Amir Khan v Paul McCloskey - Manchester, April 16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭The Davestator

For the record-
    Khan is an asshole
    the doctor is an asshole

but still, Khan was going to win this fight all night long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

ok lets call a spade a spade

This fight was in Manchester with 3 English judges

Kahn was a massive fav coming into this fight. He was expected to win impressively so it would set up an undisputed title fight in July

Kahn threw punches like there was no tomorrow. He won the first 4 rounds but he was missing 9 out of every 10 shots and in the 5th round he looked tired. Paul who saved his energy early was actually looking stronger as each round went on. Kahn couldn't figure him out and was getting hit. TBH at the start of the 5th round Kahn looked gassed.

There was an accidental clash of heads with 40 seconds left to go in the 5th round. There was a small cut above Pauls left eye. the doc was called in and within 3 seconds of looking at Paul insta stopped the fight - protocol is to let the fighter finish the round and see can the corner stop the bleeding before any decision is made

Go's to scorecard and Kahn wins on points

Kahn was asked would he offer a rematch - he said he has no motivation to fight Paul and hes moving on to bigger things.

Boxing is rigged to the bollox imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭thisguy

^^^^
    excellent post, why the fight wasn't allowed to continue to the end of the round is baffling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Khan never hurt McCloskey
    Khan was breathing very heavily between last round or 2
    Paul didnt use up much energy and the second half of the fight would have been more interesting with a tired and frustrated Khan

Unlucky Paul - Khan got off lightly this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

****in disgrace ..... has to be a rematch.

i dont know what fight some of you were watching saying khan totally outclassed mc closkey, yes he had the greater volume of punches thrown but he never hurt mc closkey and imo khan was starting to tire, he had that flustered look he had against prescott. i do think mc was saving a bit for the later rounds but we'll never know now. thought something was a bit fishy from the start with 3 english refs......... i smell a rat.. REMATCH!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

bubbleking wrote: »
    Boxing is rigged to the bollox imo

You cynic!

The worst thing is, if McCloskey was just looking for a payday I doubt he'd give a shite but as it turned out he had a shot.
    For anyone saying he had no chance would anyone like to suggest why there was still a need to rig it for Khan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,406 ✭✭✭ebbsy

If it had gone the distance it would have been 120-108. Im no great Khan fan but he was fighting somebody who never looked like winning. In truth the ref was doing everybody a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭corny

theavenger wrote: »
    Could you honestly say that Khan had one, because i clearly couldnt see any plan.

Winning all six rounds convincingly is a start.

For the record-
    Khan is an asshole
    the doctor is an asshole

but still, Khan was going to win this fight all night long

Couldn't have put it better.:)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

I love watching a good boxing match and its hard to criticise when these guys are putting themselves on the line.

But I'm nearly giving up the sport because every even match I see these days where the underdog is away in a foreign country, is always give to the home boxer and/or rigged.

There was one incidence I seen in America I think, undercard to a Cotto fight a few months back. My memory aint the best but I believe it was some Greek guy vs an American called Johnson.

That was the biggest robbery I've seen in the history of sport. It was an amazing fight, and the greek gave him everything and was clearly a long way ahead on the cards, somehow the American one.

I sat and watched the poor guy, blooded, bruised after handing the American his arse on a plate. He was devasted and angry, but he know there was sweet f all he could do.

While him and his couple of trainers, were devastated, the American had dozens of an entourage around smiling jumping around, they had no shame basically in a clearly rigged fight.

It was disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Snappy the Moose

If Khan thinks he is going to unify the division after a performance like that he must be as deluded as Audley Harrison. McCloskey posed virtually no offensive threat and made him look extremely ordinary tonight just by being elusive.

I think the whole thing has gone to his head since he went to Golden Boy, everything about him reeked of arrogance and was borderline disrespectful to Paul. The runt in his camp who put his hands in the air to Barry Hearn after the fight just solidified what a bunch of knobs his whole camp are.

Paul was gutted but he was still getting outclassed, he wasn't throwing enough punches and was having difficulty with Khan's speed. He wasn't out of the fight by any means though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭theavenger

corny wrote: »
    Winning all six rounds convincingly is a start.

Nope not convincing, he shaded the rounds with eye catching combo's very few of which were actually connecting.

McCloskey had a plan, he knew what he was doing, just reading about him today which was commenting that he takes a while to get into a fight and becomes more prominent in the later rounds, and from what i saw he was saving energy while noticing Khan was using alot of energy and not really troubling McCloskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

EddieHearn Eddie Hearn
    Tough to explain right now.Broken dreams and not even given a chance.Sitting in changing room with a cut that needs 6 stitches and no blood

6 ****ing stitches!

the commentators even said he won most of the rounds because he worked/threw more nothing to do with hurting mc or outclassing him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Nope not convincing, he shaded the rounds with eye catching combo's very few of which were actually connecting.

