facing death

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

you know when it happens u dont realalise it until a few days later, i think ure in shock and ure brian has to process it , i dont think about mine anymore cause it sends a shiver up my spine i was that close to death but as others have said it all went in slow motion when you look back and its a real calm before ure death or near certain death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Do you want my "story" Op.
    My ex husband put a shotgun to my head and pulled the trigger.
    It jamed. That was 20yrs ago :)

chucken1 wrote: »

What? It hapened. In IRELAND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

AH response: Shame :pac:

How about get your own views?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 celts

Probably the closest i've came is just feeling low , depressed .I wouldn't say depression but nearly I snapped out of it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Ive ever been near death as far as I know, I kinda feel like it will never happen to me, stupid I know.

MY response..**** you and all belonging to you :)

dipstick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 headwise

Last time i was going in Lahore.near of feroza one car crashed some peoples had died.

headwise wrote: »
    Last time i was going in Lahore.near of feroza one car crashed some peoples had died.

:rolleyes: You just joined now?
    Troll alert troll alert to aisle ah please to aisle ah please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Let's see, there was the time I nearly flipped my car when I got a blowout on a stealth pot hole. There was the time a large amount of lumber fell off a truck in front of me and landed in front of my car. There was the time in work when I was on my own and surrounded by seven angry drunk travellers. That was probably the most scary of them.

My girlfriend once died after someone spiked her drink and she had some kind of allergic reaction to the drug. She got better though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

some incredible stories here folks.. keep posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

A couple of weeks ago leaving Dublin on the M4, I was passing a truck that was carrying new cars. As I overtook him in the fast lane, he suddenly veers over into my lane with no indication or anything. The drivers cab moved over and then I could see the rest of the truck trailer come across.

All I had was the concrete meridian on my left, so I ended up with inches either side of me. I couldn't accelerate or I would have been crushed by the cab, so I don't know how I managed to decelerate and go backwards without losing control and being crushed. I can assure you, I made the fcukwit know what he had nearly done to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,348 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Thought I was going to die on a plane once.

Landing in a very bad storm. It was being shook violently for maybe the 30mins before landing, then had 2 aborted landings due to the gusts (highest ever recorded at the airport).

Finally got it down on 3rd attempt. The whole thing came complete with screaming and a couple of fainters like you would see in a film.

I honestly thought I was a goner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I was walking up a side street leading onto a mainstreet of a town with a mate of mine when we were about to go out for a few pints.Then this guy with his hood up started trotting towards me like he was going to start on me. As I was concentrating on him, some guy I didn't even realise was behind me stuck a blade into my back and told me to give my wallet or he'd stab me.My mind just shut down then, I didnt say anything and I just kept walking briskly until I was onto the mainstreet where they stayed in the alleyway.I'd say they were left thinking wtf..I looked at my back after and there was a cut through my sweater, t shirt and a small cut on my back.I got it checked out and it was grand.My friend asked me why I just took that and walked away, I replied that I didn't want to get stabbed he was like :eek: and he never saw the knife .

I dunno If I'd call it a near death experience because I had no thoughts whatsoever when it happened but It did shake me afterwards when I was chatting about it to me friend.

MY response..**** you and all belonging to you :)

dipstick

Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Oranage2 wrote: »
    No film and no thoughts it was all instinct - and I'm not proud of it but what happened was i tried over taken my mate on a really small road, so we were side by side then he decided to speed up so i dicided to speed up too - well next of all we were going really fast and i was on the wrong side of the road and a car starts coming towards me - all i really really remember was somehow the oncomming car just past my car without a collision - when i looked back at the road there was bearly enough room for 3 cars, id say i missed it my millimeters.

And THAT folks, is how people wind up dead on the roads. Blind stupidity!

Rodin wrote: »
    And THAT folks, is how people wind up dead on the roads. Blind stupidity!

