Most overated place

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

The most over rated place by far in Ireland is Galway City. Not that there is anything bad per-se about the place, but the way a lot of people wax lyrical about the place builds it up to be something its certainly not. The traffic is awful and its almost always raining save for a few days in the summer. Much of its bars are kitsch touristy overpriced holes and the place is generally over run with students.

Galway is grand in small doses, but its really just a big town and I wouldn't like to live or have studied there.

+1 in general, +100 to the bolded bit. And yeah, it is an unbelievably rainy place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

Pisa. I was there for three days last year as the last leg of an otherwise excellent Italy trip, and I'd say that was two days and 22 hours more than I needed in that city. For somewhere so steeped in history, it is a terrible kip now, and even the airport was poorly organised.

Not saying don't go at all, but it should definitely only be a day-trip from Florence, which is brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Barcelona. I like it - it's nice, but I don't get why a lot of people think it's amaaaaaaaaaazing.
    Tel Aviv. Have grandparents living there, but its horrible. I often see it described as "one of the trendiest cities on the med" but 80% of it is a tip.
    An Israeli flag and a union jack in your sig - why don't you just put "I'm a sh1t-stirrer" there?

Dudess wrote: »
    Barcelona. I like it - it's nice, but I don't get why a lot of people think it's amaaaaaaaaaazing.

An Israeli flag and a union jack in your sig - why don't you just put "I'm a sh1t-stirrer" there?

maybe he / she is called Brigid?

(think phonetic)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Offaly, it's just not all that it's cracked up to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Blackjack

WTF?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Bondi Beach was the most over-rated place I've ever been. Everyone I know who's been to Australia was waffling on about how great it is, but I thought it was a kip. Basically it was like a sunny version of Ireland, pasty white skin and GAA jerseys as far as the eye could see, I probably only met one or two aussies the whole time I was in Bondi :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Solnskaya wrote: »
    Offaly, it's just not all that it's cracked up to be.

Ah yeah, I was under the impression that Tullamore was a highly cultured place full of intellectuals, fine cuisine and stunning women before I went there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Ah yeah, I was under the impression that Tullamore was a highly cultured place full of intellectuals, fine cuisine and stunning women before I went there.
    So was I. What a scam. That Offaly tourist board are a bunch of bull****ters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Galway, only there the once mind, and it was just around the centre of town,but not impressed with the place.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I overated my sandwich :(

Blackjack wrote: »
    WTF?
    I should have put a :pac: after it - probably the two things that will cause the most mayhem on AH...

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Galway, only there the once mind, and it was just around the centre of town,but not impressed with the place.

I feel so validated by all the "Galway is overrated" comments. Being from the west, I always get shouted down when I tentatively suggest that it's not that great. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

I should have put a :pac: after it - probably the two things that will cause the most mayhem on AH...

I shall remove them. Don't want to cause mayhem or heated debate over a sig, or anything else for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Oranage2 wrote: »

Vegas is a tad over-rated too like for the money it costs.

Honestly, if you think that you didn't do it right. If you live on a tight budget when your there i could see how you might think it though.

ziedth wrote: »
    Honestly, if you think that you didn't do it right. If you live on a tight budget when your there i could see how you might think it though.

Vegas wouldn't interest me very much at all.

I shall remove them. Don't want to cause mayhem or heated debate over a sig, or anything else for that matter.
    Makes no difference to me - although it's probably the safer option! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

The Great Ocean Road in Australia. it pales compared to the atlantic drive in Achill or the Cliffs of Moher

The Atlantic drive in Achill is TERRIFYING! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Toots* wrote: »
    Bondi Beach was the most over-rated place I've ever been. Everyone I know who's been to Australia was waffling on about how great it is, but I thought it was a kip. Basically it was like a sunny version of Ireland, pasty white skin and GAA jerseys as far as the eye could see, I probably only met one or two aussies the whole time I was in Bondi :rolleyes:

I agree with this.

Bondi beach is very much...meh. Its alright. In my time in Australia which i enjoyed a lot, Bondi beach is definitely one of the more forgettable places i visited.

The herds of GAA shirt wearing bog folk, clinging to each other for dear life was embarrassing.

