Should ryan tubridy be axed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Should he be given some more time
    I have no love for Tubs, but surely he is just the face / voice of these shows ?

I mean ok, his interviewing skills are awful and thats being kind but I really blame the people behind the scenes putting it together for the tripe being aired on Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

calex71 wrote: »
    I mean ok, his interviewing skills are awful and thats being kind but I really blame the people behind the scenes putting it together for the tripe being aired on Friday night.

Not really, the producers hands are tied now. Genuinely interesting people know how crap the show is so they aren't going to want to go on it. Look at the Samuel L Jackson interview from early on in Tubridy's tenure. Jackson, a huge star, came across as a nice guy. He was there about a charity he is involved in so wasn't promoting any of his own work which most people on the chat show circuit are, he had a bunch of funny stories worked out and was clearly ready for a bit of banter. It should have been a dream slot.

Yet the whole interview would have looked far-fetched if you'd seen it on Alan Partridge. Tubridy was awkward and clueless, he just read questions from his cards even if they didn't relate to what had just been said. His refusal to let Jackson announce the draw winner when Jackson was clearly excited at the prospect was one of the most painful things I've ever seen. Then he topped it off by telling Jackson to sit back down when he tried to leave at the end. There is only one person to blame for that travesty of an interview and it wasn't the producer who lined up one of the most famous people in the world.

Many stars share agents and word gets around. Nobody wants to go on a show where it will be awkward and uncomfortable. And the chatshow circuit is important promotional work, so they also won't be bothered to go on a show which they don't think their target audience takes seriously. Researchers and producers are then left with nobody to go on the show apart from the desperate go to an envelope opening types and internal RTE promotions work. Without a good host nobody else will go on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

iguana wrote: »
    Not really, the producers hands are tied now. Genuinely interesting people know how crap the show is so they aren't going to want to go on it. Look at the Samuel L Jackson interview from early on in Tubridy's tenure. Jackson, a huge star, came across as a nice guy. He was there about a charity he is involved in so wasn't promoting any of his own work which most people on the chat show circuit are, he had a bunch of funny stories worked out and was clearly ready for a bit of banter. It should have been a dream slot.

Yet the whole interview would have looked far-fetched if you'd seen it on Alan Partridge. Tubridy was awkward and clueless, he just read questions from his cards even if they didn't relate to what had just been said. His refusal to let Jackson announce the draw winner when Jackson was clearly excited at the prospect was one of the most painful things I've ever seen. Then he topped it off by telling Jackson to sit back down when he tried to leave at the end. There is only one person to blame for that travesty of an interview and it wasn't the producer who lined up one of the most famous people in the world.

Many stars share agents and word gets around. Nobody wants to go on a show where it will be awkward and uncomfortable. And the chatshow circuit is important promotional work, so they also won't be bothered to go on a show which they don't think their target audience takes seriously. Researchers and producers are then left with nobody to go on the show apart from the desperate go to an envelope opening types and internal RTE promotions work. Without a good host nobody else will go on.

Ugggggghhhh I had to mute the tv at one point during that interview with Jackson, such was the cringe factor :(

You make a fair point re: the producers hands being tied etc. and word getting around agents, something I had not considered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

crazygeryy wrote: »
    does anyone think brendan o connor would have done better?would he have asked keating the tough questions?
    and im not defending tubs i think hes a wuss.the least he could have done was asked what the hell were you thinking ronan yvonnes gorgeous ffs.

in fairness, i know brendan o connor is fairly unlikeable(i actually like him but im a bit odd) but i definitely think he would have asked those tough questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Why is it that every time Tubridy interacts with an audience member, especially those with strong regional accents, he has to imitate them? It's so rude! :mad:

It's also hard to believe that RTÉ could find a poorer host than Pat Kenny. At least Pat is well researched on current affairs and science. Tubs is just hopeless. What exactly are his strong points, besides the various branches of his family tree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

"Ro" was on with Ian Dempsey yesterday morning, and said he is good friends with Tubs, and had a chat with him before the show. He told him he wouldn't be answering any questions about it.

