Tayto Madam President? That'll be €8.50 please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    How stupid (I am in AH though). I don't remember saying anyone who does good should get a free cup of tea on their flight with Aer Lingus...or did I? Maybe you could find that quote...

In my humble opinon, Mary Robinson has done exceptional work in her positions of power. The woman didn't demand a free cup of tea...but I think it'd be a nice gesture. Continue to put words in my mouth to suit your argument if ye like.

Okay the problem must be with me so I'll just ask again, do you think Aer Lingus should expect an ordinary woman who does voluntary work for the elderly to pay for her cup of tea whilst 10 seconds later giving another woman who is richly paid for her good work a free cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

I'm disappointed by the standard of posting on AH lately.

The polite thing to do would be to ask her for a go on her norks. It's not everyday you gat a chance to take the presidential motorboat out for a spin. I'd say they are built for speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Is it too much to ask to afford a little respect to a former president?
    It's nothing to do with the money, it's about being polite and thoughtful towards someone deserving of it.Though some people are unfortunately either too oblivious or too caught up in their inferiority complexes to do anything besides constantly assert themselves. Have manners. It's nice to be nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Okay the problem must be with me so I'll just ask again, do you think Aer Lingus should expect an ordinary woman who does voluntary work for the elderly to pay for her cup of tea whilst 10 seconds later giving another woman who is richly paid for her good work a free cup?

No.

I think Mary Robinson is exceptional. She's one of my heros. I (me...not you) thinks she's a cut above the rest. I (me...not you) think she deserves a free cup of tea). If I was the head of Aer Lingus,I wouldn't charge for tea anyway and everyone would get a free cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,966 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Mary Robinson is the former President. I don't see why she should be exempt for paying for her food. I'm also sure she had absolutely no problem with doing so either.

If she had got special treatment/her food for free - you can bet there would be people giving out about that.

HoneyRyder wrote: »
    Is it too much to ask to afford a little respect to a former president?

I respect anyone who deserves it, I would show respect to a former president and I would show respect to my postman, I'm not going to fawn over one particular person just because they held a particular office or they get their photo on the front of magazines.

If two people are good, genuine human beings then I'm not going to rank one as being more deserving of respect as the other, and if one of them takes offense at not being fawned over for being so great then f*ck them they don't deserve any respect at all (I'm not saying Mary Robinson took offense btw, but just if she did).

Just to add, I did voluntary work with the elderly for 3 years...I'm nowhere near as exceptional as she is.

I respect anyone who deserves it, I would show respect to a former president and I would show respect to my postman, I'm not going to fawn over one particular person just because they held a particular office or they get their photo on the front of magazines.

If two people are good, genuine human beings then I'm not going to rank one as being more deserving of respect as the other, and if one of them takes offense at not being fawned over for being so great then f*ck them they don't deserve any respect at all (I'm not saying Mary Robinson took offense btw, but just if she did).

Your equating Mary Robinson with your postman and your putting her in same bracket as Jordan. Mary didn't take offence and I doubt she would, so quit filling in the gaps with your own made up crap. She neevr asked to be fawned over.

If you don't know what she's achieved while in her various positions (she's not just the ex pres of Ireland), then read up on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,376 ✭✭✭Glico Man

If it was for King crisps I would have said let her have them for nothing...but having to pay for Taytos? She'll get no sympathy from me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Dont think they do Tayto On Aer Lingus,think they do Pringles

Oh sorry i forgot,most country folk call all makes of crisps Taytos!

Your equating Mary Robinson with your postman and your putting her in same bracket as Jordan.

She is an ordinary human being who did good with the position she found herself in life, for that I respect her. All I am saying is that I also respect a person who does voluntary work for the elderly (like yourself), and that if I was in the position of offering a free refreshment to a person who does good work as a volunteer or a person who does good work but is very well paid for it, I would give it to the volunteer every single time...and do you know what, I bet you that Mary Robinson would do exactly the same!
    Mary didn't take offence and I doubt she would, so quit filling in the gaps with your own made up crap. She neevr asked to be fawned over.

You must have missed the entire end of my point where I clearly pointed out that I wasn't saying she took offense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Who said anything about fawning?! This is exactly what I mean about people and their egos and inferiority complexes coming into play. And yup I respect anyone who deserves it too and in the same way that I thank the girl who cleans the communal corridors in work or buy Burger King for the homeless, so too do I think that Mary Robinson could be given a cup of tea and a bag of crisps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

But she is our president for life, the irish nation.

You all should be very dissapointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Has she done anything useful?
    Couldn't find much there, found this thread talking about her achievements
    http://www.politics.ie/current-affairs/36972-achievements-mary-robinson.html

Don't know why she's so popular, she was just another politician getting a crazy wage for not doing much.
    Ya she gets 2500 a week from the tax payers while also blaming the regular people of Ireland for the dept were in at the moment.

What a bitch.
    There is not much to know.
    Ya but just remember all the great things Mary did for Ireland she earned her 2500 a week.

