Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Counillor to make formal complaint to Gardai about Ming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

quote the ****ing thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

wrote:
    Mr Flanagan should not be given special treatment -- and he should be dealt with for breaking the law, according to the Fianna Fail councillor.

Finna Fail, sticklers for the law.
    wrote:
    "Gerry Ryan was a fantastic broadcaster but, unfortunately, he is not with us anymore. I'm not comparing Ming to anybody -- but Gerry Ryan is an unfortunate case and point of what illegal drugs can do."

What a tool.

Full article:

Thursday March 17 2011
    Fianna Fail councillor John Coonan is writing to gardai about Luke 'Ming' Flanagan.

A GROUP of councillors have said that South-Roscommon TD Luke 'Ming' Flanagan's personal use of a drug was his own business.

Their colleague, Kilkenny councillor John Coonan, is to make a formal complaint to gardai about the new TD, who openly admits smoking cannabis and growing it for personal use.

Mr Flanagan should not be given special treatment -- and he should be dealt with for breaking the law, according to the Fianna Fail councillor.

Mr Coonan -- a former psychiatric nurse -- is writing to gardai and Taoiseach Enda Kenny to express his concerns about Mr Flanagan's use of the drug.

A formal complaint will increase pressure on gardai to investigate Mr Flanagan.

Ten years ago, Mr Flanagan sent 500 cannabis joints to Irish politicians as part of his campaign to legalise the drug.

"I was gobsmacked that I didn't get support. Everybody made the point that Ming is an able and articulate man. That is not the point," said Mr Coonan.

"Gerry Ryan was a fantastic broadcaster but, unfortunately, he is not with us anymore. I'm not comparing Ming to anybody -- but Gerry Ryan is an unfortunate case and point of what illegal drugs can do."

Mr Coonan believes Mr Flanagan is sending out the wrong signal to young people, who will think it is acceptable to use illegal drugs.

"It would be remiss of me if I didn't express, as a public representative and a retired clinical nurse manager, my concern about this," he said.

Mr Flanagan did not return calls from the Irish Independent yesterday.

During a meeting of Kilkenny Borough Council, Mr Coonan said cannabis had "harmful side effects".

He said the same rule of law should apply to Mr Flanagan as to ordinary citizens.

"I know one of the most serious side effects of cannabis is depression. It is illegal for a reason. There are a lot of young people who I have seen suffer because of this drug. There's no such thing as a harmless illegal drug."

- Eimear Ni Bhraonain

Irish Independent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Meh a law is a law no matter what we think about it. If any of us was so open about growing it, we would be getting done for it so why shouldn't he.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

oh thats the joint mailing guy? I remember that, he was a legend at school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Comparing one illegal drug to a completely different illegal drug, I don't know where to begin. I think it speaks for itself really.

I know one of the most serious side effects of cannabis is depression.
    All studies done show conflicting evidence. Some say depression is lessened and some say it is worsened. There is no real proof that what he said is the case. I also like how he failed to mention any of the other "harmful side effects".

He's just a man with too much time on his hands looking for some attention. Everyone knows that Luke Flanagan smokes cannabis. The guards know this too. He has already been dealt with many times and he isn't going to change. I don't see the harm in him smoking at home, which he does.
    Mr Flanagan is sending out the wrong signal to young people, who will think it is acceptable to use illegal drugs.
    He is pro-cannabis. He has never hidden this fact. Whether he does it or not is fairly irrelevant because his stance on it is clear. The people voted him in knowing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Ptard

Just because it's illegal doesn't mean it's bad. In the history of mankind, there has been no case with a direct cause of death being cannabis. This guy's over his head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

More publicity for Ming will be about the height of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

...and a recent former leader of that councillor's party is an unfortunate case and point of what legal drugs can do.

It's very disturbing that a former healthcare professional is seemingly incapable of differentiating between massive abuse of one particular drug, and light recreational use of another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

That counciller should be told to go fcuk himself which has done more damage to the country Ming growing and smoking his own weed or Fianna fail honestly its time this country had an honest and open discussion about drugs we closed are headshops instead of regulating them properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

FF should be lying low at the moment but after gun-running to outright fraud its nothing more than hypocrisy. Give this story to the "Joe Duffy" crown of muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

"Gerry Ryan is an unfortunate example of what illegal drugs can do"

The man's right, we should stick to the legal and heavily taxed ones like Nicotine and Alcohol, they never lead to any deaths right?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

MING FOR PRESIDENT!!!!:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

So now we have people above the law have we.?

If that idiot is breaking the law, he should be charged and punished.

It's idiots like this who give Politics a bad name and give the impression that they are above the law.

Turning blind eyes to this rubbish is stupid, does nobody any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

They feel threatened.

Here's a guy who is honest, hard-wroking and genuinely wants a better deal for everyone and will actually do good for the country.

