Moments of Sheer Ignorance that take your breath away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Adhamh

A chap I knew once who was having trouble securing a South African passport (mainly because he was not South African and had no genuine, legitimate claim to one) insisted that it'd be more worth his time to apply for a UN passport, a passport that allegedly can be granted to anyone on Earth and mentioned nothing about nationality or citizenship. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

My best friend had cancer 8 yrs ago and made a full recovery. A few years ago we were at a wedding and a former class mate of hers came up to us at the bar and said "I heard you were sick and didn't know if you were dead or alive, i'm glad to see you're alive":eek:
    Thankfully we were already at the bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Adhamh wrote: »
    A chap I knew once who was having trouble securing a South African passport (mainly because he was not South African and had no genuine, legitimate claim to one) insisted that it'd be more worth his time to apply for a UN passport, a passport that allegedly can be granted to anyone on Earth and mentioned nothing about nationality or citizenship. :confused:

Not quite http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Nations_laissez-passer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

bijapos wrote: »
    Its actually 6 degrees longitude difference, ( its 2 degrees latitude) so the time difference is nearer to 25 mins.

Now thats ignorant. :p

Doh!!! Misread the coords on the website I checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭Degag

I choose to believe that that actually happened. I can't believe that someone could make up such a long, and ultimately boring story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 hot_curry_baz

Just wanted to keep things in context and add a continuity to a series of unusual events dude didn't mean to be boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭beanie.

Me: Hey hun *kiss her a few times on the neck* have you ever had someone go down on you before...?
    Her: *nervous laugh* Umm, no actually.

Before she can say much else I push her down.

WTF?
    The ignorance of that is fairly breath taking.

You had to have witnessed the circumstances to know the mood, it's not like I forced anything man just trying to add a dramatic edge to things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭ManofStraw

I got talking to a Canadian girl over the summer who was quite possibly the biggest plank that I have ever met the highlights of a 10 min conversation with her included

- Complaining nonstop that her Uggs hot ruined in the snow last winter
    - Thought that Paris was a country
    - Had never heard of the Holocaust(Seriously)
    - Was unaware that there had been a World War One or Two
    - Was generally unaware of anything that happened outside of a 20 mile radius of her home

Then just when I was feeling quite smug in my superiority to her she mentions that she was in her final year of physiotherapy and was in line to make 60k starting wages :eek:

beanie. wrote: »
    WTF?
    The ignorance of that is fairly breath taking.

As is this part...

Me: My grand uncle was in WW2 actually, he survived it. Was an Indian conscript and all.
    Her: Oh I see.
    Me: Yup. He brought back a fair few trophies from the war, including the regalia and badges of over a dozen waffen S.S officers he had personally killed. Out of curiosity where was your husband stationed?? *innocent smile here*

As is this part...

Me: My grand uncle was in WW2 actually, he survived it. Was an Indian conscript and all.
    Me: Yup. He brought back a fair few trophies from the war, including the regalia and badges of over a dozen waffen S.S officers he had personally killed. Out of curiosity where was your husband stationed?? *innocent smile here*

But her using an air of total superiorty when she described where I was from as a source of ''conscripts and menials'' wasn't at all ignorant?
    It was a low blow for me to take I'll admit that but she didn't do herself any favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Mickjg

Myself and this girl arrange to meet up in Ennis, for a day of shenanigans and such.

I'm an Ennis man. I always knew we had racists but never knew we had some real Nazis...

Moved to Chicago last year. Back in January my room mate and I went out to an Irish pub for a "quiet" pint for his birthday. When we got to the place there was a roaring fire going so I said we'll sit over by it. Go up to the bar to order our drinks, barman asks where I'm from and I tell him I'm from Ennis. Well this American man at the bar goes "Ennis? Well that's my favourite place in the world!". So the room mate and I end up sitting down at the bar with this guy and his wife. Turns out he really knew Ennis very well, told me he'd been there 13 times. He ends up ordering a round for us. Turns out he's a millionaire.
    Conversation was going well, until he told us that once he was in Limerick and he walked into a pub and "it was full of Japs". I say "Sorry?" not sure I had heard him correctly. "Japs. There sitting at the bar, working behind it. I just got the hell outta there." I just lower my head and play with my pint and say "Oh... yeah. I know there's a bit of a sizable Japanese population in the area."
    Then his wife is telling us that they brought their daughter to Ennis once, and while they were there the daughter asked if she could get some "chinky food". Once again I reply with a "Sorry?". "You know, chinky food [she is now pulling the sides of her eyes making them into slits]... them slitty eyed bastards". "Oh... right".
    Anyway, they're both pretty drunk. The husband at one stage tells his wife to "Shut up and drink your Guinness". "You shut up". "DON'T YOU DARE TALK TO ME LIKE THAT".

