Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cheapest way to get to TCD. Commute or find accommodation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Cut down on the meat and asparagus. Asparagus! FFS. Good stuff, but not on a budget.

Do all your own cooking from raw ingredients, never buying any ready meal type thing and you can live both healthily and cheaply. Try to eat in season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

You can get cheap/free haircuts from student hairdressing places.

Also try not to print stuff. Put notes on usb sticks or email in assignments if you can. Saves paper/ink and costs nothing.

Also don't buy clothes unless you absolutely have to.

My food costs per week are approximately 20 euro (it's hard to gauge if you buy things in bulk), but that's excluding dinner 5 days a week, and I'm small and herbivorous. I could probably make it less if I was smarter about it, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Groinshot wrote: »
    I eat very well actually. Porridge for breakfast, I bring in a packed lunch every day(sandwiches, pasta & some sort of sweet thing) and two or three bananas /apples for snacks. ... we keep pasta noodles potatoes etc constantly in stock
    Our opinions differ on what eating well entails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Snow joke

Breakfast
    2 eggs (scrambled or boiled with low fat margarine)
    2 pieces of sliced toast
    1 sausage link
    ½ sliced grapefruit or orange, or 3 slices of tomatoes
    ½ cup low-fat milk

Lunch
    2 slices of whole wheat bread
    3 oz chicken salad (3 oz chicken with ½ tsp light mayonnaise and 4 grape halves)
    1 cup sliced vegetables
    8 oz water, unsweetened tea or coffee

Evening Snacks
    ½ cup cottage cheese with peaches or pineapples
    2 tsp peanut butter with celery
    1oz peanuts or mixed nuts

Dinner
    1 cup of green beans, carrots or broccoli
    4 oz lean chicken, beef, pork or fish (cooked or pan fried)

with a few home made protien bars thrown in between.
    Obviously this will vary from day to day, but thats roughly it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

ApeXaviour wrote: »
    Protein is expensive, and I try to eat a lot of that.
    Going a little of topic here but you don't actually need that much protein in your diet. Most average people actually eat way over their daily recommended amount. And studies have shown that getting over 30% of your calorie intake from protein can be pretty damaging, your body only needs about half that amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

You have to think of the time investment. If you're daily commute door to door is about 1.5 hrs each way, that's 3x5=15 for the week. If you were able to get a part-time job in Dublin and worked 15 hrs per week, you'd probably come close to paying the difference between commuting and living in Dublin, and you'd be happier by the sounds of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Lawliet wrote: »
    Going a little of topic here but you don't actually need that much protein in your diet. Most average people actually eat way over their daily recommended amount. And studies have shown that getting over 30% of your calorie intake from protein can be pretty damaging, your body only needs about half that amount.

Link please? Other than studies on people already with massive liver or kidney (can't remember which) problems I was unaware of any that showed a causal link between excess protein and harm to the body.

Lawliet, please do your research or don't comment on stuff you haven't a clue about. High amounts of protein have shown to increase kidney and liver function as well as reduce a persons body fat. Myths about protein being damaging are ridiculous, i know a guy, he was 150lbs ate 250g of protein a day and couldnt be healthier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Yeah, excess protein is mainly damaging only to those with impaired kidney function. I'd also rather have excess protein than excess carbohydrate, less chance of insulin resistance, diabetes, neurodegeneration and generalised inflammation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

Snow joke wrote: »
    Lawliet, please do your research or don't comment on stuff you haven't a clue about. High amounts of protein have shown to increase kidney and liver function as well as reduce a persons body fat. Myths about protein being damaging are ridiculous, i know a guy, he was 150lbs ate 250g of protein a day and couldnt be healthier.
    You do know that increased liver function is a Bad Thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