But all FF are interested in are their own power-hungry self-interests.

They see him as a threat, and so will use any means to bring him down before he ahas a chance to do good and threaten their return to power.

Now you know why they are called the Republican Party.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Our own government **** us and make us an international laughing stock, and Ming Flanagan is the man you have a problem with?

**** YOU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I hope the political parties make a joint statement on the issue.

TheZohan wrote: »
    I hope the political parties make a joint statement on the issue.

I agree!

i think they need to be blunt and to the point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I agree!

i think they need to be blunt and to the point!

Absolutely.

People like this should be weeded out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

LOL joint references! Clever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

What does ming expect there is always some fooker dying to hang you out by the balls and there is no better way then using the law.

As for the indo. They can get stuffed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

What is all the outrage about? That someone is being reported for growing cannabis? This happens all the time. Why should this situation be any different?

I think we should be more annoyed about the politicians that said its his own business and didn't get involved. Did they say the same about people screwing the expenses system? These fence sitters are the real problem with politics.

i think you'll find we're deadly serious!

I think they need to be Merciless with this Flanagan character!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

"I know one of the most serious side effects of cannabis is depression. It is illegal for a reason. There are a lot of young people who I have seen suffer because of this drug. There's no such thing as a harmless illegal drug."
    I could say "I know one of the most serious side effects of alcohol is depression. It is legal for a reason. There are a lot of young people who I have seen suffer because of this drug. There's no such thing as a harmless legal drug.".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

Comparing coke to cannabis?? Oh would you ever fúck off!

the_syco wrote: »
    I could say "I know one of the most serious side effects of alcohol is depression. It is legal for a reason. There are a lot of young people who I have seen suffer because of this drug. There's no such thing as a harmless legal drug.".

+1 Alcohol should be banned too.

Coke, Cannabis, Heroin............... child's play!

We all know the real dangerous drug is Cake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Tell the truth, you doobie laughing at them

longshanks wrote: »
    Tell the truth, you doobie laughing at them

Damn, you made a right hash of that one!

Coke, Cannabis, Heroin............... child's play!

We all know the real dangerous drug is Cake!

Ban cake too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

Damn, you made a right hash of that one!

You'd think weed know better at this stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

That idiot - Bertie Ahern broke the law, he should be charged and punished.

It's idiots like this who give Politics a bad name and give the impression that they are above the law.

Fixed your post.

Bertie Ahern did more damage than Ming will ever do.

Bertie Ahern helped himself to the states chequebook. Just recently it was reported that Bertie spent 220,000 euro doing up his office. Thats fraud and theft of the taxpayers money of the highest degree. People are happy to roll around with such exploitation and let that fcuker away free.

If it was bertie doing cannabis he would have joints shoved up his hole to hide them and deny everything. Ming is honest. He is a breath of fresh air. Also for anyone comparing cannabis to hardcore drugs - its stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Ming is honest. He is a breath of fresh air. Comparing cannabis to hardcore drugs is stupidity.

I think the point your missing is that it's illegal. The fact that he's honest about it doesn't change that fact.

Why did you pick part of my post and ignore the most fraudulent part?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Ming is refreshingly honest. So what if he smokes hash in the comfort of his own home? No different than having a pint.

Maybe because what Bertie did has it's own thread and has nothing to do with this one?

But since you brought it up are you saying that because Bertie could get away with it then so should other politicians? Or should they all be treated the same and be punished when they break the law?

Probably because it's fundamentally flawed. It's like someone ranting at a cop who gives them a speeding ticket.

"Shouldn't you be doing real work and catching murderers?"

Just because someone else has gotten away with a crime it doesn't mean you can do whatever you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Lemsiper wrote: »
    You'd think weed know better at this stage?
    Yeah, there's no reason to grass on him.

k_mac wrote: »
    Probably because it's fundamentally flawed. It's like someone ranting at a cop who gives them a speeding ticket.

"Shouldn't you be doing real work and catching murderers?"

Just because someone else has gotten away with a crime it doesn't mean you can do whatever you want.

Whats really happening though is someone receiving a speeding ticket for going a few miles over while the child rapist down the road is allowed away free without people batting an eyelid.

I think the point you're missing is that he's a TD. TD's are not answerable to the law like everyone else. Where would we be if we arrested a TD every time they broke the law?

stimpson wrote: »
    I think the point you're missing is that he's a TD. TD's are not answerable to the law like everyone else. Where would we be if we arrested a TD every time they broke the law?

It's the morning after Paddy's Day. I honestly can't tell if your being sarcastic or just really stupid :confused:

Whats really happening though is someone receiving a speeding ticket for going a few miles over while the child rapist down the road is allowed away free without people batting an eyelid.

I saw my neighbour assault someone a while back. Does that mean I can drive without tax?

