Counillor to make formal complaint to Gardai about Ming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

Don't like Cannabis. Fully pro legalising it.

Full disclosure: I have shares in Dominos.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

I never realised how close to reality Judge Dredd actually was. I fear that any day now I will wake up in Mega-City one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

fair play to ming, at least he was honest enough to admit that he smokes the odd joint, hasn't he already been caution by the gardai and that he has refused to pay the fine,

anyway your man is a typical ff gombeen who really hasn't a clue about the real issue on drugs , we need to have a proper debate on drugs , not the mass hysteria surrounding the head shops thinking by banning would solve the problem , i mean in countries like holland cannabis is legalised and is less serious than other drugs such as cocaine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

karma_ wrote: »
    You should come down from that big ol' ivory tower from time to time.

Umm, that makes no sense. Sorry.
    mikom wrote: »
    The openess of it may have something to do with it.
    Rather than the usual politicians way of circle-jerking in closets.

There's probably something to that. It's slightly depressing though, to think that we would laud people for breaking the law, as long as they're doing so openly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I may be breaking the law, but I believe the law to be wrong

Why didn't you say so? Well I'm off raping so. I know it's technically illegal but I dont believe women should have the right to say no.:rolleyes:

k_mac wrote: »
    Why didn't you say so? Well I'm off raping so. I know it's technically illegal but I dont believe women should have the right to say no.:rolleyes:

There's a victim there.
    Try again...

For my next act I will leap the Grand canyon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Right, so smoking a recreational substance is the same thing as forcible rape?

And with that we've crossed the rubicon into the domain of the insane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

There's a victim in rape, it's less apparent who suffers from drugtaking, particularly in the case of marijuana.

Einhard wrote: »
    It's slightly depressing though, to think that we would laud people for breaking the law, as long as they're doing so openly.

Ummm..
    Mr Coonan said cannabis had "harmful side effects".
    "I know one of the most serious side effects of cannabis is depression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

There's probably something to that. It's slightly depressing though, to think that we would laud people for breaking the law, as long as they're doing so openly.

This Lawful neutral act is tiring.

Fair enough, but as long as you realise that makes you a sexual predator and pretty much a sexist, we only want to enjoy a joint from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Not only is there a victim there but Ming doesn't go around saying rape should be legal and thats why you should vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

And you'd be happy to have that doctor work on you after a night smoking pot?

I don't smoke weed but I have done so in the past and on any of the times I have smoked I've conked out after a few joints. I certainly don't think it's something you could spend the night doing and the "hangover" from smoking pot is a lot less severe than drinking for the night.

Ming grows his own and smokes it, he's certainly not adding to any of societies woes or lining the pockets of any undesirables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

False equivalence, but you know that, right?

BluePlanet wrote: »
    Every single day i see lawbreakers with their cars parked with 2 wheels up on the footpath, partially obstructing pedestrain access.
    And yet, the Gardia don't do anything.
    Quick, lets get a lynching party!

Nobody is arguing that people should be allowed park their cars wherever they want. You though, are arguing that people should eb allowed to break whatever laws they disagree with. Ironically, you're on the side of those people that annoy you by obstructing pedestrian access...

And please, can we keep it real here? Nobody has suggested that Ming be lynched. If the law is changed- wonderful, happy days for Ming. Until it is changed though, I don't think it's too much to ask that legislators obey the damn thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Nobody is arguing that people should be allowed park their cars wherever they want. You though, are arguing that people should eb allowed to break whatever laws they disagree with. Ironically, you're on the side of those people that annoy you by obstructing pedestrian access...
    moving goalposts?
    I said they were parking their cars with 2 wheels on the footpath, not "wherever they want".
    It is specifically against the law, yet goes unpunished. WHY?

RichieC wrote: »
    not all concerns are legitimate, all you prohibitionists do is leave weed for criminal gangs to profit from, where legitimate tax paying businesses could be.

Umm, that's a slightly disturbing sentiment. I prefer to believe that all laws passed by a democratic institution are legitimate.

