Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should ryan tubridy be axed

• 28-03-2011 6:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭

With his radio show ratings dropping by the day

and

His dismal performance on saturday night

should he be axed both from radio and tv ?

Tubridy hired or fired 264 votes

Shoud tubridy be axed from radio
    0%
    Should tubridy be axed from tv
    11%
    totoalMr ERobertFostervibe666[Deleted User]miketv_feedback_[Deleted User]djkeogh[Deleted User]gustavodave1982Rochie IRL5uspectdulpitphasersF1ngersmurpho999zac8SerialComplaint 30 votes
    Should tubridy be axed from both radio and tv
    32%
    totoalMr ERobertFostervibe666DementoRStupidLikeAFoxCork ExileapplehunterChardee MacDennisMobyRoundyMooney_feedback_[Deleted User]ghostdancergustavodave1982pog itred davegrimm2005Rochie IRL 87 votes
    Should he be given some more time
    55%
    VenomtotoalJDxtraTuskyednwirelandMr EomahaidgenieRobertFosteririshdxradioPsychedelicvibe666marcphistoaphex™Richard DowerhardCopycalex71Sir OxmanTony Hhumanji 147 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

He's certainly thin enough to slip through a fax machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

How many listeners has he lost since he started? I don't listen to him, Hector or Hayes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

With the blunt side :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I picked all 4.
    I've been told I'm indecisive - maybe I am, maybe I'm not.

Poll fail. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

so you either love him or hate him?
    poll will tell us the thoughts of the public so its no fail:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

jimmynokia wrote: »

and

Saturday? Well Brendan should definately be axed, he's a smarmy, unfunny smug prick.

Ryan's allright. He's a damn improvement on Plank Kenny, at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

Did anyone axe him and see what he thinks himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Ive always been a defender of Tubridy but he went soft on Ronan Keating. He actually let Keating blame everyone else bar himself. Not acceptable from a public broadcaster.

I hope with a new government they really reign RTE in. The jobs for the boys culture, late late show tickets for the boys culture, presenters taking it easy on their mates in interviews; all this has to end. They need to be reminded that WE, The Public own them. They are employees of ours and must do their jobs in the way we wish them to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

sdonn wrote: »
    He's a damn improvement on Plank Kenny, at least.

He's not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

and

If your going to start a thread and a poll about sacking the man,could you at least get the night he does the show right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

deelite wrote: »
    How many listeners has he lost since he started? I don't listen to him, Hector or Hayes .

Hector?

Jeez, you've really 'let yourself gooooooooooooooooooo'. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I don't mind ryan. Its a tough job doing a light entertainment show. I liked gerry ryan to start with but I couldn't listen to him after a few years - just got sick of him.

I think ryan tubridy is more a political/current affairs sort of man than light entertainment. But he knows that people don't tune into 2FM for politics or current affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭andrewire

I think he's an awful presenter. He makes me cringe whenever he's interviewing anyone. He always asks stupid questions or tries to repeat them even though people have already answered them (see, Late Late interview with Alaistair Campbell). Like the time he asked people who had lost their children stuff like: 'Did you cry?' or 'Where you sad?'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

He swore it never happened to him before...... then rolled over and snoozed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

Thankfully he seems to have reigned in the incessant "cue cards" shuffling, and tapping and drumming the desk.

The quality of questions put to most intervieees is usually banal; I seem to remember P Kenny when he had S McGowan on being only interested in getting the latter to look a bit thick, no questions about for example his songs, life etc!

Whatever, he's not worth what he's been paid.
    Still, seems like a nice enough guy in a pressurized job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I leave the house for a couple of hours, and come home to find that JimmyNokia has raided my closet.. I thought I was the number one hater.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

We could just feed him through the shredder. When I say we, I, of course, mean jonan. But dibs on emptying the remains into the compost heap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

This poll makes no sense to me whatsoever :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Tubridy is the sort of ass lick we dont need on our TV.

I leave the house for a couple of hours, and come home to find that JimmyNokia has raided my closet.. I thought I was the number one hater.. :(

Eh hello! I go away for a week and you're all in the newspapers :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Should of never got the job in the first place.