TDs are not answerable for actions performed as a TD. It's a constitutional protection. Growing cannabis at home would not really fall under his work as a TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

The Laws an @ss, and this emphasises it. the judiciary, the Garda etc, don't take hash seriously, so they should just legalise it and get it over with. If they don't, then they should have the courage of their convictions and prosecute those who use/grow or whatever the law says is illegal about it.

Its the inconsistancy thats the real issue here. If you say something is againt the law, then follow through. i hate this half hearted, 'its against the law, but ye know yerself (wink)'.

To make something illegal, should mean that you feel that it poses enough of a threat to warrant protecting from it. So have some follow through, or don't make it illegal. Otherwise its this mixed message being thrown out, and it makes the law something to be obeyed sometimes, and not others. Whether your for or against legalising hash, i don't really mind. What I do mind, is the joke we call the justice system.

JimiTime wrote: »
    The Laws an @ss, and this emphasises it. the judiciary, the Garda etc, don't take hash seriously, so they should just legalise it and get it over with. If they don't, then they should have the courage of their convictions and prosecute those who use/grow or whatever the law says is illegal about it.

Its the inconsistancy thats the real issue here. If you say something is againt the law, then follow through. i hate this half hearted, 'its against the law, but ye know yerself (wink)'.

To make something illegal, should mean that you feel that it poses enough of a threat to warrant protecting from it. So have some follow through, or don't make it illegal. Otherwise its this mixed message being thrown out, and it makes the law something to be obeyed sometimes, and not others.

You clearly don't know how the country works at all. The Judiciary and Gardaí have no say over what is legal and what isn't. That decision is made by politicians. Gardaí and the courts just enforce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Probably exactly where we are because people gettign hysterical and ranting about things politicians do does not mean they broke any laws.
    Same as the "lock the bankers up" brigade. "What laws did they break"? "they screwed us, lock them up" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Your argument is totally false - as usual. You always seem to drag bertie, the banks et al into every argument when they have no place and is simply a tactic of misdirection. There is nothing to deny that bertie could be a crook, but Ming could also be a crook. We do not have to choose between the two who we prosecute, we can do both.

Ming has openly admitted to braking the law ie growing and possessing a controlled substance. The reason he does so is in order to be made a martyr of his cause should the state choose to prosecute. Its a calculated gamble on his part on order to change the law.

He should be prosecuted and thus in that way his case will go to the people. He might then be able to realise his goal of making the substance legal, I doubt the majority in the country would swing behind his cause (remember boards.ie doesn't reflect the population of the country by a long shot). Him being sent to prison for an extended period of time (3 months?) would make him lose his seat in the Dáil.

TDs are not answerable for actions performed as a TD. It's a constitutional protection. Growing cannabis at home would not really fall under his work as a TD.

TD's have Dail privilege. It's not the same thing.

TD's can drink and drive or evade tax or accuse people of running brothels and they aren't subject to the same laws as everyone else. The same is true for High Court Judges and possibly Bishops.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

If that idiot is breaking the law, he should be charged and punished.

Hey, there's a great thread over in Politics about cannabis. You should come over and discuss it wit...

oh... wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

This has nothing to do with drugs or even Luke Flanagan.

Just a FF councillor feeling very vunerable and local elections are not that far off.
    Just gettting into the papers and getting a profile and it realy has nothing to do with FF HQ.

If Ming was not in the Dáil he would be picking some other random topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Ming has openly admitted to braking the law ie growing and possessing a controlled substance. The reason he does so is in order to be made a martyr of his cause should the state choose to prosecute. Its a calculated gamble on his part on order to change the law.

He should be prosecuted and thus in that way his case will go to the people. He might then be able to realise his goal of making the substance legal, I doubt the majority in the country would swing behind his cause (remember boards.ie doesn't reflect the population of the country by a long shot). Him being sent to prison for an extended period of time (3 months?) would make him lose his seat in the Dáil.
    Actually Ming has already taken his case before the people. The people elected him in a democratic election. Same cannot be said of those judges you'd have him infront of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

You clearly don't know how the country works at all. The Judiciary and Gardaí have no say over what is legal and what isn't. That decision is made by politicians. Gardaí and the courts just enforce it.

I know that, and I understand how you may have misunderstood my post. My point is, that the law enforcers don't take it seriously at all, so THEY, being the lawmakers, should either legalise it, or have the courage of its convictions and make sure the law enforcers aren't so apathetic. The issue though, is that both the law makers and law enforcers are apathetic to it, and this makes a joke of the judicial system. Either legalise and regulate it, or take it seriously. All we have at the moment is studies, and 'oh its bad for ye, so thats why its illegal', meanwhile, their behaviour in the enforcing of the law shows that they really don't think its serious. Again, its an example of the justice system undermining itself.