An interesting experience to say the least. But, we did get a free pint out of it and they left us with one parting piece of advice... "Go to the Kerryman pub 'round the corner. You'll get ****ed if you go over there. Especially you cause you're Irish".

Have yet to venture down there...

Doubt they were full blown nazis man, I'd say just holding onto old bigotry.
    Hahah I've had so many friends who go abroad and people just seem to love the Irish on nights out, it's pretty much a guaranteed way to get free drinks from people in the states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

Baz you are a fool.

You have compelled me to make my first post in years.

Worst story ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 zirazira

Baz you are a fool.

You have compelled me to make my first post in years.

Worst story ever.
    not too good story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

My flatmate is a 3rd year medical student from the UK. I came down the stairs the other night and he was standing over a pot of water complaining that it was taking ages to boil. I suggested he put the lid on the pot and he looked at me like I was just after coming up with the general theory of relativity. :D

He's a grand chap though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

ugh.

no don't know what to say to this.

Just try to use the English language to convey your thoughts.

Right - so you think black people go around worrying about getting tans? Makes no sense, mate - they don't need tans. The girl who made the comment was right, unless you know something we don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

We have an English guy who works with us, no idea why he's over here as he hates not just Irish people but the whole country- nothing decent about the whole $%&*hole of an island. Anyway the two of us were walking down Henry St in Dublin a few years back and he commented on how tall the Spire is, wanting to get one up on his general attitude to Ireland, I corrected him that it wasn't just a spire, in fact it's the tallest flag poll in the world.

He believed this totally until a few minutes later he turned to me and said "Hang one, if thats a flag poll, how come there's no flag?"
    Me; "Sure, they have to take it down to wash it. If you head up to the Phoenix Park, they have it on a massive washing line so it'll dry out"
    Him; "Oh, ok"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

How about standing outside a gas chamber at auschwitz. All was very quiet and sombre, we were about to go in, when my mates wife piped up. "Ohhh, I hope its not switched on"

I swore at her and everyone else just looked on with disgust.

It really happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Mick990

Before the reccession hit i used to work for Sanbra fyffe out in Santry . They make compression fittings however when I would tell people i worked for Sanbra Fyffe more then once i was asked did i make Bananas ?? I once got a way with telling a lad i was the guy who put the bend in them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Wow! I seem to have started a bit of a hot topic here haha but I think I've got a story that combines quite a few elements that may or may not top it all and I might even get props for the sheer level of stupid courage and audacity I exhibited in this tale.
    First of all we must go back about 4+ish years...
    SO! I was in a 4 way phone conference chat with a few friends I knew +1 random girl. Said random girl begins to get flirty with me. I flirt back. Numbers are traded. Boom.
    I just got out of a relationship some time before that that ended rather badly so I was eagre to re-learn the rules of the game and such and see how things play out.
    Myself and this girl arrange to meet up in Ennis, for a day of shenanigans and such.
    Few days later I'm at the bus stop in Shannon waiting to grab the next bus in and I get a call from my friend who was in that phone chat, this is how that convo went:

Her: Baz. Don't meet this girl.
    Me: Why not? Is she mental??
    Her: She's 13.
    Me:........what...?

SO! Later I call the girl and ask what's the dealio and she says that it's her ex (who was in that phone conference also) spreading lies about her and such. I gave her the benefit of the doubt.
    I'm in Ennis and I get a text from her saying ''Hey I'm stuck at home for a little bit but my mate is heading into town to meet you and walk you back here''
    Later I met this friend and we went for a lunch, strolled around, had a chat and started making our way to the estate of this dubious girl. We stopped at the fair green park for a bit to enjoy the weather and got chatting some more, here is how the ending of the convo went:

Her: Yer a pretty sound guy Baz.
    Me: Thanks, yer pretty a'ight yerself!
    Her:...look I gotta tell you something, don't get mad...
    Me: Umm, ok?
    Her: She lied.
    Me: What?
    Her: She lied to you about her age. She's 13.
    Me: *face palm*

Anyway I didn't even bother to call this girl so I instead offerred to walk her friend (who was 17 at the time and in her leaving cert year, important detail haha) back to her house.
    Anyway ladies and gents, a few mintues later we are back at her front door but she says she wants to show me a little hangout spot near by. I say sure why not.
    Well we didn't emerge from this hangout spot for quite sometime. Fill in the blanks. XD
    Anyway, it's here that we get to the meat of the tale.
    She's holding me hand as we're getting ready to leave (awwwww) and says:

Her: You know...I've never done stuff with a coloured guy before.
    Me: Haha, is that significant??
    Her: Oh no it' just, um, my family are-
    Me: What are they, Nazis haha!

