The Louth Accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

I have cousins from Ardee and anything you ask them there's a 'Hi' added to it

eg.
    Where are you from?
    Ardee hi

How are you?
    Oh hi very well hi!!!

I don't understand it, why is everything hi in Ardee?!?!
    Maybe they were annoyed because you didn't say hi back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...I don't understand it, why is everything hi in Ardee?!?!
    Feck all else to do in Ardee I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

They all sound Northern to me :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's horrible, it must be said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Hookah

There are different accents for the two towns and then the rest of Louth.

Then there are different accents within the towns, usually depending on the socio-economic divide.

There is no ubiquitous Louth accent. Although the subtleties may be a matter of perception.

One of the last times I was in Cork the taxi man was just bowled over by my accent. He couldn't get enough of it, and pleaded with me never to lose it. :cool:

Louth accent, ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I love the drawdaaa accent and often get my mates from down there to say maazbazz for me coz it cracks me up.

I hate dundalk though, and not just the annoying accent. Will have the dubious pleasure of putting up with a couple of hundred of them next monday. Dam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Witchie wrote: »
    I love the drawdaaa accent and often get my mates from down there to say maazbazz for me coz it cracks me up.

I hate dundalk though, and not just the annoying accent. Will have the dubious pleasure of putting up with a couple of hundred of them next monday. Dam.

lol! guy in school used to say that too, took me back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

the closer to the Narth you go the worse the accent gets, border counties are horrible, but full blown Narthern accents are horrendous.

so they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

eg.
    Where are you from?
    Ardee hi

How are you?
    Oh hi very well hi!!!

I get this all the time

"whaaays may bill so high hi?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Paddy_Smith

eg.
    Where are you from?
    Ardee hi

How are you?
    Oh hi very well hi!!!

Yeah they say either 'Hi' or 'Hey'.

I actually like the Ardee accent, I must say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Still better than the "Doeblin" accent it has to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Helow dere now how are ye?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭toobeyshaw

My first boyfriend was from Drogheda. Oh man, I learned so many new words from him, it's like a whole different lingo up there.

I had never heard the word 'oxter' before I met him, and had no clue what he meant the first time he said "Where's your jellybag?" to me. :eek:

I am from Drogheda.....never heard of 'oxter' or 'jellybag'! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭sparkthatbled

As a dub living in Drogheda, I can safely say the accent is the most annoying in Ireland. Even more annoying than those guys from cork whose voices never broke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

I like the it and my favourite word pronounced in a Louth accent is "book". I always try to get them to say this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

toobeyshaw wrote: »
    I am from Drogheda.....never heard of 'oxter' or 'jellybag'! :rolleyes:

My ex BF and another lad from Drogheda in my class both used those terms with regularlity. So put those rolleyes away.

As a dub living in Drogheda, I can safely say the accent is the most annoying in Ireland. Even more annoying than those guys from cork whose voices never broke.
    Yeah the Drogheda accent is quite annoying alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ProjectColossus

From Dundalk, yeah, accent is a bit ****. Think I've mostly managed to not pick it up properly, people outside of Dundalk are usually surprised when I tell them. Although I seem to alternate between book and bewk, and have to remind myself that it rhymes with fuck :rolleyes:

Also, never heard of jellybag.

I'm amazed that people have never heard of jellybag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭hamlet1

have to say i loved the accents of the louth gardai on that tv series rte had about them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭francie81

Am from Dunleer and many would have mistaked my accent for Drogheda or Clogherhead (South Louth if you like) and to me its an insult if I come across with such an accent, I'll keep pinching myself in saying am culchie true and true :D.

Overall I don't see much wrong with a Louth accent in fact its one of the many accents in the country that doesn't seem to have much boggery to it unless of course from a Dublin point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭toobeyshaw

My ex BF and another lad from Drogheda in my class both used those terms with regularlity. So put those rolleyes away.

The rolleyes weren't meant as an insult! I was merely stating that I had never heard those words, wish I'd used a different smiley now :D they didn't use them in my school but could have used them in a different one, or its possible a different agegroup to me

Not feeling the love for Drawda on this thread tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'm from Louth, just outside Dundalk and have neither a Dundalk, Drogheda, Dunleer or Ardee accent.

Its your average neutral Irish (not bogger) accent, I feel blessed. People from Dundalk call me posh because I don't tack "hai" onto the end of every sentence. I think theres a compliment in there somewhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭francie81

"hai"

I would like to refer to it as 'heyyyyyy' rather haha, I think as I got older I don't feel as if I say this as much at the end of every sentence maybe I have the right to feel blessed also :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

francie81 wrote: »
    I would like to refer to it as 'heyyyyyy' rather haha, I think as I got older I don't feel as if I say this as much at the end of every sentence maybe I have the right to feel blessed also :D

I'm from Louth myself,go to college in Dublin and on a nightout had a few drinks and the word Heyyyyy slipt out........the slagging i got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

The Drogheda accent is a mash up of a Dublin accent and a typical Louth accent really. Not sure why.

"Comin t' d' shop, I wanna buy a maaaaaaaahs baaaaaaaaah."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Arrrrrdeee Couuunty Louuuth, hai!

What is it with saying hi at the end of every sentence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Arrrrrdeee Couuunty Louuuth, hai!

What is it with saying hi at the end of every sentence?
    In fairness it is not just an Ardee thing, most people from Monaghan and a few from Cavan do it too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

My girlfriend is from Dun-Dawwkk so I have to agree with the OP on this one.

Although I haven't a clue what she is saying a lot of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

I was born and bred in Louth. I actually can't place my accent. It's very neutral. Both of my parents were born in a different part of Ireland. It's a funny old accent I'll admit. Maaarzbaaa!