Tubs should have asked them anyway. I couldn't give a flying fook myself, but it was the main Ronan Keating story of the past year.

cripes. You mean cuddly Ian, the one-time king of Irish children's TV, was able to find the cojones to ask Ronan about the row but the slick and urbane Tubridy, the young gun paid heaps of money to present the national broadcaster's flagship chatshow, couldn't ask the one question we were all asking at home??? There's something badly wrong with this picture...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

em, you'll need to clarify if you mean figuratively or....

edit. actually, the ans would be the same.

not fair. where are you with these classic synopses during the tubbs bashing forum of Fridays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

If people still think he's ok doing the LLS, then they should look no further than the interview with Take That.

Robbie performed at the start of the show and had the crowd eating out of his hands, great performance, great buzz in the audience, was looking like an enjoyable and fun programme....until Tubridy started interviewing the lads.

Jaysus, talk about a funeral breaking out...illness, deaths in the family etc. You could hear a pin drop from out in the audience for the entire interview. Awful, awful stuff.

Presenters on a national flagship chat show who can do something like that should be fired on the spot.

One word: Grim.

two words. fuking grim.

the only time he is comfortable is interviewing his canteen buddies (rte employees), and they just about tolerate him. - or awe struck grannies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

First off i'll start by saying Tubridy will host the late late for YEARS to come. No matter how bad. And thats not because of nepotism. Its because everyone watches the f*cking thing. If only to moan about how bad he is. The viewing figures speak for themselves, the highest they have been in years. Advertising justifies his wages also. If you want him off the TV then DO NOT WATCH.

Personally, I watched him last year. I was never a fan of Tubridy tonight and didn't think he was any worse on the late late than he was on his Saturday Night show. The Late Late brings alot more scrutiny though and he is under the microscope now.
    The key to being a good host is that you need to appear to be an expert on all topics (even if you are not) and the viewer needs to believe this is so. Tubridy does not fit this criteria.

I like my sport and Movies in particular, and when I see a movie star or sports figure on the late late my initial interest in hearing what they have to say is almost immediately shot down by my knowledge of the fact that Tubridy has clearly no f*cking clue about either of these topics in any great detail. So we are faced with a generic line of questioning which is in theory insulting to the audience watching, as its really an idiots guide to football or boxing or the oscars or whatever. When we see a movie star, we are treated to a clip of such person in a movie/TV from years gone by which is often followed by a bemused look on that persons face as if to say, "is that all you remember me for".

And thats only 2 topics of conversation that I find particularly interesting (movies and sport). Others will say the same about other topics such as his inability to go in depth into politics without showing FF preferences (although not as bad as some make out).

Rather than be a jack of all trades like a good host should be, Tubridy is really a very niche market expert on books and such. The guy also has a clear interest in US politics and his face lights up when the topic is brought up.

A good interviewer will make someone feel at ease in order to draw out more information, get them to open up in a comfortable but unforced environment. Tubridy makes people feel at ease but only in a way that makes the interviewee feel that they will get a cushy ride to promote their book or whatever. And the really top guests who are used to interview after interview are bored by the lack of challenge posed by this lightweight.

He comes across as a nice guy, has quite little grasp of life outside his own D4 bubble but this is not his own fault obviously, so the viewer finds it hard to relate to him. At first sign of confrontation he will back down and bow to a guest so he loses respect from them which ends any chance of an intriguing interview. He is like the mate who longs for you to open up to her but you don't feel in any way comfortable doing that and his efforts to draw you out make you retreat even further.
    Couple all of that with his refusal to deviate from scripted questions so it never seems like a chat. Its like he sets an agenda, talk about family for 5 minutes, career for 5 and future plans for another 5. How many times have you seen Tubridy ask a question only for things to go off on a tangent where they end up forgetting the original question or else jokingly come back to the question later? Thats usually a good sign when that happens because its off the cuff, but he always keeps it to the script. he cannot cut loose. Must not deviate from the usual line of questioning Ryan, he tells himself.

