have written it off I would be driving it now with pleasure...)

Mazda mx5 99" 1.8 ( I love it, moist fun you ever have on 4 wheels, more fun then 400 hp skyline, still own it, but misses drives it :( )

Nissan skyline gtst saloon 94" 2.5t ( my childhood dream hero, 400hp manual 4 door pimp mobile, went off road last week, can't afford to run it anymore, wont sell, if in 2 years time I wont get back on my feet I will make a track tramp if it, I will better let it rot or crash on track,then sell it for pennies)

Ford Mondeo 98" 1.6 ( 500eu for it and 200 for nct. Brilliant everyday driver, but when I drive it I hear voices in my head which tell me to put a gun in my mouth... Haven't drove anything more horribly boring and dull as this, but it saved me 1k eu on tax and insurance already...just enough to buy a gun lol...)

I've owned too many, but the ones I actually drove on a daily basis

'99 Polo
    '99 Golf
    '90 316i E30 Coupe (Should of kept it :()
    '95 Mercedes E200
    Saab 9-3 Aero Coupe (Admittely I only had it for two weeks before it blew up)

Currently on the search for the next car... 01 Golf Estate Tdi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭ofcork

Ive owned four cars so far,

98 Fiat Punto lots of niggles for a new car
    02 punto sporting lovely blue colour again too many problems from new.
    01 laguna must have seen me coming,talk about out of the frying pan and in to the fire absolute bucket.
    04 Avensis easily the best and most reliable car 4 years without a hitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

I've had just the one, my baby, a bright green '98 Suzuki Swift :)

ofcork wrote: »
    Ive owned four cars so far,

98 Fiat Punto lots of niggles for a new car
    02 punto sporting lovely blue colour again too many problems from new.
    01 laguna must have seen me coming,talk about out of the frying pan and in to the fire absolute bucket.
    04 Avensis easily the best and most reliable car 4 years without a hitch.

Talk about not learning from your mistakes :P

RoverJames wrote: »

1995 Celica SS2, black, lowered, had an LSD and superstrut suspension, great car, always wanted one since I was a small dude, had that for 9 months

Saw her today :)

IMAG0120.jpg

Looked and sounded :cool:
    I think the chap driving it saw me having a looksee, he gave it plenty of foot when the lights went green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Bumpstop

81 Hiace :o
    85 Hiace
    81 Patrol :rolleyes:
    86 Hiace :o
    85 520i :D
    88 Maxda 626
    ?? Metro
    90 XJ6 :):)
    80 TR7 :D
    80 TR8 :D:D
    ?? land Rover
    ?? Rover P6 :P
    ?? Vauxhaul Victor
    01 Merc CLK :cool:
    ?? Nissan Patrol :)
    ?? Isuzu Trooper :eek:
    98 520i :cool:
    97 XK8 :cool:
    95 XJ6
    01 Range Rover

Not in definitly that order, but they got older as time went on
    I can't believe it's that many.
    What was I thinking. I had actually forgot about a few of them. Good thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

1999 Daewoo Matiz 0.8l

Good things to say about this car: none

1998 Volvo S40 2.0l

Ok car but nothing special. A bit thirsty and not that nice to drive.

1998 Lexus Ls400 4.0l

What a great car:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭johndaman66

ofcork wrote: »

I would doubt so. Its broadly accepted the even by Renaults standards that the Mark 2 laguna is a terrible heap of junk