Disgusting things you see each day.

• 01-04-2011 06:47PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭

Today I had to do the grocery shopping. I went into the butchers that was next door to Dunnes Stores. I asked for whatever meat I was buying and the woman scooped it up in her hand, wearing a glove.

I looked around for the desk to pay at, but there was none. The butcher lady then asked me for the money, I paid her and she took the money with the gloved hand she had just touched the meat with.

She scooped my change from the register and gave it back to me, using her gloved hand. A little horrified, I watched as the next person approached her and asked for meat. She didn't change her gloves, but touched their meat with the glove she had just been handling the money with.

I threw the meat in the bin outside the shopping centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

People paranoid about germs throwing out food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 gerryatric

Waste of some perfectly good meat, You had to throw it out you couldn't of asked for a different slice or a refund?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

My reflection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Today I had to do the grocery shopping. I went into the butchers that was next door to Dunnes Stores. I asked for whatever meat I was buying and the woman scooped it up in her hand, wearing a glove.

I looked around for the desk to pay at, but there was none. The butcher lady then asked me for the money, I paid her and she took the money with the gloved hand she had just touched the meat with.

She scooped my change from the register and gave it back to me, using her gloved hand. A little horrified, I watched as the next person approached her and asked for meat. She didn't change her gloves, but touched their meat with the glove she had just been handling the money with.

erm couldn't you have just cooked the meat to kill the germs?

also how many times a day do people handle money then food?

e.g handing money to shop assistant for sandwich- eat sandwich with same hands after being in shop.

handing money to till assistant in fast food place - eat chips with hands.

hand money over for ice cream - hold cone in hand and eat it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

When I spit in peoples faces and they don't rub it off.

I know I'm sexy but jeez have some self respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Tommyadams

Your ma's nether-regions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

gerryatric wrote: »
    Waste of some perfectly good meat, You had to throw it out you couldn't of asked for a different slice or a refund?

I think you missed the part where I said she had been wearing contaminated gloves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

An old man at a self serve buffet in a local hotel sucking the spoon after he helped himself to the desert, he just placed the spoon back on the plate for the next person to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭siobhan.murphy

You must have loads of money to be able to fire away meat like that or maybe you were planning to eat it raw and didnt like the germs on it!
    But seriously why didnt you say it to the butcher or just say forget it Ive changed my mind??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I think you missed the part where I said she had been wearing contaminated gloves.
    Jaysus! Cook the feckin' meat and it'd be all right to eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Skangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

Why didnt you just say it to her. Or to a supervisor to stop her from doing it again, as surely she was trained to take the gloves off when she is finished handling the meat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Dumped rubbish along roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Appropriate username is appropriate.

You must have loads of money to be able to fire away meat like that or maybe you were planning to eat it raw and didnt like the germs on it!
    But seriously why didnt you say it to the butcher or just say forget it Ive changed my mind??

I don't eat meat - it was the grocery shopping for the house. And no, it would be cooked. But money is the most disgusting thing there is. Faeces/urine/vomit/sneezes could have been on it. Drug addicts money.

But you're right, I should have just asked for the money back. I just didn't think, I was so disgusted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

The contamination was on the change. You should have thrown your money in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sounds like Storm in a tea cup if you ask me :P

<insert drum noise here>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭thenightrider

People waisting food its disgusting :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Money being forceably taken from poor people and given to rich people.

Arguing on teh internets..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

People clearing their throats/sinus and gobbing on streets. Turns my stomach. Ano no, it's not just a skanger thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

what a sheltered life you lead storminateacup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Homeless people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Oh! No recession here t'what t'what!

Most disgusting thing I see on a daily basis here is middle-aged Spanish men checking out girls in their early teens and not being in any way discreet about it. Heeby-Jeeby City.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Oh! No recession here t'what t'what!

Most disgusting thing I see on a daily basis here is middle-aged Spanish men checking out girls in their early teens and not being in any way discreet about it. Heeby-Jeeby City.

Early teens? Yuck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I don't eat meat - it was the grocery shopping for the house. And no, it would be cooked. But money is the most disgusting thing there is. Faeces/urine/vomit/sneezes could have been on it. Drug addicts money.

But you're right, I should have just asked for the money back. I just didn't think, I was so disgusted.

So you wash your hands each time you touch money? Of course you don't. I think throwing out the meat was an over reaction...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

The soles of a colleagues feet as he is so far up the boss' ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Fuhrkin taximan gave me change, after spudding a thick hockle out onto the sidewalk, like a gold fcuking watch,prairie oyster, thick and phlegmy.

Dirty fat jerk.