Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

mikom wrote: »
    *Thumbs up* Larry Murphy likes this.
    And the Gardai use facebook also?????

Hang them i say!! And their families too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭elefant

Are ye sure it wasnt the hardy buck sound like them!

Garda A sounds exactly like Buzz :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭baldbear

Has anyone got pictures of the 2 women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

wild_cat wrote: »
    What would your views be if your sister, mother or girlfriend had just been taken into custody by those fellows?

well unless he actually raped them or even said it to them and not one of his mates in private I would have exactly the same view

stupid thing to say while on duty even if in private BUT not a massive deal and a slap on the wrist is all he should get

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

It was in extremely bad taste and reflects poorly on the two gardai, you'll get tits in every job but that usual large paint brush comes out in AH to try and tarnish every member of the gardai. It amazes me some of the people who have posted here with such high morals when a quick review of their posts show alot worse comments. I also note that some moderators have suddenly raised their intolerance level to these sort of comments. Please a bit of consistancy folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

humanji wrote: »
    It all depends on what was said. Was it two lads talking sh*te or two gardai planning on raping them? They're the two version that each side will tell.

But I can only assume the S2S crowd will release the full thing on the internet in an attempt to paint all gardai as monsters, though.

Why would you assume that?
    Why not just make your own mind up. The guard said "Give me your name and address or I'll rape you".
    Are you ok with that kind of threat?
    I know these guys joke around but that's not funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

First two cops were sufficently slack minded to not think to check if the camera was still running and second as judged by the transcript (published by the Irish Times) those cops carry on like a couple of yahoos and so confirm everything what many suspect of your average Templemore graduate. Shocking PR for the Gardai. One can't help but have Killinaskully in ones minds eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Guill wrote: »
    All of which these pigs ignored.

Thanks god you're not biased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Also this girl didn't know this man and was probably scared ****less of him when he made this comment. imagine being in cuffs at the back of a police car and being told that joking or not.

She wasn't in the car, they are talking about going to arrest her.

She wasn't in custody either, I'm not sure, as they didn't know her name, just called her "the Yank".

Racists and rapists!

People need to read what actually happened.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Contra Proferentem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Bosco boy wrote: »
    . It amazes me some of the people who have posted here with such high morals when a quick review of their posts show alot worse comments.

Were they on duty at the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭kopfan77

That sums up my feelings quite well. We have an attitude in this country of "ah sure, it was only a joke" that really needs to change.

But it was only a joke...and if im not mistaken, is that not how jokes are to be treated, i.e not serious!!??

And for me what puts the whole thing in the context of it being a joke and not serious is that its quickly followed up by something along the lines of "you should ask her to be your friend on facebook"

Storm in a teacup. If only we knew a fraction of what was said about us behind our backs by the people we deal with on a daily basis in the services industries we'd all be emotional wrecks.

Im not condoning this in anyway....it was a terribly stupid off the cuff remark to come out with in what appeared to be a predominantly professional discussion (discussing health and safety etc). And these guys do seem to be on the very low end of the scale when it comes to cop on, social skills etc.

But calls for them to be sacked, dail debates, partners to leave them....jesus relax.

They need a rap on the knuckles, a stint back in templemore perhaps for social skills training and no more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Sound like the hardy bucks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

wild_cat wrote: »
    What would your views be if your sister, mother or girlfriend had just been taken into custody by those fellows?

You are asking what would be peoples views if they had a female relative taken into custody and in a private conversation without her present, the Gardai made some stupid private jokes, what would we think? Nothing

This is a "I am going to be more outraged then the last person type of thread"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

The guard said "Give me your name and address or I'll rape you".

That didn't happen.

What about the code of ethics they sign???
    Should they not be held responsible for breaches of that?????
    They swear to uphold the law, respect diversity, act responsibly and respectfully!!!!

All of which these pigs ignored.

http://www.garda.ie/Documents/User/declarationvalues.pdf

It is indefensible.