amacachi wrote: »
    Link please? Other than studies on people already with massive liver or kidney (can't remember which) problems I was unaware of any that showed a causal link between excess protein and harm to the body.
    Well there's a links between high protein intake and osteoporosis, and of course there's there associated risks of cancer and heart disease due to a lot of people getting protein from red meats. But yeah now that I've done some more digging it's seems a lot of the health risks linked with a high protein diet are mostly media exaggeration. The main health problem seem to stem from people cutting out other food groups in favour of protein.
    High amounts of protein have shown to increase kidney and liver function as well as reduce a persons body fat.
    Funny you should say that right after telling me off for not doing research: increased liver function usually indicates damage or a virus like hepatitis. Besides every study I've come across concludes that high protein intake has no effect on the kidneys of healthy people, but like said amacachi said has a negative effect on those with pre-existing conditions.
    Myths about protein being damaging are ridiculous, i know a guy, he was 150lbs ate 250g of protein a day and couldnt be healthier.
    Because using real life examples totally counts as research!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭gearoidof

amacachi wrote: »
    Link please?
    Well there's a link between high protein intake and osteoporosis...

2283585.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

I spend around €30 a week on food, that gets me around 3800kcals a day.
    Around €15 of that goes towards meat.

While your liver function may be elevated, it would not go above the recommended safe zone. There has been studies done about it and no ones liver has been damaged by a large intake of protein as long as they kept their water intake at a high level (which they should be.)

That was just one of many examples i could use. Personally i have been instructed to take in 280g of protein per day and i have experienced no ill effects, and that is not my opinion, but the opinion of a medical professional since i get check ups every couple of months.

And by the by, everything can be linked to everything, hell even splenda will cause cancer because its a carcinogen.

It's quite off topic yes... :)

I see reason in arguments against meat/high-protein from an environmental, sustainability and animal welfare stance. From a nutrition perspective in healthy adults however most of anything I've seen has been agenda biased and unscientific. Rather the reading I've done (if you are interested I'll PM you some examples) suggests the opposite. Daily recommended amounts btw are often arbitrary figures, or minimum (or in some cases maximum) amounts to ward of deleterious effects from deficiency... and don't represent an ideal, or the individual's personal stature or lifestyle.

Tempeh — 1 cup — 41 g
    Lentils — I cup — 18 g
    Chickpeas — I cup — 12 g
    Tofu — 4 oz — 9 g
    Peanut butter — 2 tbsp — 8 g
    Soymilk — I cup — 7 g
    Brown rice — 1 cup — 5 g
    Whole wheat bread — 2 slices — 5 g
    Broccoli, cooked — I cup — 4 g

They are just some great sources of protein that dont come from meat, and you are advised against using red meat as your main source of protein, but rather eat turkey, chicken or tuna.

There are so many arguements for every diet out there, but it stands to reason, if you aren't meeting your daily caloric needs(give or take 20%), regardless of diet, you are just plain doing it wrong.

I realized how arrogant i sounded there, not sure how else to phrase it so i apologise :D

They are just some hippy sources of protein that dont come from meat
    FTFY

FTFY

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Excessive amounts of protein are not necessary for a healthy lifestyle. I probably eat 4-6,000 calories/day in season with a carbohydrate-rich diet for my own chosen sport (bike racing.) I'm not vegetarian but not far off it either, my day to day diet would not have a lot of meat. Doc told me not to worry about the protein just make sure I'm eating enough to replace the calories burnt with carbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Biscuits. wrote: »
    .... I live in Drogheda and my parents say it'll cost too much to stay on campus/whatever and they're not willing to pay it, unless I can convince them otherwise of course....

I think its a vastly better experience not to be at home when in college. Otherwise its like an extension of school. That said if you can't afford it, then you've no choice. Your only choice then is to get a job and pay for it yourself. In the meanwhile you can crash in friends houses over night, for parties etc.

blorg wrote: »
    Excessive amounts of protein are not necessary for a healthy lifestyle.
    Excessive is a subjective term. I would say a decent amount of protein (20%<x<40% of maintenance calorie intake) in one's diet may not be necessary, but it certainly helps.

