What a legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Role models have really gone to pot since I was a wee lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

his knob must be killing him from mashing it into the ground all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

fair play to him but there is no way he will ever play professional football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

The dude he's tackling in the article looks about 12. This is a ridiculous story, how could he possibly land a spot in a major NFL team? Have you seen the combines????? I feel like my head is exploding thinking about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Ah yea fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

The only way he can give a crunching tackle in NFL is if the opposing players go and stand beside him.

....Seriously... The article describes how he gets around on a skateboard... Surely he can't skate on the pitch, meaning the only way he can get around is with his arms??? How can he catch the ball?? ...Or maybe he's just staying in one spot and tackling players.. Then couldn't they just run around him with their middle fingers up????

Insurgent wrote: »
    The only way he can give a crunching tacke in NFL is if the opposing players go and stand beside him.

Yeah and if the player is a little girl... I'm totally confused by this. I wish I never saw it.... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Leg-end? oh dear OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

NoDice wrote: »
    The dude he's tackling in the article looks about 12. This is a ridiculous story, how could he possibly land a spot in a major NFL team? Have you seen the combines????? I feel like my head is exploding thinking about it...
    ....Seriously... The article describes how he gets around on a skateboard... Surely he can't skate on the pitch, meaning the only way he can get around is with his arms??? How can he catch the ball?? ...Or maybe he's just staying in one spot and tackling players.. Then couldn't they just run around him with their middle fingers up????
    Yeah and if the player is a little girl... I'm totally confused by this. I wish I never saw it.... :(

Did you even watch the video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I doubt he'll be a professional player but I don't think that's important. Fair play to him for having the will to try stuff like that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/features/3514669/NFL-bid-of-player-with-no-legs.html

Fathering a kid, 25 girlfriends , lifting three times his body weight, star football player. What a Leg,end. ;)

I wonder who put him up to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

krudler wrote: »
    his knob must be killing him from mashing it into the ground all the time

I'd say it is worn down to a nub by now. When i saw the still photos, i thought it was a trick because they always had him on the ground (i thought hole) or on a solid bench ( i thought hollow bench) but seeing the video, you have to respect his drive. Granted he will never play the superbowl but hats off to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 shebzy

fair play to the man

NFL as in No Feckin Legs

:o

Dj Stiggie wrote: »
    Did you even watch the video?

No no I didn't.. Didn't notice there was a video.. Must be blocked here at work. Dose. Judging by the last few comments he must be good then.. I wonder if going home to watch the video on my laptop serves as a good enough reason for my boss to let me go home early.

Ha ha sorry, I also just read my last few posts and it really shows how confused I was. Really can't see a video. :(

Plus most of his tackles would be illegal as you're not really allowed hit below the knees....maybe he could get a spot on a team as a kicker.....wait no......a punter....shit.....um....a running back....crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

ejmaztec wrote: »
    NFL as in No Feckin Legs

:o

I shouldnt have, but lol'ed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

Cant see how he'd be able to give football a try in anything other than a limited capacity, but fair play to him for giving it a go. It takes alot to overcome disabilities like that, and he seems to be enjoying what he does, got a couple of kids and going to college to better himself.

Plenty of people in his situation of better off than would spend time cursing the world and its mother, he's getting on with his life and deserves props for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I wish him the best of luck but sooner or later he'll get the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

krudler wrote: »
    I shouldnt have, but lol'ed

I'm going into hiding now.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Good on him for trying.

Still, I have a vision of a forward (or whatever) running to the endzone giving him an all mighty boot like Jack Black did with Baxter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

ejmaztec wrote: »
    NFL as in No Feckin Legs

Shame on you. You're not half the man he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

No no I didn't.. Didn't notice there was a video.. Must be blocked here at work. Dose. Judging by the last few comments he must be good then.. I wonder if going home to watch the video on my laptop serves as a good enough reason for my boss to let me go home early.

Ha ha sorry, I also just read my last few posts and it really shows how confused I was. Really can't see a video. :(

I watched the video. Still the same. Quarterback stands still in wait of the guy to get there and tackle him. All for the story.

Fair play to the way this guy lives his life but as for NFL.....

I'm still in hiding.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

This article has left me stumped, the only way a player is going to get tackled by him is if they were out legless the night before, the NFL can't possibly stand for this, sure he has a better chance of becoming famous at hip hop

*takes a bow*

Insurgent wrote: »
    I watched the video. Still the same. Quarterback stands still in wait of the guy to get there and tackle him. All for the story..

I expected as much. Still going to watch it when I get home though. The plays are so precise right down to the foot placements, my mind really is boggled thinking about this guy playing.

Sorry if I'm being offensive in anyway btw, I don't mean any disrespect to the guy. Fair play to him for having the determination to play and to live life to the fullest with such a restrictive disability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭jimbling

Ya, you have to respect the guy for getting out there and all, but it's pretty obvious he could not really play football. I mean come on, he's got no legs.

And the video, jesus, those two plays at the start are seriously cringe-worthy. It makes the impossibility of this "feel good" story even more obvious
    In the first one the quarter back back stopped and waited for him to get the tackle in... then after being lightly grabbed, he just falls over. The second, the opposing defender kind of stood there and gave him a little pat while he went passed to get to the qtr back (its actually worse than that... he's painfully trying to wait for the guy to get passed him... its like bad acting)

I feel sorry for the guy... he's obviously doing much better than most would in his situation, but stories like this only make a mockery of him.

Are ye sure this wasn't supposed to be released last friday??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Yeah, he's twice the man (presumably!)