Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭amovingstatue

they'll have to allow the kitkat ad with the gob****e with the speed camera back on telly again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

So it's only an offence if one of the Gardai are offended by what is said.. to hell with anyone else?!

There was noone else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Duggy747 wrote: »
    One thing I've learned from people in real life, here and around the web is that such things offend them when it suits.

The subject of rape is horrible, but when used in a different context it's to cause a reaction in a form of dark humour. Unless the joke was constructed in such a way I wouldn't find it funny, I'd just dismiss it and carry on. Especially if it wasn't aimed at anyone.

The amount of times South Park and the likes take the piss out of rape (Indiana Jones getting raped by George Lucas seems to be oh-so funny when it suits, apparantly)

Right, but these are the people women (and indeed men) are supposed to turn to if they have been raped. This isn't an episode of South Park. Report rates for rape are low as it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Padkir wrote: »
    Ah, someone speeds and kills 5 people in a car crash.
    Without downplaying rape i would suggest that yes, this is worse!!

It's ridiculous that there is even an argument abut this, it's a complete non-issue! As someone else said earlier, I'd be in jail or hanged by some on this forum if you heard some of my conversations! But the difference is, they're jokes, not what I'm actually planning on doing!

Have any of you never said, "If i see them again, or if they come round here again, I'll kill them...etc, etc." Do you think that a joke about murder should be frowned upon??

But you aren't a Garda talking about a person in your care. That's the difference.

Right, but these are the people women (and indeed men) are supposed to turn to if they have been raped. This isn't an episode of South Park.

But these are normal people, not robots. They make mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Right, but these are the people women (and indeed men) are supposed to turn to if they have been raped. This isn't an episode of South Park.

Of course it's not, and people creating a clusterfùck of a storm out of this private conversation which briefly carried a crap rape joke is going to stir up the belief that victims can't trust the Gardaì.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

I'm not debating that they weren't immature and that they should be penalized, but my point is that these guards were joking in order to relieve stress. People seem to be jumping to the conclusion that this woman was being threatened, which she wasn't. There was more than likely no intention to commit such an act.

Also - have people never said how an exam was torture? Or how you'd murder a cup of tea? Or joked about a person in a racist way?

FYP....The crux of the discussion is that they were guards and not regular members of the public....
    Also, how are you certain that they joked to relieve this stress some posters keep banging on about???
    also, most of us realise that they were not in fact threatening to actually rape the woman in question!!!

Of course it's not, and people creating a clusterfùck of a storm out of this private conversation which briefly carried a crap rape joke is going to stir up the belief that victims can't trust the Gardaì.

I wouldn't want to report rape to either of those guys. Seriously, is ethics not taught at Garda college?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭fergpie

All this talking about rape is putting evil thoughts in my head so.....here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

squod wrote: »
    Try and expect more from your public representatives! This is gonna make a lovely story when the woman involved gets back to Canada or America.

Could see this story getting picked up in the states and then there will be a terrific picture painted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

But you aren't a Garda talking about a person in your care. That's the difference.

Okay. I see your point. Is the issue that they got caught in a recording or are you saying that anyone who holds a position of power should not be allowed to make any jokes regarding their work situations?

But these are normal people, not robots. They make mistakes.

We're ALL normal people but we still practice ethics in our jobs.

Could see this story getting picked up in the states and then there will be a terrific picture painted

I read a story about American police publicly beating a man after a car chase last week. This is a story about a private conversation and some stupid joke. I can obviously see which is more important and requires public discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

We're ALL normal people but we still practice ethics in our jobs.

There's ethics, and then there's having a bit of hypothetical work-related craic.

Okay. I see your point. Is the issue that they got caught in a recording or are you saying that anyone who holds a position of power should not be allowed to make any jokes regarding their work situations?

The point that they said it is enough. We only found out because it was recorded. It was so casual it can be assumed they have similar "banter" like this before. This is a major problem in my eyes.

People can joke about their work situations, it's the content of jokes which is critical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭optogirl

k_mac wrote: »

Is there much rape in your job to talk about?