McCloskey had a plan, he knew what he was doing, just reading about him today which was commenting that he takes a while to get into a fight and becomes more prominent in the later rounds, and from what i saw he was saving energy while noticing Khan was using alot of energy and not really troubling McCloskey

agree.
    And just on the comment before by someone a few pages back, about nationality, i watched it on polsat sport. The polish commentator said in round 5, 'paul is annoying khan, khan is looking like he's tiring, kahn not landing much, and that the more rounds the less comfortable khan is'. Doubt nationality was clouding his vision in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

the commentators even said he won most of the rounds because he worked/threw more nothing to do with hurting mc or outclassing him

It was all bluster tbh, no fighter deserves a decision like that and Khan was very disrespectful in how he conducted himself in celebrating the 'victory' and post match interview.

Dusty87 wrote: »
    agree.
    And just on the comment before by someone a few pages back, about nationality, i watched it on polsat sport. The polish commentator said in round 5, 'paul is annoying khan, khan is looking like he's tiring, kahn not landing much, and that the more rounds the less comfortable khan is'. Doubt nationality was clouding his vision in fairness.

ah thats the same as Irish these days ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

EddieHearn Eddie Hearn
    Confirmation that the Board will launch investigation and will ask WBA for rematch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Johner wrote: »
    EddieHearn Eddie Hearn
    Confirmation that the Board will launch investigation and will ask WBA for rematch.

Seriously??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭themandan6611

it's no wonder so many people are moving over to watch mma

EddieHearn Eddie Hearn

if they have any decency they will

If your opponent hits you with absolutely nothing in return then surely you win the rounds convincingly.

I wrote in this thread after the first round "McCloskey has no clue how to get his punches off". I was right. Khan didn't have to do anything to win the rounds because Paul is very, very average and nothing he threw caused any problem at all. And i mean nothing. In 6 rounds of boxing. As the rounds were progressing he was leaving himself more and more open while Khan was solid as a rock. The fight was only going one way.

Talking about a grand masterplan is absolute bollox too. McCloskey had nothing to offer while Khan was going through the motions.

And about getting tired. Thats more bollox. Khan saw out 12 rounds of relentless Maidana pressure while being hit by a mule. Surely he can handle 12 rounds at a snails pace with a boxer unable to land??

Khan is right. He's better than this.

EddieHearn Eddie Hearn

There won't be any rematch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Really poor performance by Khan he didn't look right in there at all. I'm wondering did the whole week of being messed around by his team play with his mind (which alot of journalists suggested) and the Paul mentioned the fact that he looked weight drained, he was in brilliant condition against Maidana but then sacked his fitness coach and now this new fella hasn't done his job.
    He found McCloskey an nightmare tonight which Paul is, he's so hard to hit and his punches come from odd angles. Khan was winning the fight with his workrate but i think Khan was off his game tonight and it was a chance for Paul only for a terrible call by the Doctor.
    I can see McCloskey doing well after this, there'll be a bit of interest now and hopefully he can get a big fight after this and not just back to Euro level.

corny wrote: »
    If your opponent hits you with absolutely nothing in return then surely you win the rounds convincingly.

Exactly, he was making Khan miss but it means nothing if you are posing no offensive threat whatsoever. Those rounds were convincing for Khan because he seemed to be the only one actually trying to win them.

A rematch might not be in Paul's best interest though. His profile has definitely been raised after this fight. A bigger pay day may be on if he plays his cards right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Boooourns

The fight wasn't a mandatory either so there'll be no rematch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭The Davestator

DB10 wrote: »
    I love watching a good boxing match and its hard to criticise when these guys are putting themselves on the line.

But I'm nearly giving up the sport because every even match I see these days where the underdog is away in a foreign country, is always give to the home boxer and/or rigged.

There was one incidence I seen in America I think, undercard to a Cotto fight a few months back. My memory aint the best but I believe it was some Greek guy vs an American called Johnson.

That was the biggest robbery I've seen in the history of sport. It was an amazing fight, and the greek gave him everything and was clearly a long way ahead on the cards, somehow the American one.

I sat and watched the poor guy, blooded, bruised after handing the American his arse on a plate. He was devasted and angry, but he know there was sweet f all he could do.

While him and his couple of trainers, were devastated, the American had dozens of an entourage around smiling jumping around, they had no shame basically in a clearly rigged fight.

It was disgusting.

Its rampant in amateur boxing too by the way. Ive been at both ends of disgraceful decisions in home tournaments

Exactly, he was making Khan miss but it means nothing if you are posing no offensive threat whatsoever. Those rounds were convincing for Khan because he seemed to be the only one actually trying to win them.

His only punch he throws with venom is the left hook and that hit Khans right glove all night. No jab, no clue how to get inside, no workrate, no combinations of any sort and yet people are on about McCloskey giving Khan problems. I don't know. McCloskey reminded of that episode of the Simpsons where Homer justs stands there and takes punishment!