Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Everyone seems to want a 1 litre car !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

cullen5998 wrote: »
    1 litre is so small, the cars with these engines were never designed to be going on motorways at 120kmph or rural back roads. They feel too flimsy

Whatever about the motorway driving, I've no idea what link there would be between engine size and a car's ability on back roads. That's just down to an individual car's handling. In fact, in a lot of cases I'd rather a hatchback than a big barge of a car for that type of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

EPM wrote: »
    Not as slow as the 2.3d Serena though:D;):p

they just shouldn't be allowed... horrible horrible things. as van fine but they're still slow and gutless. a serena of that generation must be one of the most soul destroying methods of transportation in existance. There's a 1.6 petrol too which must be even worse, still stupidly slow with terrible fuel economy hauling that big van body around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I want a 1 litre car too, 1L/100k:

vw-1-liter-concept-car-photo06.jpg

edit: Sorry, i couldn't resist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Nonsense.
    Danbo! wrote: »
    I dunno, my missus has a 1ltr yaris thats 12 years old but low mileage and in good nick. Its not the most comfortable car in terms of interior, but it handles itself fine above 120 on a motorway and grand on back roads.
    Ive been in a 1.4 Octavia and 1.0 Micra recently. Neither handled themselves well over 100kph, neither could overtake in a manner I would consider remotely safe and both felt like they were made from Tin foil.

I do a long long rural to urban commute every morning. I do occasionally see these cars and no, they are not handling the trip well at all. They are superb Urban cars yes, but to think they are good at high speed rural back roads or motorway cruising... come on. :rolleyes:

While some of those doomed to drive such complete sh**e would like to think what they have is "normal" and "fine", they are not. cullen5998 maybe a bit blunt, but he is correct in the majority of cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,011 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Only time a small engine cars get annoying is at 70-100kph when you want to overtake. Or when you hit or get hit by another much more heavy car/suv/van etc. For city driving they are perfect, cheap and easy to maintain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

1 litre cars are selling well on donedeal.ie and elsewhere because they represent cheap motoring. They are usually older cars costing a couple of grand at the most. The buyer cannot/doesnt want to buy a new/ish car costing €15k + and is probably also looking to minimise daily running costs such as low economy, low tax, cheap insurance etc.

There is a big market out for those people, some are young and will invariably move onto something bigger, others don't care about image etc and need a daily runaround and for other people it's all they can afford. Either way its a fairly competitive market category and that why they are so popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

up to a year ago I had always driven 1.4, 1.6 and up to 2 litre cars. My favorite to drive was the bmw 318i. now I have a 95 jap import automatic micra. I downgraded as I'm now a student and cant afford the higher road tax and insurance that goes with bigger newer cars. It means I can still afford a car while I'm studying. I agree that they are rubbish for overtaking and on gradients. I think a lot of people are in similar situations to me and just want a reliable car on the go that they can afford to run. I'd rather have my tin can car than no car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    they just shouldn't be allowed... horrible horrible things. as van fine but they're still slow and gutless. a serena of that generation must be one of the most soul destroying methods of transportation in existance. There's a 1.6 petrol too which must be even worse, still stupidly slow with terrible fuel economy hauling that big van body around

I used to drive a 1.6 Serena
    It was supposed to be a 7 seater, but with 7 people in the car, it couldn't get up hills.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Lurching wrote: »
    I dont, im sticking with my 3L turbo thanks.

its a joy the 1 litre brigade will never know :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

I've been driving a 1 litre for a few years. It's pretty long in the tooth, probably lost a few hp over the years, has the aerodynamics of a brick, but I love it. My driving is essentially urban, but it journeys Dublin to Belfast fairly regularly. I'm going to put a stop to using it on the motorway and use my 2 litre classic once it's fully sorted. The 1 litre will get to 120km if the road's sloping the right way and the the wind's favourable, but tbh it's far from ideal for that sort of use.

For the city though - you don't need anything bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭omega man

I've just bought a 1 litre, though not through choice. Bought it because of the shocking road tax prices here. Thanks to the Green party I expect.
    My last car in the UK was a vectra 2.6 v6 sri, how I miss it :(
    Previous to that a seat toledo 2.5 v5 :(
    Ba573rd road tax :mad:
    Gone from 170bhp to 50bhp :o

Painful man :eek: I once brought a car back to the garage after driving it down the road because i thought there was something wrong with it. Turns out it was fine, it was a 1L corsa replacement car during a service :D

I've just bought a 1 litre, ...........Gone from 170bhp to 50bhp :o

If you could have stretched to tax a 1.6 you'd have picked up something decent ish powerwise, what 1.0 did you get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭billyboy01

I can't wait for the new Yaris coming in late 2011, and the hybrid model coming in Jan 2012, well in the UK at the moment! I read that its new petrol engines are twice as efficient as the current engines. With the new models giving 3.8L/100km and 99g/CO2 tax rates!

