Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sanity check :D Mame arcade replace with candy cab ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭ondafly

Andrew76 wrote: »
    The main question to ask is does the control panel come off, because if it does it should easily fit through any standard door width (with the monitor frame cover still in place). That's how I got mine into the house anyway.

well its a little bit more to it compared to teh new Candys

I would remove this part

http://www.arcade4home.com/NewAstroCity/front-bottom.jpg

just need to know with that part gone, is the overall depth reduced to below 730mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Hey ondafly,
    Do you mind me asking where you got it, and more to the point do they have anymore.
    I'm on the search for a Candy myself. Need to get one soon before the money burns a hole in my pocket

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

ondafly wrote: »
    well its a little bit more to it compared to teh new Candys

I would remove this part

http://www.arcade4home.com/NewAstroCity/front-bottom.jpg

just need to know with that part gone, is the overall depth reduced to below 730mm

Sorry I thought the Astro would be pretty similar to the Atomiswave SD. Just did a bit of googling and found this astro city link, if it's the same as the one your looking at then it says the depth including the cp is 35.6inches or a little over 900mm. That seems pretty close to the Atomiswave depth of 903mm. Without the cp it's down to 650mm, without the base that you mention I measure mine to be around 500mm - although the monitor needs to come out too to get down to that. The first pic you linked looks like they've taken out the monitor too?

Anyway, i'll shut up now incase I'm talking rubbish and confusing the issue. :pac:

Hey ondafly,
    Do you mind me asking where you got it, and more to the point do they have anymore.
    I'm on the search for a Candy myself. Need to get one soon before the money burns a hole in my pocket

I don't mind at all - but I don't wanna vouch for someone I haven't fully dealt with yet, so if you like you can wait and see if I get burnt with my one :D or if I can't fit it in my gaff, it will be up for sale pronto !
    Sorry I thought the Astro would be pretty similar to the Atomiswave SD. Just did a bit of googling and found this astro city link, if it's the same as the one your looking at then it says the depth including the cp is 35.6inches or a little over 900mm. That seems pretty close to the Atomiswave depth of 903mm. Without the cp it's down to 650mm, without the base that you mention I measure mine to be around 500mm - although the monitor needs to come out too to get down to that. The first pic you linked looks like they've taken out the monitor too?

Anyway, i'll shut up now incase I'm talking rubbish and confusing the issue. :pac:

no Andy - thats all good info. I'm gonna go for it me thinks. I've sent a request for the bank details, hopefully it doesn't take years to ship this bad boy !

I'm also getting the cabinet upgraded to tri-sync , more of a just in case future proof in case I wanna put deathsmilies on me cab via the 360 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,422 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I've sent a request for the bank details, hopefully it doesn't take years to ship this bad boy !

I'm also getting the cabinet upgraded to tri-sync , more of a just in case future proof in case I wanna put deathsmilies on me cab via the 360 :D

Woohoo! Congrats. I'd say you're pissing yourself with excitement :D

Excellent stuff dude, congratulations. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I don't mind at all - but I don't wanna vouch for someone I haven't fully dealt with yet, so if you like you can wait and see if I get burnt with my one :D or if I can't fit it in my gaff, it will be up for sale pronto !

no Andy - thats all good info. I'm gonna go for it me thinks. I've sent a request for the bank details, hopefully it doesn't take years to ship this bad boy !

Wise choice, will save you any potential headaches later on.

o1s1n, do you want to embed the obligatory video when someone here buys a Candy, or shall I?? :D

Master of the Universe

EnterNow wrote: »
    o1s1n, do you want to embed the obligatory video when someone here buys a Candy, or shall I?? :D

Do it!!!! :D

must not get excited........... hope we're not jinxing it :pac: because

ondafly-Approves-Candy-Goodness.jpg?imageSize=Medium&generatorName=cool-story-bro-house

must not get excited........... hope we're not jinxing it :pac: because

ondafly-Approves-Candy-Goodness.jpg?imageSize=Medium&generatorName=cool-story-bro-house

Excitement & Candy Cabs go hand in hand unfortunately. You can try your best to forget there's one en route, try your best not to imagine tearing off the layers of cellophane to reveal arcade perfection, & try your best not to imagine plugging in a pcb, taking a seat & enjoying what are no doubt the best multi cabs in the world :cool:

EnterNow wrote: »
    FULL VOLUME PLEASE :D

/clip snip

Very good. Still doesn't doesn't manage to get that other "ray gun" tune out of my head though! :pac:

Are you going on a march? :D

I think all this candy talk - means we all need a nice new sig for ourselves, to show off to all we are candy proud :D

Christ though - how am I going to stand the wait for the cab????

Master of the Universe

how am I going to stand the wait for the cab????

Fingers crossed the wait won't be too long. If it is, I fear for your sanity. You will most definitely go mad :)

o1s1n wrote: »
    Fingers crossed the wait won't be too long. If it is, I fear for your sanity. You will most definitely go mad :)

well I contacted the Bank this morning to initiate the rigmoral of transferring funds outside the country - pain in the face, and I really don't want to take time off work to queue in person. So anyway 3 to 5 days before I can use the facility online. Argh ! Hopefully the seller doesn't mind the delay, otherwise I will have to go queue - although if its anything like CiderMans 3DS queue it wouldn't be so bad :pac:

Shame the seller doesn't take paypal or something, queuing in Banks is such a pain in the arse, should be a thing of the past.