Have to say, these comments are some of the most stupid and ignorant I have seen on this site. If you actually read any biography of Mary Robinson, you would not come to these conclusions at all. The only thing I can figure is that you just want to sound offensive for the sake of it so it makes you look pretty silly. Any informed person would disagree with the comments you have written. I don't exactly know how you are able to call a former president and public figure, who has contributed hugely to Ireland and internationally, a bitch and a mod does not give you a warning or removes that abuse. There is absolutely no need for it at all.

HoneyRyder wrote: »
    Who said anything about fawning?! This is exactly what I mean about people and their egos and inferiority complexes coming into play.

Well if its an inferiority complex in me that causes me to consider the largely unseen and unpraised good done by ordinary people as being no less deserving of reward than the good done by those in the limelight then I guess its a complex I am happy to have.

In fairness, I was disgusted when Aer Lingus started charging for cups of tea. If I had my way, everyone would get a cup of tea on a short haul flight and a little packet of peanuts like the olden days hence the reason I'd make a shiite boss.

Pompey Magnus, to me this woman is exceptional and has done more than your average person doing a bit of volunteer work on the side. She stuck her neck out when others wouldn't and she didn't have to. There's not many people I look up to (I'm as begrudging as any Irish person) but she has a clean track record and I think she's great.

Well if its an inferiority complex in me that causes me to consider the largely unseen and unpraised good done by ordinary people as being no less deserving of reward than the good done by those in the limelight then I guess its a complex I am happy to have.

So if you think everyone who is decent and has done a substantial amount of good should be rewarded (in our hypothetical world), why not start with Mary?

Pompey Magnus, to me this woman is exceptional and has done more than your average person doing a bit of volunteer work on the side. She stuck her neck out when others wouldn't and she didn't have to. There's not many people I look up to (I'm as begrudging as any Irish person) but she has a clean track record and I think she's great.

Well then just answer me this, do you think if she had the choice of either receiving the free cup of tea herself or a volunteer charity worker sitting beside her receiving it, who would she go decide should get it?

I reckon, as she is a good person, she would agree with me...but I might be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Interesting title,

Not too pushed about the question. I guess i wouldnt be bothered if she didnt have to pay.

Being a great lady and all that

So if you think everyone who is decent and has done a substantial amount of good should be rewarded (in our hypothetical world), why not start with Mary?

She receives €187,000 a year from the citizens of Ireland. Is that not good enough reward? How much should we be giving her before she could be expected to pay her way like the rest of us? €250,000 perhaps?

It is nothing to do with reward or is it the idea of Robinson paying her way. I think the basic idea is a bit of respect. If I was selling coffee or tea and met someone I really admired, Mary Robinson or whoever, I would be glad to give the person a free cup. It is not a big deal, they might want to pay anyway, but it is a gesture. So lighten up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

So question is - free lunch out of respect for a former holder of the office or pay up like the rest of us schlubs?

Are you serious? :confused:

It's a cup of tea ffs. A.cup.of.tea.

It is nothing to do with reward or is it the idea of Robinson paying her way. I think the basic idea is a bit of respect. If I was selling coffee or tea and met someone I really admired, Mary Robinson or whoever, I would be glad to give the person a free cup. It is not a big deal, they might want to pay anyway, but it is a gesture. So lighten up.

Hey, that is absolutely fine. If you want to do that I have no problem with it, and I would have had no problem if the air hostess on the flight had told Mary Robinson that she would pay for the tea out of her own pocket. What someone does with their own money is their business.

What I am saying is that these gestures should not be expected and it shouldn't be something even worthy of discussion if a person earning a fraction of what Mary Robinson does decides not to offer the free perk.

Would you like a free cup of tea?

I will charge Pompey though :p

I know!!! Where is the problem in her paying for a cup of tea that she ordered? The thread wasn't started because she got a cup of tea and got it for free, it was because she was expected to pay for a lousy cup of tea.

It is those who agree with you who are making the big deal out of what should be a complete non-issue in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Are you serious? :confused:

You'll have to state which option irks you, the former I assume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

It would have been courteous of them not to charge, however I doubt the training of cabin crew extends to such, I also doubt "but Mary Robinson..." counts as an excuse for the takings being short. I'd also like to think that she wouldn't be the type to accept the free cuppa or whatever anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭InTouch

Having worked in hospitality for a good while I shared this with a friend of mine who grew up working in hotels, when Mary Robinson and a group of fellow political faces came in to their place the management signed off on their bill. They came in another time in a bigger group and insisted on paying but their bill was taken care of c/o the General Manager as a goodwill gesture. They tipped very well both times.

I'm sure Ms. Robinson was happy to feel human and "normal" like the rest of the passengers. Sometimes they (people of political/historical significance) might get fed up of being made to feel different than other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Have to say, these comments are some of the most stupid and ignorant I have seen on this site. If you actually read any biography of Mary Robinson, you would not come to these conclusions at all. The only thing I can figure is that you just want to sound offensive for the sake of it so it makes you look pretty silly. Any informed person would disagree with the comments you have written. I don't exactly know how you are able to call a former president and public figure, who has contributed hugely to Ireland and internationally, a bitch and a mod does not give you a warning or removes that abuse. There is absolutely no need for it at all.

Not surprised you haven't been here long.

Here's a tip leave the modding to the mods.

As an "informed person" as you label yourself can you list some of Mary's huge contributions.