Her:....

SO! Later I'm sitting in her gran's living room which is adorned with images from the ol' Reich and pictures of her late husband, who was an officer of the waffen S.S. Try to picture the awkwardness of the silence there.
    This woman was snooty. Nearly comedy movie snooty.
    Here is how the last of the convo went before the girl I was with had to drag me outta the room:

Her: So, you're Pakistani?? Wasn't that all jus India during the war?? Many conscripts and menials came from there to support the British war effort hmm?
    Me: Um...*looking around awkwardly, my eyes settle on her husbands pic for the first time*
    Her: Ah yes, that's my husband, he was killed in the war.
    Me: Oh that's a pity (lol yeah sure).

(Suddenly a memory comes back to me)

Hahah!
    Now we come to just how I got my own small revenge.
    Few days later, I'm with the girl at her mams house. As I walk in I'm greeted by the site of 5 of her rather large, brutish looking cousins, some of which were supporting a very, um, buzz cut style. I gave my cheesiest grin and heartiest hello and followed her out into the back yard to jump around on her trampoline for a bit.
    I'm sitting on the edge of the thing looking into the kitchen seeing but not being able to hear a very animated and heated conversation which included much gestaculating in our direction.
    Now I am pissed. Seriously pissed. I have dealt with every sort of racism under the sun since I came to Ireland and I still do on a regular basis. It's part and parcel of being foreign. My years spent growing up are a catalogue of harsh times, lonely years and many, many beatings at the hands of angry people. Ireland was a place I hated for many years growing up. But anyway I digress.
    I look around, it's pretty dark, late evening. There's no lights in the back yard and the kitchen is well lit up and I look to the girl. I plan. A very dangerous and oh so stupid plan.

Me: Hey hun *kiss her a few times on the neck* have you ever had someone go down on you before...?

Picture this: 20 yards and a patio door opening from a gang of what are angry racists. Pakistani boy. With there little cousin
    So very many things could've happened but I got away with it and she was walking around with a massive grin for the rest of the night.
    Pity she turned out to be a total and complete c*nt but sure can't win em all.
    :cool:
    ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Eh, you forgot the actual anecdote.
    Nope, like I said, only real culchies will get it. Get back to your apartment, and stop being ignorant with me.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

My Grandmother landed on my doorstep two weeks ago while I was watching Man Utd play,she was one of the people who influenced my interest in them when I was a child,refering to either Evra or Nani she came out with a fcuking Gem,"I didn't know Manchester United had a Full Black Player". Nearly pissed myself with laughter as she was serious

So what do I win for this timeless example of senility.

Thats manchester united fans for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Was listening to Spin 103.8 on the way into work at the start of this week and a part of the show is called 'Smarty Pants' where the DJ's ask a caller a series of questions and the caller answers.

The caller had a real thick inner city Dub accent if it makes it any easier to imagine this.

Question: What continent is Brazil in?

Caller: Ehhmmm.... eh.... Spain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Feeona

Wow! I seem to have started a bit of a hot topic here haha but I think I've got a story that combines quite a few elements that may or may not top it all ...........sure can't win em all.

This is a good example of sheer ignorance which takes the breath away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Luxie

Degag wrote: »
    I hate it when people (especially Americans) refer to the Irish Language as "Gaelic"

I know that technically it's not incorrect for it to be known as that, it just annoys me for some reason.

I don't like it either, but my impression is they consider 'Irish' to be Hiberno English, and therefore Irish itself is Gaelic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

<SNIP>

SO! Later I'm sitting in her gran's living room which is adorned with images from the ol' Reich and pictures of her late husband, who was an officer of the waffen S.S. Try to picture the awkwardness of the silence there.
    I never had Ennis down as a hotbed of Nazi officers.