This is bullshi* man. they were not using the word rape in context of their job or as comic relief because they are so traumatised by what they have to deal with in their jobs, they were using it cos they thought they were funny. Anyone with a bit of decency or a sense of humour can see that they were not.

prinz wrote: »
    There's ethics, and then there's having a bit of hypothetical work-related craic.

Joking about rape in a job where people come to you to report rape. What larks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Out of curiosity (and I'm not just asking to prove a point or anything. I'm curious), but what can people joke about? And in what situations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

Right, example. Someone is hurling abuse at the cops, breaking the law, doing whatever, and is arrested.

Cop says (jokingly, and not in the presence of the person) to his co-worker, "If that fella doesn't shut up I'll kill him..."

Should he be reprimanded, fired, left by his wife, etc?? NO!! Or do you think that any abuse victim or family of a murder victim should stop going to the guards because they can't take murder seriously anymore??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭optogirl

I fail to see where the rape joke is?? They say 'give me your address or I'll rape you'. In no sense is this anything approximating a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

optogirl wrote: »
    I fail to see where the rape joke is?? They say 'give me your address or I'll rape you'. In no sense is this anything approximating a joke
    In your opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"Mom, I honestly thought I was gonna be raped for a second. He had the craziest look in his eyes. And at one point he said, "Lets get it on."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

This kind of bullshít annoys me. Let people make up their own minds.
    “It’s terrifying for campaigners but it’s much more serious for women living in the area.

“These are supposed to be the men that women go to if they experience a sexual assault or harassment. Who are they supposed to go to now?”

You'd swear reading that, that these guys had done actual harm to the lady in question.

Link

humanji wrote: »
    Out of curiosity (and I'm not just asking to prove a point or anything. I'm curious), but what can people joke about? And in what situations?

In your free time, anything. But in your job, it's different. There are ethics and moral codes, each different depending on your job.

People are reluctant enough to report rape as it is, such flagrant flippancy doesn't help.

so you are actually saying you believe they were conspiring to rape this girl? you say you can't see the joke, so you think the comments were serious? Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Context, context, context.............in the form of black humour. Bad taste & unfunny but it was still meant as I joke.

What else did you think was meant? That rape is a great big joke down in the cop shop? Or that the girls that were brought in could do with a condescending pat on the arse to make themselves look big?

Has nobody ever had bantering jokes with their mates that went too far?...............for the sake of going too far to get a reaction from those around you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

What about surgeons joking about patients? Accountants joking about fraud? Solicitors joking about breaking the law? Electricians joking about faulty wiring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

The point that they said it is enough. We only found out because it was recorded. It was so casual it can be assumed they have similar "banter" like this before. This is a major problem in my eyes.

People can joke about their work situations, it's the content of jokes which is critical.

I have first hand experience of working in an industry that has a far higher rate of serious injury or death then most. as a result people working in the industry become desensitised to this and use humor as a coping mechanism regularly making jokes that would have the average joe wide mouthed with astonishment.

is this also a major problem in your eyes or is it just people who are paid out of the public purse that you feel entitled to judge and preach to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

This is bullshi* man. they were not using the word rape in context of their job or as comic relief because they are so traumatised by what they have to deal with in their jobs, they were using it cos they thought they were funny. Anyone with a bit of decency or a sense of humour can see that they were not.

Maybe not. But it doesn't mean they should lose their job or that they would condone rape or that they would be in any way unprofessional when actually dealing with a vicitm.

Do undertakers joke about the dead among themselves? Do doctors joke about illnesses or "vegetables"? It doesn't mean they take their job any less serious.

Padkir wrote: »
    Right, example. Someone is hurling abuse at the cops, breaking the law, doing whatever, and is arrested.

Cop says (jokingly, and not in the presence of the person) to his co-worker, "If that fella doesn't shut up I'll kill him..."

Should he be reprimanded, fired, left by his wife, etc?? NO!! Or do you think that any abuse victim or family of a murder victim should stop going to the guards because they can't take murder seriously anymore??

Different. If he said this would you have an issue?.

"If that fella/girl doesn't shut up, I'll rape him/her"

I'll kill ya or murder ya is a turn of phrase used by every parent over the land, it doesn't compare to saying you'll rape someone. There is a difference.