The After Hours Census Thread. Now with 29% more merging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭jc2008

Sorry for posting in AH, wasn't sure where to put this, and AH is the "off-topic" forum.

I filled out my part on the Census earlier today at home as an "absent but usually there" person, and intended on filling myself out in college tonight.

I live in a house on campus, and house-share with 12 people. Most of them seem to be away, there was only 2 people here when I arrived, and neither of them have any idea where the Census form is. In fact, they didn't know that tonight is the night to fill it out.

The person in charge of the form (the Person 1) seems to be not coming back until tomorrow, and his room is locked.

What do I do now? What if they come tomorrow looking for it? Will I get fined up to 25grand. I wish I didn't fill myself out as absent at home - I could've just rang my parents and told them to put me on the home one.

I'm 18, this is the first Census that I personally am filling in. I made a mistake ticking a box earlier, corrected it as per the instructions on the front of the census form, but my dad gave out stink to me for "rushing into it and making a balls of it". If he knew that I didn't fill it in tonight he'd go mad :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I ran out of space for i need 2 extra slots to fill in details

2 cats were left out!!! But got the goldfish and the hamster in phew :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Fill out the Temporary Resident Form at the hotel. This is where you are on census night so it's the correct thing to do. Later, amend your Household form by striking out all entries related to you. Inform the enumerator of what happened when he arrives to collect the form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

I had to fill it in with a marker ,I didn't want to get a fine :eek:

The thing looks like toilet roll with ink running through it:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

You're supposed to fill in the one in the hotel with your current, actual info
    On the one you left at home there's a section for 'people who are normally here but didn't stay on the night of April 10th, with far fewer questions. Presumably they use a combination of both sets of data

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

Second Langauge - Binary
    Religion - Jedi

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Not filling out the census form? I think I'm gonna be sick, it's scum like you that have ruined this country. I hope they lock you up and throw away the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Kick in his bedroom door this a matter that requires immediate urgency while your at it have a good root around his room for embarrassing thing and post back your findings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

I have a headache and I'm not filling it out or having sex tonight.

Just duck down behind the sofa when the census collector calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 TomG29

One at home is family, already filled in and can't amend it. Filled in this hotel one, I'm sure they've accounted for this type of thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

jc2008 wrote: »
    I live in a house on campus, and house-share with 12 people.

Where do you go to college? Calcutta IT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Rushing filling out the Census form......you sir are worse than Hitler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Sorry for posting in AH, wasn't sure where to put this, and AH is the "off-topic" forum.

I filled out my part on the Census earlier today at home as an "absent but usually there" person, and intended on filling myself out in college tonight.

I live in a house on campus, and house-share with 12 people. Most of them seem to be away, there was only 2 people here when I arrived, and neither of them have any idea where the Census form is. In fact, they didn't know that tonight is the night to fill it out.

The person in charge of the form (the Person 1) seems to be not coming back until tomorrow, and his room is locked.

What do I do now? What if they come tomorrow looking for it? Will I get fined up to 25grand. I wish I didn't fill myself out as absent at home - I could've just rang my parents and told them to put me on the home one.

I'm 18, this is the first Census that I personally am filling in. I made a mistake ticking a box earlier, corrected it as per the instructions on the front of the census form, but my dad gave out stink to me for "rushing into it and making a balls of it". If he knew that I didn't fill it in tonight he'd go mad :eek:

I heard that they start knocking on doors from midnight tonight to start collecting the forms.
    Basically you're fcuked.
    Expect them at your door around fourish in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I find it bizarre that so many people actually waited until tonight to fill it out.

It's almost like there's a weird irrational fear of doing something wrong & being caught if you fill it in before you're "supposed to".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,983 ✭✭✭445279.ie

You are obviously not up for anything :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

445279.ie wrote: »
    You are obviously not up for anything :rolleyes:

I'm up for coffee, chocolate cake, Coke, no hookers, so you are probably right. :p

Are homeless people counted in the cencus?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Just duck down behind the sofa when the census collector calls.

Lol, that might work for the TV license inspector but those census form collectors are accompanied by a navy seal team and a load of attack dogs.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I have No idea how old my Apt is, or what type of plumbing we have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Submerged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭jc2008

It's the OP here.

I should probably ring them, but should I - in case they ask me my name, and then find me out and I get fined!

BUT: what if I wasn't in the Republic? What if, instead of being where I am now, I was in... say Belfast for the night.

Jaysus I feel guilty just typing it. I'll have to break down his door. I'm not even sure it's him that has it.

I swear, there'll be housemates all over the place but when I actually want them, they all disappear.

Edit: Not the OP anymore ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I am so tempted to write a big fat FCUK OFF for my name.

Dropped a cigarette on my form. Whoops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Fill it out tomorrow so when yer man comes back. Just record who was there tonight on another piece of paper. The enumerators won't be calling around for a few days probably.

I have No idea how old my Apt is, or what type of plumbing we have

If it's an apartment it will have a connection to the mains water supply & mains sewerage system.

If you want to find out the year it was built, you can check the online planning system of your local county council - just enter the address & the relevant planning permission details should come up. It will normally have been built within 1 to 2 years from the date of the grant of the planning permission.

Or you could just guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Are homeless people counted in the cencus?

Supposedly but other than the ones in hostels or crashing in a mates gaf I dont know how the fup they manage it
    If you want to find out the year it was built, you can check the online planning system of your local county council - just enter the address & the relevant planning permission details should come up. .

Not If its built before 1963.

This is a perfect example of what a bull**** exercise the whole thing is though when you are being asked to supply the government with information they have already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

super-rush wrote: »
    Submerged.
    That was probably the worst Steven Seagal film I have ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

How old is your cardboard box? Or would they count the sleeping bag?
    Still Im sure filling out a census form mashed off your face would be fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Sex will cure the headache.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

That was probably the worst Steven Seagal film I have ever seen.

Under Siege 2 was pretty fcuking tragic