I won't even the mention his obsession with asking about Irish connections, dead family members etc.... as thats plain to see every week.

Bottom line, he is a nice bloke. totally out of touch with the average person but he doesnt have the humour, charisma (or talent if we are honest) to compensate for being out of touch. Its a natural thing, lack of common touch. And its not becasue he is a bad bloke who doesn't care, its just a noticeable lack of common touch. He doesnt have the tools you cannot teach to be a good host, the natural instincts.

But the vitriol towards him is a joke aswell. The way people tune in to watch to criticise is very funny. I know people on here have a laugh at it, but if you do not watch he does not get ratings and advertising will not be sufficient to cover his wages. Figures at an all time high indicate he must be doing a sterling job so then you need to take a good look at the person who is watching perceived rubbish every week.

I'd walk to Dublin in the morning naked to host the show for his wages so he would be an idiot to turn it down or pack it in.

The biggest culprits are the RTE executives who should have an eye for talent. They have handpicked him as the golden boy of RTE, so if anyone needs the vitriol its them. And as always is the case with Ireland, he will turn into a legend but not by virtue of his talent, rather the fact he has been around for so damn long and people will accept him as a permanent part of the furniture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 WispaMint

Realistically, who would replace Tubridy if he were to be sacked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

WispaMint wrote: »

The won't sack him, they just won't renew his deal and he will be given the opportunity to say he left on his own terms. This is in relation to his radio show. Something will happen there i'd imagine, they are haemorrhaging listeners.

He will be late late host for years. The late late host is the top spot in RTE and never in a million years would they bring in an outsider.

He will be around long enough for us Irish to do what we normally do, celebrate him for being a part of the furniture by virtue of him being around so long, rather than for his talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The Gerry Ryan documentary kind of shows what Tubridy lacks as an interviewer. All good interviewers, from Gerry himself, to Gay Byrne, to Parkinson all have a couple of things in common. They all know when to shut up and let things develop and they usually have a real interest in what the interviewee has to say.
    Tubs problem is he thinks that constant interjections is the mark of a good broadcaster, and I think hes too self absorbed to actually give a shít what anyone has to say. Theres a terrible whiff of the corporate stooge off him too. Hes never going to wrong foot a guest and/or shock the audience and his employers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Jayob10 wrote:
    I'd walk to Dublin in the morning naked to host the show for his wages so he would be an idiot to turn it down or pack it in.

Apparently there was a guy due in for an interview as his replacement this morning, but he was arrested for indecent exposure on the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

ArtSmart wrote: »
    not fair. where are you with these classic synopses during the tubbs bashing forum of Fridays?

I'm afraid I don't watch TLLS, I just read the thread here at the weekend and if anyone describes something particularly awful I go find it on Youtube.

Now I'm off to see if I can find that Take That interview mentioned, I haven't seen that yet.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

Dara O Briain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Rookster wrote: »
    Dara O Briain!
    Man, I'd love to see him interview the various psychics they get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭ghiertal

I suppose regular posters on here are wondering what my opinion on the whole Ryan-Ronan-LLS saga is. I felt that i needed to withhold my fire, restrain myself in order to get a clearer view of the matter.

First of all everyone needs to take a step back. There are bigger and more important things happening in the world. Now to the nub of the matter. I believe this whole incident has been contrived by Louis Walsh with the aid of Paul Martin and Ronan Keating. Walsh is known to be very upset at the lack of exposure that his stable of acts are getting on RTE and last autumn he ranted that it should be shut down.He was in the TV3 camp back then and remains so.

Ryan was on holiday in the West of Ireland last week, the storm that was brewing in Montrose was far removed from the idyllic surroundings of a loch in Westport. I believe that Walsh sneakily told Ronan to make a deal with Ryan, along the lines of Ryan getting a major interview in the future, and then used Paul Martin as an attack dog to defame RTE and Ryan. Look at how quickly Martin attacked Ryan on twitter.