And to point out the hypocrisy of alcohol being legal is certainly uncomfortable for you prohibitionists it's still quite certainly a compelling argument.
    It's not a compelling argument at all. You point out that alcohol is a legal social evil, and from that argue that weed should also be legal. That's a pretty crappy argument to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

stupid post is incredibly stupid, as others have pointed out.

that argument cant be used in the case of rape. it can with smoking a joint.

and here comes the godwin, 4 pages in:

The nazis passed laws to curtail the rights of jews in prewar germany. now, i'm not directly comparing jews to stoners, but a bad law is a bad law. and should you stand idly by and allow bad laws to be passed and enforced, or do you speak out? are we in a dictatorship?

anyone of sound mind knows that rape is wrong, and laws against it are good.

try again mac.

BluePlanet wrote: »
    moving goalposts?
    I said they were parking their cars with 2 wheels on the footpath, not "wherever they want".
    It is specifically against the law, yet goes unpunished. WHY?

It shouldn't go unpunished. Nobody is saying it should go unpunished! But what people here are arguing, is that if people don't wish to obey such a law, they don't have to, and what's more, shouldn't be prosecuted for it! Even those idiots parking that way wouldn't have the arrogance to claim that they're above the law. yet that's exactly what Ming is claiming, and what you're supporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Until it is changed though, I don't think it's too much to ask that legislators obey the damn thing!

I find myself wondering this. Imagine it's 1990 again, homosexuality is illegal. Would you say that a gay politician should stop being gay or face persecution?

I know the comparison is a bit wonky, but the point is : Illegal is not the same as wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

And please, can we keep it real here? Nobody has suggested that Ming be lynched. If the law is changed- wonderful, happy days for Ming. Until it is changed though, I don't think it's too much to ask that legislators obey the damn thing!

Well, perhaps he is.

From Murdoch's Irish Law Dictionary...(Murdochs 2nd Edition.)

NATURAL LAW: The Law which is based on value judgements which emenate from some absolute source eg, Gods revealed word. Natural Law is both anterior and superior to positive law or man made Law. There are many personal rights of the citizen which follow from the Christian and democratic nature of the State which are not mentioned in Article 40 of the 1937 Constitution at all.

(Murdochs 2nd Edition.)

NATURAL RIGHTS: Rights which come from the Natural Law. Natural rights or Human rights are not created by law but the Constitution confirms their existance and gives them protection. The individual has Natural and Human rights over which the State has no authority.

I prefer to believe that all laws passed by a democratic institution are legitimate.

And some people believe there's a god up there but that doesn't make them right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

Alternative translation: People have little to be worried about if they go after those who break the law.

Seriously, Ming has a chance now to change the laws on cannabis. Until he succeeds (or not), I'm not happy having a legislator openly breaking the law. I don't understand how people can condemn other politicians for their misdemeanours and then applaud when another breaks the law.

because this law is a pure farce, cannabis was banned to make way for synthetic fibres and to stop interfering with other industries, the world was told thc would send you crazy and America forced us all to ban the plant yet we now have big pharma extracting the very same thc, putting it in a pill and selling it at a price of about £10 gbp per day for effective treatment.

treating us all like children will not work anymore, I didn't believe them 16 years ago and a lot more people have woken up to their ways since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

mikom wrote: »
    There's a victim there.
    Try again...

For my next act I will leap the Grand canyon.

Since when is cannabis a victimless crime?

Since you grow and smoke your own.

karma_ wrote: »
    And some people believe there's a god up there but that doesn't make them right.

Seriously, dumb retorts tend to undermine any argument you might make...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

planting and smoking your own is pretty victimless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

Who is victimised when I smoke a joint?

whoopdedoo wrote: »
    because this law is a pure farce, cannabis was banned to make way for synthetic fibres and to stop interfering with other industries, the world was told thc would send you crazy and America forced us all to ban the plant yet we now have big pharma extracting the very same thc, putting it in a pill and selling it at a price of about £10 gbp per day for effective treatment.

treating us all like children will not work anymore, I didn't believe them 16 years ago and a lot more people have woken up to their ways since

Well great. And now Ming has a chance to change the law. It's called democracy. Until it's changed though, is it too much to ask that people obey legislation passed by a democratic institution?