Bored? Go put on a suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

In the old days everyone wore a suit, and as a result everyone looked so smart and classy, even the poor people. I wish it was acceptable these days to wear a suit all the time. But then again, suits are really uncomfortable...

If your suit is uncomfortable, you are not wearing the right one.

Does that include the velcro?
    You can get suits without velcro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

In the old days everyone wore a suit, and as a result everyone looked so smart and classy, even the poor people. I wish it was acceptable these days to wear a suit all the time. But then again, suits are really uncomfortable...

You should really get a better suit.

A well made and tailored suit are one of the most comfortable things you can wear when going out, and as a bonus, if you can pull off looking good in a suit, you'll just look and feel awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

You can get suits without velcro?
    Some of them have those popper things

Yea I was looking to get a half suit / half Fila trackies ensemble.. Think it would be quite fetching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

phasers wrote: »
    Some of them have those popper things

Your suit comes with Amlynitrate?

Bet your popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

I don't like the way suits make me walk, they get inside my head and change me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

An old gent I knew way back was gambler. He'd lose his wages without blinking an eye. Sometimes he won big, I remember him rolling in money a few times. This guy was a real salt of the earth type, self educated and really well read. He had perfect manners and was at his ease in any company.
    What has this to do with suits? Well, he told me a story once. Back in the '50s and 60's he cut quite a figure - over six feet tall, strong and handsome - he could have passed as a movie star. Back then when he had a big win he'd take off to Bray for the weekend. He'd wear an immaculately tailored suit and his spit polished shoes.He'd arrive at the International Hotel and book into a room. He was known there as an extraordinary tipper and was given V.I.P treatment. He would then go into the town and rent tails, bowler hat etc.
    On returning to the hotel he would have a bath, shave and dress for dinner.
    After his sumptious dinner he would enjoy a brandy and cigar. Now this seemingly well off gent did not go unnoticed by the American and British female guests and they'd be wondering who he was. Of course the hotel staff would talk him up. After he'd finished dining he'd return to his room, don his tails and dress shirt and adjoin to the Ballroom. He'd then spend the remainder of the night enjoying dancing and the company of the ladies.
    Come Monday morning he'd be back in overalls, penniless and working hard for to earn his wages for the next big weekend....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Last time I wore a suit (Few weeks back) was when I was walking from my B&B to the hotel where a friend's wedding reception was held. I was with my wife.

This smoking hot Latino looking girl with a perfect rack walked by in the opposite direction and I got such a look of desire from her I was afraid my wife would notice.

Now I can understand that look before I got married when I was slim and fit but I put on many a stone since then so I doubt this girl would have noticed me in regular jeans and T-Shirt.

The suit has a magical ability to turn you in to an object of desire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

OP is tragic for the following reasons;

1. He lives in a dorm
    2. Even though he lives in Laos or Bhutan or some other ****hole (edit: Hanoi) he needs to put on a suit to get served in a $2 hole in the wall.
    3. "everyone really nice to me today" implies everyone usually mean to him.
    4. Served in restaurant, noticed in dorm = king for a day
    5. "work on making a website"
    6. By suit he seems to mean shirt and trousers
    7. "just for you anonymous internet poster"
    8. He has so little contact with people that he has time to think "I'm gonna dress up real fancy today!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Glenster wrote: »

1. He lives in a dorm
    2. Even though he lives in Laos or Bhutan or some other ****hole (edit: Hanoi) he needs to put on a suit to get served in a $2 hole in the wall.
    6. "just for you anonymous internet poster"

you're just being pessimistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Bored out of my tree and feelin mucky for the last week waitin for work... So I threw on the pimpin tailormade slacks, shirt and tie this morning for my first class.

Afterwards, went to my usual street restaurant, one of the guys parks my bike for me.. Then I get served before everyone, led to a nice seat, everyone really nice to me. End up paying half what I usually do aswell.
    Come back to where I'm staying, all the staff way more friendly than usual.. Fallin' over each other to deal with me.
    Meet a few other people, full of questions about what I'm doin here.

So yea, go pimp yourself out and get treated like a king for the day. :cool:

They let you out of Mountjoy for the day then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

1. He lives in a dorm
    8. He has so little contact with people that he has time to think "I'm gonna dress up real fancy today!"
    Well you're not very fun, are you?

1. He lives in a dorm

1. Huge backpacker hostel. I love it here. The exact room I'm in right now
    2. Needs a suit? I just said I got nice service in a hectic street restaurant. And the food is unreal for $2. Laos/Bhutan are shltholes? Get out more.
    3. It's a massive backpacker hostel. No one gets noticed by staff unless they realise you live in the city and aren't passing through.
    4. I'm moving into an apartment soon.
    5. It's for free and for a friend in the Philippines. http://www.nctraveltour.com An awful lot of work to do but ok so far for my first attempt ever at building a site that wasn't entirely forum based.
    6. Why would I wear a jacket in 31 degree sunshine? That's all I'm missing for a suit.
    7. What.
    8. It was after work, read the opening post. There's 40 people on my floor at the moment, 15 of us watching Forrest Gump, the rest playing pool and drinking. If I go downstairs, there's another 50/60 people drinking. I know all the foreigners working here so staying about for another while till I get a proper apartment. What downstairs looks like.