I took the below pic yesterday when looking at those measurements for you but forgot to upload it. Not sure if it's much help now or if it's exactly the same as an Astro City, but figured it was worth uploading just incase. (I swear I'm not trying to torture you either! :p)

atomsideon.jpg

Master of the Universe

I love the way they open up like that. Reminds me of the doors on a delorian :)

More like a Venus fly trap, you walk over & go "Oh cool look" and next of all BANG...you want a Candy Cab :D

I could pay by paypal, but seller wanted an additional 4%, so feck that, I'll go the bank route, thinking I could do it all online, but alas no, more delays. Ah well

excellent pic too Andrew76 - the NAC does similiar, but the actual CP sticky out part (technical term of course) is moulded into the lower half, but I've been reliably informed it will be removable without taking the monitor or cables out.

I sent this to O1s1n earlier in the week - but I think now its time to add to thread ! Obvious yellowing on the speaker plastic, but other than that its looking pretty ok for its age !

Image11110002.jpg

I fired up the AES last evening prior to some Minecrafting. I must get myself a single slot MVS for the candy cab though, as at the moment I won't actually have any games to play on it !

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

he was probably looking to cover the costs of transfering from there to his bank. I know if you send through paypal as a "gift" it doesnt take out money. but it might still when moving it from there to the bank.

I could pay by paypal, but seller wanted an additional 4%, so feck that, I'll go the bank route, thinking I could do it all online, but alas no, more delays. Ah well

excellent pic too Andrew76 - the NAC does similiar, but the actual CP sticky out part (technical term of course) is moulded into the lower half, but I've been reliably informed it will be removable without taking the monitor or cables out.

I sent this to O1s1n earlier in the week - but I think now its time to add to thread ! Obvious yellowing on the speaker plastic, but other than that its looking pretty ok for its age !

Image11110002.jpg

I fired up the AES last evening prior to some Minecrafting. I must get myself a single slot MVS for the candy cab though, as at the moment I won't actually have any games to play on it !

Looks gorgeous dude, the big screens are just awesome. :)
    Can't remember if you said already but is the coin mech working on it?

Ahhh, now I understand what you mean about the cp + base - yeah I can see it is one and the same piece (purplec mentioned it earlier too). Blind as a bat I am. :pac:

Have you looked into whether you can get a six button version of the cp down the line? (If that's even an issue for you.)

Master of the Universe

When you send money instantly via paypal, paypal take a cut of it as a fee. It's always a percentage. So you send more, you pay more. It's grand for small amounts, but for larger ones it can add up.

I found out something very interesting though - you can send a thing called a paypal 'E-Cheque' and you don't get charged like this.

They take a few days to clear like a regular cheque, buy paypal will only charge you a flat rate $5 max.

I received around $600 a while ago after a sale and the seller did it this way. I was confused at first and a bit angry as I wanted the money instantly (never heard of an e cheque at the time! - thought he was messing me about)

But in the end when it cleared I pretty much got all the money bar $5.

ondafly - that cab really is a beauty. It's in great condition. What year are those machines from? Any idea?

Looks gorgeous dude, the big screens are just awesome. :)
    Can't remember if you said already but is the coin mech working on it?

Ahhh, now I understand what you mean about the cp + base - yeah I can see it is one and the same piece (purplec mentioned it earlier too). Blind as a bat I am. :pac:

Have you looked into whether you can get a six button version of the cp down the line? (If that's even an issue for you.)

Coin mech is working 100% - and its 100yen. If it rejects the 50yen coins, I'll be sending them your way.

I plan on upgrading the control panel to this in the long term. You have the option of buying the CP with new sticks and buttons, or just the panel itself. I need to check what size buttons on are it, I have a feeling they are the slightly slimmer diameter ones compard to what I have already though.

AstroCity2L12BFrontBack%28Big%29.jpg

ondafly - that cab really is a beauty. It's in great condition. What year are those machines from? Any idea?

I believe the machine is from 1995 - stand to be corrected though !

Excellent stuff. That 6button cp looks cool too.

Master of the Universe

I'm such a loner with my one player control panel :(

for you O1s1n - Forever alone guy :p

Anyway on to a more important note. I have a pleasant conundrum !

Seeing as the bank has delayed me somewhat in this purchase, a number of things have happened. I learned all about tri-sync'ing for instance. However 2 people I had contacted prior to the New Astro City potential purchase, finally got back to me.

1) Another NAC from the UK - similiar money, so not interested.

2) I've been given the chance to purchase an Atomiswave

So folks - which would you go for Atomiswave or New Astro City ?

for you O1s1n - Forever alone guy :p

Anyway on to a more important note. I have a pleasant conundrum !

Seeing as the bank has delayed me somewhat in this purchase, a number of things have happened. I learned all about tri-sync'ing for instance. However 2 people I had contacted prior to the New Astro City potential purchase, finally got back to me.

1) Another NAC from the UK - similiar money, so not interested.

2) I've been given the chance to purchase an Atomiswave

So folks - which would you go for Atomiswave or New Astro City ?

Is the Atomiswave in similarly good nick as the NAC you were thinking of buying - screen ok? Coin mech working? Does it have a 2 player cp or single?
    Does the cp come off the Atomiswave without the base coming off with it? If yes then it'll be easier to get into your place.

The Atomiswave is actually a single player, screen 100%, coin mech working. So it would be the same as O1s!n. I'd have to pickup an Egret 2 player 6button CP though

Master of the Universe

I'd have to pickup an Egret 2 player 6button CP though

From chatting with Mitch, I think you'd also need a two player JAMMA harness too.

Those Egret 2 player CPs seem to be harder to come across than I had originally thought. Might have to get onto someone from Arcade Otaku.