Why can premiership football players stop women going public about affairs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Degsy wrote: »
    Indeed they are..much like thier fans.

Football was only invented so men with nothing in common would have something to talk about.

Do you ever read what you type? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Yeah because of course all footballers are morons :rolleyes:

I prefer this ;) boyo, hence my using it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Indeed they are..much like thier fans.

Football was only invented so men with nothing in common would have something to talk about.

Have you any idea at all about the origins of football in public schools in Britain? Presumably not given that idiotic viewpoint. A bit ironic to have a spelling mistake in a post where you are calling people dumb.

Anyway, like any group of diverse people there are intelligent footballers, those with an average intellect and morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I don't get it at all.

So now ex BB reality 'star' Imogen Thomas has been told she can't reveal which married premiership player she was having an affair with.

Why can't she blab?

Its called bribery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭chickendinner

Jesus,

Giggs is scoring all sides these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Footballers earn 30- 200,000 grand a week for doing something they loved since boyhood and would probably still do for free in a sunday league if they didn't make it and they're the morons??

Jog on son

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Because it's a private matter and absolutely none of the public's or the media's business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Footballers earn 30- 200,000 grand a week for doing something they loved since boyhood and would probably still do for free in a sunday league if they didn't make it and they're the morons??

Jog on son

In fairness, professional English footballers in particular do seem to be spoiled, over-indulged morons. Look at how their "morale" dropped so quickly during the last World Cup after being separated from takeaway foods, TV, games consoles etc. Like overgrown children.

I'm not saying they're award winning physists but look at the money they're on for playing, can't exactly be too stupid can they or they'd be doing it for peanuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I'm not saying they're award winning physists but look at the money they're on for playing, can't exactly be too stupid can they or they'd be doing it for peanuts

So? Look at this woman, probably selling her story for £250,000. No one can accuse her of being very bright, can they?

She'd be a moron to sell it for free.

(though I don't believe it about that upstanding welshman. I hope he sues the pants off her and spanks her all around the courtroom)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Doesn't make them stupid either though. Plenty of intelligent footballers like Frank Lampard out there. Plus they are typically plucked at 14 or 15 out of school and given money at 17, 18 etc. Difficult to not be spoiled.

There is a fall out from the Victorian attitudes of sneering at working class professional sports men that has never really been eliminated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Whose Imogen and why should I have some entitlement to read the details of her, or anybody elses private life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Refugee from RealLife

I hope it all comes out just so the fans of other clubs can start making up chants about the player, some of these chants are comedy gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

I'd imagine his wife.

id imagine his wife is not reading AH threads

id imagine his wife does not do much reading full stop

id imagine all the people

id Imagine there's no Heaven
    It's easy if you try
    No hell below us
    Above us only sky
    id Imagine all the people
    Living for today

or maybe not - nurse nurse i've done it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Wolflikeme wrote: »
    So she's totally innocent in all this?! She knew from the get go what she was doing an how this was going to turn in out in her favour (money wise).

As far as his relationship is concerned, yes. Thats no concern of hers. If he wants to play away from home , it's not the fault of the girl he chooses t do it with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

dj jarvis wrote: »
    id imagine his wife is not reading AH threads

id imagine his wife does not do much reading full stop

id imagine all the people

id Imagine there's no Heaven
    It's easy if you try
    No hell below us
    Above us only sky
    id Imagine all the people
    Living for today

or maybe not - nurse nurse i've done it again
    I just want to imagine Imogen imaging images...of her gee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Has anyone swabbed the area for semen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Well whoever he is, he knew the risks. These guys think they are beyond reproach. He risked his family. No sympathy at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Lorrrrraine

Well whoever he is, he knew the risks. These guys think they are beyond reproach. He risked his family. No sympathy at all.

I agree. I hope his name does get out, to show other footballers that they aren't untouchable.I will feel terrible for his missus but really, the trend of footballers ripping their wives off and not facing any consequences is so annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Given the wonky moral compass and flexible attitude to the boundaries of committment so often displayed by topflight footballers, I cannot understand why any woman would boast about being with one like it was some kind of achievement.

Given the habit the other women have of selling the story when it's all over, it's incredible that the footballers are stupid enough to get involved.

Given how often it all happens without the WAGS kicking him to the kerb, it tells a story about their "embarrassment" when the story hits the papers and their approach to their relationships.

Given that it keeps selling papers, it doesn't speak highly of the people who read this shít or the media who push it.

It's all a desperate chav soap opera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

As far as his relationship is concerned, yes. Thats no concern of hers. If he wants to play away from home , it's not the fault of the girl he chooses t do it with.