Why go after Ryan? Ryan is probably worth 300 million to RTE. He brings in 200 million through the LLS and 90 on radio, plus another ten in appearances and documentaries(JFK in Ireland, Who Do You Think You Are?, etc.). If Walsh wanted to weaken RTE then Ryan was the obvious target. Then the coup de grace was Ronan's interview with Ian Dempsey on Today FM(also has close links with TV3 Matt Cooper, Ray Foley) where Keating and Dempsey hung Ryan out to dry. This whole scenario was a set-up and helped generate massive publicity for RK as a sideline to the major target of getting at Ryan.

Did anyone read Paul Martin's tweet mocking Ryan about how he created a big stink for him? Is Martin going be allowed to dictate the national agenda? Before his article on Sunday nobody was discussing the interview. Are people so stupid that thay will allow themselves be manipulated by this cabal?

Paul Martin twitter:I think it's safe to say my "HATE HATE SHOW" front page has stirred it all up today for Tubridy and co! 27 March 2011 16:01:12 via Mobile Web

Please read PM's tweets on his account before castigating me. Note his close relationship to Walsh's empire.

ghiertal wrote: »
    I believe this whole incident has been contrived by Louis Walsh with the aid of Paul Martin and Ronan Keating..... Did anyone read Paul Martin's tweet mocking Ryan about how he created a big stink for him? Is Martin going be allowed to dictate the national agenda?

Well, before I castigate you ... ;) .. I put links to all of Paul Martin's tweets on the LLS thread the other night, so I know what you're talking about.. I'm just not sure about the conspiracy that you are insinuating though.. I mean the crux of Paul Martin's complaint (and everybody else's complaints) was that Tubridy was too cowardly to ask Keating the hard questions, and allowed him to portray himself as the victim..
    This whole scenario was a set-up and helped generate massive publicity for RK as a sideline to the major target of getting at Ryan.
    They had no way of controlling what questions Tubridy was gonna ask, so it wasnt really within their control to "set-up" such a controversy..
    Why go after Ryan?

On this particular issue I blame Ryan for being too cowardly to ask the question that everybody wanted asked, apparently because it was not in tune with his morals.. Well Ryan, if you dont want to ask the questions, give the job to Brendan O'Connor .. he has no problem asking the hard questions.. Regarding the "weakening" of Tubridy.. He is doing this himself.. Like I said above, if he had asked Keating directly about the affair, there would be NO controversy.. What is unforgivable about him is that he himself seems unwilling to change to try to make the either show better...

My main point being, If Tubridy asked Keating the hard questions, then there would be no controversy.. so I dont think there is a conspiracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭ghiertal

They had no way of controlling what questions Tubridy was gonna ask, so it wasnt really within their control to "set-up" such a controversy..

My main point being, If Tubridy asked Keating the hard questions, then there would be no controversy.. so I dont think there is a conspiracy.

Jon, have you read his latest tweets and noted his almost incestuous relationship with Walsh's cabal. Martin is a fully paid-up member of Walsh's entourage and therefore he cannot be taken seriously. He created this whole storm.

My point was that maybe RK asked Ryan to write his biography before the show and promised him numerous juicy and salacious details, knowing that Ryan would want to save them for the book. Both Walsh and RK knew that Ryan was looking for a new subject to write on as he recently revealed that he is going to tackle a second tome. That is why i believe it was a set-up. It would be in Today FMs and Ian Dempsey + Ray D'arcy's interest also to have a go at Ryan(remove the competition). It was mutually beneficial for Walsh and Dempsey/D'arcy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Should tubridy be axed from both radio and tv
    NTubridy was awkward and clueless, he just read questions from his cards even if they didn't relate to what had just been said.