Will he interview Yvonne on Friday night - and let her tell the story (she's bound to be writing a self help book - How to Survive an Affair)....

amdublin wrote: »
    This poll makes no sense to me whatsoever :confused:
    Eh hello! I go away for a week and you're all in the newspapers :mad:

Good holiday was it.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Good holiday was it.. :)

does anyone think brendan o connor would have done better?would he have asked keating the tough questions?
    and im not defending tubs i think hes a wuss.the least he could have done was asked what the hell were you thinking ronan yvonnes gorgeous ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

Tubridy is a whimp. How can he ask tough questions of anyone else from now on after this. He is totally undermined.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    does anyone think brendan o connor would have done better?would he have asked keating the tough questions?
    and im not defending tubs i think hes a wuss.the least he could have done was asked what the hell were you thinking ronan yvonnes gorgeous ffs.

Brendan would have let him go on about Steo, Swimming, etc., and as soon as Keating brought up his wonderful wife and family - Brendan would have been in there like a shot - asking all the questions - if Keating refused to answer Brendan would have used the line "but listen Ro you brought them up not me"....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

deelite wrote: »
    Brendan would have let him go on about Steo, Swimming, etc., and as soon as Keating brought up his wonderful wife and family - Brendan would have been in there like a shot - asking all the questions - if Keating refused to answer Brendan would have used the line "but listen Ro you brought them up not me"....:D

Tubridy is brutal - but whoever came up with the awful idea of putting this toolbag ^^^ on TV needs shooting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I don't watch the Late Late Show as its shiot on by a stick, however I will flick it on during an ad break or trailer between programmes on other channels and I'm always struck by the chronic lack of energy - the whole thing feels quite torpid. Tubbers sounds and looks utterly bored to me, he clearly has little ability to connect to a guest/s unless they fall into a few catgories he has a personal interest in. I also have a rather irrational wish to slap that face with its hand-me-down "shucks, me? I wish it was 1964" smirky hair and suit combo.

crazygeryy wrote: »

Well the question remains as to whether Tubridy was told it was off grounds by Keating or his handlers... From what Tubridy makes out, he himself made the decision NOT to ask the question... Brendan got the full story out of Linda Martin about the row Twink, even though she didnt want to talk about it.. I reckon, as a proper journalist, that he would have had a few goes at asking the question..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Well the question remains as to whether Tubridy was told it was off grounds by Keating or his handlers... From what Tubridy makes out, he himself made the decision NOT to ask the question... Brendan got the full story out of Linda Martin about the row Twink, even though she didnt want to talk about it.. I reckon, as a proper journalist, that he would have had a few goes at asking the question..

"Ro" was on with Ian Dempsey yesterday morning, and said he is good friends with Tubs, and had a chat with him before the show. He told him he wouldn't be answering any questions about it.

Tubs should have asked them anyway. I couldn't give a flying fook myself, but it was the main Ronan Keating story of the past year.

Re the last choice of the poll:
    Should he be given more time?

Eh no!!!!!! How much more time should he be given.

He's been doing the gig for ages. How much more time does he need???!!! :eek:

Tubs should have asked them anyway. I couldn't give a flying fook myself, but it was the main Ronan Keating story of the past year.

Yep. Why would you not ask it????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

"Ro" was on with Ian Dempsey yesterday morning, and said he is good friends with Tubs, and had a chat with him before the show. He told him he wouldn't be answering any questions about it.

If Keating actually said that to Tubridy before the show then they shouldnt of let him on. He went on the show to advertise his new album, Nobody gave a toss about his album of Burt Bacharach covers. We just wanted to see him squirm. I think i may sweep the blame to the production team if Tubridy told them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 RJGMovie

In fairness to Tubridy, he did ask about the affair, but Keating was just not going there. What was Tubridy supposed to do??

The best part of the interview was after Keating kept praising Bertie for his help with organising the Stephen Gately statue, he was asked what the latest with the statue is. His response:- Its not going to happen. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭macroboy

Enuff said ryan...for gods sake..just go.:mad:

If this continues on,people will start to feel sorry for the guy ,and next thing you know he will be bigger than terry wogan.

cue tubbers breakdown live on air,crying about g ryan and how he is only trying his best etc.
    i can see it now people..oh my god that is exactly what will happen.:eek::eek::eek:

and the man becomes a hero..

ffs

If your going to start a thread and a poll about sacking the man,could you at least get the night he does the show right!

what difference does that make this is a general poll about tubridy all round pal.
    so what are you saying
    sack him friday and take him on monday to thursday
    read the thing correctly.