True, but she sounds like a total cunt moaning in the media that she can't sell her story about riding someone else's husband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I'm not really bothered by the private lives of this lot but the whole super-injunction thing is ridiculous in the internet age. The internet is full of rumours that the footballer is Giggs. It may or may not be true but it's just impossible to keep a lid on these things when the servers could be anywhere. It seems daft to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

Footballers should be fcucked and burned.

Morons.

Excuse me :mad:

What a ridiculously stupid and insulting thing to say. I think most people will agree that a fair amount of rubbish is posted in AH from time to time but this has to be one of the dumbest things I have ever read on Boards.

I play football for a team in the Airtricity League. I have also done 4 years of college to get my degree. I now work in full time employment while also maintaining my football. I rarely get to have much of a social life because of the game. I have made a lot of sacrifices (financial, social, personal etc.) to fulfill any potential I might have. Im not in the slightest bit wealthy but still extremely proud of what I have achieved so far. But at the end of the day Im nothing more than a "moron" who should be "fcucked and burned" am I?

I also know a few lads who have moved to England and Scotland at no older than 17 to play football. And it was the so called "moron" out there that took these lads under their wings, provided homes for them, and guided them.

While, like in any other walk of life, there is footballers who are embarrassments to the game but the majority are lads who still thank their lucky stars to be making a career out of the game they love.

But I have noticed a running theme with you Degsy. And its one which seems to be aimed directly towards anyone who has made a success of their life. What a bitter way for someone to live. It seems the only enjoyment you get out of life is by attacking people who have done something with themselves. Grow up kid because you only making a fool of yourself with such insulting a childish comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

JohnP199 wrote: »
    Excuse me :mad:

What a ridiculously stupid and insulting thing to say. I think most people will agree that a fair amount of rubbish is posted in AH from time to time but this has to be one of the dumbest things I have ever read on Boards.

I play football for a team in the Airtricity League. I have also done 4 years of college to get my degree. I now work in full time employment while also maintaining my football. I rarely get to have much of a social life because of the game. I have made a lot of sacrifices (financial, social, personal etc.) to fulfill any potential I might have. Im not in the slightest bit wealthy but still extremely proud of what I have achieved so far. But at the end of the day Im nothing more than a "moron" who should be "fcucked and burned" am I?

I also know a few lads who have moved to England and Scotland at no older than 17 to play football. And it was the so called "moron" out there that took these lads under their wings, provided homes for them, and guided them.

While, like in any other walk of life, there is footballers who are embarrassments to the game but the majority are lads who still thank their lucky stars to be making a career out of the game they love.

But I have noticed a running theme with you Degsy. And its one which seems to be aimed directly towards anyone who has made a success of their life. What a bitter way for someone to live. It seems the only enjoyment you get out of life is by attacking people who have done something with themselves. Grow up kid because you only making a fool of yourself with such insulting a childish comments.

Well said John. Its incredibile the amount of nonsensical personal abuse this guy (Degsy) is allowed to get away with. Anyone else would have recieved a life ban from the mods a long time ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Given the wonky moral compass and flexible attitude to the boundaries of committment so often displayed by topflight footballers, I cannot understand why any woman would boast about being with one like it was some kind of achievement.

Given the habit the other women have of selling the story when it's all over, it's incredible that the footballers are stupid enough to get involved.

Given how often it all happens without the WAGS kicking him to the kerb, it tells a story about their "embarrassment" when the story hits the papers and their approach to their relationships.

Given that it keeps selling papers, it doesn't speak highly of the people who read this shít or the media who push it.

It's all a desperate chav soap opera.

Very simple, they boast because it shows they are high social status and in the top tier of attractiveness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Not read previous posts but why don't the players stop sleeping around? To a certain extent one does reap as ye sow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Are we still discussing this non-event???
    If you want to see how this all ends just rent Fatal Attraction ffs :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

kfallon wrote: »
    Are we still discussing this non-event???
    If you want to see how this all ends just rent Fatal Attraction ffs :rolleyes:

Are you still posting about it? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I agree. I hope his name does get out, to show other footballers that they aren't untouchable.I will feel terrible for his missus but really, the trend of footballers men ripping their wives off and not facing any consequences is so annoying!

LOL, did you loathe footballers before reading this thread? If anything I'd say professional footballers are far more likely to get caught due to their high profile, if anything it's your average married man that gets away with it.

Ripping their wives off? How exactly are they ripping their wives off, wait I get you, that diamond necklace should have been theirs? :confused:

Disloyal, deceitful and selfish are all words which spring to mind but when I hear someone say he's ripping them off, two words come to mind.

Gold digger.