Would you go public?

• 29-03-2011 11:32PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

If you had just won part thereof of the Lotto? Jeez, I know I wouldn't.

A friend of mine back in 1990 won the biggest amount in the lotto of the time. Went public and oh my God, life was pretty fraught for a while what with begging letters and much more! It was seriously stressful for the whole family!

I guess winners today are well advised but still, I would keep it under wraps, as best I could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

what is there to gain from going public :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I wouldnt, no, but im sure people would figure it out when they see me driving around town in a hovercraft...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I wouldn't.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

I would absolutely keep it under wraps. In fact, I'd probably keep working for a few months after the win, and then leave. Not alone would I dread the thought of heaps of begging letters and media intrusion, the possibility of something like this happening would concern me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Go on OP, we're all waiting for you to come out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

The amount of celebrating I'd do, I'd probably end up in court on a drunk and disorderly charge or something. And then -- it would get out.

But I wouldn't care, because I'm a billionaire.....so freakin bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Id like to think I would, but would I really? Think about how hard it would be to win all that money, then only tell close family and friends. Id be bursting to spill the beans myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

I think you get more if you go public - Advertising reasons - Its a serious percent me thinks - thats why yer 1 who won the euro millions went public, would have cost her bout ten Million to take it privately, (if its lies ive been told its lies im tellin ya!!) Just what I have heard tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Not a chance I'd go pubic. I'd keep my head down for a while, fly off to Vegas on a holiday I had being saving for ( ;) ) and never return full time, making out I was doing very well on the poker tables and was now a professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Go on OP, we're all waiting for you to come out....

Sorry, I just COLLECT my post from the letterbox outside my door!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭foodie66

Saila wrote: »

Sometimes its impossible to hide, you may be with people when you check your ticket or you may have a blabbermouth in your family who cannot keep it shut!

To the OP, i would do my utmost to keep it private. I have discussed this with family (as you do:D) , and I always say i would keep it quiet, where as i am told that there is no way I could. It would not be my spending as I am not a flash person, i would but a nice house but nothing ridiculous. I know for a fact that I could not trust some family members, and seeing as I would want to help them out and pay off mortgages etc I would have to tell them.

Its a tricky one. I can totally believe that winning the lotto can be cursed and blessed. (Insert 'I'd like to try it' gag) The threat of criminals would be very scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Yer man has no doubts about coming forward now, on the late news on RTE1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭foodie66

ardinn wrote: »
    I think you get more if you go public - Advertising reasons - Its a serious percent me thinks - thats why yer 1 who won the euro millions went public, would have cost her bout ten Million to take it privately, (if its lies ive been told its lies im tellin ya!!) Just what I have heard tho.

HUH? How can they take money from you fro not wanting to be all over the news? That's insane. Dolores was outed by the papers as she found out in the pub and everyone knew anyway. It was either get a few pictures taken or be stalked by paparazzi. Besides, what's 10 million yoyo's to her :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I would keep it quiet. You wouldn't get peace, some gob****e would want a piece of your winnings either through begging, scrounging or stealing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I'd keep it private.

That's the problem with syndicates though, someone will always blab, more than likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Mary28

Definitely keep it quiet, be hard to keep going into your job if you don't like it when you no longer have to. I think I heard it's recommended that you go about your life as usual for a year and in that time decide what it is you want to do with they money/your life, so as not to make any rash decisions.
    A million isn't what it used to be though, be gone in a house and a holiday home and not much to spare, you'd want to be winning a rollover.

foodie66 wrote: »
    HUH? How can they take money from you fro not wanting to be all over the news? That's insane.

Advertising and keeping the lotto dream alive in more people. Nothing like seeing a picture of Joe or Mary Soap picking up their oversized cheque to really make it hit home that it could be you.

If every winner stayed private people would start to lose interest tbh and probably start a few conspiracy theories on top of it all.

It's all part of the agreement on the back of ticket IIRC that basically they take a small cut if you choose to stay anonymous because it's not good business for the Lotto if you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,495 ✭✭✭✭Basq

The amount of celebrating I'd do, I'd probably end up in court on a drunk and disorderly charge or something. And then -- it would get out.
    With the fecking price of drink these days?

Oh, never mind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

People dont actually write begging letters to lotto winners do they? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 The Moth

I'd definitely keep it private, even for the sake of my own safety! You could endanger your family by going public anyway, it's not worth it, there are no advantages of going public!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I've seen begging videos on Youtube, be very surprised if the letters weren't written!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

The guy who won from Kinsale and is a postman.I can see the same thing happening to him as the other guy from Cork who won publically.He opened The Titanic in Cobh ,rooted out real items from the real Titanic,place was beautiful .Until it closed and now hes broke .
    To be fair it would be hard to keep quiet .A lot of people would keep working ,but not say anything to anyone? Its bound to come out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

prinz wrote: »
    Advertising and keeping the lotto dream alive in more people. Nothing like seeing a picture of Joe or Mary Soap picking up their oversized cheque to really make it hit home that it could be you.

If every winner stayed private people would start to lose interest tbh and probably start a few conspiracy theories on top of it all.

It's all part of the agreement on the back of ticket IIRC that basically they take a small cut if you choose to stay anonymous because it's not good business for the Lotto if you do.

That's a bit rich - I don't recall getting a "no-publicity" discount on my €2 when I bought the ticket. There is literally no end to the ways you can get shafted in life. I'm thinking of re-writing the song "50 ways to fcuk you over" Take your poxy euromillions and shove it up your hole - Sideways !

I'm having an angry day today - no biggie just let me vent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

For example small town in Ireland .Man buys brand new Bugatti .No ones going to notice? come on.

Yes. I know of a lad who won money on a scratch card, it was "only" something like €20,000, but he got a lot of letters and calls from local folk, charities, GAA club, football club, basically anyone and everyone asking for a donation for this cause or that or to help repair dressing rooms that sort of thing.

Pwindedd wrote: »
    There is literally no end to the ways you can get shafted in life..

It's your choice. It's not really getting shafted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

I think you either gain an extra 10-12% by going public, or u lose 10-12% of the sum(5 million or whatever it is) if u dont.

Personally I wouldnt tell a fcucking soul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

No..... If it's a really big win then I wouldn't want the stress and hassle of going public ,something like that getting out overnight can be to much to handle ,especially if you are used to living a fairly quite life because that would be gone .

However I would take myself off some place quite for a week to plan the future which would of course involve looking after family first - then friends and if possible ,a charity were the money gets to those who need it most and not some scammer , skimming of the top into their pocket .

By then I would be abroad living in another country :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Saila wrote: »

I think you get an extra couple of grand...but it is definitely less than 50 grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

But I wouldn't care, because I'm a billionaire.....so freakin bad
    The chances of winning the lotto are slim enough but you must be expecting a lot of roll over jackpots.