Re the last choice of the poll:
    Should he be given more time?

Eh no!!!!!! How much more time should he be given.

He's been doing the gig for ages. How much more time does he need???!!! :eek:
    i just put that there to make it fair for the tubridy lovers we all know who they are here anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Unfortunately there's nobody much better to replace him with. They'd probably go for someone like Dáithí Ó Sé and I'd rather have Pat Kenny back than Dáithí .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Unfortunately there's nobody much better to replace him with.

Moncrieff.
    Although he's not presently part of the gravy train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

I hate the way he loves crooner music and JFK. Fu*k off to America Tubridy. Sure they'll recognise 'talent' like you and give you a big TV job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,687 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Pauleta wrote: »
    I hope with a new government they really reign RTE in. The jobs for the boys culture, late late show tickets for the boys culture, presenters taking it easy on their mates in interviews; all this has to end. They need to be reminded that WE, The Public own them. They are employees of ours and must do their jobs in the way we wish them to.

It would also be a vast improvement if RTÉ actually started getting some decent guests onto their chat shows instead of merely interviewing fellow RTÉ presenters.
    The lowest of the low must have been a while back when they had the girls who read the sports news on as guests. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Noboday was asking Tubs to crucify Ronan, but the lame and pathetic way he skimmed over the issue stank, and just showed why the guy is not fit to be in that job. He is supposed to be asking the questions that we the public may want answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Yes he's like a sittin' pencil with no balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

For the fairness of the poll should there not be an option "no" and not just "give him more time"....just to add to the fairness of the poll.

Or alternatively dont watch the late late show/listen to radio 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 RJGMovie

He did ask tough questions of Cowen and Enda when they were on, maybe he felt sorry for Ro !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Pauleta wrote: »
    If Keating actually said that to Tubridy before the show then they shouldnt of let him on. He went on the show to advertise his new album, Nobody gave a toss about his album of Burt Bacharach covers. We just wanted to see him squirm. I think i may sweep the blame to the production team if Tubridy told them.

That's Keatings version of events. Reading the paper yesterday, RTE say it never happened. But would believe Keating over them.

Certainly don't think he should go now though. It does however show he is a pretty weak interviewer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 TheTrain

Tubridy is a parasite, like all of his class. A creepy lounge act that fell upwards into a seven figure salary. The Late Late's cheeseball/elevator musak intro tells us all we need to know about his taste and intellect.

The thing that pisses me off most about RTE (and how all business is done in Ireland, ie. Michael Lowry.) is the casual, blatant corruption.

I mean this, Tubridy's deeply mediocre book on Kennedy visiting Ireland, (that neglected, nigh secret history that has never been exhaustively cataloged before at all) won the Best Newcomer at the Irish Book Awards despite coming out two months after the deadline. /RTE is the award's sponsor.

And there's also the fact that RTE happened to commission a costly advert for Tubridy's book in the guise of a new documentary hosted by Tubridy. This would be explainable if not excusable if RTE themselves had published the book but they didn't, it was Harper Collins.

Tubridy also got the artist's tax exemption for the book, which is meant for works of "artistic merit", ie fictional or creative, to legally get it he would have had to make all his facts about JFK up. Of course, his boss Bertie also won the artist's exemption for his biography.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

sdonn wrote: »
    Saturday? Well Brendan should definately be axed, he's a smarmy, unfunny smug prick.

Ryan's allright. He's a damn improvement on Plank Kenny, at least.

Couldn't agree more about Brendan. Sh1te, sh1te, sh1te all the way! Total douche!

I don't mind Tubridy on the LLS, as you say, better than fecking Kenny (but that is not that much of an achievement). I tried to listen to his show, but FFS it's brutal, he jumps from one topic to another before I've had time to digest what he just said. Awful!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,998 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Late late show is fine (don't see it much, but it's grand when I do)

His radio show on the other hand is godawful muck, and should be scrapped. Can't see it happening though.