Foreign nationals in the emergency services?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Bang Bang

During 2010 the number of overseas Paramedic qualifications who gained recognition in Ireland are as follows;

Australia 1
    Canada 1
    USA 3
    Poland 14
    Slovakia 1
    South Africa 2
    Spain 1
    Switzerland 1
    UK 7

There are already a number of National Ambulance Service Paramedics who's nationalities are from some of the listed countries above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭frozenbanana

There was a polish fella active on boards a while back -ojewriej- he got into AGS.

There is good few polish guards, even more chinese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭stockyboie

why is ireland the only country that allows people born in foreign countries to serve in the police force? Is there a reason for this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

stockyboie wrote: »
    why is ireland the only country that allows people born in foreign countries to serve in the police force? Is there a reason for this.

No it isn't. I was born in Dublin and I serve in Northern Ireland, which is technically foreign soil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Your comment is very misinformed I know several Irish cops here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Theres Irish lads working all over the US, Australia, Canada, UK and a few floating around other areas. I even know one lad who left ags and ended up in Singapore.

Also, being born abroad doesnt stop you from being raised in Ireland and being an Irish citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Ireland is an EU country and just like in other EU countries public service and civil service employment is open to other EU citizens once they fulfill objective recruitment criteria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It's mistakenly assumed that "black" is offensive - however, black people themselves use it, and if "black" is offensive, by that logic, "white" is offensive.
    mr.dunkey wrote: »
    sorry admin, just that a previous thread people are been refered to as black, i just taught coloured was more PC.
    You obviously had good intentions but I think black people get annoyed by that term, because white people don't get referred to as "coloured" yet white is a colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

mr.dunkey, Dudess - I'm sure that soon enough there will be yet another sea change with regards to how we ascribe a black/coloured/african(or caribean) american/dark person.

Of course, it'll be some idiot white fool who decides if it's offensive or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Merch

mikemac wrote: »
    I don't know what the story is now but don't you have to pass an Irish language test?
    Or is that done away with?

If these individuals have fair play, but if they haven't what does that say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭time lord

Approved terms of N.Y.C.I.

Foreign-national
    Non-Irish national
    Immigrant
    Migrant
    People from overseas
    New communities
    New Irish
    Minority Ethnic
    Minority Ethnic background – this is the favoured term
    Ethnic Minority
    Cultural minority
    Minority language people – people whose first language/mother tongue is not English
    Black
    Brown – sometimes used by people speaking of themselves but not generally appropriate for others to use
    Black and Minority Ethnicities (BMEs) – an official term used by NCCRI and also in UK
    Cultural and Ethnic Minorities – a term that consciously includes Travellers who are recognised officially as a cultural minority group in Ireland but not an ethnic minority group

Just though it relevant to the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Whats NYCI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭time lord

Zambia wrote: »
    Whats NYCI?
    National Youth Council of Ireland. :o I should of said. The list is off
    Practical Guidelines for Supporting Interculturalism in Youthwork.
    The list is pretty handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I have worked or presently work with a number of foreign nationals.
    In templemore the was one black girl, 3 polish and 5 Chinese and at the moment I work with 2 chinese, 1 pole and one of Libyan decent...oh, and 1 English lad.

That's just my district but I do reckon it's more Dublin-centric as that's where most guards are sent out of the college