I think he gets the picture at this stage, no need to keep banging on about it

There's every need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭gant0

When I was about 10 I woke up in the morning and it was still a bit early so i stayed lying in bed.Then for some reason I got out of my bed to go look at something on my table in my room, seconds after I got out of bed the top bunk of the bed with my brother in it collapsed right where my head would have been.Didn't really think much of it back then but thinking back now gives me the chills.

Rodin wrote: »
    There's every need

Yes, 20 or 30 people ramming a point he knows full well down his throat is perfectly productive and appropriate, we should just harp on about everything then *yawn* :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

On O'Connell st last year. I was crossing from the side that McDonalds is on, over to the statues to meet the girlfriend. Had a quick look up the road, the cars had stopped, so I started to cross. Next thing a dublin bus comes flying through what I can only imagine was a red light.

It was insane. I stepped out from its path, literally as it passed me. There was a group of american tourists there just looking at me. It must have seemed hilarious to them as i emerged from in front of a bus. Thinking about it now though, a split second slower and i would be dead. I didnt have any thoughts when it was happening. Just afterwards my legs were shaking uncontrollably for about ten minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

D.Q wrote: »
    On O'Connell st last year. I was crossing from the side that McDonalds is on, over to the statues to meet the girlfriend. Had a quick look up the road, the cars had stopped, so I started to cross. Next thing a dublin bus comes flying through what I can only imagine was a red light.

It was insane. I stepped out from its path, literally as it passed me. There was a group of american tourists there just looking at me. It must have seemed hilarious to them as i emerged from in front of a bus. Thinking about it now though, a split second slower and i would be dead. I didnt have any thoughts when it was happening. Just afterwards my legs were shaking uncontrollably for about ten minutes.

which O Connell St? :pac:

I was sitting at the front of a bus coming into town one day,at the front up top, could see a guy ahead standing at a crossing, decided he had enough time to cross.he made it,but then a girl at the other side just saw him crossing and didn't bother looking, the driver managed to beep in time, to get her out of the way. feckin fool. i've seen this so many times though. when i'm waiting to cross the road, i watch the lights, and watch the traffic, so I can figure out when it's safe to cross, but often i see other people crossing when they see me doing it (or other people) I mean it's just stupidity. you're putting your own safety in someone elses hands.

I've been thinking, the closest i'd say i've come to death has been a few times crossing a pedestrian crossing in Kilkenny city. if any of ye know the high street, you'll probably know how bad it is. I stepped out on to the crossing, car was coming, was slowing down, but just before he got to the crossing, as i was stepping out, he sped up a little, and kept going. the car stopped less than a foot away from me.

only actual experience i've had with death was holding my mothers hand as she died. i think in ways i'm actually still in shock from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Potentially any time you're put under general anesthetic you might never wake again, so that makes 4 times for me.

azezil wrote: »
    Potentially any time you're put under general anesthetic you might never wake again, so that makes 4 times for me.

Not really what the OP was getting at I think, sure potentially any time you get behind the wheel you might never make it to your destination. Now if you were going into an operation in absolute bits, convinced you were going to bleed out on the table and were going to die then that's worthy of a mention :)

Yes, 20 or 30 people ramming a point he knows full well down his throat is perfectly productive and appropriate, we should just harp on about everything then *yawn* :rolleyes:

If he knew the point full well, he'd not be doing the stupid thungs he does
    , so I'll ram it home until he does get it.
    now, imigh leat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Not really what the OP was getting at I think, sure potentially any time you get behind the wheel you might never make it to your destination. Now if you were going into an operation in absolute bits, convinced you were going to bleed out on the table and were going to die then that's worthy of a mention :)
    It may be low but there is a 2% chance you'll die every time you're anesthetized.

But for me, yes it was 4 times, each of my surgeries was a matter of life or death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Planemo

gant0 wrote: »
    When I was about 10 I woke up in the morning and it was still a bit early so i stayed lying in bed.Then for some reason I got out of my bed to go look at something on my table in my room, seconds after I got out of bed the top bunk of the bed with my brother in it collapsed right where my head would have been.Didn't really think much of it back then but thinking back now gives me the chills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

From reading this thread i've never knew how serious Asthma is! 80 peole die a year from it!