THIS! he doesnt know how to interview, he's not like parky or gay he cant have a conversation that leads from a question - he just goes question 1, question 2, question 3 etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Why go after Ryan? Ryan is probably worth 300 million to RTE. He brings in 200 million through the LLS and 90 on radio, plus another ten in appearances and documentaries(JFK in Ireland, Who Do You Think You Are?, etc.). If Walsh wanted to weaken RTE then Ryan was the obvious target. Then the coup de grace was Ronan's interview with Ian Dempsey on Today FM(also has close links with TV3 Matt Cooper, Ray Foley) where Keating and Dempsey hung Ryan out to dry. This whole scenario was a set-up and helped generate massive publicity for RK as a sideline to the major target of getting at Ryan.

his shows are maybe worth that much, not ryan himself. the shows would still be worth the same and probably more if they had a competent presenter..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Jon, have you read his latest tweets and noted his almost incestuous relationship with Walsh's cabal. Martin is a fully paid-up member of Walsh's entourage and therefore he cannot be taken seriously. He created this whole storm.

They're *all* fully paid-up members of Walsh's entourage when they want to be. And I don't think you're right that Martin sparked this row. There was a lot of discontent IRL as early as Saturday afternoon.
    My point was that maybe RK asked Ryan to write his biography before the show and promised him numerous juicy and salacious details, knowing that Ryan would want to save them for the book.

Hold on. Has Keating asked Tubridy to write his biography? Or is this just speculation on your part? Can I then speculate that you are very close to Tubridy, Ghiertal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I suppose regular posters on here are wondering what my opinion on the whole Ryan-Ronan-LLS saga is. I felt that i needed to withhold my fire, restrain myself in order to get a clearer view of the matter.

First of all everyone needs to take a step back. There are bigger and more important things happening in the world. Now to the nub of the matter. I believe this whole incident has been contrived by Louis Walsh with the aid of Paul Martin and Ronan Keating. Walsh is known to be very upset at the lack of exposure that his stable of acts are getting on RTE and last autumn he ranted that it should be shut down.He was in the TV3 camp back then and remains so.

Ryan was on holiday in the West of Ireland last week, the storm that was brewing in Montrose was far removed from the idyllic surroundings of a loch in Westport. I believe that Walsh sneakily told Ronan to make a deal with Ryan, along the lines of Ryan getting a major interview in the future, and then used Paul Martin as an attack dog to defame RTE and Ryan. Look at how quickly Martin attacked Ryan on twitter.

Did anyone read Paul Martin's tweet mocking Ryan about how he created a big stink for him? Is Martin going be allowed to dictate the national agenda? Before his article on Sunday nobody was discussing the interview. Are people so stupid that thay will allow themselves be manipulated by this cabal?

Paul Martin twitter:I think it's safe to say my "HATE HATE SHOW" front page has stirred it all up today for Tubridy and co! 27 March 2011 16:01:12 via Mobile Web

Please read PM's tweets on his account before castigating me. Note his close relationship to Walsh's empire.

I don't have access to PM's tweets.

But let's just take a step back here. Do you really really think that Louis Walsh is that intelligent to come up with the scenario as outlined above??!!!!

I definitely do not.

Louis's modus operandi is just to send some fibs out via soundbytes to the media and watch it spread....there is no reason to think he would deviate from his usual silly way of dealing with things.

I think you are giving Louis Walsh way too much credit here.

Jon, have you read his latest tweets and noted his almost incestuous relationship with Walsh's cabal.

http://twitter.com/paulmartin_bizz
    That's his twitter page, amdub..

Have to say, I did read one of his tweets about Kian Egan and Wonderland, and it was far more complimentary than I expected.. and he's just posted now that he's singing with Westlife tonight?? So you may be right that he's in Louis' pocket.

But I think you're taking a step too far saying that Tubridy may have not asked Keating questions about his extramarital antics because they are saving the details for a "reveal all" book... I think the non-asking was purely and solely down to his yellow streak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

http://twitter.com/paulmartin_bizz
    That's his twitter page, amdub..

Cheers Jonathan

Well firstly, for a "journalist" he tweets like a ten year old girl. Idiot.

