The After Hours Official St Patricks Day Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

So I'm writing this in red for I am in Poland! And they do not even know what day it is here.

So happy Patrick's day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭gerarda

I know two guards who religiously put in to get paddys day off to avoid dealing with the scum in town. They say its the equivalent day for guards as halloween is to firemen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 The_Wexican

Sick as in hangover sick or something else? on RTÉ One at 3:30pm there's Around the World in 80 Days; basically it's Jackie Chan comedy helping a fella sail around the world in 80 days. It's not very fighty type like with a Chuck Norris flick, very good comedy.

That's really it I think, hope you feel better though. :)

Sick as in suffering from the flu.

Feck it sure the Skyfest is in town Saturday so I'll make sure to do my drinking then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

gerarda wrote: »
    I know two guards who religiously put in to get paddys day off to avoid dealing with the scum in town. They say its the equivalent day for guards as halloween is to firemen.

Can't blame them. What actually makes it worse is that clubs and pubs usually don't give a flying fu*k; if you can sort of stand or sort of say what you want to be served, you're good to go.

If people were refused from buying booze when they're hammered it woudl cut down on a lot of things; couple that with this only happening once a year so we should have plenty of time to prepare to drag the scumbags to a cell or a dark alley with a gun. :D

Sick as in suffering from the flu.

Feck it sure the Skyfest is in town Saturday so I'll make sure to do my drinking then :)

Oh grow up, man up and drink. Just drink, as an Irishman I am qualified to give you medical advice: guiness cures everything. Your head been blown off? Just drink guiness and it'll re-attach to your body. :D

Hope you feel much better soon. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Luxie

Well the Irish stew offered by the canteen here at work was a letdown.

Fancy serving sauteed potatoes with it and no potatoes in the stew itself. FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Jicked

The Irish grammar on peoples' facebook statuses is killing me.

Go on then enlighten us. Has Lá Fhéile Pádraig shona dhaoibh have too many superfluous h's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Deedsie wrote: »
    I disagree, St Patricks Day to me is a day to meet up with your friends and have a good time. Its a national day to just enjoy the company of those you are closest too. Friends family etc etc

Its very easy to just say its binge drinking, but its also an opportunity to just kick back and relax, and celebrate our country, its taking a battering over the last few years. Needs its ego boosted a bit.

Say from about 1999 to 2004 I, purely by chance was abroad for most of those Paddies days. What I noticed thereafter was a huge change in the day after those years than before. It was much nicer before.
    Victor_M wrote: »
    I always enjoy Paddys day when I'm overseas, it's generally an embarrassment to be Irish on the 17th of March when at home, scumbags puking all over the place and looking for trouble from lunchtime onwards.

I can never understand the all day drinking thing, particularly when everyone has work the next day, if I go for a few pints it tends to the the day before so I can sleep it off on my day off.

I'm in Israel at the moment and I cant believe the deal of it that's been made over here! It's Great, Guinness have put on a huge marketing campaign and all the pubs & Clubs are decked out in green, and there's half price pints all over Tel Aviv.

As an added bonus, the weekend here starts on Thursday too! Nice one

Agree with you Paddy's day abroad is much better.
    gerarda wrote: »

Can't blame them. I wouldn't want to be working in A&E today either!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Luxie wrote: »
    Well the Irish stew offered by the canteen here at work was a letdown.

Fancy serving sauteed potatoes with it and no potatoes in the stew itself. FFS.

Nothing in our canteen to denote the day. Have done it every year up til now :confused:

By the way I was in Dunnes earlier and they had big signs saying "no alcohol sales until 4pm"

Is this Dunnes just taking their own decision on this or is it based on law ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Whats yer ones with the red hair? name thats presenting
    the St patricks day parade on RTE right now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I'd say it's Dunnes and other alcohol outlets in the area taking the advice of the local Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Blaina ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Happy holiday to you all.

snubbleste wrote: »
    I'd say it's Dunnes and other alcohol outlets in the area taking the advice of the local Garda.

Isn't it a sad state of affairs that people simply can't be trusted not to abuse alcohol?

Hiccough.

Isn't it a sad state of affairs that people simply can't be trusted not to abuse alcohol?

Hiccough.

Well... you have to understand that we don't really abuse it, we could never abuse it. The problem is that there just isn't enough of it to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

realies wrote: »
    Blaina ?

Is that Blaina the bully now, would it be?

Well... you have to understand that we don't really abuse it, we could never abuse it. The problem is that there just isn't enough of it to drink.

I think I'll refrain from telling my foreign colleagues that my compadres have to be 'disciplined' on our own national holiday.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

By the way I was in Dunnes earlier and they had big signs saying "no alcohol sales until 4pm"

Is this Dunnes just taking their own decision on this or is it based on law ?

Probably just a precaution to promote responsible drinking

I think I'll refrain from telling my foreign colleagues that my compadres have to be 'disciplined' on our own national holiday.:D

What's funnier is that anyone who wants to get booze will find some. And couple that they're open from 4pm till around 2am or 3am, that's a lot of drinking. You'd think they'd learn by now not to drink 24/7 but no, they'll drink all day and all night and pay for it tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

MrStuffins wrote: »

Wait, i'm confused. Was that a shot of "thanks" for someone else who made the same joke?

Nope, that was a shot of all the people who voted Yes in this Poll ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ro_chez

C unt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

I'm just in from work - a 4am to 2pm shift. Back in tomorrow morn at 4 am again :mad:

I'll definitely have one guinness today though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

layin off the bevvy now i think, someone take the reigns i am feeling ill =/ it is still too early imo.. urgh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Elessar wrote: »
    I'm just in from work - a 4am to 2pm shift. Back in tomorrow morn at 4 am again :mad:

I'll definitely have one guinness today though.

Just the one ;)

Fast forward to 2am...you find Elessar off his face with a traffic cone on his head running down the street, attempting to sing Amhrán na bhFiann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

Hazys wrote: »
    Just the one ;)

Fast forward to 2am...you find Elessar off his face with a traffic cone on his head running down the street, attempting to sing Amhrán na bhFiann.

Gah! Maybe I'll stay at home and have a can of the black stuff instead! That might stop my temptation!!

What's funnier is that anyone who wants to get booze will find some. And couple that they're open from 4pm till around 2am or 3am, that's a lot of drinking. You'd think they'd learn by now not to drink 24/7 but no, they'll drink all day and all night and pay for it tomorrow.

They can't sell alcohol after 10pm by law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I feckin love St Paddy's day.

Just drove to the business park where I work and the gates are locked.

Ah well, I guess I can't go to work. Terrible shame about that. :p

Also, have to say that the Dublin parade looked really good this year. Nice theme from Roddy Doyles book 'Brilliant'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

that is correct, so we can get drunk all day instead. *hic* :eek:

I meant the types of clubs that will let you in if you have money; regardless of the fact you're legless and can barely stand.