Sure jaysis lads, dets al go-way on a big lash up in Oz hah???!!!, sure jaysis Dixie, we'll be safe if we schtick togeddar in a big group like...hah?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I agree with this.

Bondi beach is very much...meh. Its alright. In my time in Australia which i enjoyed a lot, Bondi beach is definitely one of the more forgettable places i visited.

The herds of GAA shirt wearing bog folk, clinging to each other for dear life was embarrassing.

*Sure jaysis lads, dets al go-way on a big lash up in Oz hah???!!!, sure jaysis Dixie, we'll be safe if we schtick togeddar in a big group like...hah?!!!

Do you ever think these GAA heads might be lonely and missing the mammys dinner tis purely for identification fisheys out of water not to be ridiculed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

I agree with this.

*Sure jaysis lads, dets al go-way on a big lash up in Oz hah???!!!, sure jaysis Dixie, we'll be safe if we schtick togeddar in a big group like...hah?!!!

Small bit off-topic - but why does everyone where GAA jerseys over there? Is it to make it easier for fellow county men to spot them in OZ , allowing them to make more friends/pals? Or a sense of pride of where they are from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Lived in Galway all my life and I cringe when people go on about the place. Like its some Mecca for "the craic".
    It built up a great reputation from the late 70's to the early 90's but its been living off that since.
    It can be good during the Arts Festival and the likes of the Volvo Ocean Race, but on the whole its just an average provincial town. Except during Race Week....when its an absolute ****hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

It can be good during the Arts Festival and the likes of the Volvo Ocean Race, but on the whole its just an average provincial town. Except during Race Week....when its an absolute ****hole.

sorry but have you been out in average provincial towns during the week, they are dead at night, dublins dead weeknights during the middle of the week never mind average provincial towns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I agree with this.

Sure jaysis lads, dets al go-way on a big lash up in Oz hah???!!!, sure jaysis Dixie, we'll be safe if we schtick togeddar in a big group like...hah?!!!

Ye obviously werent there the days I was!! Its a beach, I dunno what you were expecting but it was the first time I saw a clear blue sea on a 30'C day and there was alot of beautiful women that werent stuck up bitches! Epic

I dont mind the GAA jersey thing, I'd be proud of it because Ozzies always bang on about their sports with alot of arrogance. We should be proud of our amateur game and that often we can stuff their professional athletes.

Also, I think its great to meet Irish abroad, at least you're in company of people (generally) on the same wavelength when out on the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Out in Galway bout 2 weeks ago and it was dead. There were more people doing promotions for clubs than there were clubbing. Talking to a few bar staff and waiters and they said same thing.
    Don't go out midweek, so I can't comment about then.
    Been to a few provincial towns(again weekend only) on nights out and had a brilliant time.
    And had the bonus of not having to put up with a snobbish Galway crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

kinsale... hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I dont have one, everywhere Ive been has been awesome...dont dont dont believe the hype ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

ziedth wrote: »

I brought 2k and won about 600 dollars for 5 days

I hit strip clubs, shooting range, discos, played every single game in the casino whether i knew how to or not and lots more.

all im saying is that 2.6k is a lot of money for 5 days when I also spent the same money traveling through asia for 2 and a half months, and the 2 and half months where way more fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Dempsey wrote: »
    Ye obviously werent there the days I was!! Its a beach, I dunno what you were expecting but it was the first time I saw a clear blue sea on a 30'C day and there was alot of beautiful women that werent stuck up bitches! Epic

I dont mind the GAA jersey thing, I'd be proud of it because Ozzies always bang on about their sports with alot of arrogance. We should be proud of our amateur game and that often we can stuff their professional athletes.

Also, I think its great to meet Irish abroad, at least you're in company of people (generally) on the same wavelength when out on the town.

Generally i wouldn't travel to other countries to compete with the indigenous sports fanatics. If you travel 12,000 miles to be around the same sort of people you've always been around then i think travelling means a very different thing to you.

I met plenty of people in Australia. Australians!, english, french & loads of irish people & i didn't need to wear a GAA top like a neon sign saying HELP IM IRISH, PLEASE SAVE ME FELLOW IRISH PEOPLE!!!

Why would you travel half way around the world to meet up with people from up the road back home? Sure whats the point in going abroad if you just want to get pissed with other Irish folk?