Secondly, I don't know......while he may be friends with Louis, from what I can judge from the tweets I don't see the "Cheating Keating" friendship/connection...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Diving Board

pavcro10 wrote: »
    I don't see an obvious replacement for him anyway. Tubridy has a stiff banter, but at least its something. He's a smart guy, but I agree, he goes far too easy on guests.
    Paul O'Grady would offer a little light relief if that is the kind of thing people are looking for on a friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

Didn't tubs have affairs himself when he was married? Maybe thats why he didn't ask about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

Jayob10 wrote: »
    First off i'll start by saying Tubridy will host the late late for YEARS to come. No matter how bad. And thats not because of nepotism. Its because everyone watches the f*cking thing. If only to moan about how bad he is. The viewing figures speak for themselves, the highest they have been in years. Advertising justifies his wages also. If you want him off the TV then DO NOT WATCH.

Personally, I watched him last year. I was never a fan of Tubridy tonight and didn't think he was any worse on the late late than he was on his Saturday Night show. The Late Late brings alot more scrutiny though and he is under the microscope now.
    The key to being a good host is that you need to appear to be an expert on all topics (even if you are not) and the viewer needs to believe this is so. Tubridy does not fit this criteria.

I like my sport and Movies in particular, and when I see a movie star or sports figure on the late late my initial interest in hearing what they have to say is almost immediately shot down by my knowledge of the fact that Tubridy has clearly no f*cking clue about either of these topics in any great detail. So we are faced with a generic line of questioning which is in theory insulting to the audience watching, as its really an idiots guide to football or boxing or the oscars or whatever. When we see a movie star, we are treated to a clip of such person in a movie/TV from years gone by which is often followed by a bemused look on that persons face as if to say, "is that all you remember me for".

And thats only 2 topics of conversation that I find particularly interesting (movies and sport). Others will say the same about other topics such as his inability to go in depth into politics without showing FF preferences (although not as bad as some make out).

Rather than be a jack of all trades like a good host should be, Tubridy is really a very niche market expert on books and such. The guy also has a clear interest in US politics and his face lights up when the topic is brought up.

A good interviewer will make someone feel at ease in order to draw out more information, get them to open up in a comfortable but unforced environment. Tubridy makes people feel at ease but only in a way that makes the interviewee feel that they will get a cushy ride to promote their book or whatever. And the really top guests who are used to interview after interview are bored by the lack of challenge posed by this lightweight.

He comes across as a nice guy, has quite little grasp of life outside his own D4 bubble but this is not his own fault obviously, so the viewer finds it hard to relate to him. At first sign of confrontation he will back down and bow to a guest so he loses respect from them which ends any chance of an intriguing interview. He is like the mate who longs for you to open up to her but you don't feel in any way comfortable doing that and his efforts to draw you out make you retreat even further.
    Couple all of that with his refusal to deviate from scripted questions so it never seems like a chat. Its like he sets an agenda, talk about family for 5 minutes, career for 5 and future plans for another 5. How many times have you seen Tubridy ask a question only for things to go off on a tangent where they end up forgetting the original question or else jokingly come back to the question later? Thats usually a good sign when that happens because its off the cuff, but he always keeps it to the script. he cannot cut loose. Must not deviate from the usual line of questioning Ryan, he tells himself.

I won't even the mention his obsession with asking about Irish connections, dead family members etc.... as thats plain to see every week.

Bottom line, he is a nice bloke. totally out of touch with the average person but he doesnt have the humour, charisma (or talent if we are honest) to compensate for being out of touch. Its a natural thing, lack of common touch. And its not becasue he is a bad bloke who doesn't care, its just a noticeable lack of common touch. He doesnt have the tools you cannot teach to be a good host, the natural instincts.

But the vitriol towards him is a joke aswell. The way people tune in to watch to criticise is very funny. I know people on here have a laugh at it, but if you do not watch he does not get ratings and advertising will not be sufficient to cover his wages. Figures at an all time high indicate he must be doing a sterling job so then you need to take a good look at the person who is watching perceived rubbish every week.

The biggest culprits are the RTE executives who should have an eye for talent. They have handpicked him as the golden boy of RTE, so if anyone needs the vitriol its them. And as always is the case with Ireland, he will turn into a legend but not by virtue of his talent, rather the fact he has been around for so damn long and people will accept him as a permanent part of the furniture.

ok either im having serious deja vu or i have read that entire post before