Carbohydrates are not at all necessary for a healthy lifestyle (at all at all)... but I'm sure you certainly find they help you? Especially given your chosen sport. Excess carbohydrates in a sport such as yours can make sense... once you're eating enough overall they become protein-sparing, i.e. the protein you do eat is maintained for cell/muscle growth/repair. If you were ever to go on any kind of calorie deficient diet it would be a good idea to up your protein to prevent loss of lean body mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

Excessive is a subjective term. I would say a decent amount of protein (20%<x<40% of maintenance calorie intake) in one's diet may not be necessary, but it certainly helps.

Carbohydrates are not at all necessary for a healthy lifestyle (at all at all)... but I'm sure you certainly find they help you? Especially given your chosen sport. Excess carbohydrates in a sport such as yours can make sense... once you're eating enough overall they become protein-sparing, i.e. the protein you do eat is maintained for cell/muscle growth/repair. If you were ever to go on any kind of calorie deficient diet it would be a good idea to up your protein to prevent loss of lean body mass.

Quick question- What does this have to do witht he cheapest way to get to College?

OP- As you can see from the replies, You can spend as little or as much as you want on food and accommodation. Do whatever you can afford which involves spending the least time at home if you can. Maybe try getting into digs somewhere from monday to friday, and go home at the weekends? most students do go home at the weekends anyway.

You do realise that there is quite a bit of maths involved in the course, if you're struggling with LC maths then maybe you might think again?
    Otherwise, Get a part time job. I'm second year engineering and can fit in a part time job, so you can too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,095 ✭✭✭✭ED E

.. if there's anyone who's read this far and just for the sake of asking, will this course be completely dominated by males?

I assume you mean B&C and not C&B, and no, its not. Hard to tell as we share classes with them and MSIS but its wouldnt be far off 50/50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Biscuits.

I eat far too much protein, all the good foods have protein in them....I'm the OP I should stay on topic.

Yeah, working sounds like a plan, I can't even get a job here though, anyone know what's it's like to job hunt in Dublin?

Oh and thanks for the course info, was scared I'd be surrounded by nerdy WoW lads from what I've heard. Also, I'm grand at maths, always have been, the problem is this project maths craic, 80% of my year failed, including ordinary and foundation level. I didn't do great myself but they're modelling the LC exam off the mocks and our class is doing everything to prepare for it and I'm getting a better gist of it all but prior to the exam we didn't have good resources seeing as we're guinea pigs of a new curriculum, we don't even have exam papers. I'm aware that I need to get a C3 in honours or an A2 in ordinary for the course.

Jobs up in dublin suck been lookin for one for months. best of luck to you on that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I have a niece in college in Dublin, shes had two different jobs (bars, restaurants) since she started in Oct. But she had a lot of shop, bar experience on her CV already, and is quite confident, bubbly.
    Guess theres some luck involved too. Also some jobs prefer girls than fella's.

Every hospitality job prefers women haha. I have 7 years hotel and bar work along with a 1 year of night club work and not a thing :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

If there's anyone who's read this far and just for the sake of asking, will this course be completely dominated by males?

Out of the two years Business and Computing has been running, the first year started with roughly 80% males and the second year was around 50-50. Theres no real way to predict the male to female ratio for next year, however it is extremely unlikely that it will be anywhere near as male orientated as my year was.
    Oh and thanks for the course info, was scared I'd be surrounded by nerdy WoW lads from what I've heard.

Don't worry, there are very little if any of them in B&C. Well...there are none in my year (second) and none of the people I know in first year are either. We generally tend to keep our distance from them.
    Also, I'm grand at maths, always have been, the problem is this project maths craic

Don't worry too much about this either (assuming you get the A2/C3 in the LC) because the maths module in first year is relatively easy (Higher level LC standard) and the only maths you do in second year are in the Accounting and Introduction to Finance modules which are all based around formulas. First year CS modules are based more around logic and problem solving/writing algorithms rather than on pure maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

Jobs up in dublin suck been lookin for one for months. best of luck to you on that

I have a job in a shop in dublin that I got with very little experience, I have an interview for another next week, and was offered two bar jobs earlier this year.

YOU suck.

Sorry im not looking to work in a shop bud, im lookin in the likes of the four seasons, merriot, fitzwilliams etc etc, not some run down front for a scumbag drug cartel k thanks bye :)