If they were off duty, fair enough. But to be working under an official capacity and joking about rape and yanks, they should be subject to discipline!

I don’t want to be protected by people who so blatantly ignore the values they are supposed to uphold.

They may not have broke the law but they certainly have prooved that they are not of a character suitable for the Force (If we expect to have a decent force).

that planet your living on must be nice

Why not just make your own mind up. The guard said "Give me your name and address or I'll rape you".
    At that point I hadn't heard or read what they said. But it's still fairly accurate. The two tits made a stupid joke in private. It wasn't a threat. S2S are making them out to be monsters, not in defence of the women, but to further their cause.

making things up to suit yourself again jackie? why am i not suprised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Blast them with piss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I don’t want to be protected by people who so blatantly ignore the values they are supposed to uphold.

It's unreasonable to infer the personalities of individuals entirely from a few lines of conversation. What they said was wrong and idiotic, but to use those few words as the only factor in determining their values and character is just as wrong and idiotic IMO. I've made jokes that would make baby Jebus cry in my time, I'm laughed about famine and tragedy, about 9/11 and war, about crime and genocide. Everyone does at some point or other. Most people would understand that such comments and jokes on my part do not reflect my values or convictions in life. They are able to make that distinction. It's something that you, and some other [posters here, appear to be incapable of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Contra Proferentem

The funny thing is that if the media reported the S2S people making a rape joke, I've no doubt that there would be a 20 page thread of moral outrage about that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

As someone who finds what they said completely unnacceptable, I'm saying this with the best of intentions. Read one of the newspaper articles on it, it'll show you that they didn't say this in or near the women in custody. They were in private and just happened to be recorded by a camera they had confiscated as part of the arrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,230 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

kopfan77 wrote: »
    But it was only a joke...and if im not mistaken, is that not how jokes are to be treated, i.e not serious!!??

How do the Gardai react to people making jokes towards them? I've seen people being bundled into the back of cars for harmlessly taking the piss of them on nights out.

I guess it all comes down to whether or not the person on the receiving end sees it as a joke, and in this case they obviously didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The funny thing is that if the media reported the S2S people making a rape joke, I've no doubt that there would be a 20 page thread of moral outrage about that too.

yeah, you know why though, don't you? They are not entrusted and paid by the state to guard us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

humanji wrote: »
    Thanks god you're not biased.

I do not generally refer to Gaurds as pigs, but these people were pigs (pigs as in the term 'Male chauvanistic pigs).

Do not try and call me bias against these, i know many people who are in the gaurds and who i am friends with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

Didn't Andy Gray just lose his job for doing the same thing?

How do the Gardai react to people making jokes towards them? I've seen people being bundled into the back of cars for harmlessly taking the piss of them on nights out.

They have to react to disrespect obviously or it undermines their authority
    I guess it all comes down to whether or not the person on the receiving end sees it as a joke, and in this case they obviously didn't.

there was no person on the receiving end, it was a private joke between two officers which the person who owned the video camera they had confiscated CHOSE to take offence to after the fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I actually find the attempts by S2S and the democracy haters on Indymedia to use rape in an attempt to further their own agenda, equally as distasteful as the comments made by the Gardai.

I do not generally refer to Gaurds as pigs, but these people were pigs (pigs as in the term 'Male chauvanistic pigs).

Do not try and call me bias against these, i know many people who are in the gaurds and who i am friends with.

Fair enough. I apologise. Your post didn't come across that way.
    Hookah wrote: »
    Didn't Andy Gray just lose his job for doing the same thing?
    No, he was fired for sexual harrasement, wasn't it? The girl was there as he was being a tit. And he has a long history of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

PeakOutput wrote: »
    They have to react to disrespect obviously or it undermines their authority

Reacting in an over the top manner to disrespect is what undermines their authority, not locking someone up for taking the piss. Because I've never seen the law that says you must respect the guards.