Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Magpul PTS ACR Masada Review [discussion]

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,330 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

AGB_Ghost wrote: »
    Yes apparently, the CQB ends at the front of the front flip up sight where as the normal is as long as the standard handguard or an inch longer, ill get a pic of my ris up soon

thats the CQB: http://www.flickr.com/photos/94009370@N00/368048849

It looks about the same length as the one Dingodog were selling here. So many pieces being released for it I dunno what to get:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭DICEMAN7

Blay wrote: »
    It looks about the same length as the one Dingodog were selling here. So many pieces being released for it I dunno what to get:pac:
    dropped Dingodog an e-mail asking would they think the Magpul RIS would fit the A&K Masada and got a very curt and short reply saying that NO MAGPUL ACCESSORIES would fit the A&K lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Im bummed out since at such low res the official markings wont come out :/
    Macro function. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Decoy

A quick update on compatible mags. Oddy has been using genuine Magpul PTS PMAGs (M-version) without problem. He also got a couple of King Arms PMAG hi-caps as backups but has found they wouldn't sit properly in the magwell (mag catch wouldn't engage without a good thump on the mag) and were causing feed problems. We did a bit of modding this evening and they are greatly improved, all it required was a tiny bit of dremmelling on the mag feed nozzle and the mag catch slot and they are now locking into the magwell nicely (and can be easily removed) and now feed without issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

On mags:
    I have to say Mark, I've always had problems with King Arms M4 types and their magazines - their own mags fit and feed perfectly, but other brands (typically metal body mags with seams) tend to be a very tight fit. Likewise using some KA mags in non-KA aegs.
    I've never tried KA mags in the masada, but everything else fits and feeds fine - best fit are pmags, but also grand are mag brand magazines.

On mods:
    I have been using the masada pretty much as my main aeg since I got it. In that time I've found it to be a pretty accurate and very long ranged aeg. Rate of fire isn't the fastest on a 9.6 battery (non-lipo), but this doesn't bother me all that much.
    I've absolutely zero interest in yanking out the internals or modding the hell out of it - it hits the target you fire at and that's all I need it to do.
    If something in it breaks I'll replace it - otherwise it'll be staying stock.

On extras:
    Screw magpul.
    They extracted enough from me when I bought the masada. I went into it with my eyes opened and decided that the cost was worth it - but they've feck all chance of extracting more cash from me for rails that I don't need, grips that are superfluous or additional/extra stocks that really aren't needed. Masada as purchased with iron sights will do me nicely.

"If you could go back to the time of purchase with the experience of using it Kev, would you do it again?"
    Yes.
    I bought this aeg mostly because I wanted a masada and with a&Ks practically disappeared and good initial reviews from some people I trusted, I decided to chance it.
    I'm happy I did. This will be coming to Senny, with the original spring going back in to bring the fps back up to just under 350 (handy feature that).
    Also, despite what I've heard on boards about Ares, I would be tempted to get a tavor or l85 based on the build quality of the masada.

Overall - win gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭elDiablo79

Oddy did you manage to get your hop up issues sorted fully?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

I just put a Madbull 6.03 (363mm) in mine yesterday. I have to say I am impressed. there is a noticable difference in range and accuracy at range. I am not planning on doing anything else to it, bar getting the single point sling adapter.

But for a few quid the barrel was well worth it in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

Decoy wrote: »
    A quick update on compatible mags. Oddy has been using genuine Magpul PTS PMAGs (M-version) without problem. He also got a couple of King Arms PMAG hi-caps as backups but has found they wouldn't sit properly in the magwell (mag catch wouldn't engage without a good thump on the mag) and were causing feed problems. We did a bit of modding this evening and they are greatly improved, all it required was a tiny bit of dremmelling on the mag feed nozzle and the mag catch slot and they are now locking into the magwell nicely (and can be easily removed) and now feed without issue.

any chance of a picture of what you done to the mag got them for my masada and have the same poblem

cheers rob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭OddysAirsoft

Hop problem

Ok as I said I was having a major problem with my Masadas hop unit not working properly! When I bought the Masada initially I changed out the stock rubber and popped in a Guarder clear which has been a standard procedure fir all my AEG's! The dang Masada wouldn't work with this rubber at all and no amount of dialing up the hop would get the bb's to back spin! So after a lot of head scratching and even after bringing it back to the retailer I bought it from - it was Chris in MIA who discovered the problem! Even with the stock rubber put back in the hop was next to useless and what Chris discovered was the hole where the nub enters the barrel to put the backspin on the BB was too small and the nub didn't have enough power to push the rubber in far enough to have any affect! So out came the dremel and a small file - and hey presto - bigger hole and hop works mint! So as we were told my the makers it ships with a standard tbb - it doesn't! It's a 6.05! So I put in an Ultimate 6.03 and had to dremel and file that barrel as well but what I now have is a thing of beauty! My gun is awesome now with a very responsive hop! I upgraded the spring to a systema 1 joule spring and had to cut it back so now my gun is chronoing at .98-.99 as the stock spring was about .83-.85! The difference it has made to the Masada is huge and I am mow finally 100% happy with it !

As Kev says this is an incredible gun from stock - I was a bit unlucky but hey - that's Airsoft equipment for ya! People slag off Ares but going on the build quality of what I have seen thus far I have to say I am mightly impressed and wouldn't swap it for the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Decoy

I attached a pic showing the two areas I dremelled.

The top of the feed nozzle was higher than genuine PMAGs so I brought it down a tiny fraction. I also modded the mag catch slot as the catch wasn't engaging properly, now it clicks into place every time with no extra effort and releases nicely.