So yes 1-1.3 litre cars are the way to go!

billyboy01 wrote: »
    I can't wait for the new Yaris coming in late 2011, and the hybrid model coming in Jan 2012, well in the UK at the moment! I read that its new petrol engines are twice as efficient as the current engines. With the new models giving 3.8L/100km and 99g/CO2 tax rates!

fuel efficiency is not the only factor in what makes a car good or bad. if petrol was cheap and road tax was free everyone who could afford to would roll round in 5 litre V8 / V12 beasts because deep down aside from all the costs everyone knows that a 1 litre car just isnt a good drive.

your 1 litre cars may suit the city but it doesnt suit long journeys , my 3 litre truck is great for long journeys and in the city (if you dont mind the fuel price) but I only go in to the city to make money so it weighs up

fuel efficiency is not the only factor in what makes a car good or bad. if petrol was cheap and road tax was free everyone who could afford to would roll round in 5 litre V8 / V12 beasts because deep down aside from all the costs everyone knows that a 1 litre car just isnt a good drive.

your 1 litre cars may suit the city but it doesnt suit long journeys , my 3 litre truck is great for long journeys and in the city (if you dont mind the fuel price) but I only go in to the city to make money so it weighs up

Yes, but most of us slave units, Oh I mean consumer workers live in the real World where affordable running costs rather then luxury is the priority especially here with our penal car taxes! For most a car is for transport not a lifestyle or status option!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

You're entitled to your own opinions and aspirations but man....

langdang wrote: »
    You're entitled to your own opinions and aspirations but man....

Yes I would love a 5L V12 sportscar or a monster of a 4WD, But the car seems to be the latest target for taxation, and with fuel prices on a upwards only path! I would prefer to spend my ever lowering cash in my pocket on other things rather then pay extra tax and duties!

But if your loaded, by all means go for it!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Motorway Speeds in a 1ltr you feel the car screaming at 4.5k Revs Painful and added with a few mates on board not a great driving experience but i started out with one and it was great on petrol tax and most important insurance althow im still being screwed on a 1.2 :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Yes I would love a 5L V12 sportscar or a monster of a 4WD, But the car seems to be the latest target for taxation, and with fuel prices on a upwards only path! I would prefer to spend my ever lowering cash in my pocket on other things rather then pay extra tax and duties!

But if your loaded, by all means go for it!

You don't really have to be loaded to avoid being excited about a Yaris.

ottostreet wrote: »
    You don't really have to be loaded to avoid being excited about a Yaris.

True, but it helps! For people how generally dont do more then 15km a year and just use a car for A to B transport. Cars with engines of 998cc to 1298cc is the best option for the pocket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I remember my 97 Polo on the motorway, you could literally "feel" the engine spinning at 4000rpm, as well as the 14" wheels through the floor spinning at colossal speed and you'd want a megaphone to speak to the person next to you. Some craic.

But also frightening, I could be doing 110kph and pull out to the overtaking lane to overtake a marginally faster car in front, put the pedal flat to the floor and nothing would happen. Ten seconds later you have someone up your arse looking to get past and you're barely past the car you set out to overtake!

I would have hated to accelerate out of trouble, small heavy cars with small engines are lethal in that regard.
    Thank god those days are gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

You can't wait to buy a new car to save money on tax/fuel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

RoverJames wrote: »
    If you could have stretched to tax a 1.6 you'd have picked up something decent ish powerwise, what 1.0 did you get?

Its a Seat Ibiza. Only really to use untill I can get something better. Financially had to go for cheapest option at the mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

shawnee wrote: »
    Just noticing sold cars on donedeal and the 1 litres are selling while the others are very slow :o:rolleyes:

I know a few lads in the trade and they cannot keep 1Litre cars in stock, they are selling out the gate. They are the most in demand car at the moment.

Yes, but most of us slave units, Oh I mean consumer workers live in the real World where affordable running costs rather then luxury is the priority especially here with our penal car taxes! For most a car is for transport not a lifestyle or status option!

your getting excited about a new hybrid yaris - which will probably be in the 20k bracket

if your age profile allows you could easily buy an old 3 litre lexus for 2-3k and run it into the ground far cheaper than buying and running that yaris , very comfortable and no downside

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Ive been in a 1.4 Octavia and 1.0 Micra recently. Neither handled themselves well over 100kph, neither could overtake in a manner I would consider remotely safe and both felt like they were made from Tin foil.

I do a long long rural to urban commute every morning. I do occasionally see these cars and no, they are not handling the trip well at all. They are superb Urban cars yes, but to think they are good at high speed rural back roads or motorway cruising... come on. :rolleyes:

While some of those doomed to drive such complete sh**e would like to think what they have is "normal" and "fine", they are not. cullen5998 maybe a bit blunt, but he is correct in the majority of cases.

The yaris was aclaimed for its chassis when it came out so would handle back roads well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

kermitpwee wrote: »
    I know a few lads in the trade and they cannot keep 1Litre cars in stock, they are selling out the gate. They are the most in demand car at the moment.

it's great, because it means you can pick up real cars far cheaper! the quality of cars for 2-3k is unbelievable!

Exactly my man:D If your not doing big mileage and too worried about the tax you can pick up some nice motors for buttons.

a german aquaintance was talking to me last week and asked did the irish have mental problems , I asked him why he thought that and he linked me to a bmw 740iL , an audi a8 and an ls400 - hes now tempted to get mates to break these cars and ship most of the parts to germany (especially e38 bmw's) because we sell whole cars for the price of the engine & running gear in germany

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭cannonballer

I've noticed an increase in larger cars getting very small engines,

In a few cases I would say that the smaller engine whilst cheap to tax may end up being more expensive on fuel on account of the engine working harder or at higher revs. This may have an impact on reliability.

Wouldn't like to have to do a lot of motorway driving in a 1ltr car, I'm sure it would be screaming with the high revvs. Smaller cars are getting heavier as more safety equipment and gadgets and better interiors are added.

I drive a 5L V8 as my daily driver, I went from Dublin to Clonmel set the cruise on 120kph all the way the car barely went over 1500 rpm was getting about 30-33 mpg.