Wow! I seem to have started a bit of a hot topic here haha but I think I've got a story that combines quite a few elements that may or may not top it all and I might even get props for the sheer level of stupid courage and audacity I exhibited in this tale.
    First of all we must go back about 4+ish years...
    SO! I was in a 4 way phone conference chat with a few friends I knew +1 random girl. Said random girl begins to get flirty with me. I flirt back. Numbers are traded. Boom.
    I just got out of a relationship some time before that that ended rather badly so I was eagre to re-learn the rules of the game and such and see how things play out.
    Few days later I'm at the bus stop in Shannon waiting to grab the next bus in and I get a call from my friend who was in that phone chat, this is how that convo went:

Her: Baz. Don't meet this girl.
    Me: Why not? Is she mental??
    Her: She's 13.
    Me:........what...?

SO! Later I call the girl and ask what's the dealio and she says that it's her ex (who was in that phone conference also) spreading lies about her and such. I gave her the benefit of the doubt.
    I'm in Ennis and I get a text from her saying ''Hey I'm stuck at home for a little bit but my mate is heading into town to meet you and walk you back here''
    Later I met this friend and we went for a lunch, strolled around, had a chat and started making our way to the estate of this dubious girl. We stopped at the fair green park for a bit to enjoy the weather and got chatting some more, here is how the ending of the convo went:

Her: Yer a pretty sound guy Baz.
    Me: Thanks, yer pretty a'ight yerself!
    Her:...look I gotta tell you something, don't get mad...
    Me: Umm, ok?
    Her: She lied.
    Me: What?
    Her: She lied to you about her age. She's 13.
    Me: *face palm*

Anyway I didn't even bother to call this girl so I instead offerred to walk her friend (who was 17 at the time and in her leaving cert year, important detail haha) back to her house.
    Anyway ladies and gents, a few mintues later we are back at her front door but she says she wants to show me a little hangout spot near by. I say sure why not.
    Well we didn't emerge from this hangout spot for quite sometime. Fill in the blanks. XD
    Anyway, it's here that we get to the meat of the tale.
    She's holding me hand as we're getting ready to leave (awwwww) and says:

Her: You know...I've never done stuff with a coloured guy before.
    Me: Haha, is that significant??
    Her: Oh no it' just, um, my family are-
    Me: What are they, Nazis haha!

Her:....

This woman was snooty. Nearly comedy movie snooty.
    Here is how the last of the convo went before the girl I was with had to drag me outta the room:

Her: So, you're Pakistani?? Wasn't that all jus India during the war?? Many conscripts and menials came from there to support the British war effort hmm?
    Me: Um...*looking around awkwardly, my eyes settle on her husbands pic for the first time*
    Her: Ah yes, that's my husband, he was killed in the war.
    Me: Oh that's a pity (lol yeah sure).

(Suddenly a memory comes back to me)

Hahah!
    Now we come to just how I got my own small revenge.
    Few days later, I'm with the girl at her mams house. As I walk in I'm greeted by the site of 5 of her rather large, brutish looking cousins, some of which were supporting a very, um, buzz cut style. I gave my cheesiest grin and heartiest hello and followed her out into the back yard to jump around on her trampoline for a bit.
    I'm sitting on the edge of the thing looking into the kitchen seeing but not being able to hear a very animated and heated conversation which included much gestaculating in our direction.
    Now I am pissed. Seriously pissed. I have dealt with every sort of racism under the sun since I came to Ireland and I still do on a regular basis. It's part and parcel of being foreign. My years spent growing up are a catalogue of harsh times, lonely years and many, many beatings at the hands of angry people. Ireland was a place I hated for many years growing up. But anyway I digress.
    I look around, it's pretty dark, late evening. There's no lights in the back yard and the kitchen is well lit up and I look to the girl. I plan. A very dangerous and oh so stupid plan.

Picture this: 20 yards and a patio door opening from a gang of what are angry racists. Pakistani boy. With there little cousin
    So very many things could've happened but I got away with it and she was walking around with a massive grin for the rest of the night.
    Pity she turned out to be a total and complete c*nt but sure can't win em all.

Cool story, bra...:rolleyes:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Sitting at bar with a mate and footie on the telly. At one point my mate notices the ref and says "look, the referee is black. I didnt know there were black refs. "
    I point out that his name was Uriah Rennie and he had been a ref for a long time.
    His reply . ........ "Was he always black"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Baz you are a fool.
    Less of this ok?