Be VERY careful when modding any mag, take it very slowly. Remember you can always take more off but once it's gone you can't put it back!! Do it in tiny increments & test for fit/feed, if not quite enough do a little more & test again. Once it fits properly/engages the mag catch easily & feeds BBs without issue STOP, don't mod it any more than it needs. Also, remember to remove all plastic burrs before put the mag anywhere near the gun, you need to do this every time you test for fit, you don't want that plastic inside the gun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Rooky1

Hop problem

Ok as I said I was having a major problem with my Masadas hop unit not working properly! When I bought the Masada initially I changed out the stock rubber and popped in a Guarder clear which has been a standard procedure fir all my AEG's! The dang Masada wouldn't work with this rubber at all and no amount of dialing up the hop would get the bb's to back spin! So after a lot of head scratching and even after bringing it back to the retailer I bought it from - it was Chris in MIA who discovered the problem! Even with the stock rubber put back in the hop was next to useless and what Chris discovered was the hole where the nub enters the barrel to put the backspin on the BB was too small and the nub didn't have enough power to push the rubber in far enough to have any affect! So out came the dremel and a small file - and hey presto - bigger hole and hop works mint! So as we were told my the makers it ships with a standard tbb - it doesn't! It's a 6.05! So I put in an Ultimate 6.03 and had to dremel and file that barrel as well but what I now have is a thing of beauty! My gun is awesome now with a very responsive hop! I upgraded the spring to a systema 1 joule spring and had to cut it back so now my gun is chronoing at .98-.99 as the stock spring was about .83-.85! The difference it has made to the Masada is huge and I am mow finally 100% happy with it !

As Kev says this is an incredible gun from stock - I was a bit unlucky but hey - that's Airsoft equipment for ya! People slag off Ares but going on the build quality of what I have seen thus far I have to say I am mightly impressed and wouldn't swap it for the world!

Hey

How much did you actually file off?

I had a similar issue with the Hop Up in mine, I found I had to turn the hop to maximum and it would just barely provide enough. What I did with mine was cut out a small piece of rubber from an old hop up and stick it on top of the new hop up rubber, so the nub could give more adjustment.

I figured that it would be sorted when I put a new barrel in. I just put Madbull 6.03 in the other day and the same issue was there, so had put the little piece of rubber back in to allow decent adjustment on the hop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Rooky1

I fit a Madbull into mine as well.
    There is very little adjustment on the hop!

Well my quick and dirty fix does the trick for me. But I would be too uncomfortable dremeling my barrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I like full metal, old style manly non wimp like guns, with huge box mags and majorly fugly stuff. Suffice to say
    normally I would HATE anything that resembles the Masada.

All this plastic Nancy boy, ergonomic, m4 alike, plastic, magpul branded stuff for me used to be a big neddy no no, and I would admit I did not like the look or idea of the stuff.

But WOW WOW WOW! after picking one of these up recently and taking a few shot off of one my biased opinions were totally obliterated and found myself absolutely LOVING the magpul Masada. It was sooooo light, and when I went to squeeze off a shot the range was incredible and way more accurate than a lot of my other AEG's just by seeing how the shots on bursts did not spread out as much as other AEG's.
    (My opinions changed in under 5 mins of being handed it!)
    Coupled with the fact for a total NOOB as myself when it comes to stripping and messing about with springs, barrels, hopups and stuff this is a godsend for people that may not be overly familiar with the inner workings of AEG's and a perfect platform to learn from. Its one of the more rare cases for me when I reckon the Performance would take more priority than the looks! If I was a regular skirmisher (which I'm not) this would be top of my list starting out!

(Made note to save up to buy one in Green sometime over the next 6 months)

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,330 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

bullets wrote: »
    <Bullets post>

seal-of-approval.jpg

Decoy wrote: »
    I attached a pic showing the two areas I dremelled.

The top of the feed nozzle was higher than genuine PMAGs so I brought it down a tiny fraction. I also modded the mag catch slot as the catch wasn't engaging properly, now it clicks into place every time with no extra effort and releases nicely.

Be VERY careful when modding any mag, take it very slowly. Remember you can always take more off but once it's gone you can't put it back!! Do it in tiny increments & test for fit/feed, if not quite enough do a little more & test again. Once it fits properly/engages the mag catch easily & feeds BBs without issue STOP, don't mod it any more than it needs. Also, remember to remove all plastic burrs before put the mag anywhere near the gun, you need to do this every time you test for fit, you don't want that plastic inside the gun!

worked perfect cheers for the tip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭elDiablo79

Hi lads just an update on tests ive been doing on the masada with hop ups. i got the short barrel kit and using the barrel you get with the kit i put on a red madbull rubber and it works excellent great range and accuracy. with the long(original) barrel kit using the standard barrel that you get wit it i found the purple prom rubber works well. but today i tried a madbull 363mm tightbore barrel and used a blue madbull rubber and the range is super. im gona use this set up 2moro for games so ill give it a good run.:D cheers:)

elDiablo79 wrote: »
    today i tried a madbull 363mm tightbore barrel and used a blue madbull rubber and the range is super.

tried the same combo on mine today and was amazed with the difference it made to both range and hop up sensitivity (hop is only dialed half way on to achieve a much greater range than stock or madbull barrels with the guarder clear with hop fully on)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,479 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Out of curiousity can ppl post their masada pics up?
    I just want to get a few ideas for furnishings for my one..
    Gone with just the eotech at the moment but was considering the extended stock and cqb barrel plus AFG later on...
    If anyone already has them I'd appreciate a review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,479 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

may get the marksman 17.5" barrel too

drool....the hell with the cqb barrel...

how do you find the extended stock? worth getting?