So my life.. I've been travellin around and having a laugh for 7 months but now, I've settled. I drive around on my motorbike, I have great weather, nice cheap food and beer, constantly meeting people, nice vietnamese women everywhere, beach a few hours away, etc.
    I will work 23 hours a week teaching English, the easiest job in the world. I'll easily save over $1000 a month so I can goto China, Nepal, Burma and Indonesia and when that's done, I can go back and live in the Philippines to start saving again.

Yea, really tragic glenster.. Give us a quick recap of your life there. Funny that everyone else thought it was a grand opening post except for your pessimistic head.
    I'm being serious, if you're needlessly going to be a rude fuker, back yourself and tell me about your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Saruman wrote: »
    smoking hot Latina

FYP :)

The suit has a magical ability to turn you in to an object of desire.

This really isn't true. Suits are dull really. It takes looks or a nice body, so you must have one or the other.

Then again maybe I'm just jaded as I work around guys in suits all the time. IMO they are just plain. Unless they're really nicely tailored suits. Well tailored suits are very nice looking, it is true. Doesn't make me want to ride the man in them though, or even notice his looks more. Just makes me think, 'nice suit!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

1. He lives in a dorm

Someone get out the wrong side of the bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

GB you're probably just too used to seeing them.almost any man is automatically twice as hot in a suit.has to be the right colour for him though.why dont suits look that good on women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

When you have the readies, get a linen suit made. Heavenly cool in warm humid weather.
    Plenty of decent tailors in manila.

2. Needs a suit? I just said I got nice service in a hectic street restaurant. And the food is unreal for $2. Laos/Bhutan are shltholes? Get out more.
    3. It's a massive backpacker hostel. No one gets noticed by staff unless they realise you live in the city and aren't passing through.
    5. It's for free and for a friend in the Philippines. http://www.nctraveltour.com An awful lot of work to do but ok so far for my first attempt ever at building a site that wasn't entirely forum based.
    6. Why would I wear a jacket in 31 degree sunshine? That's all I'm missing for a suit.
    7. What.
    8. It was after work, read the opening post. There's 40 people on my floor at the moment, 15 of us watching Forrest Gump, the rest playing pool and drinking. If I go downstairs, there's another 50/60 people drinking. I know all the foreigners working here so staying about for another while till I get a proper apartment. What downstairs looks like.

So my life.. I've been travellin around and having a laugh for 7 months but now, I've settled. I drive around on my motorbike, I have great weather, nice cheap food and beer, constantly meeting people, nice vietnamese women everywhere, beach a few hours away, etc.
    I will work 23 hours a week teaching English, the easiest job in the world. I'll easily save over $1000 a month so I can goto China, Nepal, Burma and Indonesia and when that's done, I can go back and live in the Philippines to start saving again.

Yea, really tragic glenster.. Give us a quick recap of your life there. Funny that everyone else thought it was a grand opening post except for your pessimistic head.
    I'm being serious, if you're needlessly going to be a rude fuker, back yourself and tell me about your life.

Maybe I'm wrong, maybe you are awesome.

To be honest I thought everyone else would agree with me that you were tragic, I must be missing something.

As for me, I make no claims to be special or to have an amazing life. I work 40-50 hours a week, rent an apartment, I wear a suit everyday (including the jacket). I haven't seen forrest gump in a while.

Also I've never been a sex tourist, so I dont know what it's like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭blackdog2

To be honest I thought everyone else would agree with me that you were tragic, I must be missing something.

As for me, I make no claims to be special or to have an amazing life. I work 40-50 hours a week, rent an apartment, I wear a suit everyday (including the jacket). I haven't seen forrest gump in a while.

Zing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

7. What.

Have a fight lads! I haven't seen businessmen snap and beat the sh1t out of each other for a while....reminds me of work! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

that hostel looks amazing!
    wish i was 20 years younger i think i would go there!
    i could go there now but somehow i think i would not blend, and wifey would have a fit. Again.

Sauroman there is no way you didn't want wifey to see that look!
    Would make her appreciate you all the more.
    And man to man fair play to ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Clock in, clock out, eat dinner, go on internet, watch TV, Bed, rise, repeat.

Ads by Google is quite awesome compared to you.

Clock in, clock out, eat dinner, go on internet, watch TV, Bed, rise, repeat.

Ads by Google is quite awesome compared to you.

You're right, I'm thinking of setting up some sort of fight club, this is the late nineties right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

1. He lives in a dorm

Didn't they manage to retract the stick from your arse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Its great you should give it a try sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Ads by Google,since you are earning so much can you fly me over there and buy me a nice suit and apartment,cheers.

Look forward to hearing from you soon about the travel details.

I've never been a sex tourist either.. I'm a 23yr old backpacker turned English teacher. Anyways, let's leave it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Kaka10

Ah glad you're having fun. Don't turn into me, in a relationship from 19 onwards (the golden years of most people's sexual life), married by 25, working in a soul destroying corporate law firm for huge amounts of meaningless money (not much I can spend it on in Dublin other than a show off car and nice apartment) and never having travelled anywhere nor truly experienced life. My life is over but there is still hope for you. And for anyone else that is still free enough to go travelling for a few years on the other side of the world - take the opportunity. I got entangled in the corporate web until it was too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

OP is right. If you dress the part you'll get treated very well indeed.